14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-30 09:39 | Report Abuse

Sslee, I think u finally made a good year in stock mkt during 2023

Keep it up in 2024 n good luck.

4,734 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-12-30 09:57 | Report Abuse

CharlesT, I have a good 2023 with 200k+ dividend and a few hundred K trading and capital gain.
By the way I sold my winner too early: Bplant, YTL, YTLpower, Wcehb

Hope 2024 will be another good year.

Wishing all love, luck, happiness, and prosperity – all the best for 2024!

PS: Collecting my favorite trading stock Armada at 49.5 sen yesterday

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-30 10:07 | Report Abuse

Glad to note that u finally get back yr money donated to Xinquan.

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-30 10:11 | Report Abuse

Earlier on I thought it may take a long long time for you to do so....

It seems I were wrong and u have evolved into a totally different beast in I3 over the years

Gambatte Kudasai

11,053 posts

Posted by OTB > 2023-12-30 13:00 | Report Abuse

Posted by Cnlim > 4 hours ago | Report Abuse
by now all the Sifu will be multimillionaire after investing in stock market I hope is real n not in their dream
------------------
Posted by Cnlim > 3 hours ago | Report Abuse
even famous traders in us fall after wrong call be sincere always laughing all the way to the bank
--------------------
I believe I am a honest person, I did not tell any lie in I3.
If you spot any lie I tell, please show it to me.

Since 2009 until now, I have all transaction records with me, I lost money in 2018 and 2022.
I made a lot of money in 2015, 2020 and 2023.
I am sorry, I refused to disclose the amount of money I made.

I still make very good profit in 2023 on YTLPower, YTL, AAX, WCEHB and WF, KGB and KGB-WB, UEMS, Armada and others.

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-30 13:01 | Report Abuse

Ya Sifu made good real money in real world but lose money in i3 stock contest.

There is not much conflict.

11,053 posts

Posted by OTB > 2023-12-30 13:07 | Report Abuse

Posted by CharlesT > 3 hours ago | Report Abuse

Anyway, my prediction for Sifu's I3 stock contest performance 2024:

Likely will be his 5 straight years of loss making.

Sifu may end up as bottom 10 also in 2024 (or maybe bottom 20, if we have more smart contestants this year like Blee or Speakup who wanted to fight to get the last position so as to win OTB's free Rm1K subscription fee )
---------------------
Based on my calculation, I do not think I will lose money on all 5 stocks I selected.
No one will know the future, I will reserve my comment after 2024.

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-30 13:09 | Report Abuse

Sifu don't worry...time will tell.

One whole year to go....

Posted by probability > 2023-12-30 13:12 | Report Abuse

i wonder what sifu charlest and OTB made from 2013 till now..what is the % gain like

they are the true Bursa warriors..along with few others i know like Pang72, hng33, Intelligent Investor, gohkimhock ...

Posted by probability > 2023-12-30 13:14 | Report Abuse

now i become a student only..no more calculations..let others calculate..lol!

Posted by probability > 2023-12-30 13:17 | Report Abuse

what is interesting..none of these old faces disappear from i3 to retire and be happy with the money they made even after 10 years...guess money is never enough or perhaps the fun of winning is the main aim than the money

BLee

740 posts

Posted by BLee > 2023-12-30 13:28 | Report Abuse

"(if we have more smart contestants this year like Blee or Speakup who wanted to fight to get the last position so as to win OTB's free Rm1K subscription fee )"
My selection based on P/NAPS during year 2023 speculation didn't turn out well..not too smart at all. Please allocate the prize to Speakup as if getting the prize is his intention. TQ

11,053 posts

Posted by OTB > 2023-12-30 13:45 | Report Abuse

Posted by CharlesT > 30 minutes ago | Report Abuse

BTW, Sifu OTB why do u think u lost 4 continuous years in I3 Stock Contest?
Hope u find the real reason n breaks my 5 years loss curse....
---------------
I did my analysis, I know what is the problem.
I will forget about the past, I am seriously want to win in 2024.
Hope for my good luck in 2024.

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-30 13:52 | Report Abuse

I sincerely hope it's not due to the Curse of Old Koon or Ms.Universe....

Amen

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-30 13:54 | Report Abuse

4 out 5 of yr stock picks up 100% to 400% in 2023.

Pray hard that they can do miracle to up another 100% to 400% in 2024.

11,053 posts

Posted by OTB > 2023-12-30 14:03 | Report Abuse

I am a grateful person, I know the source of water after I drink the water (Chinese proverb).
Without Mr Koon's help, I will not make a lot of money in 2015.
I built my capital base after I win big in 2015 with Mr Koon's help on all furniture stocks and VS.
I will never forget his help even though all the stocks were selected by me.
I am also a real gentleman in I3, I never attack Mr Koon in I3.
I am still grateful to him.

Posted by supersaiyan3 > 2023-12-31 03:18 | Report Abuse

CharlesT, somehow people lost track, lol.

一個好的投資人應該是見人所不能見,OTB早期發現潛力股,後來只是跟風,現在猶如賭徒(狂)下注。

現在各地戰事有燎源之勢,實體經濟不好做。買石油股的算是先知先覺了。

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-31 07:34 | Report Abuse

That was during the golden era of the legendary Koon Bee.....where Sifu n Old Koon n Old Koon's rich friends leaded the mkt to goreng...followed by Inv Bankers, sharks, turtles, tiger prawns, sotong n waterfishes...

After Koon Bee fell apart, no more this song....

Now Sifu followes sharks to goreng....sometimes kena goreng by sharks (AYS/Heng Yuan, Yinson)

Cnlim

438 posts

Posted by Cnlim > 2023-12-31 08:45 | Report Abuse

what you say is true in stock market hope another legendary player will emerge in 2024 now Koon Bee no power already

11,053 posts

Posted by OTB > 2023-12-31 09:00 | Report Abuse

Posted by supersaiyan3 > 5 hours ago | Report Abuse
CharlesT, somehow people lost track, lol.
------------------------
Now Sifu follows sharks to goreng....sometimes kena goreng by sharks (AYS/Heng Yuan, Yinson)
---------------------
I do not think that the aforesaid statement is true.
I will never follow those sharks or speculators to gamble in the stock market.
I spend at least 12 hours a day and 7 days a week to do my research to find good fundamental stocks to invest.
No one can influence me or con me to buy any stock, I do my detailed homework to cover all corners before I buy.
I can come out with recommendation report back up by facts and figures.
I will never trust any statement, anyone or recommendation without facts and figures.
I will never make so much money if I did not do my homework or research.

So easy to con me to buy any stock without any good fundamental !! you must be dreaming loh !!

11,053 posts

Posted by OTB > 2023-12-31 10:12 | Report Abuse

Please show to me any stock I recommended that did not have any good fundamental in it.

I recommend Hengyuan after I noticed Q1 2022, the EPS is 15.82 cents.
Q2 2022, the EPS is 222.49 cents.
Moreover, I did make a million profit in 2017, I can afford to use my profit to invest in Hengyuan.
I cut loss after Q3 2022 showed a loss of 213.49.
I will never buy Hengyuan if Q1 and Q2 2022 results were not good.

The above statement is not true and very irresponsible to describe me.

11,053 posts

Posted by OTB > 2023-12-31 10:32 | Report Abuse

Recommend Yinson is not to follow sharks or speculators.
Yinson is a good fundamental stock with strong earnings in 2023 and 2024.
All 10 analysts recommending a buy on Yinson, no hold or sell call from all analysts. All analysts from all investment banks will not recommend Yinson if there is no potential in this stock. Currently, the order book is the highest and I believe the order book will increase further in 2024 if more FPSO big projects are secured in 2024. The total order book now stands at USD 22.4 billion (RM 105 billion), it can last until 2048.

Please read the facts and figures stated below.

FY/PAT/Growth/Price/EPS/PER
FY2022/1257/-/0.67/0.16/4.32
FY2023/2022/61%/1.85/0.25/7.41
FY2024F/3000/48%/2.48/0.42/5.90
The average PER for the last 2 years is 5.86.
Presently at 2.48, the share price of YTLPower is trading at a PER 5.90.
At least the share price of YTLPower still perform according to the previous PER.

FY/PAT/Growth/Price/EPS/PER
FY2022/401/27%/1.96/0.13/15.08
FY2023/586/46%/2.39/0.21/11.22
FY2024F/956/63%/2.45/0.31/7.85
The average PER for the last 2 years is 13.15.
The PAT grows at 27%, 46% and 63% for FY2022, FY2023 and FY2024 respectively.
Presently at 2.45, the share price of Yinson is trading at a PER 7.85.
If using the average PER=13.15, Yinson should be trading at 4.07 in FY 2024.
The present share price of Yinson at 2.45 is really undervalued, no reason for such a low price.
Hope for better luck in 2024.

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-31 11:05 | Report Abuse

Out of my curiosity, why did u select WCE-WR for yr 2024 I3 stock contest?

U n yr daughter still hold a lot lah?

Price oredi up more than 400% ytd, loss making Co...

How did it pass yr stock selection criteria??

Another question, out of this 5 stocks u selected, which one is yr Ms.Universe?

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-31 11:31 | Report Abuse

From my observation in I3, Sifu OTB spent most of his time in the threads of Hengyuan, Armada etc during FH 2023 (while in his weekly updates to his RM1K subscribers, it was Yinson, Yinson n Yinson).

He was only being seen in the threads of YTL/YTL Power/ WCE from July onwards.

So even his FH portfolio were not performing, his switching to YTL/YTLPower/ WCE from Second half 2023 also brings him more than 100% profit easily. Still a good fat year for Sifu.

11,053 posts

Posted by OTB > 2023-12-31 11:35 | Report Abuse

I know WCEHB is still a loss making company.
However, the market just ignore the present profit or loss, I believe the market takes into consideration the market cap to derive the target price.
The construction cost is around 8.06 billion, if you have this amount of money, you still cannot build a 233 km highway at this cost now.
Using the market cap at 8.06 billion, the number of share issued is 2.988 billion, the fair share price of WCEHB is around 2.70.
Using my calculation of 35% discount to the market cap, the fair share price of WCEHB is 1.76.
At 10% premium, the fair price of WCE-WF is at 1.55.
Hope it explains.

My Miss Universe stock now is YTLPower because of Nvidia partnership in green data storage center.

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-31 11:37 | Report Abuse

TQ for yr reply.
Let's goreng WCE-WR kuat-kuat again in 2024.

Meanwhile, let's c whether The Curse Of Ms.Universe will happen to YTLPower.....

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-31 11:38 | Report Abuse

For record, all Sifu's ex Ms Universe didn't survive longer than 2 years...

11,053 posts

Posted by OTB > 2023-12-31 11:43 | Report Abuse

I still make very good profit in 2023 on YTLPower, YTL, AAX, WCEHB and WF, KGB and KGB-WB, UEMS, Armada and others.
I only post my write-up in I3 on YTLPower, AAX, UEMS, WCEHB and Armada, I did not disclose I bought a lot of KGB and KGB-WB because I promised someone I will not disclose KGB and KGB-WB in I3.
My main bulk of profit is from YTLPower.

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-31 11:46 | Report Abuse

For all the newbies (or new waterfishes) here, The Curse Of Ms. Universe is another urban legend in I3, bsides Koon Bee.

Anyway, we will hv to wait for 1 year to see if this curse still hold

Posted by probability > 2023-12-31 12:08 | Report Abuse

i want to know what is Charlest pick for 2024...guess it changes very fast that you cannot choose any for long term..am i right?

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-31 12:12 | Report Abuse

Still holding yr Hengyuan for long term ah?

Posted by probability > 2023-12-31 12:23 | Report Abuse

oh..despite me trying my best not to poke..he got pricked already..lol!

Posted by probability > 2023-12-31 12:28 | Report Abuse

any strategy is no harm one...as long as can make money..i thought sifu charlest might have long term insights too...guess no

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-31 12:32 | Report Abuse

As long as u can make money

Long term or short term or daytrade doesn't matter...

So why would u bother?

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-31 12:34 | Report Abuse

Only for those newbies who after reading few books of WB/Cold Eye etc then wanna aim to be a so called long term value investor....sounds very geng....lol

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-31 12:35 | Report Abuse

It shouldn't come fm such a seasoned old snake in the mkt like u loh

Posted by probability > 2023-12-31 12:38 | Report Abuse

if i am to name two long term investors who consistently made money ..its intelligent investor and TanKW...these guys are definition of long term investors with great insight..very few can make returns like them

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-31 12:40 | Report Abuse

KCChong also...his average return mayb 8% to 9% over the last few years

Posted by probability > 2023-12-31 12:41 | Report Abuse

last few years i think KCChong losing money i think with his China stocks...not been tracking him..

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-31 12:42 | Report Abuse

Not bad but nothing to shout abt if compare to OTB's Ms.Universe every year...

OTB seldom hold his stock for more than a year n his performance is much much higher than all these long term value investors

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2023-12-31 12:43 | Report Abuse

So u wanna goreng goreng song song with Sifu's Ms.Universe or u wanna be a long term value investor?

Posted by probability > 2023-12-31 12:44 | Report Abuse

we shall choose long term value stocks with goreng2 potential..he he

11,053 posts

Posted by OTB > 2023-12-31 13:41 |

klee

2,946 posts

Posted by klee > 2023-12-31 14:07 | Report Abuse

When stock investing/trading is a hobby,any work done to get it right,though hard and tedious offers tremendous satisfaction.It is akin to winning a chess game,a tennis match,a golf tournament.

klee

2,946 posts

Posted by klee > 2023-12-31 14:19 | Report Abuse

Bursa is not Nyse.To talk long term investing in bursa is like trying to see snow on genting .Warren B would not hv been the legend he is if he was born in bolehland.Just do in rome as the romans do.So simple still cant get it ka?

klee

2,946 posts

Posted by klee > 2023-12-31 14:24 | Report Abuse

The world's best are vying to list on Nyse.Only the lousiest china cos like xingquan list on bursa when they cant qualify elsewhere.As for public bank,pmetal,ytlpower.....how many % of bursa cos are made of these?

11,053 posts

Posted by OTB > 2023-12-31 15:45 | Report Abuse

"Success is no accident. It is hard work, perseverance, learning, studying, sacrifice and most of all, love of what you are doing or learning to do." — Pele, Brazilian soccer player.

Happy New Year 2024.

4,734 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-12-31 17:16 | Report Abuse

Posted by CharlesT > Dec 31, 2023 12:32 PM | Report Abuse
As long as u can make money
Long term or short term or daytrade doesn't matter...

You can either go long with Yinson (hoping it will/shall move north someday) or you can do many rounds of trading with Armada to earn free bintang beer and lobster.