5 comment(s). Last comment by Fortunebull 2013-10-26 16:55

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2013-10-26 15:04 | Report Abuse

NO GST, PLEASE!!!!

I lost in a bet. I bet for no GST since it was brought up in 2005 as I opine that the mass affected by GST is mainly supporter of goverment and it is unwise for goverment to lift a rock to hit its own foot. The biggest portion of lower income population in M’sia so long does not pay any tax yet just barely strive through the escalating cost of living. Many of them will lose in their daily life battle with implementation of GST as now they have to fork out extra 6% to buy dresses, shoes, school uniform, smart phones, TV, motorcycles, used cars, lot of groceries from supermarkets. Please do not be naïve to think that if you are poor thus you should not buy a smart phone.

My worry is the already terrible high crime rate may increase further along with the increasing “financial-failed” fraction of the society.

Extracting out the political element if you think there is any, the article by Liew was very well written. I have the same thought all along but unfortunately do not have capability as him to express out in writing.

If I were in government I will cut expense on public servant while encouraging them to join private sector, provide tax incentive to private sector to take locals instead of all foreign work force. On one hand we have too fatty public sector but on the other hand we are badly short of work force in private sector.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2013-10-26 15:51 | Report Abuse

“例如,赚1万令吉收入的人,只花其中的一半收入在消费,而在消费中他付了5%的税金,与赚1千令吉的人把所有的收入都拿来消费,5%的意义是不一样的。”

Fully agree with the above statement.

Assume Mr. A earns 10K/month(120K/year), and save RM60K/year.
With the 3% lower personal tax, Mr A saves RM1500/year=RM125/month(rough estimation only as I do not go into calculation in detail) from personal tax.

Assume 3K out of the 5K monthly expenses is taxable on GST, 6% x 3K=180/month.

Net to net, due to GST, Mr A spends extra RM180-RM125=RM55/month(RM660/year). In another word, Mr A saves RM660/year less from the original RM60K/year.RM60K-RM660=RM59340/year in saving.

Mr B earns RM3K/month with zero income tax and zero saving.
Assume 2k out of the 3K is taxable on GST, 6% x 2K=120/month is his extra spending/month.

Originally, Mr B barely strives through each month with zero saving; with GST he will be negative RM120/month.

The above excludes the indirect prices increase on most of the products across the country.

With that I foresee the country will face very big challenge in 2015 and the GST is likely reduced or withdrew in 2017 in preparation of GE14.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2013-10-26 16:09 | Report Abuse

“别在乞丐盆里拿钱”

Hi Mr FortuneBull : It should be OK to implement in M’sia if just follow academic theory and compare to Thai and Indonesia which are very similar to M’sia. But in my opinion, our country can get source of income from many other places instead of GST. I am thinking more for the lower income group. I am considerably in a higher income group, the GST has marginal impact on me but many low income families will really be hit badly. I knew it as my surrounding is full of them including family of my own sibling. How about a lot of lower income Malay and Indian? A good people or government should earn money from rich but never and never from the poor. Just like Cantonese saying “别在乞丐盆里拿钱”

Posted by limkitsiang > 2013-10-26 16:20 | Report Abuse

gst or no gst...just want to share and hopefully up the price of...
.very exited with what has been posted by nobby regarding PW CONSOLIDATED BHD Posted by nobby > Oct 25, 2013 08:19 PM | Report Abuse
....PW CONSOLIDATED BHD
Financial Year End 31/12/2013
Quarter 2
Quarterly report for the financial period ended 30/06/2013

Revenue
......CURRENT YEAR QUARTER....................................30/06/2013. = RM 57,543,000
......PRECEDING YEAR CORRESPONDING QUARTER 30/06/2012..= RM 54,338,000

====> increase of revenue q to q........................= ( 57,543,000 - 54,338,000 ) / 54,338,000 x 100
..........................................................................................................= 5.90 % !!!

Profit/(loss) before tax
......CURRENT YEAR QUARTER....................................30/06/2013..= RM 3,214,000
......PRECEDING YEAR CORRESPONDING QUARTER 30/06/2012..= RM 1,402,000

====> increase of profit before tax q to q............= ( 3,214,000 - 1,402,000 ) / 1,402,000 x 100
..........................................................................................................= 129.24 % !!!

Profit/(loss) attributable to ordinary equity holders of the parent
......CURRENT YEAR QUARTER....................................30/06/2013..= RM 1,731,000
......PRECEDING YEAR CORRESPONDING QUARTER 30/06/2012..= RM 1,143,000

====> increase of net profit.................................= ( 1,731,000 - 1,143,000 ) / 1,143,000 x 100
..........................................................................................................= 51.44 % !!!

Basic earnings/(loss) per share (Subunit)
......CURRENT YEAR QUARTER....................................30/06/2013..= 2.90 cents
......PRECEDING YEAR CORRESPONDING QUARTER 30/06/2012..= 1.91 cents

====> increase of earnings/(loss) per share ......= ( 2.90 - 1.91 ) / 1.91 x 100
..........................................................................................................= 51.83 % !!!

Cummulative basic earnings/(loss) per share (Subunit) for 1st and 2nd quarters
......CURRENT YEAR QUARTER....................................30/06/2013..
..........................................................................................................= 5.11 cents !!!

Cummulative earnings per share for Trailing Twelve Months from 2012-09-30 to 2013-06-30
..........................................................................................................= 8.14 cents !!!

Projected Cummulative earnings per share for
......CURRENT YEAR QUARTER....................................30/06/2013..
............................................................................= 5.11 + ( 8.61 + 0.00) x 51.83 /100 *
..........................................................................................................= 9.57 cents !!!
*based on 51.83% growth and 3rd and 4th quarters preceeding
corresponding year of 2012

DIVIDEN ASSUMPTION for 2013
.........................................................................................................= 7.00 cents !!!

SPECIAL DIVIDEN ASSUMPTION for 2013
.........................................................................................................= 19.50 cents !!!
**based on sale of lands with net profit of AT LEAST RM 20m
and number of shares = 60,911,250 units
RM20,000,000 / 60,911,250 = RM 0.3283
with 60% distribution to shareholders
= RM 0.3283 x 60 /100
= RM 0.1970
apprimately= 19.5 cents

PROJECTED DIVIDEN SUM FOR 2013
............................................................................= 7.00 + 19.50 .........................................................................................................= 26.50 cents !!!

Net assets per share attributable to ordinary equity holders of the parent ($)
......AS AT END OF CURRENT QUARTER.....................30/06/2013..= RM 3.51 !!!
......AS AT PRECEDING FINANCIAL YEAR END............ 30/06/2012..= RM 3.45 !!!
..........................................................................................price now = ONLY UNDER 70 CENTs
PW CONSOLIDATED BHD

Fortunebull

2,599 posts

Posted by Fortunebull > 2013-10-26 16:55 | Report Abuse

Bsngp! Maybe my comment on LGE send resentment! I dont know! Ok! I remove my comment!