8 people like this.

195 comment(s). Last comment by nickychang 2015-12-20 11:29

wt222

1,228 posts

Posted by wt222 > 2014-01-28 16:44 | Report Abuse

He is old he is smart but he is not trustworthy...I am referring to Dr.M....

avucin

145 posts

Posted by avucin > 2014-01-28 16:45 |

avucin

145 posts

Posted by avucin > 2014-01-28 16:47 |

iTrader

38 posts

Posted by iTrader > 2014-01-28 16:49 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon. Thanks for sharing JT from the fundamental aspect. On the first cut, it's very impressive. Surely, i will input it into my radar monitoring system for detail validation. Will base on TA for entry.

Thx & BR.

stockcrazy

551 posts

Posted by stockcrazy > 2014-01-28 16:49 | Report Abuse

Mr. Koon have owned 5,767,800 (0.60%) under Kenanga AC. and 14,852,435 (1.53%) under HLIB AC. for Jaya Tiasa.
The info is just up to date until 10 Oct 2013

JUNBEN

50 posts

Posted by JUNBEN > 2014-01-28 17:04 | Report Abuse

wt222 and guys, wish you a prosperous 2014, wish we can all huat huat huat!!

Optimus1

359 posts

Posted by Optimus1 > 2014-01-28 17:05 | Report Abuse

ok u guys. enuf is enuf, give the man some credit la. he spend so much time writing. how much u can give him wor. stop attacking him la. hehehe.

Posted by Koon Yew Yin > 2014-01-28 17:10 | Report Abuse

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/237025

wt222 seems to think I am like Dr Mahathir. You can read my posting in Malaysiakini as the above link to see how I worship Dr M.

I think I have spent too much time on this forum

wt222

1,228 posts

Posted by wt222 > 2014-01-28 17:12 | Report Abuse

No lab,u r 1000 times better than Dr.m....I give u my respect on that

Optimus1

359 posts

Posted by Optimus1 > 2014-01-28 17:13 |

wt222

1,228 posts

Posted by wt222 > 2014-01-28 17:14 | Report Abuse

I admire yr guts and stance in politics

Optimus1

359 posts

Posted by Optimus1 > 2014-01-28 17:15 |

wt222

1,228 posts

Posted by wt222 > 2014-01-28 17:16 | Report Abuse

Haha,i give credit when its due....

Optimus1

359 posts

Posted by Optimus1 > 2014-01-28 17:18 | Report Abuse

wt222. u got free time must teach me the art. I wan learn. but couldn't find sifu all these years. now I found u. yahooooo.

wt222

1,228 posts

Posted by wt222 > 2014-01-28 17:19 |

wt222

1,228 posts

Posted by wt222 > 2014-01-28 17:20 |

Optimus1

359 posts

Posted by Optimus1 > 2014-01-28 17:21 | Report Abuse

wakakaka....

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2014-01-28 17:21 | Report Abuse

Mr Khoon. you cannot please everybody. do whatever you feel is correct. one man's meat is another poison. just keep us posted on your investment ideas.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-01-28 17:29 | Report Abuse

Ya Mr Koon, please continue to post. You are an interesting old man : )

avucin

145 posts

Posted by avucin > 2014-01-28 22:42 | Report Abuse

so many people here giving their opposite opinions...and being flagged...don't understand why mine also being 'flagged and removed'!!!

avucin

145 posts

Posted by avucin > 2014-01-28 22:44 | Report Abuse

why compared with sop and rsawit that have high PE??? why not with other better plantation stocks? bias

avucin

145 posts

Posted by avucin > 2014-01-28 22:49 | Report Abuse

even the graph given by koon is bias...from 10 to 2..? should consider any split or bonus...not transparent

25,165 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-01-28 22:50 | Report Abuse

MHC & Cepat are better than RSawit. But SOP is better.

kk123

1,964 posts

Posted by kk123 > 2014-01-29 00:10 | Report Abuse

It seems obvious enough to me that :
If u buy higher than mr koon , then must prepare to lose if later he throw the shares .
He obtained a block of shares at 2.04 , release his "super buy " report and then can start selling when the price goes up - easy money ... U have to think that mr koon by buying on margin is a gambler .. A gambler can sell next minute after he buy also ..By right if he have a agenda can list out upfront how many shares he has and at what price he bought ..
1) Jtiasa is not a super company . Anytime ppl can throw this shares .. It's a slow moving shares and somebody holding on margin will incur interest cost changed by the bank
2) the "growth" story is just base on rough estimates And does not warrant an upgrade until there is actual profit and dividend (high)
3) plantation companies earnings can fluctuate and jtiasa was a timber company and in plantation world it's still a small co .. It doesn't have the efficiency and yield
4) For a person who write a report that use like A+ b = c logic With no real financial analysis is a big bull and can't believe .. Mr koon logic I find is quite child like , ie if IOi buy at 89k , now Rsawit only worth 30k , it shld worth 100k
These analysis is call big bull Sh@it.. as it doesn't look at how efficient is the company , the value , mgmt , dividend , debt , cashflow
It's base on "agak - agak"
So when agak - agak is wrong then next minute he can throw all also
In the end retailers who follow will be trap and donate to his charity
Hahahaha

optimusprime

1,149 posts

Posted by optimusprime > 2014-01-29 00:12 | Report Abuse

i want to ask, if i laugh here, would i get flag???

Duitbesar

915 posts

Posted by Duitbesar > 2014-01-29 00:33 | Report Abuse

Abang boleh hidu bau busuk sebab balik-balik diiklankan Jtiasa. Kalau baik sangat saham ini dah naik 5 ringgit. Dah lebih setahun iklan Jtasia ni tak naik pun. Banyak saham sama harga dah berlipat ganda macam Dsonic. Dsonic tak iklan pun.

kk123

1,964 posts

Posted by kk123 > 2014-01-29 00:42 | Report Abuse

For the record "IOI announces about 3 months ago that they are buying about 11,900 ha of oil palm plantation from Dutaland Bhd for Rm 830 million cash = Rm 69,740 per ha" - this is a deal which didn't even happen !!
And the "shorty" IOi bosses are known to cancel deal
They also cancel to buy the menara Citibank
Using a highest "agak - agak " price as the benchmark can only means one thing
In the shortest time : he want the share to go up , write juicy report to create volume so he could dump.. U shld need to assume that he already build up large stakes before releasing the report .. If without delay that the share starts to move , not only can he :
Not only he no need to pay the 6% Bank interest on margin (holding cost )
He also may triple his profit on The leverage
And best is no need to take any risk .. Tomoro plunge his shares could be forced sold ..
So go figure the hidden motif next time before u buy or follow blindly In any recomendation
I will not criticize if the share is really good or if the reports are good : with real figures Supported by real profits and dividend
U have to think like this :If I buy on margin , my goal is always to sell as quickly so I can take money home and with no cost

kk123

1,964 posts

Posted by kk123 > 2014-01-29 00:46 | Report Abuse

Yes jtiasa is a sleepy counter .. If buy on margin kena lah do "promotion"
Else satu tahun pun rm 2 , tak gerak langsung
If its a Good shares , no need to promote it will go up on its own !! Hahahaha

avucin

145 posts

Posted by avucin > 2014-01-29 00:55 | Report Abuse

con-you-wane

Duitbesar

915 posts

Posted by Duitbesar > 2014-01-29 01:04 | Report Abuse

Kadang2 kita kena tau tujuan kenapa sangat diiklankan satu saham berulangan. Kalau baik sangat, ramai setuju dan dah beli berlori babe! Kangkung longkang pun orang tau sedap masak belacan atau sotong. So tak payah cakap ulang2 pun. Tapi dah ketara ramai tak setuju sangat saham ni baik, harga pun tak naik tapi harga kangkung dah naik. So? What say you? Lagi harga sawit merundum bukan macam dulu, ada kata negara selain Malaysia dan Indonesia sudah tanam sawit secara besaran. Abang rasa harga sawit takan naik macam 5 tahun dulu sebab sawit makin banyak.

optimus2

129 posts

Posted by optimus2 > 2014-01-29 01:07 | Report Abuse

Very good argument. Kk123. I want to meet u.

optimusprime

1,149 posts

Posted by optimusprime > 2014-01-29 03:48 | Report Abuse

want to laugh also get flag!!!!??????

Posted by Koon Yew Yin > 2014-01-29 06:44 | Report Abuse

kk123 insinuates I am trying to publicise Jaya Tiasa with the intention to push up its share price. Please believe me I have not such intention.If you look at my record, you will believe me.

Again it would appear that I am boasting if I tell you the shares I have recommended people to buy and they all shot up.

1. About 6 years ago Kulim's annual report shows that I and my family members owned the largest block of Kulim Warrants which we bought at between 50 sen & Rm one. I told every body to buy because I strongly believe that it would definitely shoot like a rocket soon. I borrowed so much money from OSK that their risk manager was concerned. To calm investors, Alvin Tai CFA came to Ipoh to talk about Kulim. He was very reassuring and within two years Kulim's Warrant went up from 50 sens to Rm 10.50 and I was laughing all the way to return my loan. Alvin can verify this episode.

I made so much money that I offered Rm 30 million to UTAR Kampar to build students Hostels without any ulterior motive or conditions. But Tan Sri Hew See Tong, MCA leader who owns all the land outside the University Campus rejected my donation offer. Don't you think Tan Sri Hew would sue me, if I am not telling the truth?

2. Supermax annual report on 8 April 2010 shows that I and my family members owned about 20 million shares. You can check it out. I started to buy at 98 sens in Dec 2009 and within 6 months I bought almost 20 million Supermax shares. The price shot up to Rm 6,60 within 18 months because glove demand far exceeded supply due to the HINI fear. When Tan Sri Stanley Thai, CEO and Chairman, noticed that I was buying his share so aggressively, he invited me to visit his factories in Sg Buloh and to meet all his top executives.

When the price went above Rm 5 all the analysts highly recommend BUY. Ricky Kon Tel 05-2362844 and Phoebe Tan of OSK 05-2434908 can confirmed that I sold all our holdings within 2 weeks at above Rm 6.

3. As I boasted in this article, I also told people to buy SOP and R Sawit when they were cheap which I sold to buy Jaya Tiasa.

4. Many will remember that I also told the whole world to buy Tradewinds and Tradewind Plantation and later I also told everyone not to accept Szed Mothar's initial privatisation offer. Finally he offered a higher prices.The rest is history.

I do not need you to buy JT because I am buying and I will continue to buy until I cannot get additional loan facilities. Remember I am not pointing a gun on kk123's head and force him to buy JT. Stop the insinuation!

Only time will tell who is right. If JT did not go up in price, I would lose my creditability- where can I hide?

eric8168

99 posts

Posted by eric8168 > 2014-01-29 08:08 | Report Abuse

soybean output in brazil will break record high and will start harvest from feb to june. I do believe the palm oil price will be affected in the short run. I personally like j tiasa very much n will all in when cpo price trade at about rm2000 not now........if we look at soybean oil price, it had dropped to the level of year 2009 when recession happend.
whereas cpo price still trade at rm2500 level. What u all think?

kk123

1,964 posts

Posted by kk123 > 2014-01-29 09:51 | Report Abuse

Again :
1) good counter u may follow , bad counter u shld just just ignore . Once u buy it becomes your problem
2) as I say before , what works for mr koon may not work for some other person.
Eg can u hold a warrant for so long ?
If u buy on margin and tomoro ur share drop 30% , your capital could be gone . In that case can u afford to pledge shares, cash or FD else ur share will be sold .
You can read Peter lynch book on how one day he finally realized the "risk" for buying on margin when he was ask to top up as the market tanks ..
3) I dont know if osk can give a value to warrant as the beautiful story put up above. for most banks warrants has no value and as good as u buy with upfront cash and no leverage to borrow money
4)If someone can make 30 mil, he or she could also lose 30 mil when the tide turns . Good example recently blumount , asiasons drop to worthless , and dian lee of country heights lost about rm 1 billion only . the stake she has is valued at 1 billion but few days later it' became 60 mil . .
5) usually only the good to hear story is told , bad losses are not mentioned
6)first time I hear someone refuse charity money. Mr koon if u have money can also give me to donate to many charity : for cancer , children with aids , old and disabled , There are too many . If he doesn't want , why don't u donate / buy the land else where to build the university itself ? I have relative who they not only give money but also donate huge plot of land to build the university. The university / college named one of the school hall under his name when it's completed . My cousins and relative never brag about their charity or how Rich they are ...they kept low profile
7)From the supermax examples , u can see too that u shld buy low and once it's high shld sell , if u hold on Supermax will be superbad
..as this is more theme play where our market sometimes rewards share depend on Theme like bird flu - gloves, recently some crazy report on how undervalue a company to its NTA and most property shares with perceived golden land shoot up with no reason or back by fundamentally
8) what the market had given to u in a short time , the market can also took it back

wt222

1,228 posts

Posted by wt222 > 2014-01-29 09:59 | Report Abuse

kk123, good write up!!

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-01-29 10:41 | Report Abuse

kk123, what you wrote above showed that you have yet to master the art of investment in stock market. The way you are skeptical about margin, ability of warrants to deliver windfall gain, etc, tells us that you have never experience it before, hence you dont have the feel for it.

Many of the things that KYY explained above (how to use margin, how his warrants shot from RM0.90 to RM10, etc), I have experienced it before. So I know he is not bullshitting.

I dont blidly side with KYY if he is wrong (I am the first one to highlight his rsawit mistake, in another thread). I know KYY is telling the true story (how he uses margin to buy shares nobody notice, but have strong earnings visibility, etc). I used the same tactics for engtex-wb (bought at 25 sen in early 2011, sold recently at 80 sen) pantech-wa (bought at 30 sen in early 2011 and sold last year at 55 sen), pjdev-wc (bought at 31 sen in early 2011, holding now at 50 sen, hoping to sell if it reaches 70 sen). All these are done using margin facility (certain brokers accept warrants as collateral, but recognize 70% to 80% of its value only)

Not withstanding me being agreeable with KYY's style of investment (and I recognize that JTiasa ia a good buy and a right call at this stage. I have bought some myself, despite mocking the old man in the forum), you will notice that I also whacked him and make fun of him. This is because I dont like his way of busting into the room, thump his chest and tells people "I am good, I am here to teach you, blah blah blah". I think nobody should be so arrogant. Humility is a virtue. Instead of telling people "I want to teach you", maybe he should say "I would like to share with you something I know".

Apart from that, most of the investment advice he gave are valid and worth considering

btw, KYY did propose to donate land to UTAR few years ago. But didnt work out due to some people's selfish interest

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-01-29 10:43 | Report Abuse

cash in hand 25m, s.borrowings 391m, l.borrowings 451m, y.to.date revenue only 254m. good buy bad buy let the market decide.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-01-29 10:55 | Report Abuse

my style of investment is actually very similar to KYY. Uses margin to enhance ROE. Try to buy ahead of everybody else. Buy based on future earnings (I called stock like JTiasa "fallen angel". Weak now, but has potential to shine when right time come)

I have identified IVORY as my latest fallen angel. It holds 45% equity interest in Penang World City (effective share of GDV of RM4.5 billion). Potentially can make RM100m net profit per annum in three years time when profit starts flowing in (based o existing market cap of RM300m, prospective PER of 3 times only).

Of course, its balance sheet is not so strong. And property sector faces some headwind recently. But I am betting that due to limited land available in Penang, they could sail through safely over next few years and delivery 200% return for me.

On the other hand, I could be wrong, IVORY could get into financial difficulty if there is a severe downturn. This is the risk that comes with equity investment. Buyers beware

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-01-29 10:58 | Report Abuse

beside ivory there r plenty of strong counters operating in that area.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-01-29 11:02 | Report Abuse

dear Iafx, are there overlooked as ivory ? or share price already reflected future earnings ? That is the key question.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-01-29 11:05 | Report Abuse

ivory is a "strange" company, believe u know why. anyway, should have added that the comment above is more towards "financial difficulty", for this, there r plenty of option to mitigate this.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-01-29 11:11 | Report Abuse

dear Iafx, unlike the old man, I dont want to boast about Ivory's prospects. For me, my chance of making money is 50 : 50 only. It could end up badly and I lose some of my capital. But I am willing to take the risk. If you happen to know of any good stocks, please dont hesitate to share. I want to hear from others what are good to buy

swatheng

58 posts

Posted by swatheng > 2014-01-29 11:21 | Report Abuse

With due respect to a senior engineer and citizen of Malaysia, Mr Koon has contributed a great deal to the charity work in Malaysia. Most important he is a person that believes in the new politics in Malaysia. I was told by my Ipoh friends he was instrumental in the great success of non-BN forces in the recent elections. I look at him at a savvy investor unlike those market manipulators. I have been following his writings etc and one of those that I can remember is his writing on Rimbunan Sawit Bhd. It is available at this site (http://malaysiafinance.blogspot.com/2011/11/recommending-stock-now.html)
I am looking forward to the comments of those that participated in this forum. Obviously the response of Mr Koon is most welcome.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-01-29 11:28 | Report Abuse

Swateng pls read the early part of the discussion. KYY was whacked left right center because of this rsawit article

optimus2

129 posts

Posted by optimus2 > 2014-01-29 11:40 | Report Abuse

iafx sifu...

kk123

1,964 posts

Posted by kk123 > 2014-01-29 11:56 | Report Abuse

Well everybody has opinion .
My opinion is jtiasa is nothing special until it can prove itself with real earnings .. Rather than a growth story .. Story like all politicians they can tell story but delivery zero.. Now let's not even go into politics as its more complex than share market ..
As of now it's earnings is peanuts latest qtr I think only 2 sen per share ..
Cash also not much .. I don't think this type of high geared low ,cash company.. This is my own view .. If I think jtiasa so good can also go on margin and buy ..
I have several margin account and they told me there is no value for warrant ..
Which broker give 70% - 80 % value to warrant ? Maybe I shld open another account with them..
U will always be taking huge risk when buying warrants , or any other derivatives
As for charity : most people lay low and not brag about it .. Else it's counter the charity spirit ..About philanthropy :
U can read about chuck feeney also .. He donated all his money until nearly bankrupt and remains under the radar and never brag about his wealth ..
He inspired ppl like bill gates to do charity work ..

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-01-29 12:03 | Report Abuse

Ya agree with you about charity. Do it and no need to tell

kk123

1,964 posts

Posted by kk123 > 2014-01-29 12:15 | Report Abuse

'People who have money have an obligation,' Feeney told Forbes last year. 'I wouldn’t say I’m entitled to tell them what to do with it but to use it wisely.'
'I became convinced that there was greater satisfaction from giving my money away and seeing something come out of the ground, like a hospital or a university,' he told the Financial Times last year.

Ok mr koon : hope won't be seeing another boring writeup/promotion on jtiasa eg "why I sell jtiasa for xxx shares ... Rather " why I sell jtiasa to build schools and hospitals " is most welcomed ..
At least the general/regular joe eg(muthu , Ahmad and Chong ) hear will be very happy

optimus2

129 posts

Posted by optimus2 > 2014-01-29 12:22 | Report Abuse

flag pls. I take it as Like.