13 people like this.

39 comment(s). Last comment by kkng0819kk 2014-03-19 16:27

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2014-03-04 17:12 | Report Abuse

Agree, price are what u pay ,Value is what u get.

Pak Lah

197 posts

Posted by Pak Lah > 2014-03-04 17:45 | Report Abuse

Uncle Koon, I’d like to thank you for providing me with invaluable lessons. I have benefitted tremendously from your articles. Thank you.

Optimus1

359 posts

Posted by Optimus1 > 2014-03-04 18:11 | Report Abuse

I start to like uncle koon now...everyday something new from him.

Posted by Koon Yew Yin > 2014-03-04 18:41 | Report Abuse

WOH! After so much of ridicule from Optimus1, he finally is beginning to like me. As I said my intention is noble and altruistic. I just want to teach you how to make money from the stock market and also how to live a happy life. I believe I have some special knowledge which can benefit many people who care to learn.

As you know, I have written more than 10 article and read more than 1,000 commentaries since I started on this forum about 2 months ago. I have never worked so hard in my life. My wife says that it is unethical to tell people what shares you own. If they follow your advice and they lose money, they will blame you. At my age, I am not afraid as long as my intention is noble and I believe I can help people to make more money.

Optimus1, you make me happy, ha! ha! ha! and I am beginning to like you,

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-04 18:46 | Report Abuse

wakakakakaka i saw optimus post just now i didn't dare to say anything as scare been sucked into a mud fight between optimus and uncle Koon.

ka ka ka ka this is one of the most funny moment i have ever encountered in i3 !!!!

Optimus1

359 posts

Posted by Optimus1 > 2014-03-04 18:51 | Report Abuse

uncle koon, one of my old fren is your best buddy in investment.. from Ipoh. u know who la.
I m touched by your determination to educate stock investment to the public. at first I misunderstood u as another promotor. my apologies.
keep up the good works. uncle koon. no one in Malaysia who is so rich yet so noble in helping education. except u!

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-04 18:53 | Report Abuse

wah.... i am so touched !!!! we are now one big happy family !!!

pilindo

867 posts

Posted by pilindo > 2014-03-04 18:56 | Report Abuse

Fuhh... If you are DAP in Sabah, i vote you.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-04 19:00 | Report Abuse

i also seldom mocked uncle koon nowadays.

Instead of seeing him as a promoter, I see him as a harmless uncle that discovered i3 as a new toy to keep his time occupied. I am happy for him when sometime i can feel he is enjoying himself interacting with all of us in cyberworld over a topic he is so deeply interested in (stock market).

pilindo

867 posts

Posted by pilindo > 2014-03-04 19:04 | Report Abuse

Hopefully many politician like uncle koon.

benson911

639 posts

Posted by benson911 > 2014-03-04 21:59 | Report Abuse

Thanks Uncle Koon for sharing. May i get your view on Padini?

lohman

205 posts

Posted by lohman > 2014-03-05 09:03 | Report Abuse

I'm glad certain critics have opened their eyes and can see Mr Koon clearly for the person that he is. I have wealthy businessmen friends and only one other is somewhat like him, wanting to help others less fortunate to do better in life. Most are consumed by money, success and positions; impermanent things that you cannot take with you to the hereafter. I foresee we shall have a very fruitful and productive forum here.

Posted by Fung Chee Fui > 2014-03-05 13:09 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon, just curious, if I may ask -- do you speak to the management of the companies as part of your stocks analysis? I am referring to understanding the long-term business direction and not insider information. Given your status, I think the CEOs would not want to reject you if you request for such meeting/ conversation.

This is a privilege that we -- the small potato -- don't get to enjoy.

Pak Lah

197 posts

Posted by Pak Lah > 2014-03-05 14:09 | Report Abuse

Uncle Koon, when the share prices are trending higher, ESOS are sometime given to the directors and staffs in a big sum. Upon subscriptions, they would normally sell their shares, making handsome gains in the process. We as investors would lose out as a result. What's your take on the ESOS?

Posted by chunghiung > 2014-03-05 23:01 | Report Abuse

Where can I buy the book "ValueGrowth investing strategy of Glen Arnold" in Malaysia?

Posted by Koon Yew Yin > 2014-03-05 23:47 | Report Abuse

Chunghiung, you really want me to tell you where to buy the book? When and where did you buy the last book?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-06 07:41 | Report Abuse

Uncle koon I have tried to get hold of the book since few months ago u mentioned it but unsuccessful. Nowadays I bought all my books from amazon. I check their website, they did have the book, but for some unknown reasons, they are not available for shipment to malaysian buyers (logistic related instead of censorship issue, of course)

So maybe this weekend I will pop in mid valley MPH to take a look

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-06 07:46 | Report Abuse

The title of the book itself already fired my imagination.

"Value" and "growth" are two of the most critical ingredient for most investors here

That is why I am interested to get a copy

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-06 07:53 | Report Abuse

When I open a book, it only takes me one minute to decide whether it makes sense or not. My favorite guru is actually Peter lynch. I almost agreed with everything he said and can relate to it immediately. Benjamin graham writing too textbook for me. Warren buffet made sense, but some how he is a bit too macro.

Petter lynch book is like applied mathematics while warren buffet book is mathematic

Graham is just don't know how to describe....

cheongcy

49 posts

Posted by cheongcy > 2014-03-06 08:43 | Report Abuse

Graham's book is the best writing ever. Graham gives me the idea of value, and John burr William provided me the tools to evaluate value.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-06 08:45 | Report Abuse

Ok let me promise myself I should take a second look at graham

Since so many people like him

I will come back with my opinion (in my blog)

cheongcy

49 posts

Posted by cheongcy > 2014-03-06 08:51 | Report Abuse

Icon8888, which graham's book you are referring to? Intelligent Investor or Security Analysis?

I personally would suggest to read Security Analysis.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-06 08:52 | Report Abuse

Warren book is like corporate finance, peter lynch is like applied corporate finance. Graham is mathematics, too dry.

I am that kind of person who cannot stand making decision based on formulars prescribed by others. I notice graham has certain definition for "margin of safety, etc" which is based on mathematic formulars, which turned me off. But as I said, I will take a second look. To be honest, I hardly finished one tenth of his book when I flipped it open many years ago

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-06 08:53 | Report Abuse

Can't remember which book woh. Got two ah ? Then I will read both

cheongcy

49 posts

Posted by cheongcy > 2014-03-06 09:04 | Report Abuse

Security Analysis is an intense reading whereas Intelligent Investor is just a summary.

cheongcy

49 posts

Posted by cheongcy > 2014-03-06 09:07 | Report Abuse

Anyhow, we can get almost any book from Kinokuniya online. "ValueGrowth investing strategy of Glen Arnold" cost around RM480 from Kinokuniya.

tptan45

388 posts

Posted by tptan45 > 2014-03-06 09:30 | Report Abuse

I personally don't like Graham's book. If I followed the recommendations and read his book when I first started I would have given up long ago.
No, I started with reading 'the little book of value investing.' Simplicity is beautiful.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-06 11:38 | Report Abuse

tptan45 it seemed that i am not the only one finding it diffcult to digest graham. I think i share the same sentiment as you

Posted by Lai Yin Keat > 2014-03-06 12:04 | Report Abuse

Don't forget books on trading psychology

Posted by Koon Yew Yin > 2014-03-06 12:22 | Report Abuse

WOH!A big fund is now buying Jaya Tiasa very aggressively. Now they can see the future profit growth potential. It is now trading Rm 2.61

Pak Lah

197 posts

Posted by Pak Lah > 2014-03-06 12:27 | Report Abuse

Uncle Koon. Thank you for teaching us the correct ways to fish, i.e. buy undervalued stocks with tremendous growth potential. JTiasa has so far showed no sign of retreating. I've bought into Jtiasa which has today propelled to new height of 2.62. Thank you.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-06 12:30 | Report Abuse

Nobody wins an argument in stock market by winning a debate. The one who makes money from the stock automatically wins the argument

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2014-03-06 12:43 | Report Abuse

Icon8888, Agree on u again ,Time will prove who are the winner.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-06 14:04 | Report Abuse

Ricky thank you for your support. Cheers !!!

lohman

205 posts

Posted by lohman > 2014-03-06 14:45 | Report Abuse

Today's run up is not limited to JTiasa but is on all palm oil stocks. Present hot weather may adversely affect FFB production in Malaysia and Indonesia, putting upward pressure on prices.

Posted by chunghiung > 2014-03-06 16:11 | Report Abuse

Mr. Koon, I usually buy books through website : got1shop.com. I am Sarawakian. Hope you can help me. Thank you.

Optimus1

359 posts

Posted by Optimus1 > 2014-03-06 22:55 | Report Abuse

congrates Uncle Koon.

kkng0819kk

1,566 posts

Posted by kkng0819kk > 2014-03-19 16:27 | Report Abuse

Hi-mr koon,continue to provide yr sound advice and upkeep yr charity deeds,which will be appreciated and remembered!(greetings from ex mudajaya employee)