97 comment(s). Last comment by Tan KW 2016-01-06 16:30

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-03 15:50 | Report Abuse

Intelligent Investor...

Thank you so much for the generous sharing - with the highly diversified portfolio. I believe these are due to your expectations - low risk with reasonable return.

If we are to select FIVE (5) stocks only - high risk with potentially very high return from your list.... which would you select?

Please advise if possible.
I believe a lot of us would really appreciate it...:)

Posted by Intelligent Investor > 2016-01-03 16:07 | Report Abuse

I don't know.

mrk2ca

106 posts

Posted by mrk2ca > 2016-01-03 16:22 | Report Abuse

Dear Mr. Tan, my stock pick for 2016:
CBIP 10%
CENTURY 10%
COCOLND 10%
GKENT 10%
MIKROMB. 10%
MMSV. 10%
SCICOM. 10%
TAKAFUL. 10%
UCHITEC. 10%
WELLCAL. 10%

Posted by 爱丽丝 梦幻世界 > 2016-01-03 16:23 | Report Abuse

Intelligent investor, very like your pick. All good ctr. Thumb Up!

Posted by 360Capitalist > 2016-01-03 18:36 | Report Abuse

Hi Tan KW, i would like to participate in self manage portfolio since all seats have taken. Here is my stock portfolio summary :-

BINTAI-WA MYR 0.155 100,000 15,500.00
DOLMITE MYR 0.525 27,000 14,175.00
EITA MYR 1.46 10,000 14,600.00
ENGTEX-WA MYR 0.475 60,000 28,500.00
GCB MYR 1.35 20,000 27,000.00

http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/54338.jsp

Thank you very much.

GreenTrade

609 posts

Posted by GreenTrade > 2016-01-03 20:57 | Report Abuse

Hi Mr Tan KW,

I would like to join the self managed portfolio too.

http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/54470.jsp

Thank you and have a great year ahead

Posted by 爱丽丝 梦幻世界 > 2016-01-03 21:10 | Report Abuse

GreenTrade, i saw you in list long long rdy
check
http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/forum/600088953.jsp

lyewseng

72 posts

Posted by lyewseng > 2016-01-03 22:08 | Report Abuse

Mr Tan kw,pls advise potential encounter to pick on 2016

GreenTrade

609 posts

Posted by GreenTrade > 2016-01-03 22:39 | Report Abuse

爱丽丝 梦幻世界

Didnt see, but i reposted there. Thanks! :)

Collin Soo

892 posts

Posted by Collin Soo > 2016-01-03 22:57 | Report Abuse

Dear Mr Tan,

I am the top 20 for Stock Pick year 2015. Below is my stock selection for year 2016.

Tguan-WA 15%
Teck Guan 15%
Taann - 15%
Gadang 15%
WCT 10%
Hevea-WB 10%
PRG 10%
Wellcal 10%

johnny cash

6,356 posts

Posted by johnny cash > 2016-01-04 00:00 | Report Abuse

Mine is 30℅ gadang,, 30℅ Teck Guan and 40℅ OWG, so can this be accepted for 2016 challenge

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-04 00:04 | Report Abuse

From the top 20 on year 2015, 5 of them have yet to submit their pick...
(http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/stock_pick_2016/88964.jsp)

CFTrader
valuelurker
Bs1688
NOBY

You are wanted, we are waiting for your pick.....

valuelurker

1,133 posts

Posted by valuelurker > 2016-01-04 09:50 | Report Abuse

I have to respectfully decline this year. All you guys are short term traders. I've even contacted KCChong for a longer term initiative, especially for the betterment of the i3 community. Fundamental investing is the only way forward. But once again, thanks for your invitation, it was fun. And thanks to all the forummer who doubted me. You have only made me stronger.

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-04 10:22 | Report Abuse

From the top 20 on year 2015, 4 of them have yet to submit their pick...

CFTrader
valuelurker
NOBY

valuelurker

1,133 posts

Posted by valuelurker > 2016-01-04 11:30 | Report Abuse

I've gone through the picks http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/stock_pick_2016/89039.jsp and they are all boring. All alike, same theme, hyped up etc etc.
Let me show you what a contrarian pick looks like, and we shall see at the end of 2016 who is a god

Coastal
Dayang
Deleum
Favco
Gadang
JCY
LTKM
OKA
TEOSENG
TURBO

And yes, you can use the closing prices as of today 4 Jan 2016 as reference.
Good luck guys, you're gonna need it

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-04 11:44 | Report Abuse

@valuelurker, 10% for each stock?

NOBY

936 posts

Posted by NOBY > 2016-01-04 13:05 | Report Abuse

TanKW, these are my 2016 stock picks with some reasoning

KESM 10% (Their major capex cycle is complete. Expect their margins and free cashflows to start growing with their renewed focus into automotive chips testing which should see bright prospects with the thrust towards self-drive cars)

MUDAJYA 10% (Contrarian buy and follow the superinvestors. Hoping for Indian IPP venture to start turning around earnings. Prem Watsa from Fairfax Capital is also vested last year)

HEXZA 10% (Safe and boring stock with strong balance sheet and good dividend yield. Myanmar IPP earnings to start contribute in 2016 and to also see margin improvement due to disposal of loss making business)

GADANG 10% (Magic Formula stock. Good earnings visibility and undervalued)

ADVENTA 10% (Strong moat healthcare related company. Lucenxia will start contributing in Jan-2016. Hope to see earnings move to a new level this year)

SMI 10% (Net net stock which may turn around this year due to sales recognition from its Pinnacle Kelana Jaya project. Already turned ~9 mil of FCF for the first 9 months of FY2015 and should improve further as more sales get recognized)

LUXCHEM 10% (In a sweet spot with it benefiting from both low crude and weak RM. Growth in bottom line will come from its manufacturing division which fetches higher margins)

HIL 10% (A laggard among the plastic injection moulding peers which also set to benefit from lower crude oil prices. It is still trading at 3.7x EV/EBIT. Net cash of RM0.53 per share vs share price of RM 0.84. While the group is also involved in property development, its focus towards affordable housing makes it less vulnerable to the property down-cycle. Its previous 2 projects were very well received with take up rate >90%)

MAA 5% (PN17 stock with a chance of capital repayment this year? Sale of insurance arm to Zurich insurance in progress. The TAKAFUL arm should fetch a high price due to the limited license and growth potential in Malaysia. Syarikat TAKAFUL is already trading 4x book value, if MAA Takaful was sold at even 2x book value, the stake is already worth RM0.59. MAA as a whole should already be worth RM 1.7 assuming its remaining assets (mostly cash) is valued at 1x book)

TURBO 5% (Magic formula stock. Produces OnG process equipment. Revenue and profit is declining but price may have already reflected that. Dividend of 5 sen and strong cash position limits the downside)

APB 5% (Distributor of OnG process equipment for OnG downstream. Recent 2 quarter results were encouraging. Expect them to benefit from RAPID. Strong cash position and dividend yield)

NOTION 5% (Close to all time low. Might be a late bloomer for 2016 as its losses was mostly caused by hedging contracts. The contracts are set to fully expire by Sept-2016. The group is also starting to divest some of its PPE and become more asset light. The debt has been significantly reduced and the group is now net cash)

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-04 13:37 | Report Abuse

@NOBY, Good!

Need to use today close price to create.

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-04 13:39 | Report Abuse

@NOBY, @II

Can help to get kcchong to share his pick if he doesn't want to join?

You both are goods, buy many peoples wish your sifu can share his pick too...

NOBY

936 posts

Posted by NOBY > 2016-01-04 13:52 | Report Abuse

@TanKW, I believe KC Chong has shared his picks and write ups on i3 and will continue to do so outside this competition.

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-04 13:55 | Report Abuse

@NOBY, yes i agree.

it is good to have him to compile a list with 2016 context...

this definitely can help him to showcase his good kung fu

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-04 13:56 | Report Abuse

@NOBY, your pick is totally different with @II

same sifu, buy different kung fu?

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-04 14:00 | Report Abuse

would be interesting to see the return from a highly diversified portfolio such as those from OTB, ii and Noby....

That will be a true measure of their skills.

Soo Jin Hou... we wait for you...
...just like waiting Musang King durian to drop!
ha ha ha...

Posted by 爱丽丝 梦幻世界 > 2016-01-04 14:03 | Report Abuse

Great! Sifu Noby also come liao! 啊豪快点啦!

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-04 14:13 | Report Abuse

I still think KC should participate.....
considering the spirit of voicing a person's investing strategy.

Its like see the 'dividends' from a stock investment.

Perhaps KC portfolio would not give a good return in short term (like 1 year) may be it takes 3 years..but with a better CAGR.

So..there is no harm in participating..

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-04 14:16 | Report Abuse

Tan KW..you meant Soo Jin instead of Noby?

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-04 14:21 | Report Abuse

yes you are right

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-04 14:21 | Report Abuse

Tan KW From the top 20 on year 2015, 2 of them have yet to submit their pick...

CFTrader

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-01-04 14:23 | Report Abuse

Submit by end of today. I'm still writing the explanation.

NOBY

936 posts

Posted by NOBY > 2016-01-04 14:30 | Report Abuse

@TanKW, this shows you that KC Chong teach us how to fish instead of giving us the fish. :)

Posted by Tan KW > Jan 4, 2016 01:56 PM | Report Abuse

@NOBY, your pick is totally different with @II

same sifu, buy different kung fu?

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-04 14:41 | Report Abuse

teaching us to catch fish PLUS giving us the fish is also very nice ma..he he he..

anyway..its truly KC's wish....but I will still try to persuade..

azrudin84

53 posts

Posted by azrudin84 > 2016-01-04 14:43 | Report Abuse

Hi Mr Tan KW,

I would like to participate, below are my lists:

CAREPLS : 20,000 unit
CHINWEL : 5,000 unit
IKHMAS : 15,000 unit
MBSB : 7,500
TMCLIFE : 20,000 unit
WCT : 7,500 unit
KKB : 7,500 unit
SKP : 7,500 unit

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-04 14:44 | Report Abuse

@Probability - try yr best

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-04 14:45 | Report Abuse

@NOBY - good!

want to know who else is kc student in this list? beside you and II

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-04 14:45 | Report Abuse

@azrudin84 - it is close now....

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-04 14:48 | Report Abuse

ok.

soojinhou Submit by end of today. I'm still writing the explanation.
04/01/2016 14:23

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-04 14:48 | Report Abuse

@CFTrader - come and join us.....

you are wanted....

azrudin84

53 posts

Posted by azrudin84 > 2016-01-04 14:52 | Report Abuse

ok tq mr.tan kw

NOBY

936 posts

Posted by NOBY > 2016-01-04 15:09 | Report Abuse

I m not sure... they may go by different name here compared to the private blog.

Posted by Tan KW > Jan 4, 2016 02:45 PM | Report Abuse

@NOBY - good!

want to know who else is kc student in this list? beside you and II

sarahdeaton

1,609 posts

Posted by sarahdeaton > 2016-01-04 15:26 | Report Abuse

for me:

VS: 45%
SKPres: 45%
Homeritz : 10%

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-01-04 15:59 | Report Abuse

KC Chong is my sifu, although he may not acknowledge me as his student.

Here are my picks:

TGUAN-WA - 17%
CANONE - 16%
SHH - 23%
JAYCORP - 10%
SAM - 17%
MUDAJYA - 17%

1) I don't have to explain about Tguan's business, YiStock and Icon8888 have written extensively about it. Tguan should achieve revenue growth as well as margin improvement this year from aggressive expansion into higher margin products. Oil price does not look set to rebound this year, with Iran about to unleash it's production into the market with the upliftment of sanctions. Therefore, resin price should stay subdued. Rock solid 3Q15 result is achieved despite net forex loss of RM3m.

2) I think time is ripe for the take over price of KianJoo to be revised upwards of RM3.30. RM3.30 was offered in November 2013 and since then KianJoo's business has grown. It also did not declare any dividends over the past few years because any dividends it declare will be offseted against the RM3.30 takeover price. With the ringgit depreciation, KianJoo has grown cheaper to foreign suitors. According to Focus Malaysia, Toyota Tsusho is still in talks with Canone's management for a buyout. Watch for deadline 31/3/16 for the deal with Aspire Insight to conclude. Will another suitor put in a bid?

3) Is furniture theme still in play? I'm going put my money on SHH and Jaycorp instead of the usual suspects. SHH is a pure US play as all its products are exported there. 3Q15 results is achieves despite forex loss of RM1.2m. Excluding this, core eps is actually 9 cents, which translate to PER of 5.5 annualised. If results can be sustained, it is probably the cheapest furniture stock in Bursa. Management has audaciously raised dividend from 2 cents to 10 cents, suggesting strong confidence in its prospect.

4) Jaycorp is not quite as sexy as SHH as only a third of its export is to North America. 55% of its products are exported. The recent solid result is achieved in spite of net forex losses. Core eps is around 4.6 cents, PE is around 6.5 annualised. Still cheaper than the usual suspects.

5) With an order book many times its market capitalisation, 2016 may be another solid year for SAM. SAM management is going after RM1 billion revenue target from half a billion in 2015, although I can't find the timeline for them to achieve it. SAM has a moat that is impenetrable, because aircraft casings are highly precise parts very few fabricators have the ability to make.

6) Mudajaya is hopefully the dark horse. This is a low expectation counter that is picked up from the garbage bin. With the Indian power plant firing up, this may be a year of rerating for Mudajaya. But we'll have to see if the Indian government will compensate them for relatively expensive coal price locked in in 2014 when coal price was significantly higher.

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-04 17:15 | Report Abuse

From the top 20 on year 2015, CFTrader has yet to submit his pick...

@CFTrader , You are wanted, we are waiting for your pick.....

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-05 23:10 | Report Abuse

@soojinhou why kcchong not acknowledge u as his student?

very good wo, 3/20 from yr2015 top 20 is kc students....

@kcchongnz, do you want to share yr pick for reference?

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-05 23:32 | Report Abuse

TanKW...Soojinhou is just 'reversing' with humility to KC...

as i remember KC used to say to Intelligent Investor..
"if you consider me as your teacher'.

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2016-01-05 23:50 | Report Abuse

Walao 19/20 dah join. I don't join macam potong stim...
Sorry for the late post.
Tan KW. Please key in for me the pick.

KAWAN 20%
GKENT 20%
TGUAN-WA 20%
TOPGLOVE 20%
GESHEN 20%

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-01-06 00:06 | Report Abuse

Wow, CFT here. So how to price

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2016-01-06 00:08 | Report Abuse

As Tan KW wish.

Regards,
CFTrader

johnny cash

6,356 posts

Posted by johnny cash > 2016-01-06 09:12 | Report Abuse

DEAR MR TAN
GOOD MORNING. ONCE YOU ALREADY HAD ALL THE TOP 20, AND THEIR PICKS, CAN YOU MAKE A SUMMARY AND SEE WHAT ARE THE MOST COMMON STOCKS CHOOSEN BY THIS TOP 20. THIS WILL BE VERY VERY HELPFULL. THANKS

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-06 16:30 | Report Abuse

Top 20 @ 2015.. Everyone (20/20) have submitted their pick

Top 20 @ 2015's Pick - http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/stock_pick_2016/89039.jsp

TOC - http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/stock_pick_2016/88953.jsp

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2016-01-06 16:30 | Report Abuse

all is available on the link

feel free to make any summary you want..

hope you can share with us your finding

johnny cash DEAR MR TAN
GOOD MORNING. ONCE YOU ALREADY HAD ALL THE TOP 20, AND THEIR PICKS, CAN YOU MAKE A SUMMARY AND SEE WHAT ARE THE MOST COMMON STOCKS CHOOSEN BY THIS TOP 20. THIS WILL BE VERY VERY HELPFULL. THANKS
06/01/2016 09:12