U late 1.8888 minutes

soros228

2,034 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-01-08 20:02 | Report Abuse

Well written.

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-01-08 20:05 | Report Abuse

yummy...yummy... juz lovin it.SEA CUCUMBER effect coming on town.

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-01-08 20:07 | Report Abuse

better buy your sea cucumber first . dont border market or Icon8888 master article hehe...huat ah

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-01-08 20:08 | Report Abuse

wakaka ,,,laughing seacucumber...

samgross

229 posts

Posted by samgross > 2016-01-08 20:10 | Report Abuse

Your sea cucumber mathod greater than kc chong method

samgross

229 posts

Posted by samgross > 2016-01-08 20:12 | Report Abuse

When icon8888 article out at 8.01 pm...suddently i3 latest forum stop for 10 minutes...nobody comment on the other article because all people busy reading his the clash of sea cucumber article

soros228

2,034 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-01-08 20:13 | Report Abuse

Sam, u are very observant. Thumbs up.

samgross

229 posts

Posted by samgross > 2016-01-08 20:17 | Report Abuse

Icon today article just like whoever playing 4D keep refresh the 4D live result at 7.20pm to see which numbers goes to 1st prize...keng!!

Hoteyes

46 posts

Posted by Hoteyes > 2016-01-08 20:19 | Report Abuse

Muahahahahahaha...60 seconds late...what an anti climax.

samgross

229 posts

Posted by samgross > 2016-01-08 20:19 | Report Abuse

Dinner, bath, wife, husband, children all just put aside just to read icon article...geng

samgross

229 posts

Posted by samgross > 2016-01-08 20:20 | Report Abuse

60 second late, comcorp could be goreng up 10 cent ald...icon, pls punctual next time

2,823 posts

Posted by cheoky > 2016-01-08 20:20 | Report Abuse

Thumb up to old man icon.

Posted by zbaikitree2 > 2016-01-08 20:21 |

SuperMan 99

1,178 posts

Posted by SuperMan 99 > 2016-01-08 20:23 | Report Abuse

Salute you, Icon.

SuperMan 99

1,178 posts

Posted by SuperMan 99 > 2016-01-08 20:26 | Report Abuse

Those cannot understand but leave rude words is like finding rubbish in a gold mine (在金矿里找垃圾), you will find nothing here.

Posted by zbaikitree2 > 2016-01-08 20:28 |

samgross

229 posts

Posted by samgross > 2016-01-08 20:28 | Report Abuse

They are like 鸡蛋挑骨头

pussycats

7,615 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2016-01-08 20:29 | Report Abuse

Wow, Icon, such an inspiring writing. Good, Bagus & Ho Liao.

SuperMan 99

1,178 posts

Posted by SuperMan 99 > 2016-01-08 20:29 | Report Abuse

I will let some win first, then follow the winners, I rather win less than lose bet... :)

chyokh

158 posts

Posted by chyokh > 2016-01-08 20:31 | Report Abuse

stimulating...your article not the sea cucumber.

Probability

14,460 posts

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-08 20:31 | Report Abuse

Icon ...
master of marketing..and a diplomat for gurus of different philosophies.

If one is not going to buy a stock like buying a business after studying its business prospect and staying invested for the period they had expected the business to start rewarding...or because of the Div yield better than FD....its then all about tapping inefficiency in information and making a benefit out of it.

Now I think we can greatly rely on Icon where the 'inefficiencies' of information are...and while helping Icon to untie these inefficiency..i am sure we will be rewarding ourself in return too...ha ha ha..

keep it up Icon...

shellhouse

641 posts

Posted by shellhouse > 2016-01-08 20:31 | Report Abuse

When icon mentions a stock in his post. you know what to do next :D

chonghai

480 posts

Posted by chonghai > 2016-01-08 21:05 | Report Abuse

Ha Ha ! Sea cucumber. Really gao gao wet wet !

samgross

229 posts

Posted by samgross > 2016-01-08 21:06 | Report Abuse

Icon now use tooth tick to remove the sea cucumber that stick on his teeth and enjoy our compliment to his article

Posted by alpha investor > 2016-01-08 21:17 | Report Abuse

Is there a Part 5 coming? you are damn good, icon8888!

greddym3

286 posts

Posted by greddym3 > 2016-01-08 22:51 | Report Abuse

Icon, how about george soros? It will be interesting to know about his invesment philosophy.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-08 22:54 | Report Abuse

let me have a look

Kyou

1,225 posts

Posted by Kyou > 2016-01-08 23:32 | Report Abuse

apply "Sea Cucumber" Principle...XD..

BMboy

6 posts

Posted by BMboy > 2016-01-09 01:02 | Report Abuse

Get inspired instantly... Sea cucumber for dinner tmr

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-01-09 01:08 | Report Abuse

How true is it ???
pasar malam uncle saying : listed company bosses r too good on selling their paper (saham)...For me , its mean ....

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-01-09 01:09 | Report Abuse

Not toilet paper.

Posted by sahamewah128 > 2016-01-09 01:22 | Report Abuse

Icon, do you consider Genting and IOI as Buffett stocks? they were the darlings of the seventies & eighties too

Posted by icon8989 > 2016-01-09 01:40 | Report Abuse

I won't touch Top Glove now! TGlove was like 5 ringgit last year! Put your money in PetronM instead! It may turn into another TGlove!

Posted by DreamSubjugator > 2016-01-09 02:31 | Report Abuse

is that so

confuse

570 posts

Posted by confuse > 2016-01-09 02:51 | Report Abuse

When Icon8888 never praise Top Glove good last year? He only bought recently so he want you all to buy higher than him?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-01-09 05:33 | Report Abuse

Great article icon, like usual.

I love the last part the most here. Thank you very much.

"Email both Ooi Teik Bee and KC Chong now to register for their courses. They are waiting for you."

It is the best advertisement for me. You know it is not easy to try to propagate fundamental value investing in Bursa.

To reciprocate your kindness, I am going to write one article, hopefully by to-night to talk about my perception of fundamental value investing, which is very different from your perspective of value investing.

I have every reason to appreciate you but none at all to "shoot" you. You are a great contributor in i3investor.

I believe you are receptive of different opinion, just like me.

"谢谢" again.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-09 06:08 | Report Abuse

Oh KC I am thrilled. Looking firward to it !!!

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-09 06:12 | Report Abuse

Saham mewah genting historical profit does look like sea cucumber

Only these two years the sea cucumber softened a bit

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-09 06:14 | Report Abuse

IOI also

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-09 06:22 | Report Abuse

@confuse, I noted your comments. The only thing I can say is that you have a great sense of humour

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2016-01-09 06:55 | Report Abuse

Hi Icon, I think you mean Joel Greenblatt not Greenberg.

1. Buffett and Greenblatt operate in a totally different approach. Buffett focus on moat and as you know holds Washington Post, American Express, Coca-cola for decades. Greenblatt doesnt look at moat. He focus on portfolio systematic approach. Find a list of stocks with high ROIC and high earning yield, rank it, buy them, sell on last day of the year, repeat every year.

2. I do not believe Buffett focus on 23% hurdle rate. A great example is Burlington Northern Santa Fe. BNSF market cap sits at 44bil when acquired by Berkshire. You don't expect a company that size to compound 23% a year.

3. Buffett is so interested in newspaper because newspaper is like a 'toll road'. And newspaper has efficiency of scale. In a small town, the size and market of it is small enough to only accomodate one newspaper, any other newspaper that wants to come in will have to steal market shares and make a profit loss. Thus newspaper is a monopoly in small town.

4. He bought Washington Post after the bad drop in share prices to 80 mil market cap. He mention that in the superinvestors speech saying anyone can look at Washington Post assets and easily know it is worth 400 mil. He bought it with a margin of safety and the moat. He sat on the board, become great friends with Katherine Graham, the heir of Washington Post, and guided her to turn the company around, hence the growth in margin and revenue.

5. If by your categorisation of value traders & value investors, then Buffett is a former then become a latter. He uses pure Ben Graham net-net style when he was running his partnership. Finding cheap companies, and yes thats how he bought Berkshire Hathaway, and sell them when they reaches fair value. Over time under the influence of Charlie Munger and buying Sees Candies, he started to appreciate the power of franchise aka moat, thats how he move into looking for moat companies. Another major reason is that as Berkshire grows and cigar butt stocks are getting rare during the 70-80s, their capital are ballooning, those are the reasons why he prefer moat companies. In an email he replied to a student asking if he has 10 million now would he use Ben Graham or moat style, he thinks cigar butt still works with small sum (<10mil) and moat works better for larger capital.

6. And as some would aware few years ago during a crisis in South Korea, a fund manager send a booklet that contain all the korean listed companies. He spend half a day going through all of them, picks a bunch of them using his own money, not Berkshire and make a healthy return.

7. By my honest opinion, 99% of ppl on here are value traders especially when you look at all the analysis using ratio and metrics. But it is a fact there arent many moat companies in Malaysia to begin with, unless you venture out into other countries. Studying moat starts with studying competitive advantage, that means looking at the 5 forces. Power of supplier, barrier of entry, substitute, forces of competitions and power of buyer. I never really see anyone analyse those. And it is not easy consider the disclosure and information is very limited on Annual Reports.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-09 08:15 | Report Abuse

Thanks Sifu JT

I can see u have very indepth understanding of Buffett

This confirm my long held suspicion that you read widely on gurus teaching like KC

I wish I can learn more from you people

After a good night sleep, I have further insight into Buffett

Watch out for my next article

It will be short but punchy

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-09 08:30 | Report Abuse

JT Greenblatt is an interesting animal

He makes use of moat concept RoIC etc, but he churns his portfolio like a trader

I will try to write about him

Btw why r u blogging so little ? We will benefit a lot from your thoughts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-09 08:46 | Report Abuse

still angry ah ? Don't be so small gas lah... I have deleted the PRG article...

Posted by mightymouses > 2016-01-09 08:52 | Report Abuse

Aik zbaikitree where VT number? I think you should stop being his caddy boy and get a real fren ok

Posted by mightymouses > 2016-01-09 08:55 | Report Abuse

Zebaitree angry because VT of hevea didn't share info and he didn't dare to ask.
Whattodoooooo???.

Posted by mightymouses > 2016-01-09 09:00 | Report Abuse

What abt Sam Grouse? Still sleeping.?

Today I tell you guys all the 4 heavenly King .

1. Icon8888 - King of writing stock market article
2. OTB - King of TA
3. KCchong - King of FA
4. KYY -King of Talking
5. Wikileaks - King of insider information

As long as they don't cross their own expertise they won't sound like zebaitree and samgrouse

Posted by mightymouses > 2016-01-09 09:03 | Report Abuse

Example of crossing their expertise, OTB now try to do syndicate and insider information exposë like in the hevea case where he exposë got syndicate playing to push up the price

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-09 09:30 | Report Abuse

why so angry early in the morning ? LOL