39 comment(s). Last comment by bwulf 2016-02-10 18:38

Posted by shareinvestor88 > 2016-02-09 17:17 | Report Abuse

Wait for the quarterly report and check the profit and cash holdings

sklyte

2,621 posts

Posted by sklyte > 2016-02-09 17:49 | Report Abuse

A bs article, if u want growth, exports is the way to go some of them will experience a boom in their volume sales, focus on them

Posted by Mohd Fahmi Bin Jaes > 2016-02-09 17:58 | Report Abuse

avoide export

yktay1

464 posts

Posted by yktay1 > 2016-02-09 18:00 | Report Abuse

Reasons to continue investing in export stocks:

letitgo you are a joke. Type so much but make very little sense. Do you ever ponder how small the Malaysian market is with only <30mil population?

If companies only sell their goods in the local market, that is such a limiting factor in terms of demand. Companies that are able to export are able to compete on a global scale against producers from all around the world.

If a country only produces goods that are exclusively consumed by its own population, money is just being recycled. A few individuals may be getting wealthier but not the country as a whole as there would be no inflows of funds.

Anyway lets see how stupid your points are:

1) Which company is not affected by electricity tariff hike?
2) and 3) China and US are the biggest consumers in the world, even if they grow by 1%, due to the enormous base, the absolute amount is enough to absorb much of the world's production.
4) Looks like you have been sleeping all this while. The Ringgit has been very volatile and if you assume it will continue one a one way path in strengthening you are kidding yourself. Year-to-date gain of less than 3% is nothing in such volatile trading. In any case, 4.15 to 4.00 is still very attractive for exporters.
5) Again which sector is not affected by minimum wage increase? One that employs all local labour? How cost effective is that?
6)
a) Would you dare to bet on an oil recovery? If so, you can buy Perisai or Hibiscus now.
b) What if Bank Negara reduces interest rates in Malaysia to counter slowing GDP? Thought of that?
c) Vietnam wage increase is long overdue and is still cheaper than China or Msian labour.
d) There are ones that are extremely undervalued as well.
e) The rich will spend in good times and bad.

Posted by lapinkiller > 2016-02-09 18:07 | Report Abuse

no mention TPPA? for long term, should pump in more now, b4 2018 tppa started

Probability

14,426 posts

Posted by Probability > 2016-02-09 18:08 | Report Abuse

yup...Commercial Bank's retention ratios had been reduced...next is to reduce interest rate...

smartly

6,427 posts

Posted by smartly > 2016-02-09 18:17 | Report Abuse

rubbish article. no depth at all.

yktay1

464 posts

Posted by yktay1 > 2016-02-09 18:25 | Report Abuse

FOCUS ON INVESTING IN COMPANIES THAT HAVE COMPETITIVE ADVANTAGE. ONES THAT ARE ABLE TO SOURCE RAW MATERIALS LOCALLY SUCH AS RUBBER AND TIMBER/PLYWOOD. THIS CANNOT BE REPLICATED ELSEWHERE.

ganasai

1,671 posts

Posted by ganasai > 2016-02-09 18:30 | Report Abuse

wah.... u are anti uncle k. my opinion, export share already quite heat. shorten play ok, long term play sure die. must run faster than uncle k. play with high risk. dollar wont be strong longer. let see.

ganasai

1,671 posts

Posted by ganasai > 2016-02-09 18:37 | Report Abuse

even export share recently got some drop but still in history high zone. dont forget, a lot of share already split many times. u think price now is the price last time? so short term play and full monitor on the dollar change is the must.

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-02-09 18:40 | Report Abuse

Do you expect oil price to recover given Iran is about to unleash its production to the global market?

leelc99

871 posts

Posted by leelc99 > 2016-02-09 18:43 | Report Abuse

I agree with soojinhou.

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2016-02-09 18:49 | Report Abuse

Those export stocks with increased capacity will still perform well.
Those only depend on the mere forex gain will suffer.

ycbang

468 posts

Posted by ycbang > 2016-02-09 18:53 |

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-09 18:55 | Report Abuse

I am not so sure that export stocks are bad bet in 2016

Let's wait and see

eric_b7b

2,120 posts

Posted by eric_b7b > 2016-02-09 18:56 | Report Abuse

dollar will collapes . trust me

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-09 19:02 | Report Abuse

Plenty of export stocks entering into attractive territory......

Keinhin, Pensoni, home ritz , latitude, Chinwell to name just a few

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-09 19:05 | Report Abuse

Contra players are always on cash.........

------
Generally there are 3 camps here.

Camp No. 1 (KYY + OTB): Still holding on export stocks. Of course they will say ringgit will remain weak.

Camp No. 2 (Kcchonhnz): No exposure to export stocks. This camp can sleep well regardless of currency fluctuation.

Camp No. 3 (icon8888): Holding cash. This camp already go for holiday. Haha

YOLOOOO

1,676 posts

Posted by YOLOOOO > 2016-02-09 19:06 | Report Abuse

So simple, those think that usd will crash, please go to buy gold or bornoil. And for those who think that usd will rise, please also come to buy bornoil. Haha if u know what i mean

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-02-09 19:07 | Report Abuse

Oil is a consumable, and therefore not easy to "price in" just because the Iran sanction has been widely expected. It is not easy to "price in" because there is a limit how much crude oil can be stored. A better guide to real demand and supply balance is perhaps US crude oil stockpile data. What does it tell us? Stockpile has been increasing and there's may be a looming issue of storing all the excess, WITHOUT Iran dumping it's stockpile on the market. Go figure what happens when Iran's excesses hit the market. Let's put it another way. Your 70% drop in oil price happens while speculators are busy buying up crude to be sold at a later date due to contango pricing. These additional speculative demands are sitting on storage terminals and idle tankers, even BEFORE Iran unleashes it's stockpile.

orlandooil

4,849 posts

Posted by orlandooil > 2016-02-09 19:09 | Report Abuse

In 2016 export counters at best shd b jz HOLD. If u didn't buy then tis not d time to anymore.

Probability

14,426 posts

Posted by Probability > 2016-02-09 19:40 | Report Abuse

Walao wei...if RM strengthen further with the crude price maintaining at this level...what will happen to Malaysian exports level??

KUALA LUMPUR (Feb 5): Malaysian exports rose 1.4% to RM68.3 billion in December from a year earlier driven by higher sales of electrical and electronic (E&E) products and timber and timber-based products to major buyers.

However, the annual export growth in December was slower compared with the median forecast of 5% growth polled by Reuters.

In a statement today, the Statistics Department said exports in oil and gas-related products, which included liquefied natural gas, crude petroleum and refined petroleum products, recorded a decline.

The exports of palm oil, palm-based products and natural rubber also fell.

According to Statistic Department, E&E accounted for 36.3% of total exports, while timber and timber-based products contributed 2.9% of total exports.

In geographical terms, the department said Malaysia had sold more goods to the US, Thailand, European Union and Indonesia.

Year-on-year (y-o-y) imports increased 3.2% to RM60.3 billion, mainly attributed to China (+RM940.5 million), Indonesia (+RM605.1 million), Thailand (+RM404.7 million) and Brazil (+RM360.6 million).

However, in seasonally adjusted terms, imports decreased 2.9% month-on-month to RM58.6 billion.

The Statistic Department said the total trade in December was valued at RM128.6 billion, representing an increase of RM2.8 billion or 2.2% from a year ago.

"It also posted an increase of RM3.6 billion or 2.9% when compared to the previous month," the department said.

On a y-o-y basis, a trade surplus of RM8 billion was recorded, a decline of RM916.2 million or 10.3%; it showed a decrease of RM2.2 billion or 22% compared with the immediate preceding month.

Reuters reported that December's exports are expected to slow slightly from the previous month's pace due to weak global demand and slumping oil prices.

The median forecast was for a 5% expansion in December from a year earlier, compared with a 6.3% rise in November.

Imports were forecast to grow 4.3% in December from a year earlier, slowing sharply from November's pace of 9.1%, the report added.

shahrin

106 posts

Posted by shahrin > 2016-02-09 20:06 | Report Abuse

Double checked with www.tradingeconomics.com, The Jan 2016 US Consumer Index is at 11322.5 (highest todate). Why this article gave alarming US Consumer Index numbers ? Something is not wright here or my reference is wrong.

sinkalan

29 posts

Posted by sinkalan > 2016-02-09 20:11 | Report Abuse

not very smart article
bad for reading

CCCL

621 posts

Posted by CCCL > 2016-02-09 20:17 | Report Abuse

Ha ha ...All negative news from the writer's. What a lousy monkey tricks! Wishing All Gong Xi Fa Cai!

sklyte

2,621 posts

Posted by sklyte > 2016-02-09 20:23 | Report Abuse

Usd was 4.15 during october, some stocks are lower than october levels! Doesnt make sense at all like kossan, dont be silly to sell at low

samyew1234

1,362 posts

Posted by samyew1234 > 2016-02-09 20:26 | Report Abuse

ya, agreed, very bad article

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-09 20:31 | Report Abuse

nothing new there except shares have dropped 20% from a month ago and sentiments more bearish from a month ago.

but is lower prices and bearish sentiments good reasons not to touch?

half full? half empty?

you decide.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-02-09 20:42 | Report Abuse

The problem of Zimbabwe is their currency finally collapse because of their leader is untouchable

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-02-09 20:45 | Report Abuse

When the money collapse what will you keep?
Of course it is gold!
Zimbabwe had nothing else good to keep
even if their Zimbabwe land used to be so fruitful like many strategically country

Posted by VenFx > 2016-02-09 20:46 | Report Abuse

A mixed portfolio will streamline your 2016 stock performance. Malaysia knowing that, peoples can't afford any further slide to its currency. Pls exercise your adjustment after analyze the individual counter posted its 1st qtr results of 2016; May the Monkey be with us.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-09 21:08 | Report Abuse

I don't think so...A bear market sinks all boats...and a good stock can reverse faster than you can say hello.

VenFx > Feb 9, 2016 09:03 PM | Report Abuse

Icon8888 ' s Article- My reshuffling porfolio in 2016. (Just right on time)

Posted by VenFx > 2016-02-09 21:09 | Report Abuse

Icon8888 ' s Article- My reshuffling porfolio in 2016. (Just right on time) 

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/icon8888/90649.jsp

Posted by shareinvestor88 > 2016-02-10 01:15 | Report Abuse

As long as RM is above 4.00 , export companies will continue to make good profit

Posted by kennethcheah > 2016-02-10 07:51 | Report Abuse

Agree with u, shareinvestor88.

12,893 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-02-10 08:12 |

Posted by newbiehk2015 > 2016-02-10 09:03 | Report Abuse

Scaremonger to get cheapsale lah. As kong as company make better profit should be ok.

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2016-02-10 11:08 | Report Abuse

Some people are always talking like they themselves own the crystal ball & act like the fortune tellers.

the most commonly used is "run run run, sky is falling down" OR "market is crashing"

bwulf

182 posts

Posted by bwulf > 2016-02-10 18:38 | Report Abuse

Oil price is not going to recover in near term so USD against MYR should be above 4.