12 people like this.

36 comment(s). Last comment by tsongi346 2016-03-04 13:09

N00b

380 posts

Posted by N00b > 2016-02-10 09:32 | Report Abuse

"Stocks always go up..."

http://s12.postimg.org/j9vqv5dal/stocks_always_go_up.png

Posted by stocktrader3 > 2016-02-10 09:43 | Report Abuse

JT Yeo, thanks for the great article. Can I ask one question just for my reference of how others do it?

How many percent you allocate your fund into stock, mutual fund, FD, cash and etc....?

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-02-10 10:16 | Report Abuse

I agree. Those who sat on the sideline waiting for market to recover often end up joining the bull market at the peak. Forget about timing the market. Just continue to buy good stocks cheap and u will be fine.

ckwan11d

567 posts

Posted by ckwan11d > 2016-02-10 10:23 | Report Abuse

I need further reading.

Bs1688

436 posts

Posted by Bs1688 > 2016-02-10 10:23 | Report Abuse

Fear is in the air, common sense is not that common .

25,004 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-02-10 12:22 | Report Abuse

DONT HOLD CASH -----> just give me your cash lar :-) HA HA!

Posted by 15% to 20% > 2016-02-10 12:35 | Report Abuse

Good article.

Posted by Smart Investor > 2016-02-10 13:33 | Report Abuse

But is stock value keep on decreasing like what us happening currently, might as well keep until lower price....no urgency to buy

5,741 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2016-02-10 13:39 | Report Abuse

I agree with soujinhou...., just understand Walter schloss principles will survive........,just buy with high mos....ok you will have your day....

Just to ask around bro or sis I would like to find dr neoh manuscript... Does anyone know where to get it...many thks

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-10 13:41 | Report Abuse

Smart guy.....

Psychologists know some thing you all don't.........

Psychologists all know that people are not as capable not as good as they believe.

That everybody not as competent as they believe they are.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-10 13:49 | Report Abuse

Removing the issue of competent and alpha performance.....

There are still two truism.....

1...... That in an environment of low interest rates below inflation......to borrow is smart, to save not so smart......to borrow and invest is the smartest.

2........ That the only free lunch in town is diversification.....that is why CFA and universities teaches you to diversify. Problem is, too much diversification, you will never be rich as Bill Gates.

Add every thing together, stock discovery in growing companies is still the smarter choice.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-10 13:58 | Report Abuse

There is no need for further postings in this issue other than the two post I created above.

That is my opinion, but I too maybe not as smart as I think I am.

Posted by Smart Investor > 2016-02-10 14:01 | Report Abuse

If stock now at rm2.....but heading to rm1...why not u out first

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-10 14:08 | Report Abuse

Smart guy....you think you are so smart.....but psychologists know that you are not that smart.

That what you think will go down
Actually go up then how?

Posted by Smart Investor > 2016-02-10 14:26 | Report Abuse

Money cannot finish earn....there are always opportunities out there.....sometimes just need to be cautios

Kevin Wong

416 posts

Posted by Kevin Wong > 2016-02-10 14:36 | Report Abuse

If you are consistently smarter than mart, and can reliably predict mkt tops and bottoms...then go ahead and be a market timer or trader. Otherwise, just stay invested for the long term and ride or ignore all the inevitable mkt wild up and down swings.
The only right method is the one that makes you happy, $$$ and harm nobody...

Good luck to all investors, traders, timers, hold forever...

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-02-10 14:44 | Report Abuse

Desa, CW lai Liao. Buy ah.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-10 14:44 | Report Abuse

Smart investor........In that case, go back to step one,
Removing the issue of competent and alpha performance.....

There are still two truism.....

1...... That in an environment of low interest rates below inflation......to borrow is smart, to save not so smart......to borrow and invest is the smartest.

Think about it.....removing the issue of competent and alpha performance....the current world and Malaysia monetary policy suggest that the smarter one is the one stays invested at all times.......that every bear market is an opportunity to buy shares.........on one principal assumption..........that the investor has unlimited capacity to borrow.

Since no one has unlimited capacity to borrow we adjust the strategy accordingly. We have to sacrifice infinite earnings for reasonable earnings.

Posted by Smart Investor > 2016-02-10 15:49 | Report Abuse

When China market opening?

Posted by Smart Investor > 2016-02-10 16:21 | Report Abuse

China will open next Monday and join the ride

25,004 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-02-11 09:29 | Report Abuse

dont hold cash...... gimme me all your cash :-)

somchik

1,220 posts

Posted by somchik > 2016-02-11 10:54 | Report Abuse

when the idea of having QE ( practically printing money in large amount..your money become small in real value, when banks start practicing zirp policy means your money stop generating more money,, worst still negative interest ..forcing you to do something to your money and not just holding it...what does that lead too...have to lock it somewhere that would create increasing value..invest in good stocks.and different assets class...not cash ..not cash .. just my one sen common sense kikiki

25,004 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-02-11 14:10 | Report Abuse

so follow najib or dont follow najib? http://www.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia/article/dr-m-najib-told-me-cash-is-king

okdoke

279 posts

Posted by okdoke > 2016-02-11 18:52 | Report Abuse

hi ks55,

mind sharing with us the answers ?

What are the symptoms associated with each hour of the Investment Cycle Clock? 1 o'clock ( or 2 o'clock ) = anxiety
What is the time on the Investment Cycle Clock now? 1 o'clock ( or 2 o'clock ) = anxiety

thanks in advance

skyz

Posted by skyz > 2016-02-12 09:11 | Report Abuse

Najib says CASH IS KING eh, u dare to prove him wrong? LOL

25,004 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-02-12 10:58 | Report Abuse

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NqgG31_qaO4 CASH IS KING!

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2016-02-12 12:28 | Report Abuse

Anyone can always find a reason to disprove that 'stock always go up'. And at the end of the day, everyone in this forum is buying individual stocks not buying the whole stock market. A broader market in Japan hasn't gone up doesnt mean you can't make money in individual stocks.

NOT SURE how to go about - Is there ever a sure thing in market? There are only probability, no certainty.

traderman

7,854 posts

Posted by traderman > 2016-02-12 12:31 | Report Abuse

yes stock always go up, but let said you buy a stock at 1.0 in this market condition, it drop to 80 cent before start rebound ... can you stand to see a paper loss of 20 cent ?

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2016-02-12 12:34 | Report Abuse

I think my time is better spent on understanding the companies im interested to buy and determine their value than studying investment cycle clock. That doesnt mean im ignorance about the market sentiment, we still need to roughly know if investors are aggressive or cautious, optimistic or pessimistic, greedy or fear etc. And going by your sentiment, you are definitely very cautious and pessimistic; i've experienced that for the past 2-3 years, now im on the opposite sentiment

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2016-02-12 12:40 | Report Abuse

like you said it is just a paper loss not a permanent loss unless you are forced to sell it. As long the business behind remain intact, nothing will change. I bought Aeoncredit at $15.80, now it is $11. But I cannot find any other financial companies that can compound net asset faster than Aeoncredit besides Public Bank, so I am happy to hold it. The only time that i would sell and realized a loss is when I found another similar quality stock that has a cheaper price in relation to it's value. And that's another reason im looking at SGX companies

NOBY

936 posts

Posted by NOBY > 2016-02-12 13:49 | Report Abuse

JT Yeo, I am finding super bargains on SGX and HKEX now which are in deep bear territory. Perhaps we can exchange ideas through a private forum. There are other like minded international investors too. Please leave me your email address if you re interested.

NOBY

936 posts

Posted by NOBY > 2016-02-12 14:22 | Report Abuse

Got it. You can remove it now if you want

Kevin Wong

416 posts

Posted by Kevin Wong > 2016-02-12 14:41 | Report Abuse

investing like trading is a win some lose some game, But investors unlike traders need only to be lucky enough to be able to pick just one superstar winner, or at least 2 winners out of 10 to 15 names and hold for many years...
Anyway, to all all traders, timers, investors, hold forever...good luck!

tsongi346

Posted by tsongi346 > 2016-03-04 13:08 | Report Abuse

I always treat the share markets as banks, counters that have good PE, steady earning records, comfortable NTA with good steady dividend yield above bank rates ( that I feel the peacefulness even widen markets crash),

tsongi346

Posted by tsongi346 > 2016-03-04 13:09 | Report Abuse

When markets crash