Probability, FCF means free cash flow. The amount of 'free cash' generated from operations cash flow after minus out capital expenditure. High FCF vs revenue means high free cash generated from sales which is good(usually above 5%).
ROAE is a slight variantion of ROE which is Return of Equity but i calculate based on average equity to offset any spike in equity portion. Usually high ROE is good. But I would say ROIC will be a better indicator for calculating return of capital employed.
Must-have criterias: 1. Company must be public-listed for at least 5 years (did not realize I left it out in the first time!) 2. Increasing revenue, net profit & owner's earnings for the past 5 years. 3. Consecutive 2 year drop in revenue & net profit is a big no-no for me. 4. Some form of dividends paid each year for the past 5 years. 5. Increasing ROIC & CROIC in the past few years AND/OR high percentage (>10%). 6. FCF vs Revenue > 5%. 7. ROAE > 15%. 8. Good gross, operating, & net profit margins compared to peers. 9. Company must have healthy cash balance, but not too much cash sitting idle. 10. No debt or manageable debt company. 11. NO CHINA COMPANY. 12. Don't invest in sectors that I am not familiar with (e.g. Banking/plantation/airline/financial). 13. Avoid companies whose stocks constantly in the 'Top Active Stock' list (unless you want to try your luck trading against the big fishes).
I got a better suggestion.....just focus on the opposite....in other words, look for turnarounds, only buy when it is low volume and consolidating at low volumes at a historical low price and awaiting turn around like AA and AAX.
or Bornoil
the charts, the patience and the concept then becomes the key.
Pintaras, PresBhd out if follow Shinado criterias.
Must-have criterias: 1. Company must be public-listed for at least 5 years (did not realize I left it out in the first time!) 2. Increasing revenue, net profit & owner's earnings for the past 5 years. 3. Consecutive 2 year drop in revenue & net profit is a big no-no for me.
maybe another criteria about management especially the boss - CEO must NOT always be in the news - for the wrong reason - like General Lee of KNM n Tey fella of Nexgram or the one tat makan gaji buta like Ayatollah Shah of Scomi or the sleeping beauty Anto ex boss of Mudatidor :)
Your criteria are stringent no doubt. But if you can find a few to invest in, you can sleep soundly.
I believe you can find many during market down turn, especially when there are a lot of margin calls. Margin calls appear to be very common nowadays. It is certainly good for those looking for bargain like you do.
KC, no doubt I can sleep soundly each night whether market rally or crash. My selection criteria enable me to throw out the weak ones and list down the remaining strong ones.
However, valuation wise might be tough. Not all can be bought at this moment. I'm sure most can be bought during market downturn just like you said.
Am I too stringent? Perhaps time will tell.
People who like this
You should check in on some of those fields below.
Title
Category
Comment
Confirmation
Click Confirm to delete this Forum Thread and all the associated comments.
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
RosmahMansur
2,870 posts
Posted by RosmahMansur > 2016-03-08 18:13 | Report Abuse
debt over equity ratio must be less than 50%