17 comment(s). Last comment by 15% to 20% 2016-06-27 16:58

henry0420

35 posts

Posted by henry0420 > 2016-06-24 16:33 | Report Abuse

Nice wrote!! Thanks for sharing, Icon.

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2016-06-24 16:36 | Report Abuse

great info , thanks for sharing .sifu icon888.

Posted by probability > 2016-06-24 16:50 |

tftey

326 posts

Posted by tftey > 2016-06-24 17:32 | Report Abuse

Thumps Up

SALAM

1,024 posts

Posted by SALAM > 2016-06-24 17:34 | Report Abuse

Well said and done!! THIS SELFLESS ICON IS REALLY SELFLESS !! Much better than many so-called Saifu...out there. Salute.
What about knowledge of characteristics & behaviour of the Board and Management (whether personally interested or family-owned etc...)?
Equally important too..........

Posted by probability > 2016-06-24 17:40 | Report Abuse

when there is someone like old koon yew 'YIN'...we have 'YOUNG' icon to balance it...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yin_and_yang

latlut

302 posts

Posted by latlut > 2016-06-24 17:44 | Report Abuse

thanks for sharing

value88

701 posts

Posted by value88 > 2016-06-25 09:42 | Report Abuse

Great article. It is one of the best I ever read so far in i3. It combines both knowledge and experience to write such article, and it's very practical.
I particularly like the valuation multiples expansion portion and the example quoted, I learn useful new things from there. I should re-read this article from time to time.
To predict future earning, if we can translate the macro or catalytic factors into financial figures like Icon8888 did for AirAsia, we can even come out a predicted EPS and arrive at a targeted fair value to help our investment decision.

AllWin

782 posts

Posted by AllWin > 2016-06-25 10:24 | Report Abuse

Great article. Thanks Icon.

4,281 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2016-06-25 18:53 | Report Abuse

Personal bias is another obstacle to cause us forgoing the opportunity to make money even though the big trend popping up in our eyes. Some of us are strongly believed that some industries won't do well base on our knowledge and experience in longer term. We don't dare to grab the opportunity and refuse to believe the facts presented to us. I am one of them. That's why I don't make a single cent in AirAsia. Haha. M still learning.

confuse

570 posts

Posted by confuse > 2016-06-25 19:06 | Report Abuse

Why no Bornoil here?

5,743 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2016-06-25 20:08 | Report Abuse

Bro icon great works..... Waiting for your next article....,

Lyo82

396 posts

Posted by Lyo82 > 2016-06-26 00:24 | Report Abuse

Again, it is down to doing your homework, no free lunch. If you are too lazy, ignorant, don't know how or have no confident at your judgement, then better look for other options. Eg. invest in dividend yield stock or blue chips. Choose the method that best suit you. Your effort will determine how much you will gain from stock market.

OPMS

1,183 posts

Posted by OPMS > 2016-06-26 07:37 | Report Abuse

Haha, tell me asap once you posses such wisdom icon!

**********************************************************************************
How I hope I possess that wisdom and can share it here so that all of you can walk into your boss' office and fire him/her. Unfortunately, I don't.

I guess you need to be patient to wait for it to present itself.

Sorry, you need to go back to your desk and finish your work. Boss is watching...

dusti

2,404 posts

Posted by dusti > 2016-06-26 17:32 | Report Abuse

Some companies wd be dying to employ you. Good luck!

Posted by iloveshare128 > 2016-06-27 11:14 | Report Abuse

This is a good article. Thumbs up!

Posted by 15% to 20% > 2016-06-27 16:58 | Report Abuse

Jobstreet is it because of the forthcoming take-over? I think is not just the re-rating