103 comment(s). Last comment by by88 2017-01-18 21:29

5,845 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2016-11-17 00:07 | Report Abuse

Take it easy, Ezra, it's good to have you in i3

Posted by cheoky > 2016-11-17 00:13 | Report Abuse

with low tin price of previous years, under investment on new mining. recently, the black horse, myanmar tin supply to china is on surface depleting. that should support the tin price in near term. MSC owns a canada firm called alphamin if i m right. alphamin secure right to mine tin in congo. this also takes a few more year toward commercial production. All in all, previous years low tin price make under investment on new mining and existing tough mining spot. This should comfort the worries of tin price collapse. Maybe is my bias. dont know.

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-17 00:17 | Report Abuse

That's why I am a bit optimistic. When tin price 20,000, msc traded range 4 to 5.

ronnietan

141 posts

Posted by ronnietan > 2016-11-17 00:29 | Report Abuse

Latest Q 17 sen EPS. If it can sustain this level, or even higher, next couple of quarters, you'd have another winner in your portfolio.
Helpful if it'll re-instate a dividend this year.

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-17 00:42 | Report Abuse

Yes. Stingy on dividends, that why traded at low PE

Posted by KLCI King > 2016-11-17 01:26 | Report Abuse

paperplane, got your mercedez car key already?

Posted by KLCI King > 2016-11-17 01:27 | Report Abuse

Your RGB & Johontin W are doing crazy, now bank security guards also know you

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-17 01:32 | Report Abuse

Haha. Not yet pay. Maybe next yr.

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-17 01:50 | Report Abuse

Hopefully stock won't crash before 2H next yr.

Posted by RUOutOfUrMind > 2016-11-17 07:55 | Report Abuse

Ezra_Investor, I don't judge people whether they know or don't know, not even judging them that they don't know what they don't know. Don't think you are so superior to think other people don't know & you are the only one to know.

I am here to look for investment opportunity to make money, not here to teach people. You go ahead with your life purpose but don't ever think all others are stupid. You are also kind of stupid to think you are clever than above all.

Posted by RUOutOfUrMind > 2016-11-17 07:59 | Report Abuse

Ezra_Investor, you are so right, don't try to teach people when people never ask you to teach, or else you make yourself looked stupid OR too ego.

Posted by Sebastian Sted Power > 2016-11-17 08:00 | Report Abuse

wah! just know that paper also know write article. Always blow cow only but this time really blow with fact.

Good job!

Posted by RUOutOfUrMind > 2016-11-17 08:02 | Report Abuse

Ezra_Investor, I will be so pleased to see you to remove your posts, you are making right move to rectify yourself. If you really want to teach people, do like what KC do, write more article to teach people, let those interested to be taught to read your articles(s).

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2016-11-17 08:06 | Report Abuse

Look at Q2 2016 result, a one-off RM30mil write-off on associates occur. Without this, the company is actually in profit for 1H 2016.

A further reading under notes, it states as such:

6. Share of results of associates and joint ventures

The Group’s share of results of associates and joint ventures recorded a net share of losses of RM30.53 million in 1H 2016 compared with a net share of profit of RM0.35 million in 1H 2015. This was mainly due to higher share of losses from KM Resources, Inc. arising from the provision of additional prior years tax liabilities

Without such one-off items, we can estimate the EPS to be around RM0.88 per year. Which makes its P/E look attractive at around 4 now.

Its investment in associates as noticed in latest quarter result report is RM49.78mil, compared with Dec15 RM84.47mil. MSC, come and write off the balance. So the price can go further down and next year it will boom like mad.

Technically the RM30.53 million was not a write off but MSC taking up its share of loss in KM Resources, Inc.

Taxes in Indonesia very tricky unlike income tax in Malaysia. On and off prior years tax liabilities may suddenly pop up.

What is the status of KM Resources, Inc. operation ?

Anyway.... the balance of investment value as stated was only RM49.78mil left... unless MSC is committed to inject more fund.

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2016-11-17 08:09 | Report Abuse

Recent quarter the management argue lower production, it actually trigger my worry also. If price good but nothing to sell also useless. I will closely monitor this stock to ensure no negative surprise.

Nowadays... hardly see lombong bijih timah in Malaysia... where the bijih timah come from ?

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2016-11-17 08:10 | Report Abuse

Anyway... will follow paperplane sifu and buy some

dusti

2,404 posts

Posted by dusti > 2016-11-17 08:28 |

muscular

280 posts

Posted by muscular > 2016-11-17 08:40 |

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2016-11-17 08:43 | Report Abuse

Paperplane is no 1... what do you have to show?

muscular

280 posts

Posted by muscular > 2016-11-17 08:45 | Report Abuse

I du show off.. Hehehhe

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-17 09:05 | Report Abuse

haha. the tax liability a bit tricky really. I wonder why majority write off still appearing.........now I understand after rMoi explain. Hopefully this year will be last. Anyway share of loss in associate no impact right? Unless they want to continue pump money to help, else maximum loss just the amount they invest into associates.

Posted by younginvestor92 > 2016-11-17 09:42 | Report Abuse

Dear Moneysifu and plane, I admired you guys to invest in all these high risk stock..... imagine this scenario, u owned this counter, and the market crash..... and the company is also losing a lot of money......which during the market crash, u can't sell your shares because it has dropped 30%, but at the same time the company is turning bad, like it always do, losing money, what will you do?
Bcos as u all know the tin price very very unstable, this has high probability of happening.

MRapolo

67 posts

Posted by MRapolo > 2016-11-17 09:45 | Report Abuse

aiyo, think positive lah, why always market crash, why not bull market coming......

Posted by younginvestor92 > 2016-11-17 10:18 | Report Abuse

problem is not market crash u know, if the company very good then crash will do nothing else, just in case, when it crash, the company turn lousy.... MRapolo, if u can't understand then just ignore my question, not asking you :)

5,845 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2016-11-17 10:30 | Report Abuse

The only way to make money in stock market is to understand the business, management & company, knowing the financial details of the industry & companies, think as a business owner, understand own financial capacity how far we can go & what returns we can expect. Most important is to control the emotion.

5,845 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2016-11-17 10:34 | Report Abuse

Some like apple while others like orange, some prefer wait for musangking durian to drop once a year.

I like watermelon :)

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-17 10:43 | Report Abuse

high risk high return. MSC is high cash, high yield, low risk, super good high return. haha

MRapolo

67 posts

Posted by MRapolo > 2016-11-17 10:46 | Report Abuse

his question is "market crash company turn lousy??", which i really dont understand...

5,845 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2016-11-17 11:07 | Report Abuse

To be fair, Market crash all die, even public bank also could not avoid. I was cheated by someone since 2010 for market crash was in the corner. So my money was earning less than FD since then. Luckily i woke up last year & do it myself. Far superior returns than so called self proclaimed M warren.

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-17 11:25 | Report Abuse

haha. tht must be ICAP loh................

Posted by younginvestor92 > 2016-11-17 11:27 | Report Abuse

A lot more to learn from you guys.....I will follow you guys and learn along the way, not using money thou XD

Bluey

349 posts

Posted by Bluey > 2016-11-17 11:31 | Report Abuse

Buy some cartons of sardines, luncheon meat, and preserved veggies in case something goes wrong in '17 and newbie didn't make it out the arena. Won't risk this.

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-17 12:16 | Report Abuse

all these sardines, luncheon meat, and preserved veggies use TIN.

ronnietan

141 posts

Posted by ronnietan > 2016-11-17 12:26 | Report Abuse

Your biggest exposure just got bigger. Good call. Have a safe flight.

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-17 12:28 | Report Abuse

I hope everyone can make money here also. Just monitor closely on its progress........

Posted by Ezra_Investor > 2016-11-17 13:23 | Report Abuse

Posted by RUOutOfUrMind > Nov 17, 2016 07:55 AM | Report Abuse

Q: Ezra_Investor, I don't judge people whether they know or don't know, not even judging them that they don't know what they don't know. Don't think you are so superior to think other people don't know & you are the only one to know.

A: I've never claimed to be superior to anyone, since when?
Which word, which statement did I tell everyone I'm more superior than them? C'mon, tell me.
I don't claim to know everything, but when I write, I must make sure I KNOW something.
The reason why I judged you is because your arrogant yet ignorant attitude.
As they say "Empty can makes the most noise".
As KC would say “Empty tong, pong, pong, pong”.

Q: I am here to look for investment opportunity to make money, not here to teach people. You go ahead with your life purpose but don't ever think all others are stupid. You are also kind of stupid to think you are clever than above all.

A: That's your problem. Don't mix me with you.
I'm here to make money, but also doing my part of the social responsibility towards the investing community.
At least when I make something I give back to the society, ask yourself, what have you contributed back?
I never thought others is stupid, I only think you ARE stupid.

Q: Ezra_Investor, you are so right, don't try to teach people when people never ask you to teach, or else you make yourself looked stupid OR too ego.

A: Whether I teach others or not is up to me. Whether people listen or not is up to them.
I cannot force others to accept my opinion, but I can choose whether to at least try or not.
Plus I wasn't even teaching you in the first place, I was talking to MoneySIFU.
If MoneySIFU didn't complain anything, so what what basis do you campur your mouth?
As they say "Mind your own business".

Q: Posted by RUOutOfUrMind > Nov 17, 2016 08:02 AM | Report Abuse

Ezra_Investor, I will be so pleased to see you to remove your posts, you are making right move to rectify yourself. If you really want to teach people, do like what KC do, write more article to teach people, let those interested to be taught to read your articles(s).

A: You're wrong. I'm only removing it because I'm dishearten by people like you, not because I've made a mistake.
The reason why I never write an article is exactly because of people like you.
When you give people something good for free, they will never appreciate. So why should I?
I only like to teach selective and potential people who I like, just like moneySIFU.

Please stop talking. I'll stop here as well.
It's a waste of time to talk to you, as you keep on twisting my words and intentions.
And time is money. Time wasted is money wasted.

abangadik

2,305 posts

Posted by abangadik > 2016-11-17 13:44 | Report Abuse

Ezra bro,

Don't get dishearten and continue your great work. I find your writing and sharing one of the best in i3 without prejudice and not trying to promote stockpick. :D

Junichiro

2,036 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-11-17 14:26 | Report Abuse

How would a strengthening USD affect commodities ?

Posted by RUOutOfUrMind > 2016-11-17 15:41 | Report Abuse

I was not the one who started to calling people stupid, please check all comments.

You have said what you wanted to say & me too. Thank you.

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2016-11-17 16:42 | Report Abuse

Ya... amount that can be written off is upto the cost of investment... unless MSC has given big loans and advances to the associate... or if MSC as lead shareholder is contractually obliged to provide financial support as in AirAsia

ngjheng

33 posts

Posted by ngjheng > 2016-11-17 16:53 | Report Abuse

r°Moi, so there is no more write off ?

5,845 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2016-11-17 17:10 | Report Abuse

Hi paperplane, do you know what is the meaning of turnover as indicated in the table?
------------------------------------------------
paperplane2016 http://www.mtpma.org.my/index.php/statistic/2014-07-07-04-56-57
I monitor this closely
17/11/2016 14:45

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-17 17:54 | Report Abuse

OFFICIAL PRICE: USD 20,050 PER TONNE TURNOVER: 22 TONNES

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-17 17:54 | Report Abuse

those are tons traded if not wrong.

5,845 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2016-11-17 22:48 | Report Abuse

Thank you, paperplane & MRapolo

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-18 08:39 | Report Abuse

now, RM400mil in value, if you to takeover whole company, and this company can give you cashflows 120mil, are you willing to takeover?

5,845 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2016-11-19 11:40 | Report Abuse

The movement of tin price in the past has largely determined the results of MSC. Please view my working below for clearer picture

If the tin price was moving up, the company were making profit
If the tin price was moving down more than 4%, the company would likely make loss

http://klse.i3investor.com/files/my/blog/img/bl2510_msc_results_vs_tin_price_movement.jpg

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-22 10:12 | Report Abuse

thanks moneysifu, very useful