7 people like this.

37 comment(s). Last comment by John Lu 2017-01-21 16:16

king36

1,022 posts

Posted by king36 > 2017-01-19 14:21 | Report Abuse

KC - a good one again
You talked about -EV once can u give me the thread again?

kai8994

391 posts

Posted by kai8994 > 2017-01-19 15:53 | Report Abuse

Pintaras was a very good selection indeed. Despite having a tough FY2016, the management was still committed to give out dividends, in fact it was higher than previous year somemore.

12,784 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-01-19 19:29 | Report Abuse

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/83903.jsp

This article of the cash flows of Scientex by KCChong is par excellence.

12,784 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-01-19 19:51 |

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-01-19 21:37 | Report Abuse

Posted by king36 > Jan 19, 2017 02:21 PM | Report Abuse
KC - a good one again
You talked about -EV once can u give me the thread again?

Is this you are interested in?

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/49016.jsp

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-01-19 21:40 | Report Abuse

Posted by kai8994 > Jan 19, 2017 03:53 PM | Report Abuse
Pintaras was a very good selection indeed. Despite having a tough FY2016, the management was still committed to give out dividends, in fact it was higher than previous year somemore.

Exactly. Pintaras has had a lot of problems in 2016 in one big project and may have suffered losses. However, due to its strong balance sheet, and stable earnings and cash flows in the past,dividends were not cut, but increased.

Posted by buybuybuy8 > 2017-01-19 23:47 | Report Abuse

kc any good dividend stock to recommend?

anbz2

187 posts

Posted by anbz2 > 2017-01-19 23:52 | Report Abuse

Posted by kcchongnz > Oct 22, 2013 06:42 AM | Report Abuse

Is a target price of RM1.50 realistic?

Posted by aunloke > Oct 21, 2013 08:49 PM | Report Abuse

No wonder you sing so high for pmcorp but let's be realistic if we assume 20% growth for pmcorp food business and after 10 years what would be the earning ? We should then roughly know or estimate its share price, mind you that for the last 10 years its food business was not impressive. However it does not mean that pmcorp has no value , at this price it can easily improve and I'm banging on that to make some money.

Lets take aunloke's assumptions and work out if the target price is achievable.

PMCorp made 8m last financial year. The net income will be about 50m in 10 years time with that 20% growth in NI assumption. with a total number of shares of 773m, EPS would be 6.4 sen.

Giving a PE ratio of 10, the fair price is 64 sen. If the market wants to give a PE of 20 because it is such a high growth company, then the fair price is RM1.28.

Don't forget PMCorp has a lot of excess cash in properties, cash and investments. If that can amount to 22 sen per share, then RM1.50 is achievable, isn't it?

------

buy pmcorp germ endorsed by kcchong.fair value rm1.28.

12,784 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-01-19 23:59 |

12,784 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-01-20 00:13 | Report Abuse

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/85828.jsp

Quoting KCChong "The present value of all future dividends using this method is shown to be RM2.47 per share, representing a margin of safety of 34% investing in Padini at today’s price of RM1.62 on 5th November 2015. For a company like Padini, a MOS of more than 30% is what I am looking for."

Padini faced a lot of competition and headwinds during that period. Its management was smart to manage the company well. It sacrificed profit margins to maintain and increase market share.

Its dividends were generous and sustain. Though its earnings dropped for a period, it maintained the same dividend through higher dividend payout ratio, paying almost 80% of its earnings as dividends. It was able to do so due to its huge cash and its strong FCF.

Assuming no change in its fundamentals (who knows the future?), in 2015, this company's dividend yield was around 7 to 8%. This DY was at the high end of its dividend yield range. This simple indicator pointed to Padini being undervalued at that price at that time.

12,784 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-01-20 00:23 | Report Abuse

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/90072.jsp

Not knowledgeable on this company. It is presently outside my circle of competence. No comments.

king36

1,022 posts

Posted by king36 > 2017-01-20 04:32 | Report Abuse

TQ KC.
"A teacher's greatest reward is that his student excel in his future undertakings."
Thank you for your passion.
You may have some critics but the volumes of appreciation of your contribution have drowned them all.
Keep up with your good work.
Cheers!

12,784 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-01-20 07:02 | Report Abuse

Search out for firms that can pay a good starting dividend and also with the potential to grow both their business and their ability to pay good growing dividends.

Posted by limyok123 > 2017-01-20 07:31 | Report Abuse

l am a newbie here but why is there no overlapping at all in high dividend stock pick in the article 10 Top Dividend Stocks in Malaysia (25/12/2016) and the selections here?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-01-20 08:58 | Report Abuse

Posted by limyok123 > Jan 20, 2017 07:31 AM | Report Abuse
l am a newbie here but why is there no overlapping at all in high dividend stock pick in the article 10 Top Dividend Stocks in Malaysia (25/12/2016) and the selections here?

The question should be, why should there be?

If everybody follows somebody,the result of doing the same thing is average at best. How could somebody's return be above average?

Jay

Posted by Jay > 2017-01-20 10:20 | Report Abuse

just need to differentiate why is the dividend yield high? is it because of good cashflows and company generous or because share price has fallen so much because of poor outlook?

ckkhen

193 posts

Posted by ckkhen > 2017-01-20 11:06 | Report Abuse

The case studies of DDM model in Pintaras Jaya, Padini and Perstima and DCF model of Scientex by KC Chong are classic examples of KC's methods in imparting knowledge to newbies and even seasoned investors. Such simple explanation cannot be found in investment textbooks. They are, as 3iii mentioned, Par excellence articles.

Excellent analysis must be put into practice by investing into them which I did. Handsome gains in all. For Padini and Scientex, buy 1, free 1!

I am having these case studies archived for posterity, for my children and grand children's future reference.

vcheekeong

435 posts

Posted by vcheekeong > 2017-01-20 13:25 | Report Abuse

Primary aim for share investment is capital appreciation then follow by dividen collection.
If for latter - wrong concept

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-01-20 13:28 | Report Abuse

Primary aim for share investment is buy UMWOG now.

Just like Warren Buffett buys into GM in 2008

joekit

833 posts

Posted by joekit > 2017-01-20 13:38 | Report Abuse

Kcchong picked flbhd. Anyone of you bought? I'm interested to follow buy, is it good entry now?

joekit

833 posts

Posted by joekit > 2017-01-20 13:41 | Report Abuse

I like flbhd coz it's doing biomass energy.

smalltimer

1,501 posts

Posted by smalltimer > 2017-01-20 17:17 | Report Abuse

Moral of the investment story is that you cannot invest on borrowed funds for long term. Who on earth buy shares on margin for 5 years?

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-01-20 18:03 | Report Abuse

Banks charge you 6%
If you are good, 6% is sap sap sui.

smalltimer > Jan 20, 2017 05:17 PM | Report Abuse

Moral of the investment story is that you cannot invest on borrowed funds for long term. Who on earth buy shares on margin for 5 years?

Posted by stockraider > 2017-01-20 18:06 | Report Abuse

Aiyah...like w.buffet said if u follow PNB buy into UMWOG, u r speculating and not investing loh....!!

Don listen to mammy says loh....if PNB is so panlai like what mammy mentioned, how come UMWOG lose so much monies leh ?

This confirm PNB is just a so so average investors loh....!!

The deal propose is just a combination of 2 lame half past 6 oil & gas co, combining into 1 half past 6 bigger companies loh...!!

On top of that u need to dig into contribute more to the company that had no good track record & who had failed loh...!! U call that medical recovery fees loh....!!

Just becareful loh, remember this deal is just a speculation and not investment mah...!!

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-01-20 18:23 | Report Abuse

stock raider

You can't get anywhere cos you got no business sense.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-01-20 18:27 | Report Abuse

no one has ever lost money following PNB restructurings....

only lousy raiders will lose money.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-01-20 18:28 | Report Abuse

no one has ever lost money following PNB restructurings....

only lousy raiders will lose money.

that is business sense and knowledge of Malaysian corporate history.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-01-20 18:34 | Report Abuse

analysts like to buy high sell low.

Super investors like to buy low sell high

The price is at historical lows and with direct backing from Malaysia's greatest most powerful shareholder.

Posted by stockraider > 2017-01-20 18:38 | Report Abuse

no one has ever lost money following PNB story.

USELESS, HOPELESS, STUPID & NAIVE AND NO BUSINESS SENSE MAMMY LOH..!!

TELL ME IF U FOLLOW PNB BUY INTO UMWOG DURING IPO AND HOLD UNTIL NOW, HOW MUCH HAVE U LOSS LEH ??

DON LET THIS TYPE, OF MALAY CENTRIC INSTITUITION CON YOUR MONEY AWAY LOH...!! THEY LOSE BIG MONIES...NOW NEED TO CON YOUR MONIES TO PATCH THE HOLE MAH....!!

RAIDER REALLY PITY THE POOR AUNTIES AND UNCLES LOH....!!

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-01-20 19:04 | Report Abuse

analysts like to buy high sell low......you don;t think so meh? I find it true all the time.

I think raid also like to buy high sell low.

USELESS, HOPELESS, STUPID & NAIVE AND NO BUSINESS SENSE MAMMY LOH..!!

TELL ME IF U FOLLOW PNB BUY INTO UMWOG DURING IPO AND HOLD UNTIL NOW, HOW MUCH HAVE U LOSS LEH ??

DON LET THIS TYPE, OF MALAY CENTRIC INSTITUITION CON YOUR MONEY AWAY LOH...!! THEY LOSE BIG MONIES...NOW NEED TO CON YOUR MONIES TO PATCH THE HOLE MAH....!!

RAIDER REALLY PITY THE POOR AUNTIES AND UNCLES LOH....!

12,784 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-01-20 19:53 | Report Abuse

Regular Income versus Capital Gain

An investment usually produces a combination of regular income and a capital gain.

Different types of investment produce different combinations of these two types of return to the investor.

Some investments produce only a regular income without any capital gains; for example, fixed deposits. While at the other extreme, some investments produce no regular income but promise the possibility of high capital gain; for example, investment in gold or diamonds.

An investment which relies on capital gains alone is a much more risky investment than one which provideds a regular income.

An investment which relies on capital gains alone to reward its investors is less attractive than one which provides the investors with regular income because the former is much less certain than the latter. Furthermore, it is only received right at the end of the period of investment.

An investment which relies on capital gains to reward its investor usually (but not always) produces much higher return than one which relies on regular income.

The above principles are similarly applicable to share investment and putting money in long term fixed deposits. Over the long run, the return on an investment of shares is very much higher than the return on fixed deposits.

Historically, in Malaysia/Singapore, the return on share investment had been about twice as high than that obtainable on fixed deposit (based on past ten years' record}.

12,784 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-01-20 20:05 |

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-01-21 10:58 | Report Abuse

Posted by vcheekeong > Jan 20, 2017 01:25 PM | Report Abuse
Primary aim for share investment is capital appreciation then follow by dividen collection.
If for latter - wrong concept

I used to think like that when I was young and naive.

The "wrong concept" mentioned by you is probably because most retailers possess the mind set of speculation in the stock market, and believe in the greater fool theory, that,

"the price of an object is determined not by its intrinsic value, but rather by irrational beliefs and expectations of market participants. A price can be justified by a rational buyer under the belief that another party is willing to pay an even higher price."

If one is investing, in contrast with speculating, he should embrace this right concept as postulated by John Burr Williams in his Theory of Investment Value, that,

"the intrinsic value of a company was equal to the present value of its future dividends."

Posted by stockraider > 2017-01-21 13:14 | Report Abuse

YES DIVIDEND IS IMPORTANT....A BIRD IN HAND IS BETTER THAN 2 IN THE BUSH MAH.....!!
THUS DIV IMPORTANT MAH, BCOS IT IS A BIRD IN HAND LOH.....!!

Posted by Heavenexile > 2017-01-21 13:24 | Report Abuse

o my god, Casey is KC Chong! He is a she!

53,217 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-01-21 16:13 |

Posted by John Lu > 2017-01-21 16:16 | Report Abuse

BREAKING NEWS!!!

Tin kosong Flying Chicken Head talk nonsense holland no 1 sifu Calvin rank 151...how many ppl participate in 2017 stock pick? Is 170 ppl mean he is bottom 20....haha...shame like no tomorrow

151) calvintaneng +3.0% http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/71329.jsp
21% DUTALND 0.435 0.400 49800|20% BJCORP 0.355 0.340 58600|20% BPURI 0.440 0.435 45800|20% OPCOM 0.605 0.600 33200|19% PBA 1.150 1.150 17300