286 comment(s). Last comment by joetay 2018-05-02 11:49

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-08-09 16:00 | Report Abuse

@stock kingdom,

exactly, when ppl such as @calvintaneng refuses to see the deeply and indulge in 2008 stories spinned by ibs, no point wasting our rebutting as he will just come up with new stories which can be rebutted.

53,317 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-09 18:22 | Report Abuse

Hi guys

I spoke to KE Tan today.

He said fertiliser was around rm40 sometime in year 2000. But 5 to 10 years ago price has already gone up to Rm130.

And lately prices have maintained evenly for quite a long time already for several years.

But he said fertiliser is not the only cost in consideraion. There is also land cost.

Places nearer to jb city has high holding land costs. Say if you buy 1

53,317 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-09 18:30 | Report Abuse

Lands near city are generally more expensive than those in deep rural interior.

And also labour cost.

So the cost of production varies.

And it also depend on the skill of the oil palm owners to extract the highest value from his plantations.

FOR KE TAN HE IS LOOKING FORWARD TO THE EXPANSION OF AN IT HUB IN SEDENAK BY MICROSOFT.

ONCE DEVELOPMENT COMES NEAR HIS OIL PALM HE WANTS TO CONVERT THEM TO HOUSING LANDS. EITHER TO BUILD HIMSELF OR SELL IT TO INTERESTED DEVELOPERS.

FOR THAT HE IS PATIENTLY WAITING.

53,317 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-09 19:24 | Report Abuse

Good news!

CEPATWAWASAN FIRED FIRST SALVO OF SUCCESS!

PROFITS INCREASED BY 91%

WHOOPEEEEEE!!!

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-09 19:40 | Report Abuse

I feel Cepatwawasan is currently trading at a low single digit prospective P/E ratio.

53,317 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-09 20:10 | Report Abuse

Cepatwawasan is the foretelling of more great news to come

FOR ALL PLANTATION STOCKS ONE BY ONE LATER!!

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-09 20:14 | Report Abuse

tak boleh lah ini cepat, my stupid insurance agent who is over 75 years old had been calling me to buy this stock since 2014. I told him this is lambat. he told me when 1.03 every year got a few cents dividend. I told him don't waste my time on this kura kura

3,221 posts

Posted by chinaman > 2017-08-09 20:16 | Report Abuse

Strongly agree with Calvin on palm oil recovery

chongyo

114 posts

Posted by chongyo > 2017-08-09 20:29 | Report Abuse

Joetay, I don't hide from you. It is just that I have a full time job and not so free to participate in the forum at any time like you and Calvin.

I guess you and some of us have different investing objective. You look for quick return and high flyer, eg tech stock . Bear in mind such stock are also very volatile and risky.

Some of us are more conservative, investing in undervalued stock of the old economy which are not roller-coastering during volatile economic situation. Plantation stock at today's price and earning prospect fit in very well. Plantation stock are not high flyers!

You have seen the good earning growth of plantation counters like UP, Cepat and many more to be released this month. And the jump in earning will make a difference to the value of the company.

I must remind you the global market may be due for major correction anytime soon. I may be wrong. I am a believer of 10-years cycle and that saved me from the last 2 crisis.

1986/1987 - serious recession
1997 - Asian financial crisis
2008 - Lehman's crisis
2018 - ???

When the next crisis strikes, I think plantation stock will give better shelter that any other stock. Of course you can keep cash too.

chongyo

114 posts

Posted by chongyo > 2017-08-09 20:33 | Report Abuse

Calvin, despite UP and cepat strong earnings, their stock price don't fly too ?

How ah ? Hahaha......

Posted by John Lu > 2017-08-09 20:35 | Report Abuse

Hahahaha...calvin tan eng -1.4% in bull market. U all still want to believe him? Ask him go holland better. Haha haha

chongyo

114 posts

Posted by chongyo > 2017-08-09 20:37 | Report Abuse

John Lu, hope you can be more mature and constructive.

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-08-09 21:17 | Report Abuse

@chongyu,

i trade full-time for a living.

for a stock like klk/ioi giving me a dy of ard 2.5% over the past 5 yrs, i might as well put in fd and get slightly better return plus more secure. and ytd, the stock is only up less than 10%, might as well buy fbmklci-etf. better use of my capital.

53,317 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-09 21:24 | Report Abuse

Yes chongyo,

Despite good results from Uplant and Cepat most are still on the momentum train of popular hot stocks of the week.

Most people fail to take note that the end of one asset class and the beginning of an upturn for another investment theme.

There was the water theme which powered Jaks from 40 sen to Rm1.20. Now over.

Then Gst theme powered up MyEg

Export furniture theme powered up stocks like Pohuat

Then JackMa ecommerce theme play like logistic and ecommerce stocks. Now also over.

Steel stocks are peaking also.

E&E theme stocks now in hyper valuation and new also toppish.

It is only a matter of time OIL PALM STOCKS ALSO COME INTO FOCUS.

BY THE TIME EXPERTS AND FUNDS GET INTERESTED PRICES WOULD HAVE SURGED ALREADY.

SO WE ARE THIS YEAR'S PIONEERS.

EARLY BIRD CATCHES THE BEST WORM OR THE BEST PRICES

LIKE BUYING JAKS AT 40 SEN
INSAS AT 65 SEN
PRESTAR AT 46 SEN
MASTEEL AT 66 SEN
DRB AT 92 SEN
MJ PERAK AT 32 SEN

TIME TO BUY IS WHEN 99% STILL UNCERTAIN AND FEARFUL.

WHEN 99% OF THE MARKET FINALLY TURN VERY BULLISH IT IS PROBABLY THE BEST TIME TO SELL.

SEE. JAKS WAS A BUY AT 40 SEN. AND JAKS IS CERTAINLY A SELL AT RM1.60

chongyo

114 posts

Posted by chongyo > 2017-08-10 07:09 | Report Abuse

Calvin, Totally agreed with you. The difference between a real expert and an ordinary fellow is that the expert is able to anticipate risk/opportunity and respond ahead.

Unfortunately, most of the time we are just trend followers.

chongyo

114 posts

Posted by chongyo > 2017-08-10 07:15 | Report Abuse

Joetay, If you don't mind to share, is fully time trading really can support living during good and bad times? How much capital required to earn say $30,000 a month consistently ?

I may want to join you into full time trading.

alvinchiam

1,555 posts

Posted by alvinchiam > 2017-08-10 07:27 | Report Abuse

must buy..

Posted by DisCiPline > 2017-08-10 09:14 | Report Abuse

No matter how edible oils competing among themselves, the true is edible oils will be forever in shortage and even worst in the future, as time passes by, definitely palm oil counters will appreciate, probably might be a bit slow, but definitely it will.

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-08-10 11:09 | Report Abuse

@chongyu,

sure why not??

rm2mil is enough to generate 300k per yr if u r good.

53,317 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-10 13:56 | Report Abuse

Yes chongyu,

WE MUST BE PROACTIVE AND NOT REACTIVE.

WE SHOULD TAKE TIME TO DO RESEARCH WHILE OTHERS DEPEND ON HEARSAY AND RUMOUR.

WE MUST BUY WHAT WE KNOW BEST AND KEEP STRONG EVEN THOUGH THINGS MIGHT NOT TURN OUT IMMEDIATELY AS WE WISH. BUT TIME WILL EVENTUALLY UNLOCK ALL TRUE VALUE.

TIME WILL ALSO SHOW US WHO IS SWIMMING NAKED WHEN THE TIDE FINALLY GOES OUT.

AND DISCIPLINE IS CORRECT.

PRICES OF FOOD WILL EVENTUALLY BE SO EXPENSIVE LIKE THE BIBLE SAID

ONE DAY'S WAGES CAN ONLY BUY ONE DAY'S PROPER FOOD FOR ONE PERSON. NOTHING LEFT FOR RENTAL OR OTHER EXPRNSES.

ONE PART OF WHEAT FOR A PENNY
OR THREE MEASURES OF BARLEY FOR A PENNY

INTERPRETED IT MEANS

SOMEDAY A PERSON' ONE DAY SALARY CAN BUY ONE DECENT MEAL FOR ONE PERSON ONLY....SO ONE MEASURE OF WHEAT FOR A PENNY.

A PENNY IS ONE DAY'S PAY IN ROMAN TIMES.

AND THREE MEASURES OF BARLEY FOR A PENNY.

IF SOMEONE HAS MORE MOUTH TO FEED HE COULD ONLY AFFORD INFERIOR FOOD LIKE BARLEY IN THOSE DAYS.

IN TODAY'S CONTEXT IS LIKE EATING MAGGEE MEE.

Money1188

124 posts

Posted by Money1188 > 2017-08-10 14:01 | Report Abuse

Duta land can buy?

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2017-08-10 14:05 | Report Abuse

just be proactive in your investment. park some in shares, some in property , some in foreign FD ( Chinese Yuan, Aussie or SGD ) Just my personal view

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2017-08-10 14:11 | Report Abuse

understand your concern. go for mid price range below 500K . value of property cannot diminish over night. people always needa a roof over their head. always seek good locality. do your home work and try not to be over borrow. just a passive income

53,317 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-10 14:15 | Report Abuse

Money1188,

If you are longer term investor Dutaland is a buy any time. If contra or short term punting i can't tell.

53,317 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-10 14:20 | Report Abuse

Gushan,

For property you must watch the cycle.KL, Penang and Sabah are toppish.

In Iskandar there is a condo glut in expensive high rise. Condos in mid range prices located nearer Spore will have support.

Landed houses below rm500k in Iskandar will still hold firm as they don't build any landed houses near Jb City now.

If you can get 1 storey houses below Rm300,000 or 2 storey houses below Rm500k 20 minutes from Jb City just buy up and rent out long term.

These are sure winners!

53,317 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-10 19:33 | Report Abuse

2nd Salvo fired!

MHC

REVENUE UP
PROFIT UP
AND NTA ALSO UP!!

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-10 19:37 | Report Abuse

Cepatwawasan contributed the profit to MHC.

53,317 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-10 20:08 | Report Abuse

Correct loh!!

Since MHC OWNS CEPAT MHC ALSO BENEFITS FROM CEPAT PRICE RISE

NEXT 2 WEEKS WILL BE EXCITING FOR ALL OIL PALM STOCKS!!

FOUND A GOLD MINE?

STICK WITH IT.

OR ELSE SOMEDAY SOMEWHERE YOU MIGHT STEP ON A LAND MINE LIKE SORCHAI JOHN LU

chongyo

114 posts

Posted by chongyo > 2017-08-10 20:21 | Report Abuse

Joetay, You are damn good to make RM300K/year with RM2 mil capital, if it is consistently over a long period.
I definitely have a lot to learn from you to retire earlier.

chongyo

114 posts

Posted by chongyo > 2017-08-10 20:25 | Report Abuse

Calvin, you don't talk about SOP ? Why not on your radar ?
I know the Management who are good people and credible. Almost pure plantation play, very focus.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-10 20:39 | Report Abuse

Coz Calvin doesn't like anything to do with Sarawak. :-)

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-08-10 20:48 | Report Abuse

@chongyu,

when mkt is up or down, there is always something out there.

my 15% annual returns is not considered good, maybe compared against most fund managers. i know some doing 50% per annual in some yrs.

just need to look hard enough.

53,317 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-10 21:04 | Report Abuse

TheContrarian,

I got Sarawak ones too.

SARAWAK PLANT
KWANTAS
DUTALAND

chongyu,

I also like SOP except it is too popular. Many sifu own it. I like those neglected ones as they are sold down. SOP is well supported just like hsplant.

In any case all are good. Some really good and well managed but price no bargain for me. It's ok.

See i also got bplant which is not so exciting except for its high dividends.

I like kulim and tmakmur when they were neglected. Both taken private later.

One more i like alot is CBIP. Very neglected for now. That's why i get excited.

Very strange. I like the coldest ones.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-10 21:10 | Report Abuse

Dutaland's plantation in Sabah isn't it?

Posted by LearnFromMistake > 2017-08-10 21:13 | Report Abuse

Ppl know not worthy for the coming Q, u still ask ppl buy... U really got a lot to sell Izit.. ;)

chongyo

114 posts

Posted by chongyo > 2017-08-10 21:13 | Report Abuse

Ya, Dutaland and Kwantas are in Sabah.

53,317 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-10 21:25 | Report Abuse

Yes. Dutaland's plantations near Sandakan. Right in the growth path of the Pan Borneo Highway.

One more thing for all here.

Many stocks are breaking down in rotation of new lows without support.

Bonia, Media, Texchem, bpuri and others are going lower and lower. Although i like these stocks there is no support at the moment.

So for the time being i think plantation stocks will ger help from good results as a whole.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-10 21:31 | Report Abuse

Calvin, you don't seem to like banks.

Posted by shareinvestor88 > 2017-08-10 21:38 | Report Abuse

Innoprise plant has 12k hc plantation is sabah

53,317 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-10 21:53 | Report Abuse

TheContrarian,

I bought Public Bank at Rm5.50. Sold too early. bought AMBANK at Rm2.20. I even met Datuk Hashim one morning when he came to work in the morning. I asked him how was Ambank. He showed his hands moving sideways.

If he said very good i would have hammered it then. Later i think i sold off Anbank and didn't look back.

After that i bought RceCap as Datuk Hashim was buying at 28 sen with 7.5 sen cash pay out.

After consolidation RceCap doubled in price to Rm1.60. Many of my johor buddies are very happy.

Now waiting to buy cheaper. Hopefully?

Patron

1,163 posts

Posted by Patron > 2017-08-10 21:55 | Report Abuse

whao nvr heard you have any losses. always manage to buy low sell high. come Malaysia, you need to manage our EPF fund.

53,317 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-10 22:07 | Report Abuse

Haha!

Patron my faithful parrot (naughty parrot!)

See last time Calvin saw Fountain View chased up to Rm5.00

Then Fountain view crashed 90% to 50 sen.

I thought it was cheap.

Then it crashed to 30 sen. And i bought another 10 lots. So my average cost was 40 sen.

Then Fountain View rebounded to 42 sen.

Ha! I sold half and kept half

So my average cost was 40 sen.

And not running fast Fountain View eventually gone bankrupt and my lost is Rm4,000

This was my mistake. Now see if anymore go bankrupt out of more than 100 stocks i picked.

So far so good

These were taken private
Super Enterprize
Kulim
Tmakmur
TheStore
Wangzheng (override by hopeful shaeeholders)

One more thing. I received news from Fountain View for one or two years after delisting.

Then no more.

Any one got news about Fountain View?

So Calvin learnt his lesson well

FOUND A GOLD MINE?

STICK WITH IT.

OR ELSE SOMEDAY OR SOMEPLACE LIKE SORCHAI JOHN LU YOU MIGHT STEP ON A LAND MINE

Posted by Mohd Fahmi Bin Jaes > 2017-08-10 22:08 |

Posted by Irfan Rahman > 2017-08-10 22:37 | Report Abuse

jtiasa not good?

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-10 22:56 | Report Abuse

Looks like Dow Jones will correct more than 100 points tonite. Calvin, any comments?

fatty_tang

296 posts

Posted by fatty_tang > 2017-08-10 23:34 | Report Abuse

Jtiasa, sop

53,317 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-10 23:37 | Report Abuse

Jtiasa is good.

Dow Jones collapsed?

I already moved into tsunami sheltered stocks like palm oil, water utility like pba, insulated and isolated stock like Opcom, high value asset backed stocks like bj corp and dutaland. Lowest price bombed out stock like bpuri.

So i sleep soundly every night even if dow crash by 1,000 points tonight.

If you make your home in bomb shelter during bombing raids you will feel safe.

So buy shares with Rock Solid Defense against market crashes.

Tomorrow more klse stocks without support will fall even lower.

SO STAY SAFE IN PALM OIL STOCKS.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-10 23:40 | Report Abuse

Dow Jones dropping 100 points only not 1,000 points.

3,504 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2017-08-10 23:44 | Report Abuse

Hi calvitaneng
What is that to worry if DJ down by 1000 points?
You just bought 1% of your capital ma....