286 comment(s). Last comment by joetay 2018-05-02 11:49

enning22

2,869 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2017-08-07 17:21 | Report Abuse

somebody said 1) production cost of cpo is currently rm1.9-2.2k/mt------this can be diputed, the reasons largely depend on how the plantation is being managed,May be FGV type of management , would required that high figure, others may be more managed more efficient and can bring down the cost to 1500-1600rm. i remember many years ago the cost was only 600 rm, In those days , labour and fertilisers, land cost were cheap .

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-07 17:25 | Report Abuse

datuk calvin I put buyers 300,000 units at 44.5cts to support u but didn't get.....hahaha

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 17:48 | Report Abuse

Enning22

Thks for your input.

Yes according to Mr. K. E. Tan the cost of production depends on how one manage the plantations. So the cost varies.

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 17:49 | Report Abuse

Sultan Apollo ,
Just buy as much as you are comfortable with.

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 17:56 | Report Abuse

And yes. 30 years ago i had a scientist friend in kl who convert palm oil to cooking oil for sale.

I asked him about using peanut as cooking oil.

He said that price is too prohibitive.

I just checked.

Yes it costs Us$1,500 for a ton of peanut oil compared to a ton of palm oil at Us$600 currently.

So peanut oil is 150% more expensive than palm oil. And checking with supermarket shelves i only find palm oil, canola and corn oil. No peanut cooking oil is available in Singapore or Malaysian supermarkets so far. I couldn't find any.

Am i wrong? Anyone knows of peanut oil for sale in Malaysia or Singapore. And if so what is the price compared to palm oil?

I sure would love to buy some if cheaper than palm oil.

Thks in advance for any information.

Can email me at calvintaneng@gmail.com

Alex Foo

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-07 18:02 | Report Abuse

i dunno....all i know is that peanut jam is so expensive! =(

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-08-07 18:23 | Report Abuse

@enmning22,

yes, the costing is dependent on how efficient a plantation coy is managed. thats why i gave a range.

but today, with protash @ usd300/mt, increased labor costs and rm4.28:usd1, do u think a production cost of rm1.5-1.6k/mt is still achievable??? nowadays, a plantation-cum-mill manager will be very happy if he can achieve rm1.8k/mt production cost.

the production cost of rm600/mt is a long long time ago, ard the early 1990s.

@calvintaneng,

ur friend's info is 30 yrs ago, that means it is 1987. now is 2017, so the info is outdated by 30 yrs.

do ur friend know that india produces not only peanut but also rapeseed and soybean now????

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-08-07 18:29 | Report Abuse

@calvintaneng,

btw, do u know why indian/chinese buyers buy so much peanut/soybean/rapeseed oils as well despite palm oil being at such an attractive discount?

if u have figured out the answer, perhaps u will know why palm oil did not take over the cooking oil market.

Patron

1,163 posts

Posted by Patron > 2017-08-07 18:40 | Report Abuse

Aiyiyo Tan Eng kena slapped in front of everyone. Hehehe mark my words guys this donkey salesman will pusing with his donkey ANALysis again.

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-07 18:45 | Report Abuse

salesman better than money game agents been call people to chase stocks later bought like Mlab,now fronken later they disappear.better buy butaland than those tipu ace companies,many kosong company

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-07 18:47 | Report Abuse

at least buy datuk calvin stock can go to toilet, buying those ace stocks toilet also cannot go

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 19:15 | Report Abuse

Hahaha!

Sultan Apollo got the best jokes!!
So good!

I still waiting for someone to tell me where to buy pure peanut or groundnut oil in Johor?

Anyone?

musangfoxking

3,548 posts

Posted by musangfoxking > 2017-08-07 19:17 | Report Abuse

for once, i agree with this sin con!!!! but only for long long term investment, that's > 5 years!!!!!! i know the Warren Buffett of the East is buying!!!!!! kikikiki

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 19:27 | Report Abuse

Haha:!
i see clever musang bought some Jcy?

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-08-07 19:31 | Report Abuse

@patron,

i wouldnt say @calvintaneng as kena slapped.

more like exposed for false misleading info.

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 19:44 | Report Abuse

Anymore sharing from anyone?
Please give your unbias views.

All are welcome to share your views.

Please be cordial and avoid confrontation.

Let all share until the truth is clear

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 19:48 | Report Abuse

Please note carefully the wording of chongyu

He said gross margin almost 50%.

He didn't say. Net profit.

So what is the difference between Gross margin and Net profit?

gcke

1,359 posts

Posted by gcke > 2017-08-07 19:50 | Report Abuse

Huhuhu...from analysis and observations even stocks' recommendations make by analysts and pundits from the Investment Banks(IBs) can be wholly wrong and the prices of the stocks turned the opposite way.
2.What more with this maverick and avid introducer of Bursa stocks.A long list of recommendations to buy make by him @calvintaneng.
3.Whatever it is he is free to write what he wants to write.That we cannot stop.
4.By all means one can read what he writes but ultimately when coming to decision making the choice is solely with the individual.
5.Do make a smart and correct choice of the stock that one is buying from his list of stocks but selectively.And not just following.Makes an informed choice and decision.

The money is yours.The responsibility to handle your money well lies with you.Cheers.

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 19:51 | Report Abuse

Ha!
I manage to find olive oil instead. of peanut cooking oil.

Pure virgin olive oil is so expensive!
It's used for raw salad rather than for frying chicken.

Only Yee Lee Palm oil is suitable for deep frying chicken.

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 19:54 | Report Abuse

gcke has very logical, sound, reasonable, sensible comments.

clap!
clap!
clap!

good one!

Stock Kingdom

1,005 posts

Posted by Stock Kingdom > 2017-08-07 19:58 | Report Abuse

Joetay, thank you for your great inputs.

I guess calvin tan had promoted few times on palm oil stocks since 2 years back. There were some interesting performance from very few palm oil stocks but all since then went back to where they were. If calvin keep promoting on & off, many months or years later sure he may get what he wishes for.

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-08-07 20:01 | Report Abuse

@calvintaneng,

thats why i m giving u the cost of production, so u can calculate ur gross margin.

so where is the 50% gross margin????

assuming cpo of rm2.6k/mt and efficient cost of production ard rm1.9k/mt??

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-08-07 20:08 | Report Abuse

@stock kingdom,

always glad to share info.

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 20:09 | Report Abuse

joetay

at the moment i am still studying the cost

this week i will meet up with 2 johor buddies who own oil palm plantation lands

ke tan who own oil palm lands since his grandfather time

mr wong who got lands given to his family from the johor govt long ago

both of them have more than 80 years experience between them

i would like to hear from them first hand and also to visit and see how they operate their plantations

chongyo

114 posts

Posted by chongyo > 2017-08-07 20:20 | Report Abuse

Joetay, I can see that how badly you are mis-informed about production cost of the efficient plantation! Or is it your deliberation to mis-inform others ?

Fertilizer which make up significant portion of the production cost are near 15-20 years low due to global over supply situation. Hope you can do more research on fertilizer prices trend before you shoot your mouth.

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 20:23 | Report Abuse

Stock Kingdom

I think i promoted a dozen or more cheaper plantation stocks except klk, uplant, kuchai, inno, sop, b kawan, kmloong, gopeng, genting plant, ioi plant, and some others i left out as i didn't study them or didn't appeal to me

Of the ones i do recommend are

1. Kulim. taken private
2. Tmakmur. taken private
3. Jtiasa. Gone up and came down
4. Bplant. holding firm due to dividend support
5. Thplant. So so only.
6. Tdm. Down even after bonus issue
7. WTK.Up and down a lot more. Ha down so much? It caught my attention again.
8. Kwantas. Good but really unloved by all.
9. Harnlern. Totally unwanted.
10. Others.

I noticed that Dr. Neoh Soon Kean has bought into quite a number of them oil palm stocks. Lim Pei Tiam also in top 30 of Dutaland.
And in his book, Rising Above Financial Storm. Dr Tan Chong Koay of Pheim Fund also like plantation stocks.

I am both curious and sirprised by their focus on palm oil stocks.

And i am still doing investigation.

Btw,

I have diversified into many counters. And palm oil is just one of my study and focus these 2 years.

Life is a life long learning process.

As i share my little knowledge i also receive an awful lot of information from everybody.

chongyo

114 posts

Posted by chongyo > 2017-08-07 20:25 | Report Abuse

We are talking about big plantation, listed company who own sizable area.
Don't pluck figures from a small holding or mini size plantation to confuse the whole issue about efficient production cost.

chongyo

114 posts

Posted by chongyo > 2017-08-07 20:29 | Report Abuse

Calvin, you analysis on plantation sector prospect under present context is NOT wrong at all.

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 20:32 | Report Abuse

Thks chongyo,
How i wish all can come together and share in a positive way that everyone can learn from one another.

chongyo

114 posts

Posted by chongyo > 2017-08-07 20:39 | Report Abuse

Calvin, That is true! Is for the investing community benefit.
Unfortunately, since I join this forum about a month ago, I find a lot of noise , unconstructive criticism and unsubstantiated claims.

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 20:48 | Report Abuse

Chongyo,

You only one month here?
Welcome.
Yes, i have been here since September 2013.
It is part and parcel of being in the open world that we live in. Some friendly, some indifferent and a few are hostile like John Lu and patron.

At least things are improving now.
Last time one fella hjey even thought i was a threat to his food business when i promoted pm corp chocolate shares.

However, i think i have friends and now more are less hostile.

I have lived through it all. And try to focus on that which is positive and helpful.

So please stay and contribute.

Many thanks

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-08-07 21:11 | Report Abuse

@calvintaneng,

as small holders, ur friends will not be able to provide u with a full and accurate picture.

talk to plantation guys from klk or ioi instead.

they will give u a better picture.

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 21:35 | Report Abuse

ok i will call them up tomorrow

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-08-07 21:36 | Report Abuse

@chongyu,

by saying that potash is at near 15-20 yr lows, i know that u r a joker.

current potash price is nowhere near a 15-20 yr lows. however, potash is definitely cheaper from the 2008-2009 level.

potash price is now at usd220/mt, give or take and the low of potash price is ard usd110/mt in 2000.

there, i just expose ur wrong info.

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-08-07 21:48 | Report Abuse

@chongyu,

if u say my estimate of efficient cost of production for a big planter is wrong, then give us ur estimate then.

i m more than willing to discuss.

zoozooka

292 posts

Posted by zoozooka > 2017-08-07 22:07 | Report Abuse

Cannot trust Dutaland and Duta Yap. Their reputation is so bad. The accounting and auditing are so messed up. Nobody wanna touch this stock or give money to tan sri

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 22:12 | Report Abuse

zoozooka Cannot trust Dutaland and Duta Yap. Their reputation is so bad. The accounting and auditing are so messed up. Nobody wanna touch this stock or give money to tan sri
07/08/2017 22:07

HAHA]

SAME THING WAS SAID ABOUT MALTON WHEN MALTON WAS ONLY 30 SEN

CANNOT TRUST MALTON DIRECTORS BECUASE THEY PAID THEMSELVES MILLIONS WHILE GIVING PEANUTS TO SHAREHOLDERS

IN THE END WHO BOUGHT MALTON AT 30 SEN?

CALVIN OF COURSE!

CALVIN SAW PAVILION MALL BEING BUILT ON BBGS LANDS. AND WHEN READY MALTON FLEW FLEW OVER 70 SEN AND CALVIN MADE MORE THAN 1OO%

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 22:22 | Report Abuse

never mind,

at least insiders bought harnlern above 80 sen and still holding their shares

unlike fronken which they pumped up and now dumped to sorchai

fronken can go limit down but harnlern cannot

so calvin's 3rd rule is safe

HE THAT IS LOW NEEDS FEAR NO FALL

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-07 22:24 | Report Abuse

better trust butaland than trust those pump n dump stocks, in a few mins can limit down one and avoid the untraded ones

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-07 22:25 | Report Abuse

buy stocks and properties is easy,the hard part is disposing

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 22:34 | Report Abuse

YES TODAY ALMOST 18% of FRONKEN SHARES ARE DUMPED IN TOP VOLUME BY SYNDICATES. SORCHAI TRAPPED CANNOT RUN IN TIME

AS FOR DUTALAND ONLY ABOUT 18% ARE NOW IN FREE FLOAT

MORE THAN 80% SHARES OF DUTALAND ARE HELD TIGHTLY BY TOP 30 SHAREHOLDERS

SO STAY SAFE IN DUTALAND AND CAN SLEEP SOUNDLY EVERY NIGHT

FOUND A GOLD MINE IN DUTALAND?

STICK WITH IT

OR ELSE SOMEWHERE, SOME PLACE JUST LIKE SORCHAI JOHN LU YOU WILL STEP ON A LAND MINE

Alex Foo

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-07 23:15 | Report Abuse

ang, i nearly spilled my milk when i saw your comment (the toilet joke). haha......but at the same time, sad for those who fell for fishy counters....

i must agree that despite gloom for plantation counters thus far, it also present an opportunity for me to go in cheap.

I got it at 42.5sen thanks to Calvin's recommendation.

Hope can huat la =)

Stock Kingdom

1,005 posts

Posted by Stock Kingdom > 2017-08-07 23:24 | Report Abuse

Calvin Tan, you have wide knowledge on many industries including palm oil, but it is not deep enough in breaking the costs structure or profit elements for a particular business.

But I never have doubt on your abilities in understanding stock market, my opinion to you is you always hope to share your findings & views, but the big problem is that you always have too many things to put into one, then keep coming out new articles with the same old points or similar points with different writing styles or presentation.

I do admire your ability to write so many articles, but sometimes it is just too many.

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 23:41 | Report Abuse

Thks,
i need to slow down and relax, i guess

Stock Kingdom

1,005 posts

Posted by Stock Kingdom > 2017-08-07 23:51 | Report Abuse

Hi Calvin Tan, I am sorry for being straight but I wish to highlight that your articles did give different dimensions on certain industries.

I love to read those alerts or warning articles (not to mention which articles) from you as you dare to talk differently. Surprisingly, I feel those points are quite acceptable.

Stock Kingdom

1,005 posts

Posted by Stock Kingdom > 2017-08-07 23:53 | Report Abuse

After all, thank you for contributing towards the community, I did benefit from there. thank you very much, Calvin.

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-07 23:55 | Report Abuse

Thks very kind of you.

Yippy68

1,668 posts

Posted by Yippy68 > 2017-08-08 04:56 | Report Abuse

calvin, i too holding cbip and bplant, but cbip seem sleeping, why? the other counter you mentioned is JCY for dividend, i bought nearly 1 M share at 58 sen, now i smell the profit as the price started to rise, what if i sell off instead of collecting 1.25 sen.i will sell if it reached 63 sen, as it is equivalent of a year dividend that i made in less than 2 months. thank you Calvin.

Stock Kingdom

1,005 posts

Posted by Stock Kingdom > 2017-08-08 14:12 | Report Abuse

Try read today's sinchew 财经头条

enning22

2,869 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2017-08-08 16:30 | Report Abuse

@joetay ,i check around with several plantations, the feedback for the cost of production varies, it is between 1500-1800 rm.and certainly that do not include FGV kind of management.