146 comment(s). Last comment by stockraider 2024-02-19 12:05

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-22 11:50 | Report Abuse

zqhuang I nearly fell off the chair when I read about the lyrics (based on First of May) on Bjcorp... the Berkshire Hattaway of Malaysia.
22/08/2017 11:33

It's Ok

But don't fall down when you go stay in Bkt Tinggi Hill Resort of Berjaya Hills

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-22 11:53 |

zqhuang

66 posts

Posted by zqhuang > 2017-08-22 11:55 | Report Abuse

Thanks, I will be very careful when I visit Bkt Tinggi in the future.

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 12:05 | Report Abuse

datuk calvin how u think about TOMEI? another undervalue stock

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 12:09 | Report Abuse

bjcorp is undervalued,the only problem is vt is dr m bff.anything connected to dr m cannot up cos ah jib in control

TheContrarian

9,081 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-22 12:09 | Report Abuse

I already sold off my Tomei.

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 12:14 | Report Abuse

I bought 60cts for so long sold at 68cts only,now coming pula tot wanna buyback,how?

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-22 12:16 | Report Abuse

Posted by zqhuang > Aug 22, 2017 11:55 AM | Report Abuse

Thanks, I will be very careful when I visit Bkt Tinggi in the future.

The place is very safe

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QORjBA51lPs

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 12:28 | Report Abuse

bro contrarian,me sold my crestbld at 1.14 down till 1.00 no buyback now 1.14 again,why u didn't call me buyback? hehe

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-08-22 12:39 | Report Abuse

calvintaneng is a smart chap. We should have no doubt about this. He has survived the stock market. Yes, we can believe him. Anyone who has been and still is active in the market, generally has survived the ups and downs of the market over the long period.

Yet, we know calvintaneng promotes so many stocks. Even more interestingly, he has by his own admission, sold down to only 2% of his capital in stocks today. Given his promotion of so many counters, assuming he has only 10 stocks in his portfolio (which I think probably is not, maybe nearer 50 to 100), he would have only about 0.2% of his capital in each stock averagely. I don't think this is serious investing. It is more a past time or someone who actually is still learning the ropes or as we say, testing the water. A master, the like of Buffett is 90% invested into the stock market at any time, although in recent years, he has been keeping a lot more in cash. Even today, though he has about 100 b USD in cash, this is still about 15% of his total portfolio value.

ttb's icap closed end fund based on its latest annual report has about 270m in cash. At 3.30 per share NAV, its total portfolio value of icap is 462m. Thus, his cash holding is about 58% at the end of its last FY. Perhaps today, he has deployed more cash into buying equity and this ratio of cash to portfolio value should be lower.

For someone who has 2% of his capital in equity today, this too reveals this investor does not have a long term portfolio of any significant value. There is a lot of transactions and turnover of the stocks over time. In short, a person who trades or invests for short term gain. Of course, I may be absolutely wrong here.

Let me touch on Berjaya Corp again.

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-08-22 13:00 |

nekosan

3,637 posts

Posted by nekosan > 2017-08-22 13:06 | Report Abuse

lol another rubbish analysis from. Warren buntut Singapore

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-22 14:02 | Report Abuse

Peter Lynch categorize stocks into 6 Classes

1)Stalwarts

2)Fast Growers

3)Cyclicals

4)Turnarounds

5)Assets Play

6) Slow Growers

Calvin likes No. 1 to 5

3iii can only invest in no. 1 only.

1) The Eagle up in the Air Soar Above the Clouds and can SEE FROM SHORE TO SHORE

2) Other Flying Birds Can See From Mountain To Mountain or Tree to Tree\

3) The Chicken on the ground see nothing except to scratch for some earth worms

SO THE CHICKEN WITH MYOPIC EYESIGHT TELLS EAGLE HOW TO SEE?

LOL!!!

Patron

1,163 posts

Posted by Patron > 2017-08-22 14:51 | Report Abuse

Tan Eng is like a drunken chicken who thinks he is an eagle.

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 14:57 | Report Abuse

cannot buy any stocks related to dr m unless he can win the next election. Berjaya group vt is dr m bff.so I skip.i experience it last year cos my fren a former MCA person told me not to buy Sapura kencana and buy penta. at that time Sapura kencana is 1.80 and penta only 60cts. I regeret didn't follow his advise.but now I know better listen to him don't buy dr m related stock cos ah jib now in control.i just share this with u all

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-22 14:59 | Report Abuse

Posted by apolloang > Aug 22, 2017 02:57 PM | Report Abuse

cannot buy any stocks related to dr m unless he can win the next election. Berjaya group vt is dr m bff.so I skip.i experience it last year cos my fren a former MCA person told me not to buy Sapura kencana and buy penta. at that time Sapura kencana is 1.80 and penta only 60cts. I regeret didn't follow his advise.but now I know better listen to him don't buy dr m related stock cos ah jib now in control.i just share this with u all

So?

If you think BN stock good?

Then go buy MRCB

This will be good all the way till GE14 Election Day

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-22 15:01 | Report Abuse

Patron Tan Eng is like a drunken chicken who thinks he is an eagle.
22/08/2017 14:51

Why is this naughty parrot here?

You should go see your master now locked up in prison

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 15:02 | Report Abuse

I follow u buy a bit at 1.30 already,enough for me......now I buy KEN,TOMEI,BUTALAND and queue to buy OSKVI.

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 15:04 | Report Abuse

I missed out on ORNA and FPI,JAYCORP(both sold too early)....all good profit companies buy and can have a good nite sleep

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 15:04 | Report Abuse

TOMEI new high

Posted by hollandking > 2017-08-22 15:05 | Report Abuse

dutaland can buy? sure, Mr Apollo?

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 15:07 | Report Abuse

my fren this former MCA chap sold all his HO HUP and TEK SENG-WA and sailand on PENTA at 60cts only,he bought TEK SENG-WA at 30cts only sold at 1.00

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 15:08 | Report Abuse

butaland buy some, wait until results out if good hentam more if no good keep a bit lo,play safe....hahaha

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 15:12 | Report Abuse

better buy KEN totally unrealisticly undervalued. PE less than 5, free float less than 16%

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 15:13 | Report Abuse

if u lose I lose more

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-08-22 15:13 |

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 15:18 | Report Abuse

bro contrarian can u throw me some OSKVI at 75cts now done a bit but I haven't kena yet.....hahaha

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-22 15:20 | Report Abuse

3iii >>> calvintaneng > Aug 22, 2017 02:02 PM | Report Abuse

Peter Lynch categorize stocks into 6 Classes

1)Stalwarts

2)Fast Growers

3)Cyclicals

4)Turnarounds

5)Assets Play

6) Slow Growers

Calvin likes No. 1 to 5

3iii can only invest in no. 1 only. <<<

I like Peter Lynch's classification of companies very much.

I use this consciously in my investing.

I invest into companies in each of these categories at the appropriate time.

Crying all the way to the banks.

:-)
22/08/2017 15:13

HEHEHEH!

I think more like crying because you missed Pm Corp at 15 sen Hengyuan at Rm2.00, DRB c30 at 12 sen or Mj Perak at 31.5 sen?

HAHA!

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-08-22 15:23 | Report Abuse

>>> HEHEHEH!

I think more like crying because you missed Pm Corp at 15 sen Hengyuan at Rm2.00, DRB c30 at 12 sen or Mj Perak at 31.5 sen?

HAHA! <<<

Just pointing out to you that your assumptions are wrong.

Be humble.

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-22 15:24 | Report Abuse

LOL!

Assumption?

On Pm Corp intrinsic value at 14.4 sen?

LOL!!

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 15:27 | Report Abuse

talking about hengyuan, I really miss out when it was 2.00,but no regret lah,make from others in future

Patron

1,163 posts

Posted by Patron > 2017-08-22 15:29 | Report Abuse

How can you sinful human say God is wrong leh? The almighty is always right no ?

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 15:33 | Report Abuse

yeo khee huat own KEN,he own a lot of stocks a former director of soon theam securities. his sis yeo khee bee own a lot of ducth lady,his other bro yeo khee poh. u can check this out datuk calvin

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-22 15:36 | Report Abuse

Posted by apolloang > Aug 22, 2017 03:33 PM | Report Abuse

yeo khee huat own KEN,he own a lot of stocks a former director of soon theam securities. his sis yeo khee bee own a lot of ducth lady,his other bro yeo khee poh. u can check this out datuk calvin

Ok

I think I once bought KEN long ago and sold it before.

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 15:47 | Report Abuse

yeo khee bee now in aust been holding dutch lady since 2000.

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-22 15:52 | Report Abuse

yeo khee bee no 11 in dutch lady list,she bought around 2 mil in 2000 now worth more than 20 mil. datuk calvin when u gonna be like her? hahaha

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-08-22 17:27 | Report Abuse

The thrill of investing in stocks, using Peter Lynch's classification of companies.

1. Dutch Lady

A fast grower in its early days. Now a stalwart.

2. Nestle

A stalwart and slow grower. Generating high FCF with little capex requirement.

3. Aeon Credit.

A fast grower. Financial stock. High risk sector.

4. Guinness

A stalwart or slow grower.

5. Petdag

A fast grower over the last decade. Smaller company then, adding 50+ new petrol stations per year. Now a slow grower or stalwart.

6. HaiO

A gruesome stock that turned around in 2005 / 2006. Those who spotted this then would have a lot of gains when others started to show interest in it. Presently, a slow grower stock. Not to be dismissed.

7. KAF

For years, this stock lingered at price below its net asset value. In its book was a piece of land in Jalan Kia Peng which was worth a lot more. This land was subsequently repriced and the company eventually taken over by the majority shareholders. This was an asset play stock.

8. Topglove and Hartalega

These companies were fast growers. They are also in a cyclical sector. Essentially, they are cyclical growth stocks. Those who have own these stocks over the long term would have multibagger gains.

9. Tongher

A cyclical stock. Not easy to play in this sector. Presently, it is in its cyclical high.

10. Public Bank

A stalwart or slow grower.

11. Guan Chong

A turnaround and fast grower (but only for a year or so). Cyclical sector. Not easy to play these stocks but for those who spotted it in 2009, it did climbed 200% or so. However, to protect your gains, you need to sell and not hold long term. Not easy to play cyclical stocks. You need to buy right and also to sell right.

12. Pentamaster

A fast grower for the moment. A fast growth stock maybe highly priced. Be careful, but if you have spotted this before its price climbed, the rewards have been and can be huge.

13. GENM

Slow grower.

14. LPI

Slow grower that has delivered superior returns.

15. Scientex

Slow grower

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-08-22 17:29 | Report Abuse

>>> Posted by Patron > Aug 22, 2017 03:29 PM | Report Abuse

How can you sinful human say God is wrong leh? The almighty is always right no ?<<<

calvintaneng is always right. :-) Ha ha

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-08-22 18:01 |

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-22 18:22 | Report Abuse

A gruesome company over time may gradually turn good, and becomes a turnover stock.

Gruesome company like Dutaland, Bj Corp & Bpuri Will Turn Into

SUPER STOCK

SEE CALVIN HIT JACKPOT IN DUTALAND TODAY!!

WAHAHAHA!!!! WAHAHAHA!!!

WAHAHA!!!!

A RM750 MILLION CASH SHOWERS FALLING ON DUTALAND

SEVEN HUNDRED AND FIFITY MILLIONS RINGGIT FOR DUTALAND's PLANTATION LANDS IN SABAH!!

THIS TIME ALL SUPER SUPER KAYA LEOW!!!!

WUHUHUHU!!!

YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!

HAHAHA!!!
22/08/2017 18:13

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-09-01 21:39 | Report Abuse

Bonia turns in good result

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-09-01 21:45 | Report Abuse

Mui Bhd results ok. Many areas done well.

Impairment loss is one off due to goodwill writeoff.

What is goodwill?

One Very sucessful fish soup shop just sold off its roaring business in a takeover.

The goodwill was rm300,000. The founding hawker retired and gone traveling. The new investor just raised the price of fish soup. Yet the place is filled to overflowing during lunch hour.

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-09-01 21:50 | Report Abuse

Dutaland share price jumped 50% suddenly due to sale of 2 assets. Although its core business was lousy its assets disposal triggered the upside.

For Bj Corp its assets of immense value like Bkt Tinggi Hill Resort if sold some day - will be a spectacular surprise of astounding proportion

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-10-24 23:13 | Report Abuse

WTK

INTRINSIC VALUE RM2.80.

TARGET PRICE RM1.60

GO GO POWER RANGER!!!

hstha

3,324 posts

Posted by hstha > 2017-10-24 23:14 | Report Abuse

Oversold stocks?

DNEX?

Posted by John Lu > 2017-12-03 22:23 | Report Abuse

All holland list. Calvintaneng bankrupt already

Posted by John Lu > 2017-12-04 07:00 | Report Abuse

208) calvintaneng +0.3% 100261.01 http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/71329.jsp
27% DUTALND 0.545 0.400 49800|22% BJCORP 0.375 0.340 58600|21% PBA 1.210+0.0225 1.150 17300|16% BPURI 0.350 0.435 45800|14% OPCOM 0.390+0.02 0.600 33200 (100080.25:180.76|237.24)

Hip hop hoorey!!

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-01-05 12:53 | Report Abuse

5.5 years later, timely to review these 10 stocks recommendation of the hero of Netx, calvintaneng

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-01-05 12:56 | Report Abuse

The reasons given for the hero of Netx, calvintaneng's recommendatiions.

While all love chasing Hot Air Balloon Stocks Calvin think these 10 Top Oversold Stocks are worth buying:

1) WTK (82 sen) Intrinsic Value Rm2.80. Target Price Rm1.60
CPO prices now moving up
a) Canada Softwood impacted by drought & fire. b)Tokyo Olympic 2020 will spur logs/plywood sale.
2) BJ CORP (32 Sen) Intrinsic Value Rm5.00. Target Price Rm2.50
Something is brewing again. So time to load up.
3) MRCB (Rm1.19) Intrinsic Value Rm5.00. Target price: Rm2.80
ECER's Rm55 Billions Job, High Speed Rail, Bandar Malaysia, sale of EDL Highway to EPF or other Surprises?
4) BONIA (55.5 sen) Intrinsic Value Rm1.50. Target Price : Rm1.20
Bonia stand to do well in JPO sales to China Tourists. This one stock has fallen to bargain level
5) MEDIA PRIMA (75 Sen) Intrinsic Value Rm2.00. Target Price: Rm1.50
Morgan Stanley is buying and buying & its rich Cash Hoard will continue to give good dividends.
6) CBIP (Rm1.98) Intrinsic Value Rm6.00. Target Price: Rm4.00
INSIDERS once again started buying.
7) MUI BHD (16.5 sen) Intrinsic Value Rm1.50. Taget Price is 80 Sen
Divorce settlement will unlock Assets Sale. Just take position while cheap!
8) PBA (Rm1.26) Intrinsic Value Rm3.00. Target Price: Rm2.00
And PBA with its increased water tariff in Penang will see better earnings. Thus higher dividends could be expected
9) OPCOM (57.5 Sen) Intrinsic Value Rm1.50. Target Price: Rm1.20
FOR A NICE POSSIBLE "SPECIAL DIVIDEND OF AT LEAST 20 SEN?"
10) EIG (Esthetic International) (90 Sen) Intrinsic Value Rm3.00. Target Price Rm2.00
Only a tiny weeny 5.1% Shares left in Free Float in the Open Market.