Posted by Lim Kentphang > 2018-02-10 20:03 | Report Abuse

lol now market bad mah.. loss is normal

traderman

7,854 posts

Posted by traderman > 2018-02-10 20:09 | Report Abuse

buy too much stocks.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2018-02-10 20:10 | Report Abuse

Congratulations! You did better than great Grandmaster WB

https://www.fool.com/investing/2018/02/09/warren-buffett-has-lost-112-billion-in-1-week.aspx

feimah

907 posts

Posted by feimah > 2018-02-10 20:43 | Report Abuse

I'm just a small fry and can't give much guidance on your portfolio.
Below is part of my investment key points:
1. Always go back to the initial basis why invest in the counter.
2. My investment is based on FVI and stay away from the crowd.
2. What is the action plan if the company fundamental changes?
3. What is the action plan if the industry/sector(macro factor) changes?
4. Always must have an exit/cut lost plan?
5. Continue learn will help you to improve in your investment

Posted by Choon Soo Tan > 2018-02-10 20:43 | Report Abuse

Is normal

More2It

269 posts

Posted by More2It > 2018-02-10 21:00 | Report Abuse

Just curious, are you invested in any warrants ?
my opinion is pls stay away from warrants until you experienced enough, to appreciate the downside.
Your cash position at 70% is v. good level, since BURSA is expected to b volatile, my suggestion is to keep cash level at 50% or more always.This will allow you to take advantage of unexpected bargains for short term trading gains.

Your current net return of 4.37% (aftr one mth) is good !

frozenn

Posted by frozenn > 2018-02-10 21:14 | Report Abuse

traderman, this is the longest list i ever have, i started to feel a bit burden to manage them.

feimah, thanks for the guide lines. my furniture stock fall under your note #3, but i am in dilemma to cut as i think it is selling cheap, but i scare it will fall further.

More2It, 2 of my 9 stocks are company warrants, expiry at 3 years time. My +4.37% is after one year, not one month...just like FD..haiz...I think largely due to underinvest.

Posted by SpecTraChart > 2018-02-10 21:16 | Report Abuse

Honest opinion, consider to rotate your telco and furniture stocks into other sector stocks.
The other sectors are okay.
Reason: we are currently in the cycle of increasing interest rate, telco market weightage will be underperformed, because telco usually have high borrowings, increase in interest rate will eats up their profit.
Secondly: USD is in a strong weakening cycle, you may confirm this with us dollar index, increase in us fed rate failed to revive us dollar so the weakening of us dollar will only continues. So I'm assuming your furniture is export based, given that us dollar will further weakens, I don't foresee positive catalyst to the profitability of export company in mid to long term.

Just my two cents

More2It

269 posts

Posted by More2It > 2018-02-10 21:23 | Report Abuse

your current net return of 4.37% (aftr one year) is commendable ! (did not lose money, good start !)

Posted by SpecTraChart > 2018-02-10 21:24 | Report Abuse

Banking stocks are definitely a no brainier bet this year, because increased interest rate will benefit them the most, a boost of profitability on existing outstanding loan without doing anything.

More2It

269 posts

Posted by More2It > 2018-02-10 21:26 | Report Abuse

agree with SpecTraChart on furniture sector, is facing challenging times now. U can confirm with the latest analyst reports.

Patron

1,163 posts

Posted by Patron > 2018-02-10 21:46 | Report Abuse

Always have exit plan. Be it profits or losses. All the best to you, fish.

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2018-02-10 22:07 | Report Abuse

US dollar is strengthening against ringgit AGAIN. It is a cycle. You can see oil price keeps decreasing and will go back to US 30 dollars again. On top of that, US rate hike will push ringgit downward further to RM 4.50.

Larrytrader

1,453 posts

Posted by Larrytrader > 2018-02-10 22:09 | Report Abuse

My stock also super bad

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2018-02-10 22:09 | Report Abuse

Do not trust at all Analysts reports. If they were so good ,hey should have become billionaires already and don't need to work and follow what clients want them to write. Be Careful!

Nikmon

2,954 posts

Posted by Nikmon > 2018-02-10 22:21 | Report Abuse

2 stocks dropped more than 25% and other majority dropped more than 15%. this is scary....would it go down further? is the fundamental good? any good prospect? very painful hold those making huge loss stocks. wish you luck

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2018-02-10 22:24 | Report Abuse

Buy more furniture stocks such as Hevea, Homeritz, JayCorp (plus construction) that prices are low now with good dividends paid.

dunspace

348 posts

Posted by dunspace > 2018-02-10 22:33 | Report Abuse

Normal. Stick to your long term plan. If you are short term player, i have no advice as I despise short term "investing".

dunspace

348 posts

Posted by dunspace > 2018-02-10 22:46 | Report Abuse

good key points to take away~

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/laulauramblings/147015.jsp

Albukhary

2,719 posts

Posted by Albukhary > 2018-02-10 23:07 | Report Abuse

u still have 70% cash on hand, nothing to worry.

Posted by Lew Chin Hoong > 2018-02-11 00:06 | Report Abuse

with 70% cash you can slowly choose some good stock with bargain price or average down holding stock, nothing to worry as you better than those who already all in.

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2018-02-11 00:10 | Report Abuse

Why has ringgit been stable? Becuase USD has not been so strong. In fact most currencies in emerging markets have been quite stable during the global stock sell-off because USD has not been so strong. That's why stocks in emerging markets have been outperfperforming stocks in developped countries during the global stock sell-off. Malaysians don't need to worry about the global stock sell-off as long as ringgit has been stable.

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2018-02-11 00:41 | Report Abuse

Now you can buy semiconductor stocks.

If USDMYR drops, it is likely that overall Malaysian stocks will rebound, so semiconductor stocks will get boosted by the market sentiment.

If USDMYR goes up, it will be good for export oriented stocks,so semiconductor stocks will rebound near future.

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2018-02-11 09:19 | Report Abuse

Study on stock markets in emerging countries

Malaysia

USDMYR 3.973 (one month ago)
USDMYR 3.9394 (now)
KLCI 1820.25 (one month ago)
KLCI 1819.82 (now)

Thailand

USDTHB 31.96 (one month ago)
USDTHB 31.71 (now)
SET 1812.89 (one month ago)
SET 1786.45 (now)

Indonesia

USDIDR 13,395.00 (one month ago)
USDIDR 13,623.00 (now)
JKSE 6397.959 (one month ago)
JKSE 6505.52 (now)

USA

Dow Jones 25574.73 (one month ago)
Dow Jones 24190.90 (now)
US Dollar Index 92.508 (one month ago)
US Dollar Index 90.32 (now)

Conclusion: currencies and stock prices in emerging countries in Southeast Asia have been quite stable during the global stock sell-off. They will remain stable as long as their currencies are stable.

Regarding Malaysia, due to the factors below

1. ringgit has been stable
2. oil price has been high
3. in 2017 Malaysian stocks underperformed their global counterparts,

stock prices will remain more stable than stock prices in developped countries.

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2018-02-11 09:45 | Report Abuse

Here’s what Warren Buffett says to do when the market tanks
https://www.cnbc.com/2018/02/08/heres-what-warren-buffett-says-to-do-when-the-market-tanks.html

Booyeah

365 posts

Posted by Booyeah > 2018-02-11 11:05 |

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2018-02-11 13:44 | Report Abuse

Oil Price down means ringgit down. Don't need to argue . Ringgit is weakening from now onward. Oil market is always oversupply everyday. Just OPEC and Malaysia and some countries try to control the price and make it high but they eventually fail. We will see again US$30 per barrel sooner or later.

Posted by hollandking > 2018-02-11 13:54 | Report Abuse

30 is no lah, 30 will only happen unless opec abandon status quo and go for cut throat strategy to kill the shales

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2018-02-11 14:01 | Report Abuse

Hard to imagine how they want to manipulate the stock price next.....

This is certainly a very emotuonally and psychologically taxing period

Inexperienced traders may best just stay aside and watch first (NOT A BAD IDEA)

TheContrarian

8,695 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2018-02-11 14:50 | Report Abuse

No.9 looks like Insas. :-)

More2It

269 posts

Posted by More2It > 2018-02-11 20:27 | Report Abuse

Edge report on issues faced by furniture sector :

Furniture makers see changing fortunes
Esther Lee
The Edge Malaysia

December 19, 2017 17:00 pm +08

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/furniture-makers-see-changing-fortunes

More2It

269 posts

Posted by More2It > 2018-02-11 20:30 | Report Abuse

Its factory fire season now, hahaha

Posted by mega_invester > 2018-02-11 22:05 | Report Abuse

is fine... u stil have 70% cash bro... i have -60% cash bro... i had invested 160% of my money. (100% of my total cash + 60% margin position). and my lost if super huge. around 3-4 years of my salary....

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-02-11 22:44 | Report Abuse

U bought at the wrong time. If you bought in the beginning of 2017, your result will be different.

Prepare to get stuck for quite a while until the Dow comes back to all time high.

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2018-02-11 23:03 | Report Abuse

saw 2 mistakes.

bot wrong stocks at the rite time and not being efficient in capital allocation.

my advice to u is to stay out of the market and do a strategy review.

whether u want to cut loss is up to u, i will not give any advice on it.

i think i know which telco u bot.