14 comment(s). Last comment by lizi 2018-06-02 19:58

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2018-06-02 07:53 | Report Abuse

i have my fair share of wood based stock too. all are out of money with average losses of 25.60%

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2018-06-02 09:13 | Report Abuse

Jon, your weightage of 10% of portfolio is coming from latest market price or at cost? since the MV has been dropping much, original weightage should be higher right

Posted by KLCI King > 2018-06-02 10:14 | Report Abuse

Fair & honest, thank you.

value88

704 posts

Posted by value88 > 2018-06-02 10:47 | Report Abuse

Liihen's poor performance in recent quarter is way below my expectation.
The profit margin deteriorated QoQ by too much. The higher material cost and labour cost have been there since a few quarters ago, but why margin only down by so much in this Q (?). Let's see what happen next Q..
Latitude is in more difficult situation bcos it has plant in Vietnam, and there are many new China furniture companies in Vietnam now and the competition is stiff. I think Latitude is hard to recover in subsequent Qs.

Posted by KLCI King > 2018-06-02 11:44 | Report Abuse

I like this statement:

"At the end of the day, LIIHEN, despite being managed well, is still in a cost based cyclical industry. And is in the later end of the cycle. A P/E of 7 then may very well be too high, if one expects deterioration of earnings in a few years."

Posted by 10212264665705646 > 2018-06-02 12:37 | Report Abuse

people should take a close look at this article. many firms are cyclical stocks. Low PE ratio doesnt mean cheap, it just meant that that very quarter/year macroeconomic condition are fuelling earnings or lower cost.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-06-02 13:30 | Report Abuse

Latest price. never counted based on cost really. Maybe should try.

===================================================================================
Fabien Extraordinaire Jon, your weightage of 10% of portfolio is coming from latest market price or at cost? since the MV has been dropping much, original weightage should be higher right
02/06/2018 09:13

12,846 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-06-02 13:33 |

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-02 13:50 |

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-02 13:52 | Report Abuse

two words......business sense....

keep business sense with you.......you can look forward to a life of luxury.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-02 13:55 | Report Abuse

worthwhile reading

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/qqq3/159254.jsp

And for those who want more diversification than KYY, you can read about my portfolio and how to built a portfolio by reading my posts here.

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/forum/600157964.jsp

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2018-06-02 19:36 | Report Abuse

for stocks that have substantially decline in value or prolonged decline say 1 year (i copy from previous MFRS 139), i would fix the value at cost and recalculate the portfolio weightage accordingly. i maintain such alternative view on top of the usual MV-based portoflio weightage so that i won't kid myself, say if the stock has declined by 40%, that it only constitutes neglible amount to the portfolio performance because it is not. it has a small weightage because the value has eroded, at the point of origination of the investment, it is not!

Posted by issac99289928 > 2018-06-02 19:51 | Report Abuse

Ringgit could hit 4.20 against US dollar by year end — DBS

great earning boost and furniture stocks suddenly become hot stocks again.

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/ringgit-could-hit-420-us-dollar-year-end-%E2%80%94-dbs

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-06-02 19:58 | Report Abuse

thanks for sharing..