78 Stock Pick 2018 - Star8888 -77,132.99 -77.13%

Patrick13

1,971 posts

Posted by Patrick13 > 2018-11-30 17:49 | Report Abuse

YTD made 23% loss..

Posted by probability > 2018-11-30 17:52 | Report Abuse

pang72 sifu...you are also extremely dynamic investor...how is your return like this year so far?

nothing to judge based on it..or to feel jealous..but just to see if it helps to be glued to the market and monitor aggressively for opportunities like you do...

Posted by ScrewDriver > 2018-11-30 17:53 | Report Abuse

I can only say, I really love our nobita Minister, thanks for screwing us kao kao while you sit in your ministry riskless taking hefty pays every month. The market movement this year was more sickening than last year. It's either this nobita or his gang has secretly shorted the market, or he is purely incompetent. For God sake I'm really sick of him now. How I wish I have the power to punish him.

47,390 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2018-11-30 17:54 | Report Abuse

Probability..1% gain ytd

47,390 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2018-11-30 17:55 | Report Abuse

It is a very tough year. I am glad still in green.
Hope my 1% will not wipe out next week..because it is only 1 %..:)

Posted by probability > 2018-11-30 17:55 | Report Abuse

aiya...u r so secretive as usual...shy and humble...

i take that as 100% gain in real! I think it could be even higher..

Posted by pang72 > Nov 30, 2018 05:54 PM | Report Abuse

Probability..1% gain ytd

47,390 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2018-11-30 17:56 | Report Abuse

Probability..I m honest la.

47,390 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2018-11-30 17:59 | Report Abuse

Recent market a lot of unpredicted event and quarter result.
It is not easy

Posted by probability > 2018-11-30 17:59 | Report Abuse

1%...i would believe for cute Jon Choivo...

bull or bear market his return will be the same...he diversify like all stocks are beautiful women....and can lay his eggs.

47,390 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2018-11-30 18:01 | Report Abuse

If I look at uncle koon portfolio , he lose a lot this year.
I am glad that I am not losing money

Posted by probability > 2018-11-30 18:04 | Report Abuse

This i agree...a real challenge for short term investors..traders would have the best year this year...

Posted by pang72 > Nov 30, 2018 05:59 PM | Report Abuse

Recent market a lot of unpredicted event and quarter result.
It is not easy

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-30 18:48 | Report Abuse

74 Stock Pick 2018 - JayC -53,375.52 -53.38%
75 Stock Pick 2018 - wahlaueh -53,842.74 -53.84%
76 Stock Pick 2018 - paperplane2016 -58,520.60 -58.52%
77 Stock Pick 2018 - icon8888 -72,789.75 -72.79%

numbers 74, 76 and 77 makes me laugh.

number 74 cannot even understand Fundmyhome.

14,538 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-11-30 18:52 | Report Abuse

Cpteh still waiting for mkt crash? After seeing this result....

14,538 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-11-30 18:53 | Report Abuse

Luckily i didnt join....or else kena qqq3 insult like shit

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-30 18:55 | Report Abuse

where got insult?...just reading from here.

arv18

2,643 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2018-11-30 18:56 | Report Abuse

Well done to Iscam8888!!!

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-30 18:57 | Report Abuse

I con same as I scam?

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-11-30 20:12 | Report Abuse

this year, buy more lose more, buy less lose less, no buy cannot lose...

Goh Kim Hock

2,941 posts

Posted by Goh Kim Hock > 2018-11-30 21:12 | Report Abuse

It takes a lot of courage and guts to join this kind of competition. Weak hearted people should stay away.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-11-30 21:42 | Report Abuse

on a unit basis, down about 12%.

But i bought alot of units at low prices this year. So no idea on the IRR.

Said this before, but about 65% of the fund is in like 4 companies. The remaining is over 20 companies or so.

Not really well diversified tbh. The remaining 35% is in companies that are too cheap for me ignore. Alot are dividend paying, extremely low valuation property companies, or companies like orient.

Im a mix of schloss and buffet haha. Very highly concentrated and also diversified to an extent haha.

=====
1%...i would believe for cute Jon Choivo...

bull or bear market his return will be the same...he diversify like all stocks are beautiful women....and can lay his eggs.

Posted by soojinhou > 2018-11-30 21:44 | Report Abuse

54 Stock Pick 2018 - soojinhou -40,262.50 -40.26%

Probability, since you asked, as of today, real life portfolio -13.4%.

Posted by probability > 2018-11-30 22:04 | Report Abuse

That is if you are as good as this ninja cat..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ibiFOFbsaeQ

congrats!

Posted by soojinhou > Nov 30, 2018 09:44 PM | Report Abuse

54 Stock Pick 2018 - soojinhou -40,262.50 -40.26%

Probability, since you asked, as of today, real life portfolio -13.4%

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-11-30 22:06 | Report Abuse

why u all so terror? -25%

Posted by soojinhou > 2018-11-30 22:44 | Report Abuse

Haha what a ninja! Oklah, 10+% is a recoverable loss, u did reasonably well too, congrats. Hope 2019 is a kinder year.

jacky

5 posts

Posted by jacky > 2018-11-30 22:45 | Report Abuse

ytd -18.4%

Posted by Koon Bee > 2018-11-30 22:45 | Report Abuse

2018 stock pick is to fight on who making the most losses is it?

cpng

1,575 posts

Posted by cpng > 2018-11-30 22:47 | Report Abuse

Top losses champion challenges.

SuperBest

232 posts

Posted by SuperBest > 2018-11-30 22:54 | Report Abuse

From the result only 2person came out positive while the rest gone holland. And majority having more than 25% negative results! Yes i can hear them swearing never to touch shares again. This year is of the most ferocious bear market ever despite the misleading KLCi composite index.

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2018-11-30 23:11 | Report Abuse

Worldwide semiconductor revenue hits record US$129.8 billion in 3Q18, says IHS. The global semiconductor industry revenue grew 7.4% sequentially in the third quarter of 2018, reaching a record US$129.8 billion, according to IHS Markit. Semiconductor growth occurred in all application markets and world regions.. https://www.digitimes.com/news/a20181130PR202.html

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-01 01:51 | Report Abuse

boiling frogs

lazycat

899 posts

Posted by lazycat > 2018-12-01 07:56 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/99227.jsp mr tkw , dufu 2 shares get 1 bonus share , so 12,800 x 1.5 = 19200 , afer adjusted to 19200 shares , i'll get +4% return lol , number 2 spot

Posted by paperplane > 2018-12-01 08:13 | Report Abuse

As i estimates earlier FD return win 90%fun managers.

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-12-01 09:49 | Report Abuse

Yes Sifu Steven Yong is correct
FD at 3.5% this year will beat many funds

I wonder what will my last year's 5 dead stocks' status this year:

1. Bpuri
2. Bj Corp
3. Opcom
4. Dutaland
5. Pba

Anyone can compute?

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2018-12-01 10:43 | Report Abuse

The PHLX Semiconductor index was up 1.49% on Friday.

Tan KW

1,407 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2018-12-01 11:16 | Report Abuse

@lazycat

dividend, stock split, bonus issue, etc.... will be recorded and it will be part of your profit, i will share you the edit access for your portfolio(see the following screenshot), and you can add in the transaction accordingly.

Read https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/stock_pick_2018/142352.jsp

lazycat https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/99227.jsp mr tkw , dufu 2 shares get 1 bonus share , so 12,800 x 1.5 = 19200 , afer adjusted to 19200 shares , i'll get +4% return lol , number 2 spot

densim

280 posts

Posted by densim > 2018-12-01 15:18 | Report Abuse

an exceptionally bad year..I may say mainly due to Trade War & change of Govt; cutting back on infra construction....

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-12-01 22:33 | Report Abuse

Thats low, im guessing alot of cut loss?

Whats your policy on that.

====
soojinhou 54 Stock Pick 2018 - soojinhou -40,262.50 -40.26%

Probability, since you asked, as of today, real life portfolio -13.4%.
30/11/2018 21:44

moneykj

6,105 posts

Posted by moneykj > 2018-12-02 09:41 | Report Abuse

Stock Pick 2018 - moneykj -21,044.72 -21.04%

My real life portfolio -20.5%

4,277 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-12-02 16:19 | Report Abuse

Probability. I’m lucky this year. My portfolio dropped more than 10% in the 1st half 2018 after cutting losses in GE. The opportunity came back when steel counters resurrection in 3rd Qtr. It helped me to pocket good returns in short period of time and sufficient to offset my losses plus few percent profit. Now, I still earn FD rate..6%. This year is rather tough.

Posted by probability > 2018-12-02 16:19 | Report Abuse

what i find so strange is...while the consumers (all consumptions generally) have not made any significant changes on their consumption pattern...almost every single type of business in every sector got affected recently...including utilities and banking...

only consumer staple is unaffected i guess...

Posted by probability > 2018-12-02 16:22 | Report Abuse

great to hear that Up-down...superb.

We need sifus like you to continue being alive and contribute...he he

Posted by Up_down > Dec 2, 2018 04:19 PM | Report Abuse

Probability. I’m lucky this year. My portfolio dropped more than 10% in the 1st half 2018 after cutting losses in GE. The opportunity came back when steel counters resurrection in 3rd Qtr. It helped me to pocket good returns in short period of time and sufficient to offset my losses plus few percent profit. Now, I still earn FD rate..6%. This year is rather tough.

Posted by apolloang > 2018-12-02 16:24 | Report Abuse

icon8888 second last nobody saying anything,but nenek calvin bottom 10 people smear him.....what a bias community here......hahaha

4,277 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-12-02 16:33 | Report Abuse

Probability. Many companies have delivered a lackluster QR. The trend is expected to remain in coming QR...another vicious cycle. Silver lining is crude oil price dropping like no tomorrow. Opportunity again to grab another upcoming theme related to it. Hope it is real. Lolz

Posted by probability > 2018-12-02 16:56 | Report Abuse

true up-down...my surprise is on the lacklustre results itself....why did the consumption dip?

is that due intermediate over build of inventory due to an over anticipated growth in consumption...or directly from the end consumers? or is it because of consumption displacement by other market competitors say from Chine forced by the trade war?

cause, as far as the end-consumer consumption volume...my guess is there is hardly any change..

4,277 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-12-02 17:22 | Report Abuse

Most companies are being squeezed by high commodity prices especially crude oil. Profit were shifting to commodity producers and traders. It is very hard for intermediate manufacturers to fully pass extra costs to customers while raw material prices surging upward. Normally, their customers delay in accepting higher prices( except billing based on commodity price movements ie steel). It would create a lagging and causing profit margin dropping quarter by quarter. Of course, FMCG companies are far more easier to increase their selling prices in tandem with inflation especially big players.

Posted by probability > Dec 2, 2018 04:56 PM | Report Abuse

true up-down...my surprise is on the lacklustre results itself....why did the consumption dip?

is that due intermediate over build of inventory due to an over anticipated growth in consumption...or directly from the end consumers? or is it because of consumption displacement by other market competitors say from Chine forced by the trade war?

cause, as far as the end-consumer consumption volume...my guess is there is hardly any change..

Posted by probability > 2018-12-02 17:27 | Report Abuse

hmm..very interesting and plausible explanation...thanks up_down.

Posted by Up_down > Dec 2, 2018 05:22 PM | Report Abuse

Most companies are being squeezed by high commodity prices especially crude oil. Profit were shifting to commodity producers and traders. It is very hard for intermediate manufacturers to fully pass extra costs to customers while raw material prices surging upward. Normally, their customers delay in accepting higher prices( except billing based on commodity price movements ie steel). It would create a lagging and causing profit margin dropping quarter by quarter. Of course, FMCG companies are far more easier to increase their selling prices in tandem with inflation especially big players.

Posted by VenFx > 2018-12-08 10:12 | Report Abuse

哇! 2018 盛大舞会 即将来临
Very exciting to check on sifu-sifu's list.

Merry xmast & ginzhu year to all bros & sis here ❤

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-12-08 10:24 | Report Abuse

Haha.. Apollo.. That means ppl like Calvin more