18 comment(s). Last comment by qqq3 2018-12-05 17:25

Posted by hollandking > 2018-12-04 16:39 | Report Abuse

99% are gamblers disguise as investor

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-04 16:54 | Report Abuse

if u think it is different...then it is different.

actually same thing.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-04 17:15 | Report Abuse

buy Hibiscus 29 Nov $ 1......gambling or investing? can anyone tell the difference

Goh Kim Hock

3,024 posts

Posted by Goh Kim Hock > 2018-12-04 20:52 | Report Abuse

The best example gambler disguising as investor is CP Teh.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-04 21:02 | Report Abuse

let us define invest as keep for at least 12 months....then I hardly ever invest.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-04 21:04 | Report Abuse

but why people think keep for more than 12 months is not gambling and keep for less than 12 months is gambling....that beats me. Don't understand.

8888_

2,919 posts

Posted by 8888_ > 2018-12-04 21:06 | Report Abuse

Day traders consider gambling or investing?

Goh Kim Hock

3,024 posts

Posted by Goh Kim Hock > 2018-12-04 23:07 | Report Abuse

If you put money into something without properly understanding it, or taking chances, it is called gambling.

As for day trading, you know very well the chance of winning is low, it is gambling too.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-04 23:13 | Report Abuse

Goh Kim Hock > Dec 4, 2018 11:07 PM | Report Abuse

If you put money into something without properly understanding it, or taking chances, it is called gambling.
============

then u can call me gambling....I don't mind as long as I make money and can avoid losses.

13,666 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2018-12-04 23:15 | Report Abuse

thats like buying FGV, MAS, Enron, Apple and Jaks
=============================================================
Goh Kim Hock > Dec 4, 2018 11:07 PM | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-04 23:20 | Report Abuse

on the other hand. all investment decision involve taking chances.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-04 23:20 | Report Abuse

on the other hand. all investment decision involve taking chances....and in an incomplete info environment.

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-05 11:15 | Report Abuse

Investment, speculation and gambling
http://myinvestingnotes.blogspot.com/2008/08/investment-speculation-and-gambling.html

13,666 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2018-12-05 11:32 | Report Abuse

Heng Yuan was a good gamble for the sellers.

Deferring expenses caused high EPS and a mad rush for shares

when Shell realised RM1.80 was already extremely profitable to sell it off to save on expected expenses.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-05 11:38 | Report Abuse

investing got to go out there....meet people.

get a feel for the management and the business.

trading like me....can be done out of a computer.

we have two resident sifus here...one lives in NZ, the other is a remisier ...both interested in numbers and little discussion of business and management....go figure what I have been posting these few years.

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-05 11:54 | Report Abuse

>>>qqq3 investing got to go out there....meet people.

we have two resident sifus here...one lives in NZ, the other is a remisier ...both interested in numbers and little discussion of business and management....go figure what I have been posting these few years.
05/12/2018 11:38<<<

qqq3 has tunnel vision.

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-05 12:00 | Report Abuse

Part of the process of my investing is an assessment of

1. the reward: risk ratio of buying the stock at a certain price, and
2. the total return from owning the stock.

I would love it when this reward:risk ratio is at least 3:1. The probability of being right being 75% and probability of being wrong being 25%. Should I got it wrong, at least the loss will not be too huge.

As for the total return, I aim to achieve an annual compounded return of > 15% per year over a 5 year time-horizon from buying the stock. Should this return be below this, I will be patient and wait for a better price. The better or lower price will give me a better reward:risk ration and also better returns should the investing plays out as I anticipated.

In place, also are strategies for selling too.

Portfolio management is part and parcel of overall investing. It is just as important as selecting the right stocks to populate your portfolio.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-05 17:25 | Report Abuse

Posted by 3iii > Dec 5, 2018 11:54 AM | Report Abuse

>>>qqq3 investing got to go out there....meet people.

05/12/2018 11:38<<<

which art of that is tunnel vision....?

cut off all the crab...that is what it is. Nothing to add or to subtract.

does it guarantee success?

of course not. Meet people and have feelings also can get it wrong just as often. But, at least have emotional connection and be an investor.