48 comment(s). Last comment by 10154899906070843 2019-01-03 14:58

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-12-30 08:32 | Report Abuse

2019 will be better i believe...if u cant do well in 2019 then yr 3 years result will be worse than fd n yr piggy banks will pecah

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-12-30 08:35 | Report Abuse

Just wonder u hv how many years of experience in stock mkt prior to this so called fund managements in 2017....how was yr track record then until u built yr confidence to establish yr funds in 2017?

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-12-30 08:41 | Report Abuse

Using a simple calculation yr return todate is -5.73...basing on fd rate of 4% per year (4%×3 years= 12%) u hv to score 17% return in 2019 to be on par to it....

Even so then whats the purpose? Better put yr money into fd n get a full time job...yr return will be much better

tm9999

156 posts

Posted by tm9999 > 2018-12-30 09:16 | Report Abuse

Bwtter put fd...no need keep worry.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2018-12-30 09:39 | Report Abuse

Haha Charles,

Tks for your concern. I work full time.

My record before 2017 was pretty ok, but it was only for a year and i didnt track it.

FD just does not make sense to me tbh. Hold PetronM or hold FD. Its pretty clear to me.

If it wants to go down another 18% in 2019, so be it. I know what im buying, ill just buy more on the way down.

I told myself ill be putting my money to work for at least 5 years. If i cant get good returns in 5 years (Beat index as well as positive), I'll just throw it all into china index and forget about it.

tm9999

156 posts

Posted by tm9999 > 2018-12-30 09:48 | Report Abuse

Hi Choivo, with new petrol price mechanism starting 2019, how do u see effect to petron, hy and petdag?

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-12-30 09:48 | Report Abuse

My friend who is a public mutual agent showed their 5 years or 10 years return chart (vs epf div) i also dare not buy

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-12-30 09:52 | Report Abuse

Meaning to say u only hv 1 year experience (with yr claimed good return) in 2016 prior to yr fund management service in 2017

Yr friends/ investors r very brave loh

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-12-30 09:52 | Report Abuse

U lagi brave loh

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-12-30 09:53 | Report Abuse

So now hv to break piggy banks loh

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-12-30 10:01 | Report Abuse

What gives yr the confidence that u can hv a fund management, after 1 year record n experience in bursa?

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2018-12-30 10:11 | Report Abuse

Charles,

I have made it clear many times, that this is a test run. If i was running a proper fund, the size of outsiders compared to my equity in fund would be many times larger.

This fund is for me to establish a verifiable track record with third parties. Which is why guarantee portion is only 40% of my own equity. Or about 30% or less of the whole fund.

I can settle it now if need be.

They are not so much brave. But they believe in my ability to pay back their capital with interest if things don't work out. I have relatively strong earning power after all. The total fund owed to them, is about 6-7 month salary, and my monthly savings easily exceed 80%.

Also, they do understand the philosophy. Whenever someone is worried. I just provide the list of stocks held, and let them decide themselves if i'm stupid or market is just being foolish.

I have always made it clear to them, if they do not understand my philosophy or believe in my ability, feel free to sell back their units to me at the end of maturity date.

Its not confidence that drives to me open this fund. But curiosity. I have a good feeling about my ability, but i can't know until 5-10 years have passed and my track record shown.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2018-12-30 10:12 | Report Abuse

Its not a concern.

====
Posted by tm9999 > Dec 30, 2018 09:48 AM | Report Abuse

Hi Choivo, with new petrol price mechanism starting 2019, how do u see effect to petron, hy and petdag?

Posted by KLCI Going Heaven > 2018-12-30 10:12 | Report Abuse

hahah waddup idiot !

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-12-30 10:16 | Report Abuse

So yr investors believes more on yr ability to pay them yr guaranteed returns n capital than yr investment skills?

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-12-30 10:17 | Report Abuse

They know yr parrents got big house in bukit jelutong...cannot run away...

BumbleBee

602 posts

Posted by BumbleBee > 2018-12-30 10:19 | Report Abuse

Keep up the good work
I enjoy reading your escapades
Good luck
Uncle BB

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2018-12-30 10:22 | Report Abuse

To even invest with me, you need to first believe in my ability to pay back. If you don't believe this but still invest, then you must be really really brave.

In some cases, We have known each other for decades. We know where each other live haha.

For them, it's simple. Put in fd or invest with me and get guaranteed higher than fd rate, plus whatever else depending on my ability.

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-12-30 10:27 | Report Abuse

Why i in mkt for so many years with track records also so coward leh

Haw Liao

1,152 posts

Posted by Haw Liao > 2018-12-30 10:40 | Report Abuse

in life, only guarantee is life and death...

other than that, no guarantee...including your investments

zhangliang

728 posts

Posted by zhangliang > 2018-12-30 10:58 | Report Abuse

Wah Choivo boy, out to con people again? . U chg name, used to Jon Choivo who called the lousy Prolexus, ask ppl to buy RM1.40... What happen? I think Prolexus is 50+ sens. U still holding? Talk lots of nonsense to bluff people

apa mau lagi? follow ur lame unit trust that is down 17% this year? con people to buy ur unit trust scheme like money game?

zhangliang

728 posts

Posted by zhangliang > 2018-12-30 11:00 | Report Abuse

I remember Choivo con guru attack Tradeview bro call QL at RM3.5. U insult Tradeview all the time like stalker! I think u shud insult more than every time u insult Tradeview stock fly! hahahaha. I learn from Tradeview bro for 2+ yrs, I enter QL RM3.5 sold RM7 in 1 year. Pls dont be a faker ok? bad karma, later ur unit trust all lose money.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/tradeview/143376.jsp

Posted by Flintstones > 2018-12-30 11:20 | Report Abuse

Haha charles! One needle saw blood!

Posted by Flintstones > 2018-12-30 11:21 | Report Abuse

Charles is the best member i3 can have. Very outspoken, honest and straight to the point. No politically correct or diplomatic statements. Sometimes, i3 members are living in their own bubble. eg. CP Teh. We are here to poke the bubble and knock some sense into their head

Apabagus

317 posts

Posted by Apabagus > 2018-12-30 12:30 | Report Abuse

I am a practical man.This choivo kid writes an article every other day.Any one seen him give a good stock call before?Hey kid,there is a saying..."you are only as good as your last call".And you did not even make a single call.Everyday blah blah blah.....fighting a war on paper....come back here in 5 yrs lah.

Apabagus

317 posts

Posted by Apabagus > 2018-12-30 12:34 | Report Abuse

Many big timers have already close shop after these 3 months.But this choivo is still blahing away.Either you are super good,better than OTB or your position is so small that even klci drop to 800 you will still be ok.I believe the latter scenario.

Apabagus

317 posts

Posted by Apabagus > 2018-12-30 12:36 | Report Abuse

In other words,you choivo is just a peanut.That speaks volume of your ability in stock picking.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2018-12-30 13:18 | Report Abuse

Thanks for the reminder, its important to rub our own mistakes in our noses often, to reduce them in the future.

But i don't think you have the kind of mind needed to criticize me properly. Allow me to help you.

https://choivocapital.com/2018/11/28/much-ado-about-warrants/
https://choivocapital.com/2018/12/04/an-analysis-into-my-2018-stock-pick-results/
https://choivocapital.com/2018/11/28/an-analysis-into-my-2017-stock-pick-competion-results/

I go into my many mistakes here. Study them and maybe you will be able to criticize me better.

I wish you the best. The better you are at criticizing me, the lower my probability of making mistakes

======
zhangliang Wah Choivo boy, out to con people again? . U chg name, used to Jon Choivo who called the lousy Prolexus, ask ppl to buy RM1.40... What happen? I think Prolexus is 50+ sens. U still holding? Talk lots of nonsense to bluff people

apa mau lagi? follow ur lame unit trust that is down 17% this year? con people to buy ur unit trust scheme like money game?
30/12/2018 10:58

zhangliang I remember Choivo con guru attack Tradeview bro call QL at RM3.5. U insult Tradeview all the time like stalker! I think u shud insult more than every time u insult Tradeview stock fly! hahahaha. I learn from Tradeview bro for 2+ yrs, I enter QL RM3.5 sold RM7 in 1 year. Pls dont be a faker ok? bad karma, later ur unit trust all lose money.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/tradeview/143376.jsp
30/12/2018 11:00

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2018-12-30 13:22 | Report Abuse

On QL, people said the same about MYEG.

So many people felt so brilliant for so long, until May this year.

You bought a 30PE stock that went up to 60PE.

Every fool has his day.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2018-12-30 13:24 | Report Abuse

Judging by how your talk. My portfolio size is probably larger than yours.

I write about companies and you can see how they turn out.

I don't write about my favorites, unless i absolutely have to, or where it will not hurt me in terms of higher purchase cost, because good ideas are rare.

This kind of thinking however, is not shared in this forum which consist mainly of pump and dump-ers.

====
Apabagus I am a practical man.This choivo kid writes an article every other day.Any one seen him give a good stock call before?Hey kid,there is a saying..."you are only as good as your last call".And you did not even make a single call.Everyday blah blah blah.....fighting a war on paper....come back here in 5 yrs lah.
30/12/2018 12:30

Apabagus Many big timers have already close shop after these 3 months.But this choivo is still blahing away.Either you are super good,better than OTB or your position is so small that even klci drop to 800 you will still be ok.I believe the latter scenario.
30/12/2018 12:34

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-30 13:29 | Report Abuse

y Choivo Capital > Dec 30, 2018 01:24 PM | Report Abuse

Judging by how your talk. My portfolio size is probably larger than yours.
=================
choivo...your portfolio size so what?

Tabung Haji has great portfolio size....lose more only.....

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2018-12-30 13:47 | Report Abuse

Aih, that was rude, shouldn't have said that.

Thankfully, not yet new year, so technically didn't break my resolution.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-30 13:52 | Report Abuse

my opinion...choivo...u no better, no worse than any educated person first come to stock market......armed with a few soft cover investment books one can get from any book store.....

but that long number guy....I like him, I really do....he knows his stuff.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/qqq3/188009.jsp

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2018-12-30 13:52 | Report Abuse

Cool.

I don't think of you.

Posted by Flintstones > 2018-12-30 13:58 | Report Abuse

Jon Choivo, you are still young. This is the time when you should focus on your career instead of the stock market. 40-50+ years old uncle like us punting in the market is ok lah. But you have a bright future, dont waste it gambling on stocks. I have seen many young people in their 20s making only rm3-4k monthly salary and lose focus in their full time job because of stock gambling. The real successful young people I have seen are fully focused on their full time job earning 5 or 6 figures per month.

Haw Liao

1,152 posts

Posted by Haw Liao > 2018-12-30 15:19 | Report Abuse

anyways sifus and sages...

dedicate this song to u...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cd9rQ5pu3m8

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2018-12-30 20:45 | Report Abuse

@CHOIVO

Your fund is holding 28 companies ?

is that too many? Can share what is the top 5 companies ? hehe

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2018-12-30 21:02 | Report Abuse

if you are smart enough

you can excel both in share investment and career as well

plan your time , invest in good, strong , you understand biz for long term and work smart for your career

Posted by TabulaRasa > 2018-12-31 00:26 | Report Abuse

May I say something, I think Jon is a very good writer and a clear thinker. He regurgitates Buffet a bit too much but it's normal in the journey to becoming an expert fund manager. You start by imitating the best, then slowly you learn from experience and you apply your own independent thoughts shaped by the realities of investing in Malaysia.

Anyway, good luck to everyone for 2019!

Posted by Icon8888 > 2018-12-31 16:35 | Report Abuse

Damn bloody long article. Talk mountain talk sea. At the end don't know what is the actionable item

Apabagus

317 posts

Posted by Apabagus > 2018-12-31 17:13 | Report Abuse

Talk cock only lah.

Icon8888 > Dec 31, 2018 04:35 PM | Report Abuse

Damn bloody long article. Talk mountain talk sea. At the end don't know what is the actionable item

Apabagus

317 posts

Posted by Apabagus > 2018-12-31 17:14 | Report Abuse

Paralysed when challenged to give only one call.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-31 17:15 | Report Abuse

icon....visit QL forum.....

long number guy very very good....puts young man in his place.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2018-12-31 17:17 | Report Abuse

Apabagus,

RM5k, and i'll give you a call.

RM10k, ill give you a deal, and tell you 3.

With full research. That does not consist of copy and past from ar and quarterly.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-31 17:18 | Report Abuse

icon....visit QL forum.....

long number guy very very good....puts young man in his place.

first time I have seen some one in i3.....what I was writing about for 3 years.....and put in a few pages...and actually practises it....

I am a trader...I can only write, I cannot practise.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2018-12-31 17:18 | Report Abuse

Icon,

Its a letter to my investors.

Not to goreng stock. Very different.

Apabagus

317 posts

Posted by Apabagus > 2018-12-31 17:22 | Report Abuse

young turk trying to gain attention of big fish like kyy,kesian you lil kampung boy,u dunno how huge the ocean is...hahahahaha

Posted by 10154899906070843 > 2019-01-03 14:58 | Report Abuse

Looking at the comments here, I realize that I have been too harsh on this choivo, being quite upset with his holier and smarter than thou attitude for someone who seemed to so knowledgeable but only started learning about investing recently.

I apologize sincerely and will stop bringing you down in front of your future clients.

I hope you do well in 2019 as I know it is difficult to keep your hopes up and your chin straight when the chips are down and everyone is crying for your blood and making fun of your investing skills.

But if you will hear out an old man, my advice will be to you:
1) listen and read more than you speak, as others might have opinions and ideas of worth, but useless to you if you do not take it in, analyze it and understand it.
2) try to trim your fund down to manageable levels, as you can never keep track and understand each stock deeply enough. I think you probably cant remember who the ceo's of each company are and what their philosophy or characters are like without referring to google.

and if you think if details like this is unimportant, let me ask you this:

if you could only buy 1 stock for 10 years, and you had to top up every quarter for that 10 years, what extra edge in information do you need to keep up an open mind to continue investing through rain and shine? Is reading financial reports, quarterly reports, stock price movement enough? Is going to i3 forum for bias confirmation enough? Because that is what everyone else is doing. Do you see them doing well? Minimal effort gets you minimal results.

zhangliang doubled his money in 1 years, and yet he sold. where does he get his conviction to buy and sell?

I bought QL in 2009, topped up every quarter, and never sold even until today. Where did I get my conviction to buy and not sell even until today?

That comes from reading every possible detail from every possible source, visiting sites, going to agms, talking to competitors, talking to suppliers, reading market journals, reading orderbooks, reading third party ctos reports,talking to bank managers, reading on capital allocation reports, loan interest rates, reading fund manager analysis, reading reading reading. All over a 9 year period.

I have a feeling that I spend more time trying to understand 1 stock than you do trying to understand 28 stocks in your portfolio. I hope you get what I mean after all this rambling, without the pretty pictures.

Again,

I hope for you the best for 2019, and good luck!