78 comment(s). Last comment by Nicholasming91 2019-02-11 12:47

klee

2,953 posts

Posted by klee > 2019-01-27 22:45 | Report Abuse

Yes calvin,you also bought mpcorp from 20 sen to 4.5 sen.Big congrats.Best is,mpcorp stayed at 4.5 sen forever.

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-27 22:48 | Report Abuse

Correctloh

That's why I sent my eldest son to study English in Singapore

And 2 more sons born in Singapore got Singapore Citizenship

And their English all better than mine

Malaysia has a lot to play catch up!

THAT IS THE REASON WHY TUN DR M PUMPED RM60.2 BILLIONS INTO THE EDUCATION SYSTEM

Hmmm?

Ideas came from Tun Daim, Dr. Zeti or Tycoon Robert Kuok?

intel4

7 posts

Posted by intel4 > 2019-01-27 22:51 | Report Abuse

Sasbadi= sunset business.
Less and less book nowadays.
How u think calvin?

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-27 22:55 | Report Abuse

Posted by intel4 > Jan 27, 2019 10:51 PM | Report Abuse

Sasbadi= sunset business.
Less and less book nowadays.
How u think calvin?

They are going into digital books

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-27 22:57 | Report Abuse

Digital books will bypass high cost of newsprint or paper

Even better profit for Sasbadi

intel4

7 posts

Posted by intel4 > 2019-01-27 23:23 | Report Abuse

Why better profit for sasbadi?
Sasbadi going digital?

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-27 23:27 | Report Abuse

Yes
Already started in small way
Will grow and grow like a snowball later

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-27 23:29 | Report Abuse

In the far future many things will be stored in the cloud

So e books is the way forward

Sasbadi already move in the direction

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-27 23:40 | Report Abuse

Dragon

CEO Andrew Khoo already said it will take 1 to 2 years to turnaround Mui Group of Companies including Pm Corp

So just wait lah

This Sasbadi already show signs of turnaround now.

That is why I don't bother to enter contest

Surprise comes time and time again through the months

So I think you don't get preoccupied with stock contest and miss some good buys

Posted by apolloang > 2019-01-28 00:09 | Report Abuse

support nenek calvin,now buy,if another quarter show increase profit just like uncle said 2 quarters of growth sailang

Posted by apolloang > 2019-01-28 00:14 | Report Abuse

if buku tak guna lebih baik jangan bagi u punya anak ke sekolah

Posted by apolloang > 2019-01-28 00:24 | Report Abuse

EPF sold hengyuan at 2.00 then went up till 19.20....EPF sold let retailers have chance to make....hehe

Posted by apolloang > 2019-01-28 00:26 | Report Abuse

I tot uncle koon like books....hehe

Posted by hollandking > 2019-01-28 07:53 | Report Abuse

yesterday i was watching a video on physics, it thought me something, the big picture of physics, although I score very well in Physics during my school days, but there were things which I found which is way behind what should be. I'm going back to learning physics, not as a career but rather interest, to find the TRUTH. I have a good foundation in physics, so i bet i can move back up very quickly, i have ideas where to start from. Is just there, I need to be there.

Posted by hollandking > 2019-01-28 07:55 | Report Abuse

there's something else, interesting, the way the physicists who discovered things, i'm going to look at their finding in a more detailed way and how they discovered it, by exploring their way of thinking

Posted by hollandking > 2019-01-28 07:56 | Report Abuse

research them, not just research what they researched

12,819 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-01-28 08:33 | Report Abuse

>>>>calvintaneng Dragon

CEO Andrew Khoo already said it will take 1 to 2 years to turnaround Mui Group of Companies including Pm Corp

So just wait lah <<<<

Another 2 more years.

That adds up to 22 years already.

Huge opportunity cost!

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-28 09:35 | Report Abuse

Good morning all,

Robert Kiyosaki said

THE A student works for the C student.

IN the school I had some brilliant student friends who are very meticulous and studious

AND some not so given to studies but quite active and creative in sports. And also inquisitive.

As it turned out those bright ones got jobs like accounts earning Rm6k to Rm8k month

One of my classmate turned out to be an importer and distributer of recond Mercedes from Uk
He earns Rm60k to Rm100k a month

So this 3iii way of investing can only generate average return and he thought he is so clever?

He would have missed all these

Pohuat during furniture bull run at 35 sen after split

Tmakmur, TheStore, Kulim, Weida, Daiman and others taken private

He missed Jaks on its way up from 40 sen to Rm1. 87

He missed Carimin from 21 sen to 60 sen

He missed Pm Corp from 15 sen to 37 sen.
And he certainly did not expect Pm Corp to give cash payout of 8 sen

He also missed all the other

Turnarounds
Value Plays by Assets
Cyclicals like masteel from 66 sen to Rm1. 60

He will miss all cyclical steel and cement stocks in all their life cycles

How come?

A healthy human being according to Robert Kuok(now more than 94 years old) should eat more than 20 types of food everyweek

Eat fish, chicken, seafood, vegetable, toufoo, rice, grains, fruit, pork, duck, and others, all types of nuts like peanut, cashew, walnuts etc

This 3iii can only eat one type of food

All vegetables.

That's why he can only invest likewise

A very narrow range of stocks

After 5 years in invest lah all the sorchai there have either got pokai with gambling stocks or lost all interest because 3iii is a jinx there

Now he comes to i3 forum to share his dinosaur theory

Better wake up!!!

12,819 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-01-28 13:35 |

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-28 16:00 | Report Abuse

No point posting those stocks like DLady which were cheap long ago when they were low hanging fruits which have been plucked

It serves little purpose for retail investors of today looking to buy stocks with potential

Winning argument is one thing. Making money is another

Why you don't go and do a deep study and recommend some stocks with potential in this present time

See if they will perform after 1 year, 3 years or 5 years.

NO one expect you to be 100% chun chun all the time

AT least if over the next 3 or 4 years you can pick more winners than losers will do.

Do it and do it now

12,819 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-01-28 16:26 | Report Abuse

>>>
Posted by calvintaneng > Jan 28, 2019 04:00 PM | Report Abuse

No point posting those stocks like DLady which were cheap long ago when they were low hanging fruits which have been plucked

It serves little purpose for retail investors of today looking to buy stocks with potential

Winning argument is one thing. Making money is another

Why you don't go and do a deep study and recommend some stocks with potential in this present time

See if they will perform after 1 year, 3 years or 5 years.

NO one expect you to be 100% chun chun all the time

AT least if over the next 3 or 4 years you can pick more winners than losers will do.

Do it and do it now
>>>

I thought he will give some facts to support his post.

Posted by yousellibuy > 2019-01-28 16:56 | Report Abuse

How abt the loss making Eduspec? 2sen /2.5sen now, can enter?

Posted by AMTEK Minorities > 2019-01-28 17:21 | Report Abuse

What about MPH? Owned by Syed Mohktar Albuhkari. A strong supporter of Tun Mahathir. His MPH office hq and warehouse is right in PJ Sek.51. MPH (Malaysia Publishing House)

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-28 18:55 | Report Abuse

Hi guys
No comment on eduspec or mph as I didn't study them.

As for 3iii
Leopard cannot change it's spots so no point wasting time

To all here.

Those who doubt just go find other better counters

As for those who believe just slowly accumulate

Good luck

12,819 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-01-28 19:09 | Report Abuse

Ben Graham Checklist for Finding Undervalued Stocks

ONE PAGE QUICK ANALYSIS OF A STOCK
An Aid to your Stock Selection

COMPANY NAME: SASBADI
DATE OF ANALYSIS: 27.1.2019

For each question below, answer YES or NO

Criterias

Risk
1. Earnings to price (the inverse of P/E) is double the high-grade corporate bond yield. If the high-grade bond yields 7%, then earnings to price should be 14%. NO
2. P/E ratio that is 0.4 times the highest average P/E achieved in the last 5 years. NO
3. Dividend yield is 2/3 the high-grade bond yield. NO
4. Stock price of 2/3 the tangible book value per share. YES
5. Stock price of 2/3 the net current asset value. NO

Financial strength
6. Total debt is lower than tangible book value. YES
7. Current ratio (current assets/current liabilities) is greater than 2. YES
8. Total debt is no more than liquidation value. YES

Earnings stability
9. Earnings have doubled in most recent 10 years. NO
10. Earnings have declined no more than 5% in 2 of the past 10 years. NO

Essentially, Calvintan is bullish on this stock because it is priced below its NTA.

He believes that the recent education budget is going to turnaround Sasbadi.

Surprisingly, he discounted everything else.

This is not investing. It is speculating.

No wonder his stock selections have been terrible for years.

12,819 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-01-28 19:15 | Report Abuse

In my very long experience, most gruesome companies remain gruesome for a long time.

Turnarounds rarely turn, or abeit very slowly.

The catalyst must be certain, not just a speculation.

If you must play, be very sure of your entry point and also your exit.

Speculate if you must, do not be foolish to make big bet and never add more to it (unlike Mr1015 in QL).

Also, you are unlikely to get fabulously rich on speculative returns.

Calvin knows too.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-01-28 19:25 | Report Abuse

U r wrongloh....Lcth, insas, gsb, pmcorp when there all turnaround offer 3 baggers loh...!!

3iii usually wrongloh....thats why kena whack by raider loh...!!

Posted by 3iii > Jan 28, 2019 07:15 PM | Report Abuse

In my very long experience, most gruesome companies remain gruesome for a long time.

Speculate if you must, do not be foolish to make big bet and never add more to it (unlike Mr1015 in QL).

Calvin knows too.

12,819 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-01-28 21:11 | Report Abuse

>>>Posted by stockraider > Jan 28, 2019 07:25 PM | Report Abuse

U r wrongloh....Lcth, insas, gsb, pmcorp when there all turnaround offer 3 baggers loh...!!
<<<<

.... and how much money did you bet on each of these stocks?

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-28 21:43 |

12,819 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-01-28 21:51 | Report Abuse

>>>
Posted by calvintaneng > Jan 28, 2019 09:43 PM | Report Abuse

Stupid 3iii

Always think of betting and Gambling?

And a busybody
<<<

Be fair.

There are always many views on any issue.

12,819 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-01-28 21:51 | Report Abuse

Stay eith the topic/issue.

anticonman

533 posts

Posted by anticonman > 2019-01-28 21:54 | Report Abuse

Semua kena con? Why EPF disposed not disclosed?

12,819 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-01-28 22:06 | Report Abuse

>>>calvintaneng Stupid 3iii
<<<

Just because I presented some facts for calvin to digest which he find disagreeable, he labeled me stupid.

That is silly.

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-28 22:38 |

12,819 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-01-28 22:46 | Report Abuse

Ok, I sense you were annoyed with the word, bet. My apologies.

Raider and his colleague, Calvin,
How much money you invested with margin of safety into each of these stocks. Thks.

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-29 09:42 | Report Abuse

Good morning to all who are owners of Sasbadi

Since price remains cheap I will talk more about Sasbadi

Once price runs away like

Opcom(opcom went double limit up after Ge14

Htpadu(Last week HtSapu) up 100% suddenly

Carimin(Up 50% after Kyy promoted)

I immediate warn people not to chase anymore

So now that Sasbadi still cheap I will be happy to buy some more. Why?

Answer:

1. Last time when Badawi announced huge 9MP or 9th Malaysia Plan projects I immediately bought up all cement companies like

Ytl cement at rm2. 20
Cima at rm2. 40
Tasek rm2. 90
Lafarge at 66 sen
Later all cement companies went up in tandem

Both ytl cement and Cima were taken private by ytl and uems later

As for Tasek it shot past rm16. 00
And Lafarge after 4 to 1 rose to Rm10

So with rm60. 2 billions pumped into education I think all should do OK. Only Sasbadi is top buy because of its capturing the lion share of the market

2. Another booster comes from mandatory education up to Spm. Parents who failed to do so might be sent to jail.
This is how serious tun Dr M view education

3. As sasbadi has fallen to so low level Value has emerged. Danger of further losses are minimal.

4. Since education is internal there is less contagion from fall out due to US China trade war uncertainty. So Sasbadi is an insulated stock from crisis elsewhere

5. Calvin likes to buy where Syndicates are Sharks are not around. So it is now a safe buy.

Of course price can still go lower in spite of strong turnaround fundamental

In that case I will buy and still keep some bullets to buy more if price goes lower

Posted by stockraider > 2019-01-29 09:46 | Report Abuse

Raider got annoyed when people ask stupid question especially from 3iii loh....!!

Why leh ??
If raider says make alot, bcos buy alot and make millions 3iii will be very jealous of raider mah....!!
If raider says make not much, bcos did not buy very much, bcos no monies and no confidence, 3iii will laugh at raider loh...!!

So how to answer leh ??

The truth is, raider make alot loh...!! Why leh ?? Bcos it is core margin of safety stock pick of raider during that time mah...!!

Margin of safety buys are investment & not speculation mah...!!

Bcos if u buy the stock with huge undervaluation and big margin of safety so it is investment and u buy alot, bcos u know u can sleep soundly bcos of big margin of safety mah loh....!!

Posted by 3iii > Jan 28, 2019 10:46 PM | Report Abuse

Ok, I sense you were annoyed with the word, bet. My apologies.

Raider and his colleague, Calvin,
How much money you invested with margin of safety into each of these stocks. Thks.

Posted by stockraider > Jan 28, 2019 07:25 PM | Report Abuse X

3iii usually wrongloh....thats why kena whack by raider loh...!!

Posted by 3iii > Jan 28, 2019 07:15 PM | Report Abuse

Calvin knows too.

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-29 09:48 | Report Abuse

One more thing as EPF is selling
Last time when I bought Lafarge at 66 sen I saw millions of Lafarge shares thrown out at 66 sen
Tens of millions of Lafarge shares were sold when I was buying.
Later Lafarge merged 4 shares into 1 and price rose to a high of Rm10

Last round EPF also threw down Hengyuan to Rm2. 00. And Hengyuan rose to Rm19 later

So it takes gut to buy when EPF sells.

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-29 09:54 | Report Abuse

Great Stock raider is chun chun about 3iii

3iii got 2 Big Big Problems

1. He is plagued by a green-eyed monster called envy.

2. He has built-in inferiority complex.

Only solution for 3iii is to go to Jesus for help
See www.chick.com

Bursa2019

407 posts

Posted by Bursa2019 > 2019-01-29 12:47 | Report Abuse

woiiii nenek

ni apa stock lu recommended ?? buku sasbadi kah ??

aiyaaaa

12,819 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-01-29 12:55 | Report Abuse

>>>>
Posted by calvintaneng > Jan 29, 2019 09:54 AM | Report Abuse

Great Stock raider is chun chun about 3iii

3iii got 2 Big Big Problems

1. He is plagued by a green-eyed monster called envy.

2. He has built-in inferiority complex.

Only solution for 3iii is to go to Jesus for help
See www.chick.com

>>>>>

calvin

In Christianity, I learn so much from my friends who live what Christianity teaches. Just through their living, you get inspired.

I do not have any problems. Do you?

12,819 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-01-29 13:02 |

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-29 14:05 | Report Abuse

Another way of looking at Sasbadi is from the Theme Play angle

1) When Bawadi Pumped money into Infrar projects the best buys were steel & cement

2) When Ringgit Crashed against US Dollar the theme play was Export Furniture Stocks like Pohuat, Lihen, Latitude & Hevea

3) When Govt implemented GST the play was MyEG, Nova & Ifca (this one fake)

4) When Govt implemented Langat 2 theme play was water like Jaks

5) When Govt relaxed rules and No tax for real estate property stocks went into bull run

6) When Govt built 7 highways the play was Prestar for guard rails

So there is a CAUSE & EFFECT

Find the Cause... then the effect!

SO GOVT JUST DID 2 THINGS

1) PUMPED THE MAXIMUN CASH EVER IN MALAYSIA'S HISTORY INTO EDUCATION - A WHOPPING RM60.2 BILLIONS FOR EDUCATION!

2) MANDATORY FOR ALL STUDENTS TO STUDY UP TO SPM OR FINE PARENTS AND SENT THEM TO JAIL? THAT MEANS THAT EVERY CHILD BORN IN MALAYSIA MUST HAVE 10 YEARS COMPULSORY EDUCATION

Can Sasbadi not benefit?

How can i miss?

1,563 posts

Posted by 1527640962 > 2019-01-29 15:49 | Report Abuse

fk u calvin teng u are a holland sifu in i3 still got balls to post, i got save many of ur calls in watchlist 95% all calls made are lost, damn this noob never learn i think u go read books more than making post like this

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-29 17:25 | Report Abuse

Why this vulgar

post lapsap?

You have no parents to teach manners or what?

Are you an orphan?

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-30 22:59 | Report Abuse

KUALA LUMPUR: Book company Sasbadi Holdings Bhd is now poised for a strong 2019 after having gone through some tough times.

Sasbadi group managing director Law King Hui said it had weathered the storm arising from weaker retail sentiment over the past two years.

The company is now in better footing now after having implemented cost-cutting measures to improve efficiency and diversify its business.

“We are now more confident about our directions and the current state of the country’s economy,” he said, citing that government had taken proactive measures to revive the economy.

“For the financial year ending August 31, 2019 (FY19), we expect better results from all the non-academic related segments, while achieving better efficiency in our marketing and sales efforts to attract partners in overseas,” Law told reporters after Sasbadi’s annual general meeting yesterday.

Sasbadi’s net profit rose 84 per cent to RM4.38 million in the first-quarter ended November 30, 2018 from RM2.38 million a year ago.

Its revenue grew 10.9 per cent to RM30.50 million from RM27.51 million. Tis was attributed to higher contribution from its print publishing division due to new textbook contracts with the Ministry of Education (MoE), non-academic products and contribution from the sales of Marshall Cavendish Education products.

Law said Sasbadi was optimistic about growing its presence in foreign markets, leveraging on its sales of intellecttuall property (IP) rights and contents for export market.

Sasbadi’s exports diversification is expected to provide better earnings visibility from the collection of payments of the guaranteed ‘passive’ income.

“We expect to improve our sales not from our traditional print-publishing business but also our export segment focusing on education (pre-school), reading for pleasure and non-academic such as comics and novels.

“We are positive on 2019’s growth as we embarked on various activities to gain better earnings,” he said.

The company will aggressively partake in book fairs in Frankfurt, London, Shanghai, Beijing and the Middle East to attract potential partners for the sales of IP rights.

“This mainly involves licensing agreements with partners where we sell our IP rights by allowing them (partners) to print and market the contents in their respective countries.

“We will then get upfront payments from our partners for the minimum sales of books. Partners also need to report and update us on their 12-month sales performance for our royalties payments involving copies sold,” he added.

The company had last year signed with publishers in Vietnam and China for a total of 48 books as well as other deals for comics.

“We had also collected RM200,000 for the upfront payment paid by our partners. We also follow up with other potential partners in overseas including US, China and Pakistan to expand our export market,” he said.

He said Sasbadi will also step up its marketing efforts in the rights licensing and book export market as part of its efforts to grow export-based revenue.

Law pointed out that Sasbadi aims to expand its business reach from the current print-publishing to more targeted market such as digital with augmented reality (AR) technology.

“We have in-house expertise in developing this reading technology contents. We are able to face the challenges and deliver digital education programme to fulfil the market needs” he said, adding the Sasbadi did not require capital expenditures but rather reward its existing staff to enhance its digital technology contents.

Law believed the print-publishing market is still relevant for the company backed by the new government transformation programme comprising new textbook contracts and other tenders with the Ministry of Education (MoE).

“MoE received the highest budget allocation for the Budget 2019 about RM60.2 billion. We hope to benefit from more tender opportunities being offered.

“We are optimistic of the government’s initiative to promote Malaysia as a reading nation by 2030 for the 10-year programme. UNESCO had also chose Kuala Lumpur as the World Book Capital for 2020.

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-30 23:08 | Report Abuse

Its revenue grew 10.9 per cent to RM30.50 million from RM27.51 million. Tis was attributed to higher contribution from its print publishing division due to new textbook contracts with the Ministry of Education (MoE)

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-01-30 23:08 | Report Abuse

MoE received the highest budget allocation for the Budget 2019 about RM60.2 billion. We hope to benefit from more tender opportunities being offered.

Posted by signalshark888 > 2019-02-11 12:44 | Report Abuse

both are rite maa..no need to fight each other..u got ur views.the other got their views.. no trading/investing plan is same here.. ur target is diff with each other..u want to chase, its all urs.. the other want to steady n relax, its all theirs... u think make a handsome profit with ur style go on.. also viceversa.. facts are there.. nothing to hide 2.0..hahhaha..

if u are using the checklist as ur based..also can..

but do remember stocks are analized with several factors ex;sentiments, not only FA maaaa.. want an example..just see the fgv..run the test see how..

i do agree with calvin.. also agree with u 3iii in both using facts for ur argument..other than facts, i dont buy..and for me, as a short term trader.. only when the time is right, i'll enter and ride sasbadi..

but if this on invest type..yuppp... i'll buy and accumulate..NOW..agree with calvin and i'm not hungry for fastcash..

tq both of u that presented out all the facts..great!

simple...

Posted by Nicholasming91 > 2019-02-11 12:47 | Report Abuse

Jsut buy la