57 comment(s). Last comment by qqq3 2019-05-21 14:17

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-20 15:01 | Report Abuse

Thanks.

Low government intervention here? No
Low Taxes? Yes
Free Market? Not exactly

Welfare state? Probably yes if you look at it objectively.

Honestly, we do look like a welfare state... Look thoroughly and deeply and you will know why. Welfare state not for all of course, for some only.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-20 15:10 | Report Abuse

ed by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > May 20, 2019 3:01 PM | Report Abuse

Thanks.

------------

sure or not? did u watch or not? watch to the end............

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-20 15:11 | Report Abuse

We are a very inefficient welfare state... It doesn't provide a safety net to the society, it only provides for the unproductive people. How likely do you think we can be like Norway?

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-20 15:13 | Report Abuse

I agree the part where quality education should be made equally available for everyone. But does it look like that the case here?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-20 16:27 | Report Abuse

investment is participating in the growth of excellent companies.

biotech start ups is speculating and trading.....

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-20 16:28 | Report Abuse

Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > May 20, 2019 3:13 PM | Report Abuse

I agree the part where quality education should be made equally available for everyone. But does it look like that the case here?
==========

its ok one.....Malaysia will be ok.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-20 16:36 | Report Abuse

Genting Singapore billion $ investment in bio tech start up write off already.

Goes to show.....casinos do well when they are bankers, not when they are players.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-20 16:41 | Report Abuse

They say stay within your circle of competence. Why casino operator want to go into scientist business?

Equality based on meritocracy is the key unker... Blind optimism on the other hand won't really help..

=====

Posted by qqq3 > May 20, 2019 4:36 PM | Report Abuse

Genting Singapore billion $ investment in bio tech start up write off already.

Goes to show.....casinos do well when they are bankers, not when they are players.

UnicornP

2,748 posts

Posted by UnicornP > 2019-05-20 16:47 | Report Abuse

Hi PUNTER. May I know your top 3 stock holding now?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-20 18:56 | Report Abuse

ted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > May 20, 2019 4:41 PM | Report Abuse

Equality based on meritocracy is the key unker.
=============

facts on the ground also very important.

Tell your Chinese neighbors, don't be so proud their children gets so many As in school. It is a stupid test in schools. ........be even more proud if the children like mine from standard one to Form 5 , just right in the middle pack for my son has his own mind.

SPM is no longer like O levels of long ago..............SPM tests stupid stuffs. Max A does not mean best student.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-20 19:01 | Report Abuse

Hi Unicorn, my top 3 holdings now are Econpile, Guan Chong Berhad & Uchitec (this one maybe I entered at the wrong time but it's for dividend purpose so not much of concern).

Unker qqq3, like that I really cannot agree with you liao lo... I got so many A's but I can't get into Matriculation. I applied leh... 3 options, none chosen. Okay nevermind, I went to STPM, end up with a totally unrelated course - nuclear engineering for biology stream student. I was lucky, I could get into private institution and learn about finance and accounting. Or else what do you think will happen to me? Most likely I am working as some low paying job now. That's why I will never agree with people who give opportunities based on other than merits.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-20 19:09 | Report Abuse

Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > May 20, 2019 7:01 PM | Report Abuse

. I got so many A's but I can't get into Matriculation.
=========

why u want matriculation unless really no choice? U know matriculation eat curry rice and really lousy teachers or not?

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-20 22:07 | Report Abuse

Well did you know that Matriculation gives you preference in University courses over STPM students? Well if you don't know, now you do, and that explains everything does it?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-20 22:23 | Report Abuse

Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > May 20, 2019 10:07 PM | Report Abuse

Well did you know that Matriculation gives you preference in University courses over STPM students? Well if you don't know, now you do, and that explains everything does it?
==========

u didn't do your home work...if u did, u will know no point in STPM.......just go do Foundation.

UnicornP

2,748 posts

Posted by UnicornP > 2019-05-20 22:28 | Report Abuse

TQ PUNTER.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-20 22:37 | Report Abuse

Unker qqq3 once again you are wrong, if I can afford foundation why would I go STPM... What lah you... If everyone can afford foundation no one will complain about the Matriculation policy lah okay

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-20 22:40 | Report Abuse

And ah foundation means you cannot enter government university. Basically if you are poor and you are non bumi you are quite fxxked... Hahahahha... Wait that's the whole point of this discussion actually.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-20 22:48 | Report Abuse

by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > May 20, 2019 10:40 PM | Report Abuse

And ah foundation means you cannot enter government university. Basically if you are poor and you are non bumi you are quite fxxked... Hahahahha... Wait that's the whole point of this discussion actually.
===========

if u are poor, then go STPM and become nuclear scientist lah.....will not die one.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-20 22:57 | Report Abuse

At the end of the day, if you are poor and non bumi in Malaysia you are fucking doomed. Oh wait if you are not smart then it's worse. If you are smart probably still have chance. Brush up your fucking English everybody, easier to leave when the time comes.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2019-05-20 23:02 | Report Abuse

Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > May 20, 2019 10:57 PM | Report Abuse

At the end of the day, if you are poor and non bumi in Malaysia you are fucking doomed.
==========

nuclear scientist not doom lah...can built bomb and kill everyone

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-20 23:03 | Report Abuse

and why would I do that? Am I supposed to become one of Hitler's top nuclear scientist? Seriously?

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-20 23:06 | Report Abuse

I'm in a way agree with you both. I was a Universiti Malaya graduate, with good results and all. And I do believe that a paper qualification will open many doors.

But the real secret is what you do next. And that is the future.

I know many UM friends, Indians Malays and Chinese, they get good results, but after graduate and start working they decided to stop learning and motivating and improving themselves, content with an ok and easy life.

I was the total opposite. After making some bad mistakes, it became my motivation and pressure to push myself to get out of debt and improve my life.

Being poor can be a very strong motivation. In fact it may sound cruel, but being a hard core poor can build the strongest foundation for a mental strong and motivated person.

There are many examples in life. With the age of the internet, quality education can be had for almost free. I have learned countless things over YouTube, instructables, howstuffworks, Wikipedia that before would have cost me tens of thousands to learn. I have downloaded countless pdfs( and bought hard copies of the really good books), and read it all. I have a library of 10,000 books on my Kindle.

In todays world, it is no longer important what to learn. It is far more important to learn how to read faster, absorb deeper, remember and retain, discard unnecessary information, improve on existing mental models, learn how to motivate oneself.

This is the age of the autodidact.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2019-05-20 23:06 | Report Abuse

if they send all the straight A to do national service in the kampong ala Mao style, country will not die one........

I think straight A too pampered.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-20 23:07 | Report Abuse

Hahahah whatever man, I am almost done, get my degree, and let those ignorant fools saved whatever future they want. Good luck is all I can say. At least there's still a handful company worth investable in Bursa. Otherwise.. the education system, from bad to worse, soon it will be the worst. Unker qqq3, continue defending, one day your grandchildren might need the Matriculation chance. I am done, that's it, no need to argue, I am good enough to leave I know it. The country didn't want me, so I won't contribute anything more to it.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-20 23:11 | Report Abuse

Unker Philip, I CANNOT AGREE MORE AND EMPHASIS THE IMPORTANCE OF LIFELONG LEARNING!!!! What most people do after they graduate is they think they are done with their studies, they are good enough, they know everything and they stop learning, 90% of them don't even pick up a single book right after the finished the universities!

That's plain arrogance and laziness. Straight A's doesn't mean pampered, but they should be given the better opportunities for their efforts!

"The day you stop learning is the day you are dead." - Heavenly PUNTER

Posted by stockmanmy > 2019-05-20 23:20 | Report Abuse

(US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > May 20, 2019 11:06 PM | Report Abuse

I'm in a way agree with you both.
===========

I agree with u....People like to criticise, arm chair critics.....But better is people support PH because PH is worth supporting.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-20 23:29 | Report Abuse

nothing can stop the well adjusted individuals from succeeding in Malaysia....that is a fact.....

there is no way the country has enough well educated and well motivated Chinese to serve the needs of the country.

23% Chinese only...............and thousands of companies looking for good well educated staff.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-20 23:38 | Report Abuse

(US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > May 20, 2019 11:06 PM | Report Abuse

I'm in a way agree with you both
====================================================

too much energy is already wasted by the Chinese community in fighting the government over matriculations and public university places.

whereas the best jobs and the best future for their kids lies outside of it............All the parents have to do is look properly.

good careers come from free education provided via the internet...in coding, in computer science, in IT jobs, in automation and for intellectual developments, there is no shortage of free resources.

only got shortage in career guidance.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-20 23:38 | Report Abuse

But can they pay well or not? That's the problem... Overseas, same qualification, maybe more stressful but earn x2 or x3 the amount here... Why not leh? What's work other than a means to earn income? If elsewhere pays me higher, why not ?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-20 23:41 | Report Abuse

the best jobs .....in coding, in computer science, in IT jobs, in automation , in internet marketing, in design and in graphics, in practical skills which the public U doing a lousy job.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-20 23:54 | Report Abuse

Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > May 20, 2019 11:38 PM | Report Abuse

But can they pay well or not? That's the problem..
===========

in my opinion, graduates of sunway do not need to be a bangla in other people country.....but if u can find a good job there its your choice.

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-21 00:00 | Report Abuse

If I can give an advice to any young man it is this.

Once you finish high school, quickly get your degree or diploma or whatever. Spend the minimum amount of time on it. Get it cheap.

The fact is, very few know what it is they want to do in life. I never did. Go and do something broad like engineering or business or whatever. The key thing is to not be in debt. Don't buy a new car, in fact get a motorcycle or a third hand cheap car.

When you graduate you will be 21, the younger the better. Spend the rest of your life learning. 4 years in university. 50 years after that.

Live frugally, just begin the discipline of saving money first, then spending whatever is left every month. Compounding works.
It
Be focused. Read as much useful information as you can. Delete Facebook and Instagram and Twitter. It does nothing for you. Get a subscription for the edge, time, newspapers. Make it a habit to read. If you can read 8 hours a day, you are getting somewhere.

Spend as much money as you can on learning. In fact, think of it as a permanent long term investment. Learning takes many forms.

Work as an intern. If possible, for free. If not possible, just ask for food and fuel. A 1 year no salary free internship working for me department in my company ( or even sslee) I can guarantee you will learn and apply more than 4 years in university.

The more you learn and absorb, the more confident you will be. People will pay money for people who know their shit. A big part of that will come from confidence.

Make mistakes when you are young. But more important, learn from them. Find out how to do better. Don't repeat the same mistake twice. Most people I meet keep doing the same mistakes in their lives, and blame everyone and everything else.

Write this on your wall. Repeat every day.

Apply, Absorb, Improve, Repeat.

Apply is to just go ahead and do it.
Absorb is to meditate and understand what you are doing wrong.
Improve yourself, the actions & reactions. Find a better way to do it.
Repeat the process with everything you do in life. Again & again. Never stop improving.

Apply. Absorb. Improve. Repeat.

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-21 00:09 | Report Abuse

It doesn't really matter where you go. There are millionaires here just as much as billionaires. Everywhere can make money, if that is your goal. Don't think that grass is always greener on the other side. If you go elsewhere with higher pay, but much higher expenses and much more stress, I don't think it is worth it.

Most important thing in life is not money, it is Time. Happiness, and Family. None of which requires much money.

Trust me on this, the older you get, the more the little things in life become important.

>>>>>>

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > May 20, 2019 11:38 PM | Report Abuse

But can they pay well or not? That's the problem... Overseas, same qualification, maybe more stressful but earn x2 or x3 the amount here... Why not leh? What's work other than a means to earn income? If elsewhere pays me higher, why not ?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-21 00:14 | Report Abuse

my son is stock market analyst, my daughter is management consultant....they will be fine.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-21 00:19 | Report Abuse

millionaires and billionaires, most surprising findings.............https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A9UmdY0E8hU

socialism works, if they know what they are doing.

Posted by cheoky > 2019-05-21 01:09 | Report Abuse

Lol Philip is like Buddha in i3.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-21 01:20 | Report Abuse

Buddhism works, if people understand it.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-21 07:03 | Report Abuse

Okay lah thanks for your advice Unker Philip.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-21 07:07 | Report Abuse

But I say the same, if you could leave the country, do go out and see first. Best is if your friends and family can go along with you if you are unable to adapt being alone, not an issue for me. Look at the first world developed countries, and you will realise that this place has huge room for improvement, but they are all restricted by their ignorance & 3rd world mentality.

If you want equality, this is not the place for you. Period

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-21 07:31 | Report Abuse

Oh by the way, I just couldn't stand subsidising other's benefits with the taxes I pay although it's not much, but I just can't stand it. So No. There are better places out there, where the taxes you pay have a higher chances of benefiting yourself. I don't mind paying 50% taxes if at the end of the day it benefits me. I have problem paying even 1% of taxes if it is meant to pay for benefits of certain people. Can you enlighten my stand on this? I think not. I am very certain and very firm on this.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-21 11:21 | Report Abuse

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > May 21, 2019 7:31 AM | Report Abuse

Oh by the way,

=========

no good. Don't come to i3 to promote brain drain.......I want to encourage friends of mine and their children in Australia to come back to Malaysia.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-21 11:22 | Report Abuse

I got a relative in Texas coming back to Malaysia on my urging......

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-21 11:23 | Report Abuse

why live in Trump country when can live in Malaysia??

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-21 11:34 | Report Abuse

what can I do about it??

I can tell them the wonderful country that is Malaysia and bright future........

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-21 11:35 | Report Abuse

don't listen to that bangla in Indonesia half his life...He is used to bangla already.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-21 11:47 | Report Abuse

Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > May 21, 2019 11:42 AM | Report Abuse

There's no future here,
==========

like that cannot lah....mana boleh??

Asian century. Malaysia right in the middle.....and so few Chinese...I can see very easy life for Chinese in Malaysia.

plenty to eat, plenty to share share.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-21 12:16 | Report Abuse

top 4 economies 2050..........

1 China
2 USA
3 India
4 Indonesia.

and Malaysia right in the middle.......sure very good and very easy cari makan.

https://www.valuewalk.com/2019/01/top-10-largest-economies-2050-china/

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-21 13:15 | Report Abuse

My daughter studies in the US, then is planning to work in either HK or SG. But now she changes her mind, after doing internship, she realizes home is where the heart is.

She is coming back.

Grass is always greener on the other side. Every place has its problems. In the US? no free medical, everything need to pay. No green card? they treat you like trash whether or not you are citizen, just by skin color alone.

Talents are valued and skills appreciated everywhere. The idea that a better life can be found elsewhere is flawed, simply because holiday there and working there is totally different things.

Where do you want to grow your future anyway? maybe I can help give you an introduction.

I strongly believe its not where you go that is important. It is what you do with your opportunities that make the difference.

I live in the jungles of sabah, the islands of sipadan, the mountains of kinabalu. I wouldn't trade it any other way. Meanwhile money can be found anywhere.

>>>>>>

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > May 21, 2019 11:42 AM | Report Abuse
There's no future here, stop being blinded by your own ignorance. And stop spreading your ignorance. I strongly urge everyone to study hard and move to places where your talents are being valued, your skills being appreciated, it won't be easy. But life is never about staying in your comfort zone. Take the leap and deal with the difficulties initially, you'll be grateful for what you did 10 years from now. At the very least, your children and grandchildren will be grateful for your actions. Think long term, you have 30-40 of good years ahead. Don't waste your potential here.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-21 14:14 | Report Abuse

(US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > May 21, 2019 1:15 PM |

She is coming back.
===============

see...punter....good.

Rich family problem ....a lot of rich tycoons in Ipoh live lonely lifes when old because children all overseas....very sad.....KYY included......

I no such problem because I not rich tycoon.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-21 14:17 | Report Abuse

Ipoh is a town full of rich old folks living alone.....Sandakan , maybe.

actually Malaysia is heaven.