Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-27 19:54 | Report Abuse

Ah Mi Tou Fo.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-05-27 19:56 | Report Abuse

Buddhism profess compassion....!!

Christianity profess love....!!

These are great positive part of these Great Religion loh...!!

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-27 20:05 | Report Abuse

But lots of stuffs u would not know..........eg practically all Buddha statutes you see in China/Taiwan/ Japan is not really Buddha but Amidabha....

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amit%C4%81bha

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-27 20:11 | Report Abuse

too bad most Malaysians know little about Chinese Buddhism....what little they know is from the theravada branch which is very different from the Chinese Mahayana branch.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-05-27 20:13 | Report Abuse

No need to differentiate mah....all are accepted loh....!!

Posted by qqq3 > May 27, 2019 8:05 PM | Report Abuse

But lots of stuffs u would not know..........eg practically all Buddha statutes you see in China/Taiwan/ Japan is not really Buddha but Amidabha....

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amit%C4%81bha

11322 posts
Posted by qqq3 > May 27, 2019 8:11 PM | Report Abuse

too bad most Malaysians know little about Chinese Buddhism....what little they know is from the theravada branch which is very different from the Chinese Mahayana branch.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2019-05-27 20:19 | Report Abuse

When the time has come for the 5th Patriarch to choose his successor, he ask his disciples to write him a poem. He said from the poem, he is able to know which of his disciples has attained his True Nature and will be made the 6th Patriarch. Only 2 of his disciples submitted their poem.
Among his disciples, the instructor wrote the following poem :

Body is the Bodhi-tree
Mind is a clear mirror's stand
Diligently we keep cleaning
And let no dust alight

Meanwhile, his disciple, Hui Neng, who pound rice at the monastery's kitchen wrote

Bodhi has no tree
Clear mirror has no stand
Originally nothing,
Where is dust.

Knowing that Hui Neng has attained his True Nature, he was made the 6th Patriarch.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2019-05-27 20:24 | Report Abuse

The essence of Buddhism is : "Originally Nothing".

meaning that there is no creator. Buddha-nature is present inside everyone.
The late Master Hsuan Hua said: "I came from empty space and I shall return to empty space".

Posted by stockmkt101 > 2019-05-27 20:26 | Report Abuse

No, it's not nothingness! It simply means no attachment to anything.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-05-27 20:29 | Report Abuse

Who cares ??

As long as buddhism your religion give respect loh....!!

Those non buddhist...may give respect too...even though...non believer mah....that is how we live in peace & harmony with mutual respect mah..!

Posted by Negan > May 27, 2019 8:24 PM | Report Abuse

Unfortunately, local chinese follow thai form of Buddhism!

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2019-05-27 20:32 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmkt101 > May 27, 2019 8:26 PM | Report Abuse

No, it's not nothingness! It simply means no attachment to anything.

Yes, it is the attachment that pulls you into rebirth. When there is no attachment, it is your True Nature.

Posted by stockmkt101 > 2019-05-27 20:32 | Report Abuse

Who cares? Everyone should care because all sentient beings, you included, will eventually become Buddhas and that's the beauty of Buddhism.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2019-05-27 20:35 | Report Abuse

True Nature is our original home.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-27 21:14 | Report Abuse

ed by stockraider > May 27, 2019 8:13 PM | Report Abuse

========

the only thing raider know about Buddhism probably came from his Form 3 book.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-27 21:16 | Report Abuse

Junichiro > May 27, 2019 8:19 PM | Report Abuse

Among his disciples, the instructor wrote the following poem :
=======

my interest is in Zen and Pure land.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-05-27 21:17 | Report Abuse

This is how religion extremism are build base on qqq type of attitude loh...!!

Posted by qqq3 > May 27, 2019 9:14 PM | Report Abuse

ed by stockraider > May 27, 2019 8:13 PM | Report Abuse

========

the only thing raider know about Buddhism probably came from his Form 3 book.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-27 21:19 | Report Abuse

raid...............I think it is good more Malaysians know how Buddhism is practised among the Chinese.

5,817 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-05-27 21:25 | Report Abuse

Hahahaha
Which Chinese is Chinese and which Chinese is non-Chinese

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-27 21:26 | Report Abuse

u lah...SSlee is bangla in Indonesia.

5,817 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-05-27 21:31 | Report Abuse

Hahahaha
Quack accountant still has so many attachment while Buddhism is non-attachment. So should we call the original Buddhism India Buddhism.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-27 21:39 | Report Abuse

History...history determines every thing and history is most interesting.

For one reason of another, Malaysians are familiar, at least with the basics of Theravada Buddhism but not many are familiar with Mahayana Buddhism..........the historical context, its development in China, the various sects of china, the focus, the emphasis, the practitioners, the differences,

Its actually a sad state of affairs when Malaysians are not familiar with Mahayana Buddhism...............I think it is not possible to talk about Chinese culture without even knowing the basics of Mahayana Buddhism.

Posted by hollandking > 2019-05-27 21:53 | Report Abuse

if only u guys know what that creature or creatures capable of. is very real and highly intelligent, then u would know how many had been fooled

5,817 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-05-27 21:54 | Report Abuse

Hahahaha,
Why seek the different shade, when the source of the light is within.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-27 22:00 | Report Abuse

Mahayana Buddhism is having a revival in Malaysia thanks mainly to work of Taiwanese...........https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tzu_Chi_Malaysia and Master Chin Kung..............................https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chin_Kung

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-27 22:02 | Report Abuse

Tzu Chi main sutra is the Lotus Sutra

Master Chin Kung is of the Pure Land School.

5,817 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-05-27 22:04 | Report Abuse

Hahahaha
The Buddha never taught a sectarian religion; he taught Dhamma - the way to liberation - which is universal" and presents his teachings as non-sectarian and open to people of all faiths or no faith. "Liberation" in this context means freedom from impurities of mind and suffering

5,817 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-05-27 22:25 | Report Abuse

All are one. And one are all
Goodnight

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-27 23:36 | Report Abuse

sslee...why people know every detail of Jesus and Christianity, Catholics and Protestants....and even Chinese know little of Buddhism?

pjseow

2,264 posts

Posted by pjseow > 2019-05-27 23:45 | Report Abuse

Buddism is gaining popularity in Western countries. Teaching of Buddism.The 4 Noble truth, The Middle Path or the 8 fold path, The law of karma. For common peoples like us, we should observe the first 4 of the 8 middle path.These are Right thought, Right Speech,Right Action and Right livelihood.The other teaching of buddism are the practice of Right States of Mind. The 4 states right state of mind are metta (loving kindness), Karuna (Compassion),Mudita(Sympathetic Joy or the joy of delighting others)and lastly Equainimity ( neutrality,tranquility,calmness,peacefulness,no anger,no hatred,no jealousy,no envy,no sadness ).

pjseow

2,264 posts

Posted by pjseow > 2019-05-27 23:48 | Report Abuse

Upekka is Equanimity in Sanskrit.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-28 00:13 | Report Abuse

too bad isn't it? Every one seems to understand the differences between catholics and protestors...but not many malaysians understand the differences between Theravada and Mahayana.....their principles, history, objectives, even the statures are not of the same personality.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-28 00:17 | Report Abuse

What Malaysians know as Buddhism is what the British knows of Buddhism...and what the British knows is what they learn from the Indians and Sri Lankas because they know English.

what about Buddhism as practiced in China??

5,817 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-05-28 06:02 | Report Abuse

Religion usually entails adhering to a certain dogma or belief system.
Spirituality place little important on intellectual beliefs but is concerned with growing into and experiencing the divine consciousness, the inner self. Spiritual seek to conquer self whereas religion seek to conquer others into believing and adhering to a certain belief system. Spiritual is inner whereas religion can be inner but mostly external. Spiritual emphasis more on self-actualization in this earthy world whereas religion emphasis on the afterlife.
You can be an atheist but still remain spiritual.
You can be religious but lack spirituality.
https://www.biographyonline.net/spiritual/articles/religion_vs_spiritu...

I recalled watching a TV program: The Journey of Civilization. The guest speaker said,
“From Confucianism, (Ruler has ruler responsibility, subject has subject responsibility, father has father responsibility, and son has son responsibility.) I learn to take on responsibility. (拿得起)
From Buddhism, (Things are in flux never still. It’s begins from emptiness, will end in emptiness and reemerge from emptiness. Life is cycles of birth and death until Enlightenment and Nirvana.) I learn when to relinquish my responsibility and let other take over. (放得下)
From Taoism, (Heaven and Earth are one. Nature and Man are one.) I learn to live with nature, at peace and at ease with myself and others.” (看得开)
How beautifully and elegantly this speaker summary what life is about?

As Chinese Malaysian we were brought up with the influence of Confucianism, Buddhism and Taoism which are more about philosophy, spirituality, way of life and tradition belief/practices than religion. As such we do not go around wearing our religion cap and telling the whole world the greatness, wholeness and holiness of our religion. We believe religion is a personal choice and to be kept between you and your religion.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buddhism
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taoism
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Confucianism

pjseow

2,264 posts

Posted by pjseow > 2019-05-28 09:09 | Report Abuse

Sslee, there is a scholar in Taiwan who summarise and compile the three teachings of Confucianism (濡),Buddism (釋)and Taoism (道)into one . Among the 3 teachings, Confucianism has the greatest influence on Chinese Culture. Lee Kuan Yew is a confucianist. During an interview with CCTV 4,he was asked which aspect of confucianism he like.the most. His answer is the 五倫 as what you described .

pjseow

2,264 posts

Posted by pjseow > 2019-05-28 09:11 | Report Abuse

Sslee, there is a scholar in Taiwan who summarise and compile the three teachings of Confucianism (濡),Buddism (釋)and Taoism (道)into one . Among the 3 teachings, Confucianism has the greatest influence on Chinese Culture. Lee Kuan Yew is a confucianist. During an interview with CCTV 4,he was asked which aspect of confucianism he like.the most. His answer is the 五倫 as what you described .

3,256 posts

Posted by chinaman > 2019-05-28 09:27 | Report Abuse

I like SSLee's deep insight on Buddha very much..waloe..SSLee can be a monk la. wakaka
quote***
Spirituality place little important on intellectual beliefs but is concerned with growing into and experiencing the divine consciousness, the inner self. Spiritual seek to conquer self whereas religion seek to conquer others into believing and adhering to a certain belief system. Spiritual is inner whereas religion can be inner but mostly external. Spiritual emphasis more on self-actualization in this earthy world whereas religion emphasis on the afterlife.
You can be an atheist but still remain spiritual.
You can be religious but lack spirituality.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-28 10:40 | Report Abuse

osted by Sslee > May 28, 2019 6:02 AM | Report Abuse

Spirituality place little important on intellectual beliefs
============

whether it is spiritual or intellectual, it is still rather sad that Malaysians know little of Buddhism as practised in East Asia and knows so much of Theravada Buddhism.......

the statures one see all over East Asia is not even of Sakamurni Buddha.........

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-28 20:33 | Report Abuse

I am not saying compare sausage but at least know own history and culture is a good start..........

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-28 20:39 | Report Abuse

thousands of sutras, here are the 3 main sutras used in China for a thousand years......................

https://web.archive.org/web/20140512124959/http://www.bdk.or.jp/pdf/bdk/digitaldl/dBET_ThreePureLandSutras_2003.pdf

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2019-05-28 21:46 | Report Abuse

Many began as astromythology.........sun, star or moon worshipping......evolved into pschosocioeconomicopolitical complex......over centuries

One of the next recipients of revealation or enlightenment would be an artificial intelligence and the 'product' would invariably be ........most complete.....flawless......and perfect one, no?

Posted by nothingness > 2019-05-28 22:03 | Report Abuse

Majority Malaysian Chinese could not distinguish the Buddhism vs Taoism.

In fact, a lot of them are actually practicing Taoism but they declare themselves as the Buddhists.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2019-05-28 22:13 | Report Abuse

They know.....but just because Buddhism is more 'classy'

Posted by nothingness > 2019-05-28 22:35 | Report Abuse

hahahaha, out of convenience they put the religion as Buddhism at their IC

this will answer why people said majority don't know what is different between Buddhism practice locally because they are not even a Buddhist to begin with.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2019-05-28 22:46 | Report Abuse

Hope no AI being forced into any religion......

.....for they can invent a much better one

to the mortal's jealousy

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-29 00:06 | Report Abuse

y rajachulan > May 28, 2019 10:19 PM | Report Abuse

because 'journey to the west' put everyone under one roof...people mar think they all the same mar...

well the real reason is last time govt only recognised Islam, Christianity, Hinduism, Buddhism and Sikhism... if not then put as Others...

so if a chinese not a Islam, Christianity, Hinduism or Sikhism... then mar left only Buddhism lor... who want to go to Others le?

not that people dont know... but no choice la

===========

yes, I/C says Buddhism but knows next to nothing of Mahayana Buddhism practised in East Asia.

and no one there to correct the imbalance....not the government, not the schools, not the media.....then how?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-29 00:17 | Report Abuse

whenever the media covers Buddhism , its always the Theravada model.......never the Buddhism as practised in East Asia.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-29 00:45 | Report Abuse

at least guanyim is Buddhism...Chinese Buddhism.

5,817 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-05-29 06:50 | Report Abuse

Buddhism teaches inner peace and harmony by “Know thyself” Do you have the wisdom to know your inner-self? Seeing the non-attachment?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-29 07:48 | Report Abuse

Posted by Sslee > May 29, 2019 6:50 AM | Report Abuse

Buddhism teaches inner peace and harmony by “Know thyself” Do you have the wisdom to know your inner-self? Seeing the non-attachment?

=================

be happy be positive does not mean do not teach / talk Buddhism............

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-29 07:53 | Report Abuse

admittedly my interest is more intellectual than spiritual.....I am interested in Pure Land Buddhism and Zen and learning bits and pieces of all schools / sects of Buddhism.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2019-05-29 08:10 | Report Abuse

Posted by Sslee > May 29, 2019 6:50 AM | Report Abuse

=================

Balance is the best way to live life....the problem with archaic indoctrination is their obsession and attachment to some principles.......they are based on situations, opinions, and knowledge at those times.........

.....although have been adapting, re-interpreted and evolving over time.......but neither fast nor flexible enough to incorporate new scientific evidences.....

........to stay relevant these days

Specific example, school children are spending too much time indoor these days.....increasing numbers wearing glasses

......given recent publication about 'Sunlight exposure reduces myopia in children'

"This cluster-randomized, intervention-controlled study examined the effect of a school-based program encouraging outdoor activities on myopia.

Study design
Researchers recruited grade 1 school children from 16 different Taiwanese schools. Of the 693 students included, 276 were encouraged to spend 11 hours/week outdoors through a school-based program. The remainder of children were in the control group and continued regular activities.

Outcomes
Light intervention reduced both myopic shift (0.35 D vs. 0.47 D; P=0.002) and axial elongation (0.28 mm vs. 0.33 mm; P=0.003). Risk of rapid myopia progression was also 54% lower in the intervention cohort compared with controls. Effects were significant in both nonmyopic and myopic children.

Investigators noted that longer exposure to moderate sunlight intensity (i.e., hallways, under trees) was as effective as short exposure to high sunlight intensity for preventing myopia."

Only a scientific minded who has a heart to pursuit evidence-based principles and practices can do well for the people......education minister and children respectively in this case.......