18 comment(s). Last comment by ahbah 2022-05-22 16:15

Posted by paperplane > 2020-06-05 21:09 | Report Abuse

Makingg quick is fun, fei zai

throx

41 posts

Posted by throx > 2020-06-05 21:33 | Report Abuse

The more of these day traders whom do not even know what is really share invest jump into the market, the nearer the end of Bull.

dxbman

836 posts

Posted by dxbman > 2020-06-05 22:11 | Report Abuse

John, don't be disheartened. I know a trader who make 11m contra profit oledi during the pandemic...

greedy44444

2,494 posts

Posted by greedy44444 > 2020-06-06 01:16 | Report Abuse

John, listen to my advice...better invest long term in excellent stocks than day trading. 99% loss money, only one made 11m and a few earned few thousands, the rest all still bearing the pain of losing most of their savings on day trading on stock market.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2020-06-06 08:58 | Report Abuse

Posted by paperplane > Jun 5, 2020 9:09 PM | Report Abuse
Makingg quick is fun, fei zai

A agree. There is a lot of fun making $1,000 one day, $4,000 next day, $10,000 the next etc. Those are good news.

The fun stops and pain comes when suddenly you lose $50,000 in a morning.

The pain grows when next you try to make back the losses, but instead, lose another $100,000.

Those are bad news. Unfortunately, that is closer to reality.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2020-06-06 09:28 | Report Abuse

John,

Here is a simple guide:

1. Know yourself

What is your investment objective? Maybe grow your wealth 10% or 15% per year
What is your time horizon? Maybe 5 years or 10 years.
What is your risk tolerance? Will you be having sleepness nights when your portfolio drops 10%, 20% or 30% over a short period?

2. Know your investing philosophy

Learn from Buffett

Know the business you wish to invest in for the long term
Business must have durable competitive advantage
Business with honest managers who are capable and hardworking
Of course, buy at a fair or bargain price

3. Know the difference between investing, speculation and gambling.

Please refer to investopedia.

4. Know the games you wish to play in.

Zero sum game: trading, gambling
Negative sum game: trading frequently in stock market, gambling in Genting
Positive sum game: Investing in great companies at fair price for the long term.

hpcp

450 posts

Posted by hpcp > 2020-06-06 09:32 | Report Abuse

“Invest like a stock market guru: the complete value investing guide that works!” by KC Chong.

Strongly recommended

LA777

3,383 posts

Posted by LA777 > 2020-06-06 13:30 | Report Abuse

Inexperience trader should not be day traders, you should learn more TA and FA skills till you can see the uptrend / downtrend of a stock. Experience day traders can earn easily 300 to thousands / hundred thousands depend on your capital. If not greedy, can earn a living by day trading, gaining few hundreds a day in the down trend market. For bull market, it's more, but only for experience sifu.

Ayoyo

379 posts

Posted by Ayoyo > 2020-06-06 14:28 | Report Abuse

I trade the markets for a living, I could hold trades anywhere from 3 secs to 3 weeks... I'd say the biggest enemy of a short term trader is boredom... If you want to be profitable, you must have the discipline to stick with your own methods that have tided you over the worst of waves.. That means the patience to wait for the right setups, which may or may not be the play of the day..

This market has proven the best economists wrong - they were all expecting a W shaped recovery and are now clamoring to get in after the huge breakout of resistance

I'd say going forward, this is going to be a global bull run of epic proportions - a recovery play and will be an excellent trader's market

Holiao369

121 posts

Posted by Holiao369 > 2020-06-06 17:36 | Report Abuse

Talk couch again, lanjiao so ez no need work jor

Posted by kcchongnz > 2020-06-06 17:39 | Report Abuse

Posted by dxbman > Jun 5, 2020 10:11 PM | Report Abuse
John, don't be disheartened. I know a trader who make 11m contra profit oledi during the pandemic...

The great Jesse Livermore was the legend in the history of trading in the stock market. No one is even closed to his prowess. It is good to find out the beginning to the end of this great trader in the book,

Reminiscences of a Stock Operator

Many believe this book was written by Livermore himself.

PureBULL ...

2,408 posts

Posted by PureBULL ... > 2020-06-07 02:36 | Report Abuse

Reminiscences of a Stock Operator, written by a reporter :

is the only BOOK all successful hedge fund managers old n young swell at it.
Learning from the original successful wall street operator is the 1st lesson all who want to succeed in stocks must read!

My friend the multi-millionaire is # 1 stockist in msia. He's the exact replica of jesse livermore.

Story 1:
On the v 1st day of airasia listing my stockist friend made a HUGE pile.
I went to his house n asked him how he made it.

Airasia ipo price was at i guessed 98.
So on listing day there were lots of selling of this big plc.

My friend said he trained himself the talented skill to read n remember all the buy n sell queues from 9 am to 5 pm of a stock.
There were super BIG sellers Q to sell at 98.5 n 99.
He said, at 98 price the buyers kept coming everytime when big sellers threw at it = i.e. the golden setup for him.

At abt 4 pm, he decided to take that all important RISK. He walloped all the BIG sellers at 98.5 n 99. All eatened up by him alone, n airasia flied like crazzy.
Now we know pple called him super rich TIGER.

Jesse Livermore had NO formal education. At tender age 16 he was a price marker like my friend always running across the board to update stock prices.
Livermore is still the world # 1 stock trader on record after adjusting for inflation.
He knew nothing abt FA. Many insiders conned him into the game. That forced him to switch line to commodity, yes cotton trading.
He was superbly successful in stocks but in cotton he took his life finally.

MORAL:
i. All traders must learn some knowhow in FA.
KC Chong I believe is a good passionate teacher n his fee is so little.
ii. 2 parts
a. Right Stock Selection
Buy WHAT mr market wants to play UP
by knowing how to read newspaper to identify the right stocks in play.
b. Right Timing
There r 2 cycles per year on klse.
MACD is abt 99% accurate for all great winning stocks.
If not, that stock is lousy stock.

wlchew

30 posts

Posted by wlchew > 2020-06-07 09:42 | Report Abuse

what is the difference here and going to a casino. just invest in brick and mortar

Posted by supersaiyan3 > 2020-06-07 11:22 | Report Abuse

Quickly, different methods of investment.

1. Old woman method
A woman at England retires and starts investing GBP5,000. When she dies 50 years later, she has grown GBP5,000 to GBP20,000,000. She never invested additional capital, besides using dividend received.

Her strategy is to buy and hold products that she likes. If she likes a brand of stockings or a brand of chocolate, she would find out is it listed and buy using dividend received. Someday if she suddenly doesn't like it, she would sell it.

Example for amateur Malaysian investor, say if you like astro, then you buy astro stock. One day you discover a TV box is better, then you sell astro.

(In investment, we need time to succeed. If you really want to speculate, 3 days is too short, maybe 15 days is a better timeframe, tremendously increase your odds).

2. Peter Lynch.
The legendary fund manager Peter Lynch retired and starts a investment club for kids.

The rules are simple, kids need to tell a story.

Kids would present their story before they select a stock, say they prefer a pencil, and the reason behind.

It turns out kids were performing better than most fund managers.

3. Follow sifu.

Before you follow a sifu, you need to look at their track records.

The Mr. Coldeye, if you read his earlier book and see his stock selection, I track and found 70% of his prediction were wrong. However, even if he is wrong, 70% of the result of the wrong prediction will just be mediocre.

If you look at KYY, maybe his pick is less than 30% successful. But then more often the 70% of the result of the wrong prediction is devastating.

If you look at icon8888, even ABMB didn't rise, but his prediction is correct. So, even if you are right, maybe the market won't react fast enough. Again, you need time.

OTB? I am not saying he got poor skill, but no investment guru takes subscription fees.

4. Warren Buffett

Warren Buffett talks about a lot of things, sometimes its hard enough to understand what he said, but to summarise, a company that is undervalue.

To determine the value of the company, you need to look at structure of the industry, capability of the management, and he will help direct the direction of the company.

5. TA

Most in the market are fake TA. A Good TA will short crude all the way from USD147 to USD20 and long all the way from USD25 to USD80.

(I am saying the recent oil drop from USD60 to -USD40 is solely due to a China attack. They short all oil stock available from usd20 to -usd40 overnight. Luckily they didn't succeed to overthrown the financial system, oil quickly recovered. Otherwise they will attack other financial products such as USD bills)

(So now oil basically ting tong USD40-60. USD40 you long, USD60 you short).

6. Joe Terranova

Joe says, you can still win big after the result is out.

You don't need to speculate the result, wait till the result is out then you go in 100%. If it is good, then long, if it is no good, then short.

(Go for 3 months, not 3 days).

7. Investment theory evolves.

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2020-06-07 12:18 | Report Abuse

Raider says making monies in stock market through trading is hard and u want trading some more loh.???

If u want to be a trader u can follow the sound advice by purebull loh;

MORAL:
i. All traders must learn some knowhow in FA...this allow u to select something that is sound with substances and with margin of safety when u trade, speculate or invest loh..!
KC Chong I believe is a good passionate teacher n his fee is so little.

ii. 2 parts
a. Right Stock Selection
Buy WHAT mr market wants to play UP
by knowing how to read newspaper to identify the right stocks in play.

b. Right Timing
There r 2 cycles per year on klse.
MACD is abt 99% accurate for all great winning stocks.
If not, that stock is lousy stock.
Underlying Momentum of the stock is very important for a fast buck loh....!!

c. Do not day trade loh..!! Leave it to the day trade professional traders or stockist, it is very difficult to beat them on day trade mah...!!

whpang

65 posts

Posted by whpang > 2022-05-22 10:25 | Report Abuse

just another person trying to sell something, no free lunch here.

6,024 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-05-22 16:15 | Report Abuse

What is the closing chapter of JL's life ?