17 comment(s). Last comment by DickyMe 2021-03-12 21:47

LimitUp

394 posts

Posted by LimitUp > 2021-03-07 17:11 | Report Abuse

Truly the King of Gloves

14,355 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2021-03-07 17:19 | Report Abuse

But pandemic will not be around by then.

All the produce will be given away to charity.

Buy 1 pair get 10 FREE.

Posted by probability > 2021-03-07 17:19 | Report Abuse

Just imagine another pandemic exploding by end 2024

14,355 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2021-03-07 17:22 | Report Abuse

Well, the pattern of pandemic happening is 100 years apart.

The last known happened in 1920s..

In between, I can see in the quest to earn money you wish for death of others. What a noble wish!

Posted by probability > 2021-03-07 17:23 | Report Abuse

https://www.fastcompany.com/90580784/this-is-where-the-next-pandemic-is-likely-to-emerge

The new study notes that areas in Africa and parts of Asia are most at risk, both because of contact between people and animals and because of the other factors: While it’s possible that a pandemic could emerge in a location with good health infrastructure, it’s more likely to happen in areas where healthcare is underfunded.

Posted by probability > 2021-03-07 17:25 | Report Abuse

Coronavirus: This is not the last pandemic

https://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-52775386

"So biodiversity loss can create landscapes that increase risky human-wildlife contact and increase the chances of certain viruses, bacteria and parasites spilling over into people."

There are certain outbreaks that have demonstrated this risk at the "interfaces" between human activity and wildlife with devastating clarity.

In first outbreak of Nipah virus in 1999 in Malaysia, a viral infection - carried by fruit bats - spilled over into a large pig farm built at the edge of a forest. Wild fruit bats fed on the fruit trees and the pigs munched on half-eaten fruit that fell from the trees and was covered in bat saliva.

More than 250 people who worked in close contact with the infected pigs caught the virus. More than 100 of those people died. The case fatality rate of the coronavirus is still emerging, but current estimates put it at around 1%. Nipah virus kills 40-75% of people it infects.

Prof Eric Fevre from the University of Liverpool and the International Livestock Research Institute in Nairobi, Kenya, says researchers need to be on constant watch in areas where there is a higher risk of disease outbreaks.

'Interfaces' between farms or human activity and wildlife habitats are hotspots for new diseases to emerge

Farms on the edge of forests, markets where animals are bought and sold - all are blurred boundaries between humans and wildlife, and places where diseases are more likely to emerge.

"We need to be constantly on the look-out at these interfaces and have systems in place to respond if we see anything unusual", like a sudden disease outbreak in a particular location.

"New diseases pop-up in the human population probably three to four times per year," Prof Fevre said. "It's not just in Asia or Africa, but in Europe and the US as well."

Matthew Baylis added that this ongoing surveillance for new disease is increasingly important. "We've created almost a perfect storm here for the emergence of pandemics," he told BBC News.

Prof Fevre agreed. "This kind of event is likely to happen again and again," he said.

HrryPttr

1,975 posts

Posted by HrryPttr > 2021-03-07 19:56 | Report Abuse

Hmm.. Glove hater vs lover also comment here? Not enough at forum?

pjseow

2,264 posts

Posted by pjseow > 2021-03-07 20:29 | Report Abuse

Ben Tan, Thanks again for obtaining the latest update from Topglove on its expansion plan. It looks like the expansion plan.is more aggressive in FY 2022 to 2024 compared with its earlier plans. Topglove is trying to reduce the leadtime further so that it can capture more customers. Customers may run away if leadtimes are too long.

Hoho22

184 posts

Posted by Hoho22 > 2021-03-07 23:10 | Report Abuse

Mass production for the next pandemic?

Stockhunter88

2,031 posts

Posted by Stockhunter88 > 2021-03-07 23:57 | Report Abuse

Owh... Dick is here too

LaoTzeAhSir

1,304 posts

Posted by LaoTzeAhSir > 2021-03-08 14:10 | Report Abuse

Dicky you. very dicky

Ben Tan

456 posts

Posted by Ben Tan > 2021-03-08 17:51 | Report Abuse

LimitUp, DickyMe, probability, HrryPttr, pjseow, Hoho22, Stockhunter88, LaoTzeAhSir, thank you for your comments.

DickyMe, if you believe that a capital-intensive business such as glove manufacturing works as you describe it, your understanding of the business of disposable product manufacturing is cursory at best. Expansion plans, as well as future selling price projections, are based on demand evidence and expectations.

pjseow, yes, I expected that and I think this is where the HK listing plays a pivotal role. Capturing a bigger part of the increased market as early as possible might be vital and that's where Top Glove appears to be heading.

Survivor13

710 posts

Posted by Survivor13 > 2021-03-08 17:58 | Report Abuse

Just ignore DickyMe, he kena tiu at other forum also. Don't waste time teaching him. You just need remind him to take medication will do. haha

Posted by TailWagsDog > 2021-03-08 18:42 | Report Abuse

Just at the time when global supply doubles or triples, the pandemic will be gone.

Posted by TailWagsDog > 2021-03-08 18:45 | Report Abuse

But then, I suppose you can close production lines even faster than you can get them up and going. Let them remain idle until the next pandemic.

Andre Kua

420 posts

Posted by Andre Kua > 2021-03-09 10:41 | Report Abuse

preparing for H30N30 or covid-29

14,355 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2021-03-12 21:47 | Report Abuse

@Ben Tan

The demand evidence you quote is a one off the ordinary due to the pandemic.
Such demands are like striking lottery based on catastrophic event and not repetitive.