34 comment(s). Last comment by HrryPttr 2021-04-12 09:31

Posted by stockraider > 2021-04-04 10:56 | Report Abuse

WHY NOT ENGINEERS LEH ??

AN ENGINEER IS BASICALLY MATHEMATICAL IT IS STRAIGHTFORWARD.....THAT IS THE STRENGTH OF AI MAH!

Posted by Pee Wee > Apr 4, 2021 10:48 AM | Report Abuse

Basically every other proffesionals will be replaced by AI except engineers! Engineering is future proof! In near future lawyers, accoutants even general doctors will find themselves jobless as AI can easily take over their jobs but not engineers!

2,946 posts

Posted by gohkimhock > 2021-04-04 10:58 | Report Abuse

the only engineer with business entrepreneurship in MY I respect is Mr Ong Koon Ann, managing director of Oka Corporation Bhd.

very low profile and don't scam people too.

Posted by stockraider > 2021-04-04 11:00 | Report Abuse

ACTUALLY ENGINEER OWN MORE THAN 10% OF LISTED COMPANY in klse, NOT 2% MENTIONED BY KYY....HE IS WRONG here LOH!

4,734 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-04-04 11:01 | Report Abuse

Haha,
Humility.
Engineer seek the truth and how many listed companies in Bursa are run by crooks who can tell lies straight to your face.

So no thanks. Engineer are better off doing what they like and enjoying.

Posted by stockraider > 2021-04-04 11:05 | Report Abuse

sslee,

since u r near retirement age...it is time for u go into business & entrepreneurship, raider will definitely invest in your company when listed loh!!

Be a late bloomer mah!

Posted by Sslee > Apr 4, 2021 11:01 AM | Report Abuse

Haha,
Humility.
Engineer seek the truth and how many listed companies in Bursa are run by crooks who can tell lies straight to your face.

So no thanks. Engineer are better off doing what they like and enjoying.

Posted by stockraider > 2021-04-04 11:46 | Report Abuse

Not true lah...!!

Engineers are more straights than the rest except doctors loh!!

I think due to their training mah!

Posted by investkaki > Apr 4, 2021 11:43 AM | Report Abuse

in a certain country where the govt and business environment are full of corruptions, you have to wonder what it takes for the individual to succeed. If you ask your friends where are the best places to makan, get drunk, serves you the best women, you wont be surprised the engineers are the only ones with all the answers. So lets not be naive on over rated articles.

Posted by investkaki > 2021-04-04 11:56 | Report Abuse

stockraider....every successful engineer will have to go thru the 'acid test" which is exposed to sub contractors, suppliers, govt officials who are masters of the chain. The environment is such

Posted by stockraider > 2021-04-04 12:03 | Report Abuse

In a way true loh!!

This bcos they are transforming from being an engineer towards a business entrepreneur mah...!!

In that case....all professional will go thru same process mah!

What raider is saying the initial engineer graduate is less crooked compare say lawyer or a marketing graduate loh!

Posted by investkaki > Apr 4, 2021 11:56 AM | Report Abuse

stockraider....every successful engineer will have to go thru the 'acid test" which is exposed to sub contractors, suppliers, govt officials who are masters of the chain. The environment is such

Posted by investkaki > 2021-04-04 12:23 | Report Abuse

stockraider...tks for your sporting reply, thumbs up to your healthy reply

Posted by stockraider > 2021-04-04 12:25 | Report Abuse

Your point raise are very fair & rational loh!

Posted by investkaki > Apr 4, 2021 12:23 PM | Report Abuse

stockraider...tks for your sporting reply, thumbs up to your healthy reply

BLee

740 posts

Posted by BLee > 2021-04-04 12:52 | Report Abuse

@Pee Wee, PLC for business stand for Private Limited Company? But for Electronic/Technocrat Engineers shall mean Programmable Logic Controller? Experience Engineers with proper business exposure shall make a good business man. Engineers are usually trained to be very analytical with logic, and in real world to be more cost conscious. Only my 2 sen..Happy trading

4,734 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-04-04 13:32 | Report Abuse

It's truth.
Engineers need to deal with contractors, suppliers and government agency. Hence many are tempted with free invitation from contractor and supplier to the best place for eating, drnking and women.
And in return they have to bring the government people to the best place for eating, drinking and women.

What a wonderful life as engineer.

4,734 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-04-04 13:58 | Report Abuse

Haha,
The best career is still as engineer you got to enjoy both indoor and outdoor activities.

Posted by abang_misai > 2021-04-04 14:12 | Report Abuse

Although this old man brought me to Holland for his tips on MNRB, I would like to give big thump up for the above write up.

4,734 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-04-04 14:18 | Report Abuse

Koon now enjoying his expansive fine wine with pineapple.
He should write more on the many benefits as engineer so that more will be inspired to read engineering.

Posted by BountyOfTheBourse > 2021-04-04 14:57 | Report Abuse

Anyone tried making wine from any tropical fruits yet? Apart from coconut of course.

Yep pineapple could be a good idea.

Posted by BountyOfTheBourse > 2021-04-04 15:01 | Report Abuse

But there are many others with potential I reckon. Like nangka, durian kampong (soursop aka graviola), rambutan, langsat/duku/dokong, mango, even banana or durian.

Posted by BountyOfTheBourse > 2021-04-04 15:05 | Report Abuse

Posted by Sslee > Apr 4, 2021 1:58 PM | Report Abuse

The best career is still as engineer you got to enjoy both indoor and outdoor activities.

I would be inclined to agree with that. Besides, you'll still be able to continue indulging in your penchant for some maths & physics in your life. Plus also chemistry, if you do chemical engineering.

enning22

2,869 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2021-04-04 17:20 | Report Abuse

Koon Yew Yin says Engineers should be more business minded - , for example like himself ,when come to politics ,he became so naive.

Posted by VenFx > 2021-04-04 17:25 | Report Abuse

Every body can be a good investor
Provided they know how/ when/ what
Strategy and capital to be applied.

With sector knowledge lagi best.

Investment never any single profession privilege lah,
The main point to decide a good return from investing always the self improving and the mindset.

Narrowing mindset comfirm will fail one.

4,734 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-04-04 17:53 | Report Abuse

As engineer you have the opportunity to undergo oversea further training by the company, Attend oversea trade and mechinery exibition, attend to oversea customer complaint, involve in oversea projects and etc.

4,734 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-04-04 17:56 | Report Abuse

And you can work as expat and get pay in USD

Posted by enumaelish > 2021-04-04 21:01 | Report Abuse

Don't talk Engineers as so great... feel we r more like beggars n get humiliated all the times even hawkers control prices better than us. The rubbish bem n iem only know how to milk money from their own breeds n barely do shit to improve the value of engineers. Those committee members r brainless without realising the hardships out there they only feel proud sitting at the top when ppl pat n call them engineers.. Pui

haridassa

44 posts

Posted by haridassa > 2021-04-04 21:53 | Report Abuse

Most of the companies mentioned above is run by crooks. You need a dishonest engineers to run a construction company. Just tell the truth kyy. I m in the construction industry.

Want2Win

2,553 posts

Posted by Want2Win > 2021-04-04 23:50 |

Posted by VenFx > 2021-04-05 00:37 | Report Abuse

Every screws & nuts contributes and functioning an unique roles,
Builders always sensitive to construction costs and deliver

Engineer provides the designed structural to fit best for the architecture needs.

Hardworking with an open mindset do & inspire my investment path...
No one spare from losses, on their investment journey lah !

Increase the probability by Win Big Lost Small , means is good lah !

Posted by VenFx > 2021-04-05 00:40 | Report Abuse

If, i would start a biz; i would love to learn from a survival.
In contrary , when your enterprise has growth into a bigger corporate, need to hire those profession to provide them with competitively income ; make sure they can perform at the rite workplace environment.

Want2Win

2,553 posts

Posted by Want2Win > 2021-04-05 00:41 | Report Abuse

yah loh

newkid

966 posts

Posted by newkid > 2021-04-05 10:18 | Report Abuse

This old fox is talking rotten eggs again, majority graduates ultimate dream is to start their own business but problem us they got no capitals. They got no choice , they have to find a job first to survive, then save money for paid up capitals. Unfortunately 90% could not save enough till retired, don't forget in between their lives, they will be conned by Macau scam,internet scam,get rich scam, I3 bogus sifu n tips !!!!!!!!

Posted by THINKING MAN > 2021-04-05 11:11 | Report Abuse

Some professions, by nature of work, responsibilities and duties alone, are more straightforward - particularly in the science stream. However, when taking into the account of "work environment" (wider scope than "work alone") - dealing with various institutions and people, then the way the work is carried out might change. This also depends on the policies, procedures and processes involved, which could vary from one to another.

Since we are humans - not robots, our level of critical thinking, background, upbringing, psychology, emotion, natural inclination and exposures (apart from educational level or profession we are in) play important roles in decision making.

Two professionals (e.g., engineers) might be given the same set of data, however when they interpret it, they might come to different conclusions or decisions (despite of the fact they have the same rules or procedures to follow).

Look at doctors - assume 2 doctors were trained in the same university and work in the same hospital - with the same rules to follow. However, when they are given a case study of a patient with particular symptoms, they might come to different decisions, opinions, views, solutions and recommendations (though they might also come to a same decision) despite following the same procedures.

Depending on the nature and situation a person is facing, a professional (engineer, doctor, accountant, marketing agent, chemist, etc.) might wish to stick to his own line of work, or might want to explore further by being more business minded. Even businessmen themselves- some are more business minded, some are less in that. Some are more straightforward, some are less. We are all different.....

maggiemee

2,095 posts

Posted by maggiemee > 2021-04-05 11:13 | Report Abuse

Offence all the enginner here

khyeap

40 posts

Posted by khyeap > 2021-04-05 15:07 | Report Abuse

Not all engineers want to be businessmen n reverse is true. Definitely okay as long as they are happy with what they are doing. Not just trying EVERY TRICKS to be rich but not happy.

amateurJR

2,366 posts

Posted by amateurJR > 2021-04-06 10:14 | Report Abuse

engineers shud pasticipate in goreng stock like uncle

HrryPttr

1,975 posts

Posted by HrryPttr > 2021-04-12 09:31 | Report Abuse

Any recommendation which stock to buy based on this article? Construction?