MAA GROUP BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MAA (1198)

-0.005 (1.43%)

0.345 - 0.345

7 people like this.

3,375 comment(s). Last comment by Hippopotamuska 1 month ago

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-07-12 15:02 | Report Abuse

Since MAAG is so rotten, bad management, now high price to the NO CAMP, SELL SELL THEM ALL. haha.

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-12 15:07 | Report Abuse

I am value investor and i like the sharing from Balvin71, and my calculating is almost the same like Balvin71. That is why i am very bullish in MAAG.

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-12 15:40 | Report Abuse

MAAG story is just beginning to do NEW corporate exercises. What we are going to receive the Special Dividend of RM0.35 is to compensate those investors who had kept MAAG for the last 5 years with many investors including Major Controlling shareholders still loss money because the share price last high was RM1.55 in APRIL 2011 before the disposal of MAA General insurance to ZURICH.

Now we see the end of final disposal of all major assets and with so much cash and high NTA. It is just like new IPO Listing.

Where can you find such a value in new IPO compare to MAAG with high MARGIN OF SAFETY.

MAAG still have small core businesses that they can expand the businesses in.
1) Kasturi Tuition Center,
2) Columbus Capital,
3) MAA Genaral Insurance Philippines and

with RM200 MILLIONS CASH IN HAND, they are going to do a few M&A in new businesses likes Education and Manufacturing sectors.

In a longer time horizon, there is possibilities that THE MANAGEMENT can be a Bonus and/or share split or management buy-up.

To be positive, i am willing to sleep with the management for 2 more years and go with the trend.

I am still long in MAAG.....

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-07-12 16:49 | Report Abuse

Hear, hear

danny123

1,193 posts

Posted by danny123 > 2016-07-12 19:23 | Report Abuse

Never buy this stock at 1.20
If u buy for div now , after x u will lost more than 0.35

danny123

1,193 posts

Posted by danny123 > 2016-07-12 19:26 | Report Abuse

Those buy cheap will encourage u to buy now
Last n last never buy for div.

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-07-12 19:52 | Report Abuse

The theory of not buying for dividend is acceptable. So pray that MAAG do not go up on 19-7-2016. Otherwise, who is responsible for the losses. Let wait and see the action on THAT DAY.

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-07-12 19:56 | Report Abuse

can anybody guarantee it will go on down and down after ex- date like Puncak ? May I ask the advisor why it cannot go up ?

danny123

1,193 posts

Posted by danny123 > 2016-07-12 20:08 | Report Abuse

No one can guarantee ,
Buy n sell at ur own risk
Used ur brain if u can

WhoKnows

778 posts

Posted by WhoKnows > 2016-07-12 20:26 | Report Abuse

talk like pro, but no substance......

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-12 21:15 | Report Abuse

Buying must based on you finding value in the stock before you commit to buy. Nobody shall influence your decision to take that action. You are responsible for your action. But sometimes do nothing is also a wrong decision . So you have to evaluate the stock right before you take action. For me, listen to other persons decision is noise .

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-07-12 21:37 | Report Abuse

Good detailed explanation. Thank you,James. Also thanks, Balvin. MAAG so far so good....exciting...wait and see.

candygirl

538 posts

Posted by candygirl > 2016-07-12 22:46 | Report Abuse

danny maa not good to buy . Then what share is good in your portfolio ? I've asked this question 2x but you just ignore . Only know how to say maa not a good buy

Steve Jub

4,203 posts

Posted by Steve Jub > 2016-07-13 09:35 | Report Abuse

Got dividend entitlement also down?

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-07-13 09:48 | Report Abuse

Good explanation, James.

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-13 09:53 | Report Abuse

Short term investors try to predict the share price and anticipate share price maybe coming down due to EX price after special dividend pay out. But in longer term I am very bullish in MAAG.

sheep

3,844 posts

Posted by sheep > 2016-07-13 12:00 | Report Abuse

haha, queue to buy at 1.00. sure can get it before ex date.

Steve Jub

4,203 posts

Posted by Steve Jub > 2016-07-13 12:11 | Report Abuse

down 2.5%

sheep

3,844 posts

Posted by sheep > 2016-07-13 12:16 | Report Abuse

sell. buy back at 1.00. after dividend down sumore. wakaka

Posted by smartklseguru > 2016-07-13 13:17 | Report Abuse

Ever since MAA announced dividend, the share did not spiked accordingly to RM0.35. It move up from Rm1.04 to RM1.06 based on closing price and this is unusual small as compared to normal dividend announcement. The upcoming dividend will be subject to income tax so is it better to keep or sell? Does this explain why so many sellers? Or due to unclear direction of the company?

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-07-13 13:18 | Report Abuse

35 sen no further tax. Short term players will exist with profit now.

Posted by smartklseguru > 2016-07-13 13:50 | Report Abuse

moneycashrich, I mean we are subjected to personnal income tax since it is considered as income.

Posted by Kin Fatt Wong > 2016-07-13 14:18 | Report Abuse

No, div is tax free

Markus Lee

103 posts

Posted by Markus Lee > 2016-07-13 14:58 | Report Abuse

If you own a stock that you think is worth $10 a share, and I also own that stock and I think it's worth $20 a share, I can try to convince you that I'm right. I can make predictions about the company's future prospects and etc... to prove that the stock really is worth much more. And you can make different assumptions about the future and try to convince me otherwise. But this is all kind of dumb. I should just pay you $12 for your shares. Then you get paid more than you think the stock is worth, and I get stock that I think is worth more than I paid, and we never have to discuss it. This is such a good and pleasant way of avoiding discussion that it is the principal way that people in finance make arguments. You buy or sell. Mostly when investors think a stock is going to go up, they buy the stock and vice versa. The buying or selling is the argument.

Investors in Malaysia cannot short sell a stock like other countries. So, forums like this usually attract investors whom are bullish about the company. We seek validations. If you check other company page on this forum, you tend to see the same. That's because it's a one way bet in Malaysia equities market. In investing, there is this phenomena called confirmation bias where an investor would be more likely to look for information that supports his or her original idea about an investment rather than seek out information that contradicts it. Confirmation bias is a source of investor overconfidence and helps explain why bulls tend to remain bullish and bears tend to remain bearish regardless of what is actually happening in the market. Confirmation bias helps explain why markets do not always behave rationally.

I am very bullish on MAAG because of its balance sheet and assets. I bet very big on MAAG. I think the price is irrationally undervalued and the market simply don't get it yet. It is misunderstood by the market, maybe due to its misrepresented status in PN17 or whatever unsubstantiated reasons. The market perception doesn't reflect its true value (for goodness sake its mostly all cash; yes my argument is backed by its balance sheet because I believe numbers can't lie ). It is a hidden gem.

To be a great investor one needs to first have the confidence to invest without perfect information at a time when others are highly skeptical about the opportunity you are pursuing. This confidence, however, has to be carefully balanced by the humility to recognize when you are wrong.

Peter5151

245 posts

Posted by Peter5151 > 2016-07-13 15:01 | Report Abuse

So, confirm there is no further tax on the Rm0.35. Personal income tax is another thing altogether

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-07-13 15:16 | Report Abuse

Markus, thanks for u balanced presentation. I am waiting to see who will be laughing to the BANK in time to come.

Markus Lee

103 posts

Posted by Markus Lee > 2016-07-13 15:20 | Report Abuse

Someone ("WhoKnows") wrote that in theory, the price will be adjusted downward 0.35 after the special dividend ; but not necessary in real life.

I completely agree with this person. In theory, if you believe the market is always efficient and based on rational expectation, yes , it should be adjusted ex dividend price.

With the way MAAG shares price is behaving in real life, it is already fundamentally inefficient and irrational, so I won't be surprise to see an abnormal behavior from the market in terms of pricing MAAG value (it can be either further downside/discount or better reflection of its true value, lesser discount).

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-07-13 16:40 | Report Abuse

Picked up a bit more at RM1.17. Started collecting MAA almost 2 years ago. Been very good so far, with dividend and capital appreciation. Will ride the wave for some time longer. My time span is another 18 months.....unless something drastic happens.

Peter5151

245 posts

Posted by Peter5151 > 2016-07-13 16:41 | Report Abuse

yes, confirmation bias.

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-07-13 17:46 | Report Abuse

I believes if the price drop to certain point the company will start buy back again.

Posted by smartklseguru > 2016-07-13 18:23 | Report Abuse

Yap, true enough and no need to pay tax after googling it. But I had already sold all my shares today. I will buy again if the price is right otherwise switch counter. Wish you all good luck and happy trading.

Posted by michael_lee > 2016-07-14 15:41 | Report Abuse

Whack all in at 1.14. Hope it's the right decision hahah

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-07-14 21:30 | Report Abuse

I should have waited to buy more today. Yesterday in at RM1.17. Could have saved a little.

sheep

3,844 posts

Posted by sheep > 2016-07-14 21:49 | Report Abuse

patient .. 1.10 tomorrow, then open 1.05 on monday.....then closed at 1.00.... wakaka

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-15 08:34 | Report Abuse

Waiting to buy more....

WhoKnows

778 posts

Posted by WhoKnows > 2016-07-15 10:00 | Report Abuse

went in quite substantially again at 1.15, now just wait and see..... :)

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-15 12:27 | Report Abuse

Picked up a bit more at RM1.16

WhoKnows

778 posts

Posted by WhoKnows > 2016-07-15 15:13 | Report Abuse

MAA getting active..... price starts picking up :)

WhoKnows

778 posts

Posted by WhoKnows > 2016-07-15 16:42 | Report Abuse

really dun get it, just a few more days more b4 ex-date for special dividend, and yet there are those whom still selling..... weird......

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-15 19:39 | Report Abuse

Fear that the price will fall after Ex date by retail investors and hoping to buy back cheaper . They can be right or also can be wrong .

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-07-15 22:38 | Report Abuse

James, I like u explanation.

Posted by faberlicious > 2016-07-17 08:37 | Report Abuse

Even after ex div,it is still very attractive to buy weather it is 0.75 ,0.85 or 0.90. This company got so much cash.

WhoKnows

778 posts

Posted by WhoKnows > 2016-07-17 21:26 | Report Abuse

yup, might accumulate more after ex div, and wait for announcement of takeover for core business....

WhoKnows

778 posts

Posted by WhoKnows > 2016-07-18 11:51 | Report Abuse

wow, lots of sellers / buyers @ 1.20...... will MAA go up any further? wait and see :)

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-18 11:57 | Report Abuse

Don't worry, share changing from weak hand to strong hand. it will fly further, it is just the beginning of bull run.

Hunter2016

319 posts

Posted by Hunter2016 > 2016-07-18 11:59 | Report Abuse

jamesooi, how you know 'share changing from weak hand to strong hand'?

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-18 12:25 | Report Abuse

buying higher and higher price, for example today, at 10.03.05 buy from seller 86,700 shares, at 10.41.06 buy from seller 200,000 shares, at 11.23.44 buy from seller 84,200 shares, at 11.29.51 buy from seller 79,000 shares, and who can buy this volume , one conclusion big boy is buying....

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-18 12:31 | Report Abuse

buying today, you have to pick up the share scripts and few hundred thousand shares, it is worth alot of moneies...

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-07-18 14:49 | Report Abuse

I am baffled, expected MAA to be trading much higher than this level by today.

Cipta

1,038 posts

Posted by Cipta > 2016-07-18 16:03 | Report Abuse

Trading at RM1.18, what would you get today ?
-cash and cash equivalent RM 1.21
- an instant profit of RM 0.35
-Nagasutra villa, Bali F.O.C
-40% MAA General Insurance, Philippines F.O.C
-48% Columbus Capital, Australia, F.O.C
-Pusat Tuisyen Kasturi, F.O.C