MAA GROUP BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MAA (1198)

-0.005 (1.43%)

0.345 - 0.345

7 people like this.

3,375 comment(s). Last comment by Hippopotamuska 1 month ago

WhoKnows

778 posts

Posted by WhoKnows > 2016-07-18 16:56 | Report Abuse

1.15 now...... wakakakaka...... speechless actually...... we see the price ex-div then can gauge the sentiments towards this counter

Peter Wang

132 posts

Posted by Peter Wang > 2016-07-18 17:08 | Report Abuse

after dividen Rm 0.60

Posted by michael_lee > 2016-07-18 17:10 | Report Abuse

Luckily Sold all at 1.20

Posted by shinningstar > 2016-07-18 17:17 | Report Abuse

i'm new in stock. but i have bought small amount of this shares. what do you meant by we will get
-Nagasutra villa, Bali F.O.C
-40% MAA General Insurance, Philippines F.O.C
-48% Columbus Capital, Australia, F.O.C
-Pusat Tuisyen Kasturi, F.O.C?
Aren't all these the business under MAA?

tyran

94 posts

Posted by tyran > 2016-07-18 22:59 | Report Abuse

shinningstar, he means that you are only paying rm1.18 for a company that owns:
-cash and cash equivalent RM 1.21
- an instant profit of RM 0.35
-Nagasutra villa, Bali F.O.C
-40% MAA General Insurance, Philippines F.O.C
-48% Columbus Capital, Australia, F.O.C
-Pusat Tuisyen Kasturi, F.O.C

Meaning that the money you paid is not even matching the amount of cash within MAA. So all other assets under them basically coming free of charge (FOC) la

yapts

560 posts

Posted by yapts > 2016-07-19 07:00 | Report Abuse

shinningstar, after the disposal of MAAT, MAAG's NA is 2.01 with zero borrowings. So if its share price were to adjust downwards to 0.80, MAA shares are still very undervalued. Its cash pile still be able to provide the monies for future dividends IF the BOD still generous to give to the share holders!

WhoKnows

778 posts

Posted by WhoKnows > 2016-07-19 09:30 | Report Abuse

very soon will announce new core business; heard that mgmt has already identified the new business b4 deciding to sell off MAAT. hope this is true, then this counter will fly once announcement is made. make sense though......

yapts

560 posts

Posted by yapts > 2016-07-19 09:37 | Report Abuse

True. Once MAA is out of PN17, its shares will move north.

WhoKnows

778 posts

Posted by WhoKnows > 2016-07-19 10:07 | Report Abuse

i understand from a few of my fund manager frens that they are very interested in MAA but not allowed to include MAA in their portfolio due to PN17 status, so once out of PN17, we shall see real movement :)

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-07-19 11:37 | Report Abuse

MAAG so far so good. Expectation too high. It is not hot stock like IFCA where we make fast bucks. Different stock different applications. It may be a short wait. It may also be a long wait. haha. Happy living.

Posted by shinningstar > 2016-07-19 14:57 | Report Abuse

Thank you all of you for the explanation. ^^

11,887 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2016-07-19 16:47 | Report Abuse

Wow...after EX- the massive payout still got ppl buy 80.5c :D

Posted by shinningstar > 2016-07-20 09:59 | Report Abuse

now the price drop to 0.795-0.80. do you think we should buy more?

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-20 10:14 | Report Abuse

I invited a few of my friends to attend one of The Rotary Club Anniversary Dinner on 18th July 2016 and that was day MAAG went Ex date for a special dividend of MR0.35 per share.
My friends knew that I made good money in MAAG Shares recently. They are interested in MAAG.
“MAAG share can buy or not? And now at RM1.15 before EX date.” a friend asked me during the dinner.
“I understood what he try to ask was MAAG at RM 1.15 before Ex date, is it a high RISK to go into this stock!” and he said some of his friends said “MAAG is very high price already and just declared a Special Dividend of RM0.35 per share recently”
“It is still low risk at this price,” I replied. “The fundamental of the company has not change in term of financial figures and in fact it has improved alot after the disposal of MAA Takaful. Their business model is going to change for the better and the management is going to do some corporate restructuring soon...”
“I’m still very bullish in near term for next 2 years,” I said in a very positive note, and I still kept to my analysis on MAAG which I wrote not to long ago after it declare special dividend of RM0.35 per share and do a bit of update now………

4 Ridiculous Reasons That I like MAAG shares

To invest in MAAG shares, it is a patience game due to good news only that the share price can fly. But I knew i invested in MAAG was due to sale of business and assets plays then. Now for MAAG, the sale of business and assets plays has ended.
MAAG is a new company with lot of Cash and going to start new business acquisitions as mentioned by the MAAG management the last EGM dated 28/06/2016.
After EX date on Special Dividend of RM0.35 per share on 19/07/2016. The market price on the investment cost of MAAG shall be adjusted to RM0.80 per share.

Based on the MAAG Annual Report 2015 page no. 193 Note no.48
The Cash & Cash Equivalents for Shareholders fund as at 31/12/2015 was RM 251,656,000-00.
The Cash & Cash Equivalents for General Takaful as at 31/12/2015 was RM 56,710,000-00,
and the Cash & Cash Equivalents for Family Takaful as at 31/12/2015 was RM48,879,000-00.
Total Cash & Cash Equivalents for the MAAG as at 31/12/2015 was RM357,245,000-00.
The Cash & Cash Equivalents after the completion of the sales of MAAT and after payment of Special Dividend of RM0.35 per share (RM102,000,000-00), the final cash balance totalling
= Shareholders fund as at 31/12/2015 was RM 251,656,000-00 plus (RM 391,750,000-00 less RM102,000,000-00= RM289,750,000-00) = RM 541,406,000-00
That translates to almost RM1.85 cash per share.

I just shared with them a few simple calculation why I am still holding MAAG….
1. On 19/07/2016 MAAG share price is RM 0.80 per share with a high margin of safety.
2. NTA as at 31/03/2016 is RM1.37 per share and adjusted with disposal of MAAT is (RM1.37 plus RM0.99 sold MAAT ( gain of RM289,517,000 divided by piad-up capital 292,692,252 shares) less RM0.35 Special Dividend payout) RM2.01 per share.
3. The Cash & Cash Equivalents at the bank of RM1.85 per share (Detail see above calculation).
4. Some BUSINESS Information during AGM 20/06/2016 and EGM on 28/06/2016 at the shareholders meeting….
Once MAAT has been disposed, they will still have small core businesses that they can expand the businesses in.
1) Kasturi Tuition Center,
2) Columbus Capital,
3) MAA Genaral Insurance Philippines and
4) M&A in new businesses likes Education and Manufacturing sectors

This does not exclude the prospect of MAAG being used as a target for a reverse take-over.
With the sale of MAAT, no longer classified as a Financial Holding Company, hopefully the management find some profitable businesses and will be out of PN 17 by end 2017.

It is for education sharing only and i am not recommend anybody to buy, and if you choose to buy MAAG, it is solely your responsibility on your action.

WhoKnows

778 posts

Posted by WhoKnows > 2016-07-20 10:59 | Report Abuse

good sharing, i feel that a reverse take-over is very likely since MAA is cash rich, thus, reducing the need for high funding. let's wait and see......

Posted by shinningstar > 2016-07-20 11:00 | Report Abuse

Noted with many thanks. I think you got the point & I will also follow up on the company activities/announcement. Thank you.

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-07-20 11:36 | Report Abuse

Thanks James for u detailed factual explanation. I believe all of us will do their own research to invest or trade. Blame nobody for u investment. MAAG is so far so good. Happy living.

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-07-20 13:05 | Report Abuse

Thanks JamesOoi, my analysis same as yours. Except my cash per share calculation a bit lower.

My time frame is 18 months (as yours, end of 2017/early 2018) for stock to increase by 150% from the current level.

When stock was RM0.70+ shared with some friends to buy, most said, already gone up and did not buy, again at 0.87, tell them to buy and didn't; now regretting. We have got 2 dividend since than, RM0.03 and RM0.35 totalling RM0.38. From those who bought, I have had a few free lunches and after hours drinks. Hahahaha. I am telling people, can still buy/add some more.

I am recommending friends to buy, but decision and risk theirs.

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-07-20 15:09 | Report Abuse

cheers. Better go on holidays.

11,887 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2016-07-20 15:11 | Report Abuse

82c! These buyers missed out on the massive payment still buying...so I'm STILL sitting on paper gains AFTER the many rounds of 3 c dividends since 2013 AND the special dividend of 35 c :D :D :D

mike215

Posted by mike215 > 2016-07-20 15:26 | Report Abuse

Hi, i am newbie here. Would like to ask what is the "real" gain of special dividend since the stock price was adjusted down by exactly 35 sen? TQ.

WhoKnows

778 posts

Posted by WhoKnows > 2016-07-20 15:38 | Report Abuse

if you bought at 1.15 before the ex-div date, then real actual gain from current market price of 0.815 would be 0.015

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-20 15:52 | Report Abuse

After Ex dividend with adjusted price down by RM0.35 per share. There was no gain if the market price stay the same if at RM0.80 per share.

If the fundamental of the company is still strong and if majority people behavioral and psychology perception are thinking that the price is much cheaper now. The tendency that the share price will trend higher due to psychology behavioral.

If majority of the people thinking that the share price is cheaper now and chances that the share price will trend higher, then it will become a reality that the price will trend higher.

It is just my thinking and you may disagree with me with my simple idea.

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-20 15:55 | Report Abuse

wow, it is now RM0.825, I hope it is not because of my earlier sharing that make you interested in MAAG, hahahaha..................

WhoKnows

778 posts

Posted by WhoKnows > 2016-07-20 16:30 | Report Abuse

0.835 now and climbing, quite heavy buying actually..... but confirm not fund managers.....

mike215

Posted by mike215 > 2016-07-20 16:31 | Report Abuse

Thanks all sifu for your explanation....

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-07-20 17:44 | Report Abuse

Thanks James for u thinking. May I add that those who sold out before e-date can come in with their cash to buy back at RM.80. Not to miss the boat. haha.

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-20 18:02 | Report Abuse

Sometimes investors were fearing that the price will fall after Ex dividend date. So they sold first and hope to buy back cheaper on the later date. They take a risk of if the share price trending up immediately after Ex Date. Then they will miss the chance of buy low or miss the boat. This strategy is neither right or wrong. It is a 50% right and 50% wrong decision.

Markus S

103 posts

Posted by Markus S > 2016-07-20 18:19 | Report Abuse

The buyback engine has resumed back from today onwards. *vroom*vroom*

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/5152685

Expect to see more buyback as long as the share price stay ridiculously cheap. Good job directors.

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-07-20 19:18 | Report Abuse

Excellent!!! They will support all the way to RM1.00. Buy now and can make 19% return. Free money!!!

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-07-20 19:30 | Report Abuse

Company buy back again .

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2016-07-20 19:32 | Report Abuse

Very aggressive this round.

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-07-20 21:34 | Report Abuse

This actually makes sense. Based on my calculation, cash per share is about RM1.21~RM1.22 after special dividend and today's buy back.

Reading the latest Edge weekly, there is a group of investors who have pooled RM200 million to actively trade in Penny Stocks (stocks priced less than RM1.00). If the share price is too far away from the cash per share, there could be a risk of a hostile take-over of MAA group. One only need around RM120 million to take control of MAA (>50%) at today's price.

If I was on MAA board, knowing this risk, I will have 2 things to do very quickly:
1) Make the share price get close to the cash per share; and
2) Buy a profitable business costing about RM75~RM100 million ASAP.

Both of this will be good for all of us who have been holding this share for some time now. We will gain from
1) Immediate capital appreciation via share buy-back and support of share price; and
2) With profitable business, will get out of PN17 sooner.

I am recommending people to buy this share but decision and risk is yours!

yapts

560 posts

Posted by yapts > 2016-07-20 22:15 | Report Abuse

Buying MAAG at 84 sen you get the share FOC plus 37 sen in your pocket!

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-20 22:25 | Report Abuse

Based on the MAAG management Shares Buy Back track records on 26/04/2016, the management was willing to pay as high as RM0.98 to RM0.985 per share.
During the AGM dated 20/06/2016, the BOD told the shareholders that they were willing to try their best to support the share price to the reasonable value. My wild guess is that maybe they will support at this level.

If the management is willing to pay the last Shares Buy Back prices, The BOD is really creating value to this company and the minority shareholders shall benefit from this move very soon. In a short period of time MAAG share price shall be closer to the intrinsic value.

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-07-21 07:30 | Report Abuse

Thnaks James for u info on share buy back.

limwerty

19 posts

Posted by limwerty > 2016-07-21 14:37 | Report Abuse

My target Price is RM1. waiting it to raise.

WhoKnows

778 posts

Posted by WhoKnows > 2016-07-21 15:40 | Report Abuse

wait till next announcement, sure shoot one

WhoKnows

778 posts

Posted by WhoKnows > 2016-07-21 16:20 | Report Abuse

think today also mgmt buyback

WhoKnows

778 posts

Posted by WhoKnows > 2016-07-21 16:50 | Report Abuse

wow..... 0.85

Posted by smartklseguru > 2016-07-21 18:09 | Report Abuse

balvin71, you mean corporate raider? That usually happened in America and I doubt it will ever happen in Malaysia. Based on my best understanding, it never happen in Asia before. I only seen company took advantage of investors by privatising the company after few years of listing. Of course at much lower price and walk away freely with huge profit. They will usually raid high liquidity stock. Whatever, Happy Trading and have a nice weekend

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-21 18:48 | Report Abuse

20/07/2016 Shares Acquired 304,000 total Treasury Shares 5,109,200 closed at RM0.84
21/07/2016 Shares Acquired 336,000 total Treasury Shares 5,445,200 closed at RM0.85

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-22 09:20 | Report Abuse

Aggressive buying behavior in big lots going to put pressure on the price, as i see it , it is going to one way trending up only by the end of the day.

jamesooi

397 posts

Posted by jamesooi > 2016-07-22 09:30 | Report Abuse

So aggressively implemented the Shares Buy Back by the company, by the time we receive our special dividend, the share price is going to push up so much, we don't even have the chance to buy low anymore.

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-07-22 10:16 | Report Abuse

Thanks James for u thinking. Ya, unless use own cash first before it is too high.

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2016-07-22 10:55 | Report Abuse

Can't wait for pay day and dividend, will buy some more. Hope stays here for a while.

11,887 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2016-07-22 12:49 | Report Abuse

Who knew this stock would let me have so many cakes & eat all of them too? :D

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-07-22 14:27 | Report Abuse

I have add some this morning. I do not recommend buy or sell.

WhoKnows

778 posts

Posted by WhoKnows > 2016-07-22 15:24 | Report Abuse

mgmt still picking up shares today...... wow, wonder what is their target price

Cipta

1,038 posts

Posted by Cipta > 2016-07-22 16:31 | Report Abuse

imaging price today is RM0.86 and cash in hand is RM1.21, every buying will gain a profit of at least RM0.35 or 40.68% profit instantly, Management decision is logic.