BURSA MALAYSIA BHD

KLSE (MYR): BURSA (1818)

+0.10 (1.32%)

7.58 - 7.72

10 people like this.

5,331 comment(s). Last comment by yielder 1 week ago

Posted by keithtrade > 2022-07-05 18:40 | Report Abuse

It's cash level amazingly higher than its market capitalisation

Posted by Value Investor Coo1eo > 2022-07-06 15:57 | Report Abuse

@keithtrade - where did you get that? Cash > MarketCap ???

5,744 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2022-07-06 20:43 | Report Abuse

pai sieh BNM OPR oredi increase ?

5,744 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2022-07-07 22:11 | Report Abuse

lets see 28 July announcement ada good kah

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-07-08 08:55 | Report Abuse

yfchong, unless they find some uncashed cheques that may have fallen behind the filing cabinets or under the sofa cushions, I'd expect their EPS to be lower than the last two quarters low level earnings.

Posted by MarcusBioTech > 2022-07-09 00:01 | Report Abuse

I have been to Satay Restaurant packed with customers with RM50,000 in revenue PER DAY. That is superb Tier 1 Business

Now, we have a Monopoly of stock exchange trade with RM1.2 Billion to RM2.5 Billion PER DAY , yes repeat with a “B”illion every single trading day

This is MOAT competitive advantage that is very difficult to break (Warren Buffett, 1994)

You want to invest in Bursa stocks with

1] 44% ROE
2] 16 times PER
3] >5% dividend yield

This is opportunity to lock in at low prices. I have no idea what the share price will be tomorrow or next week but I do know it will rise over next 3-5 years.

Thanks to more companies going for listing as Malaysia economy has continuous growth since 1957 except for 4 recessionary years.

Disclosure:I am not paid or represent any company, thus, please research before buying the shares.I am long in BURSA Berhad - wonderful business.

5,744 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2022-07-09 18:45 | Report Abuse

Let's see anither interest rate hike will be the entry point?

5,744 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2022-07-11 14:32 | Report Abuse

Time line after september 22

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-07-15 12:34 | Report Abuse

Half day market vol only RM491 mil?? You are a dead duck Bursa. Your share price should be less than RM5. So fake.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-07-15 13:11 | Report Abuse

It looks like this upcoming quarterly report will have DATV of around RM2.1 Billion, compared to the previous quarter of around RM2.6 Billion. Perhaps around an 18% drop.

Adding to the gloom is the current quarter's daily figures.

Surely has to be heading to the Rm6.20 price point I mentioned. How far below that is the next major question to deal with.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-07-15 19:10 | Report Abuse

"Adding to the gloom is the current quarter's daily figures. "
On;y Rm1.06 Billion for Friday 15th July.

5,744 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2022-07-16 10:21 | Report Abuse

Below 6 ada chance

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-07-22 13:09 | Report Abuse

Thursday 28th July the dividend announcement is due. I guess we will see the damage the politician's have done with the 50% increase in stamp duties. I suspects its a case of higher tax so lose business and maybe as a result less taxes collected. We will see the real damage in the Dividend next week hopefully wise heads have cost cut to manage the business to cope with the drop in revenue.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-07-22 13:30 | Report Abuse

Im expecting a lacklustre quarterly report next Thursday, with an EPS lower than the last two quarters. Anything other than that would be a surprise to me.
Having said that, what I am curious about is the "bounce" from 6.21 to currently 6.40 (intraday high 6.47) over the past few days.
The cynical side of me is thinking it might be a push up so that it can be shorted from a higher starting point. There has been no new short positions taken over the last three days.

Let's see what next week brings.

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-07-23 14:40 | Report Abuse

With EPF buying Bursa I think it would take a very brave person to short Bersa. Another thought is maybe EPF has had a heads up on whats intended for Bursa such as the mad 50% increase in stamp duty being removed so that Bersa can be regionally competitive again. EPF would stand to do quite well on its shares. But of course this is Malaysia and a nod and a wink between the MOF and EPF would never happen. Right?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-07-26 10:30 | Report Abuse

Hi @getingreal, you stated...."With EPF buying Bursa I think it would take a very brave person to short Bersa."

First point, EPF have not bought Bursa since the 14th June, although I see no relevance in that.
More importantly regarding your statement, if you look back to mid last year, EPF were regular buyers of the stock in June and July with daily purchases of 200K to 300K daily. At the same time the stock was beginning to be shorted with the short sales increasing in big numbers from August. Over that period the short position increased dramatically from just under 2 million shares to over 5 million shares. EPF had been buying at 8.15+ and the share price plunged to eventually stop at around 6.15.

fruitcake

712 posts

Posted by fruitcake > 2022-07-26 10:52 | Report Abuse

hahaha...volume

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-07-26 17:10 | Report Abuse

Hi Treetop. I'm suitably bruised.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-07-26 17:29 | Report Abuse

Hi getingreal, I just wanted to highlight the facts as I was following it very closely back then. No malice or bruising intended :)

5,744 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2022-07-28 07:06 | Report Abuse

Any dividend announcement.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-07-28 07:14 | Report Abuse

yfchong, there should be a dividend attached to the upcoming quarterly today. I would expect it to be lower than the last one, 17 cents.

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-07-28 12:18 | Report Abuse

Price going up before a likely poor announcement? Strange. Insider or blur?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-07-28 14:08 | Report Abuse

Quarterly out, EPS of 7.3 cents, compared to 8.4 cents last quarter.
15 cents dividend.

Everything down as expected.

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-07-28 14:15 | Report Abuse

Beat or miss TreeTop? Probably it's the former, that's why price is up. Probably not as bad as feared. All belakang mari, that's how I like it :)

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-07-28 14:20 | Report Abuse

LM, marginally lower than I thought, I was targetting EPS of around 7.5 cents. Dividend inline with expectations.
The concern now is this current quarter, as daily transaction values have been WAY LOWER than the quarter just reported.
I know it's only one month out of three but the values have been very low, to date.

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2022-07-28 15:22 | Report Abuse

Many people fed up with so many rubbish stocks and ipo in bursa and shift capital to us market already , better take profit while it is still rm 6.xx , it will drop to rm 3.xx later !

Posted by investmalaysia618 > 2022-07-28 15:51 | Report Abuse

indeed, most people will only invest a small portion of their portfolio in klse. too many scam counters in bursa d. even blue chips drop alot and never went back up to previous high.

InvestorX

30 posts

Posted by InvestorX > 2022-07-29 10:18 | Report Abuse

Im no master but Probably the price jumped due to dividend announcement hype. Earnings now normalising to pre pandemic period (plus minus growth)
Past two years were just an anomaly.

sasword

1,139 posts

Posted by sasword > 2022-07-29 13:04 |

Posted by redhotpepper > 2022-07-29 15:10 | Report Abuse

Nice, dividend of 0.15 sen.

efugor

20 posts

Posted by efugor > 2022-07-29 18:01 | Report Abuse

谈Bursa https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CqdI5zyLaqk

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-07-29 19:21 | Report Abuse

Since yesterday's quarterly release the IB's have been coming out with their new predictions. The one I was hoping to see was from Jeremy Goh from HLB, as I totally disagreed with his bullish views earlier this year. Not to be disappointed, he released his new opinion :)

A complete turnaround from his earlier predictions of Rm7.95, now downgraded to Rn5.65!
That's even lower than my previous Fibonacci target of 5.80.. :)

Although seemingly coincidental, it was his bullish targets and reporting earlier this year that took Bursa from 6.20 to 6.80 within a few days, the rise happening at the same time as his report. The whole play was very, very odd.

I somehow feel vindicated now :)

https://klse.i3investor.com/web/staticfile/view/468317

5,744 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2022-07-30 07:15 | Report Abuse

lastly ada dividend

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-07-30 10:25 | Report Abuse

He finally saw the darkness and came to his senses TreeTop.

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-08-04 12:35 | Report Abuse

Don't completely discount that the ill conceived 50% stamp duty increase may be shelved once the impact is clear. The Minister of Finance made his view known that he thinks the increase was undesirable. Sure there is no certainty, however should the Minister have his way it will be abolished or substantially reduced (maybe in the next budget) and if it is then the positive impact on Bersa share price will be dramatic and immediate as the impact was very negative and immediate when the tax was imposed. I agree the value add put on Bersa shares due to the possibility of the change of heart is hard to put a number on, but to my mind its not zero.

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-08-05 14:44 | Report Abuse

Of course anything is possible in bolehland. Known to be shameless, flip flopping and changing goal post half way.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-08-09 10:32 | Report Abuse

To me, the share price still seems to be defying gravity. Whether that will change once it goes ex dividend on Thursday (11th) is yet to be seen.
I still think the logical scenario is for the price to drop, and I retain the targets of 6.35 and 6.20 as important price points.

I keep going back to the data and the low daily transaction values and scratch my head as to why this hasn't dropped, even before the upcoming ex dividend date.

Posted by unicornbird > 2022-08-10 09:46 | Report Abuse

Treetop i guess Razak's exchange completion might bring more commodity trading in. probably oil and iron ore
those will boost bursa's earning

Posted by unicornbird > 2022-08-10 09:47 | Report Abuse

agree that the current price is unreasonable, given the rising interest environment and very poor daily transaction volume

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-08-10 11:18 | Report Abuse

Hi unicornbird.......I would doubt that by adding new products to their list would make that much of a difference to the bottom line.
What needs to change is the pool of money that is being invested in all the Bursa products, with obviously the Main market volumes and values requiring a major cash input. This is something we are currently not seeing, in fact the opposite is occurring.

Last quarter's volume and value was poor and although only 6 weeks into the new quarter, the numbers are currently drastically lower than the previous quarter.

I don't see anything changing to the upside until the pool of local and foreign money increases drastically. Certainly no sign of that yet, which points to yet again a lower net profit and EPS for this current quarter.

Posted by unicornbird > 2022-08-10 12:06 | Report Abuse

TT you're right. for now, I also feel the price is too high. I rather buy banks with better yield.
for the new products, please don't underestimate the power. 1 deal of oil is enough to change the game, as China trades insane amount of oil in this region.

5,744 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2022-08-10 23:20 | Report Abuse

DJI taken steroid today dose #1

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-08-17 08:20 | Report Abuse

Is it an illusion? Higher DATV is returning to Bursa? Why?

5,744 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2022-08-20 17:07 | Report Abuse

Minday ada ong

James_Bond

2,416 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2022-09-06 22:09 | Report Abuse

Darling, can I advice you something?! Cash out and stay away from stock market! Economic recession tsunami is around the corner!

5,744 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2022-09-18 22:49 | Report Abuse

Below 5.88

Posted by MaluNegaraKu > 2022-09-22 14:43 | Report Abuse

Below 5

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-10-05 16:28 | Report Abuse

More gloom for Bursa Bhd.

"Bursa’s average daily trading volume (ADV) appears to be trailing at RM1.62 billion in the third quarter of 2022 (3Q22), compared to RM2.1 billion in 2Q22, and RM2.89 billion in 3Q21, said Kenanga Research. “This comes close to our expected ADV for the period at RM1.55 billion,” it said in a note on Wednesday (Oct 5)."

That's a 20% drop from the previous quarter, so it'll be interesting to see what the EPS is for the quarter to be reported late this month.

Going below Rm6 in becoming more of a reality, imo.

5,744 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2022-10-05 21:25 | Report Abuse

Below Rm6 can make a pitch

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-10-06 10:14 | Report Abuse

@yfchong, I agree that below Rm6 would be a far safer entry point.
The next question would be where, high,mid or low Rm5's?

The upcoming quarterly results could finally take the price below Rm6.............although I think it should be down there already :)

Good luck.