BURSA MALAYSIA BHD

KLSE (MYR): BURSA (1818)

7.45 - 7.49

10 people like this.

5,331 comment(s). Last comment by yielder 1 day ago

tts752

111 posts

Posted by tts752 > 2022-03-16 14:41 | Report Abuse

something is brewing...

Posted by YouNeedTrust > 2022-03-16 14:46 | Report Abuse

6.87 go go go

nab8080

24 posts

Posted by nab8080 > 2022-03-16 14:49 | Report Abuse

Target 7.50

hcthey

224 posts

Posted by hcthey > 2022-03-16 15:04 | Report Abuse

Hopefully it will break $7.00 before closing,

hcthey

224 posts

Posted by hcthey > 2022-03-16 15:10 | Report Abuse

This counter reached its highest of RM10.80 on the 6-8-2020, there is still room for it to go up further,

Posted by YouNeedTrust > 2022-03-16 15:44 | Report Abuse

6.90 go go

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-03-16 16:47 | Report Abuse

QWH coming this Friday?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-03-16 18:35 | Report Abuse

LM, I'm assuming that you're not referring to Quality Whore Humping.

As for the other QWH, yes this Friday is the first for the year.

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-03-18 17:05 | Report Abuse

Bursa's income is good today. Mkt vol RM5.7 bil. But like TreeTop says, one swallow doesn't make a summer or spring :)

masterus

3,529 posts

Posted by masterus > 2022-03-19 07:20 | Report Abuse

Harvesting worldwide us dollar and us inflation transfer to worldwide started.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-03-19 09:50 | Report Abuse

Good morning LM, yes, very good volume and value traded yesterday.......you know what I'm going to say next, don't you? :)

Yes.....the volumes and values of blue chips were elevated due to the QWH. If only we could have that event on a daily basis :)

Kenokaya

167 posts

Posted by Kenokaya > 2022-03-21 10:56 | Report Abuse

Sori KWH tu apa?

hcthey

224 posts

Posted by hcthey > 2022-03-21 11:58 | Report Abuse

today, Bursa counter will definitely break RM7.00 barrier and then towards RM7.20

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-03-21 12:18 | Report Abuse

I pun tak tau apa tu KWH. Mungkin Tenaga tau kot. Kalau QWH, guru TreeTop sudah bagi tuition kat Tenaga thread. Cheers bro or puss :)

Luckup

41 posts

Posted by Luckup > 2022-03-21 19:55 | Report Abuse

KWH - Kilo watt hour

hcthey

224 posts

Posted by hcthey > 2022-03-22 09:33 | Report Abuse

EPF is still in the market and is the main buyer of this counter, hopefully it will reach 7,20 to 7.35 for today.

masterus

3,529 posts

Posted by masterus > 2022-03-23 11:04 | Report Abuse

Washington’s ‘trigger-happy’ sanctions may push countries away from the dollar, says think tank
PUBLISHED MON, MAR 21 202210:25 PM EDT
Abigail Ng
@ABIGAILNGWY
WATCH LIVE
KEY POINTS
Central banks are starting to question whether reliance on the U.S. dollar is a good idea, said Gal Luft of the Institute for the Analysis of Global Security.
“The United States has extended itself, has been extremely trigger-happy when it comes to the use of sanctions and other economic punishments,” he said.
Separately, Luft said the energy market is facing “a heart attack on top of a heart attack” with Covid and the Russia-Ukraine war.

masterus

3,529 posts

Posted by masterus > 2022-03-24 06:52 | Report Abuse

Dilayan macam penjenayah di Jerman kerana vaksin Sinovac

SEPANG – Hasrat dua adik-beradik lelaki mahu menyambut Ramadan bersama-sama adik kandung mereka di Dusseldorf, Jerman bertukar menjadi mimpi ngeri.

Kegembiraan mereka yang ditemani ibu bapa dari Kuala Terengganu setelah menempuh perjalanan jauh itu berubah apabila diusir keluar dari negara tersebut.

Ia gara-gara menerima vaksin jenama Coronavac keluaran firma Sinovac Biotech dari China itu tidak diterima pihak berkuasa Jerman walaupun telah lengkap menerima dos penggalak Comirnaty (Pfizer).

Politik vaccine orang Barat.

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-03-24 17:05 | Report Abuse

Bursa's income today is bad with market vol only at RM2.114 bil. Last few days was also poor at less than RM3 bil per day. Coming qtr financials will be miserable. How can it possibly justify current price level? So fakey.

Posted by unicornbird > 2022-03-25 10:25 | Report Abuse

who is pushing up the share price?

Posted by Thirai Thiraviam > 2022-03-25 16:08 | Report Abuse

LM - the current price of RM7.0 could be justified if Bursa returned a quarterly EPS of at least 7.25 cents. This number is lower than the last quarter's EPS, but higher than pre-pandemic levels. Given how excited the market is at the prospect of the BN regime returning to power, perhaps the heightened price is justified, no? (Before May 2018, Bursa's EPS was consistently well above 7.25 cents.)

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-03-26 10:22 | Report Abuse

Good morning @Thirai Thiraviam, if I could just pick you up on a few comments you made.

You said "(Before May 2018, Bursa's EPS was consistently well above 7.25 cents"

Your statement is correct, however, in April 2018 Bursa issued a 1:2 Bonus Rights Issue, hence the lower EPS from 2018 onwards.

You said...."Given how excited the market is at the prospect of the BN regime returning to power"

I have certainly not seen any signs of that. I also do not concur with your sentiment.

DATV has increased this month, however much of that was in the first two weeks of the month and I'd suggest that was caused by large daily volumes in crude oil and palm oil stocks, clearly due to the price rise of those commodities due to the Ukraine invasion. In the past week or so, daily DATV have been slipping back to as low as Rm2.1 levels since that early exuberance has waned.

For the current quarter, month on month DATV has increased, albeit from a very low base in January of just a touch over Rm2 billion. Month to date DATV is currently Rm3.2 billion, with four more trading days to go, so there shouldn't be too much of a change to that figure by month's end.

Keep in mind, Bursa required a DATV for March of Rm3 billion to merely match the last quarter's low DATV figures.

It would be fair to say that the market is not "booming" in total value transactions, in my opinion.

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-03-26 10:42 | Report Abuse

Guru has spoken. Case rested.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-03-26 11:13 | Report Abuse

lol @lionel messi, hardly a guru, just merely giving figures that are readily available for those who care to take the time to read and analyse them.

Nothing I can see indicates why a large cap company can rise 10%+ in three days of trading without any significant news. This is expected in the low capped end of the market but not a company with a Rm5.6 Billion market cap.

But the price doesn't lie, so if people are comfortable buying at these levels then so be it.

Posted by unicornbird > 2022-03-26 13:33 | Report Abuse

Treetop what do you think is the reason for recent spike in share price?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-03-26 14:06 | Report Abuse

@unicornbird, I can only give an opinion, so I'm definitely not saying that I am correct.

For the 4 days prior to the move upwards volume was very light, ranging from 292k to 594k. On the day prior to the move the volume was only 292k.
With no news released on the first day of the 3 day rise, the price went from 6.20 to 6.42 and volume increased almost ten fold to 2.74 million.
My personal thoughts are that it was orchestrated, planned by an IB or Fund(s)

Coincidently.......(cough.... cough) two IB's released positive reports on Bursa on day two of the rise, the price went from 6.42 to 6.90 with volume of 5.8 million.

My thoughts are that this was a well planned push to squeeze the shorts who had shorted between 6.20 and 6.80.
Short figures confirm that Bursa shorts have dropped from ~8 million to 5 million during this run, so a net covering of 3 million shorts. It appears that the plan worked........that's if there was a plan and I might be dreaming all of this :)

On the other side of the coin, if it was merely an oversold and value play, I am sure that Funds would be controlling the upward price so that they could accumulate the stock at various levels. Clearly that didn't happen.

Just my thoughts.

Posted by unicornbird > 2022-03-27 12:46 | Report Abuse

Treetop well said. it's worth to understand every possible situation. the short covering theory could be valid, thanks for sharing it. The brokers use the story about election boost, to justify for the increase in price. but from the past, election only can push up transaction for 1 month. It's insufficient to bring much value

I have another question. If Funds want to buy & keep Bursa, they will slowly buy & not let the shares shoot up so much in short span of time? How do they prevent insider from leaking the info?

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-03-27 17:08 | Report Abuse

The way and speed in which it went up in an environment of low DATV, am incline to suspect the work of insiders, not investors. There is a bigger picture at play. You hear it first here :)

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-03-28 14:28 | Report Abuse

Half day market vol so pathetic today. Only RM805 mil. Lofty share price sustainable?

Posted by unicornbird > 2022-03-29 08:57 | Report Abuse

if Fed raise rate again, the volume will drop further

Asia88

588 posts

Posted by Asia88 > 2022-03-31 09:59 | Report Abuse

What's the door gift for attending the AGM?

Posted by Thirai Thiraviam > 2022-03-31 17:16 | Report Abuse

There were quite a number of questions on this yesterday. Nothing is the answer. A number of shareholders were unhappy that the board members, paid RM200k annually, also receive RM3,000 as meeting allowance.

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-04-01 08:38 | Report Abuse

Never mind. Price going up. Shareholders happy. DATV so miserable. Retail interest almost non existent. Everything so fake.

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-04-01 08:48 | Report Abuse

Management and govt still sleeping on fat gaji buta. So bodoh increase transaction cost for more revenue konon. DATV so low, where is the revenue? Guna la otak sikit. Don't make bodoh policies.

LossAversion

1,684 posts

Posted by LossAversion > 2022-04-01 08:51 | Report Abuse

Gaji buta = Gaji senang= Jadi BOD Bursa Malaysia

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-04-01 09:38 | Report Abuse

If it wasn't for the first 2 weeks of March having extra volume in crude oil and palm oil stocks due to the Ukraine conflict, the DATV for March would be dismal.

The average DATV for the last 9 trading days of March comes in at 2.33 billion.

Posted by unicornbird > 2022-04-03 16:42 | Report Abuse

Treetop is there any chance Bursa add more commodities trading, like iron ore and oil? the reason I ask is that BHP and Aramco has recently invested in malaysia.

Posted by unicornbird > 2022-04-03 17:24 | Report Abuse

Shenzhen and bursa link up may help also
https://exbulletin.com/business/1531190/
CHINA is undeniably a leading financial market for Malaysian investors, given the growth of its financial sector and the rapid expansion of business and financial investment globally.

This is particularly evident since China’s financial liberalization, where various policies to reform the country’s financial markets have been implemented – including on its stock exchanges.

At the same time, Chinese investors are also looking for investment opportunities beyond their national borders, especially in Asean countries.

Located in the heart of Asean, Malaysia is an important gateway to one of the fastest growing regions in the world.....

ivanlau

1,324 posts

Posted by ivanlau > 2022-04-05 21:30 | Report Abuse

------- quote -----
Stock: [BURSA]: BURSA MALAYSIA BHD

Mar 12, 2022 9:17 PM | Report Abuse

If based on forward eps 32 x 21 pe, the most conservative fair value in 2022 will be at least rm 6.72, today closing 6.21, think about that...........
------- unquote -------
Today closing 7.15 !!!

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-04-15 10:26 | Report Abuse

Today's DATV going to be beautifully low. Still recommending buy? Don't get conned. Obviously got vested interest or secret agenda. Keep on talking up the price. So fake.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-04-15 11:10 | Report Abuse

Howdy LM, I hope all's well with you, buddy.
Yeah, agree with your comments and it appears that HLB is pushing this donkey with their comments over the past three months that are all over the place, like a mad woman's custard.

I'll detail what I mean tomorrow when I have a bit more free time. All the best.

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-04-15 12:22 | Report Abuse

Hello guru. We shall await your masterclass presentation with bated breadth :)

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-04-16 10:07 | Report Abuse

LM.....for your eyes only.......lol

On January 13 this year HLB came out with a pre December Quarterly report on Bursa, stating that due to steadily lower DATV of Rm2.55 Billion, they reduced their valuation price down to 5.95. At the time I agreed with their assessment and valuation, mainly due to the DATV and the unknown effect of the new stamp duty charges commencing in January 2022.

Then on the 16th March they came out with another report stating a valuation of 7.27. This report coincidently coincided with a 3 day pump in the Bursa share price from 6.20 to 6.90's !!
Now the important part........the DATV for the March quarter only moved up from Rm2.55 Billion to the new DATV of Rm 2.60 Billion. So, a very small marginal change in DATV but a valuation increase of 22% !

Now, on the 14th April they have yet again came out with another valuation update of 7.95, a 33.6% increase from their January 13 report!
Although we are only half way into the first month of the new current quarter, the DATV is around 10% lower than the full March quarter DATV.

From what I have read from all of those 3 reports from HLB, the ONLY thing they are citing as a reason for their continued higher valuations is the "election season effect", although the actual REPORTED NUMBERS don't back up any of their valuations.

Good luck if you are buying Bursa on a possible election boom in the overall market.

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-04-16 13:05 | Report Abuse

You never disappoint guru. Masterpiece backed by facts. One of the many dead horses to be flogged :)

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-04-19 10:04 | Report Abuse

Current April DATV are woeful. To date, most of the daily volumes and values for April are anaemic, however the past two trading days have really been taking a belting.

"Total turnover increased to 2.44 billion units worth RM1.57 billion from 2.15 billion units worth RM1.41 billion last Friday.". Pitifully low DATV.
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/bursa-malaysia-ends-intraday-low

Posted by unicornbird > 2022-04-20 09:31 | Report Abuse

I like the negative news

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-04-28 16:00 | Report Abuse

Hopeless results not even worth talking about. Worse yet to come.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-04-28 17:26 | Report Abuse

Agree LM, although it's not as if it wasn't expected though.
The market needs to kick on over the next 2 months, otherwise if it remains as it is, then expect their next quarterly EPS of 7.X

Posted by unicornbird > 2022-04-28 19:57 | Report Abuse

If Bursa makes 8 cents per quarter, 32 cents a year. It can pay about 4% dividend, seems reasonable amount for low risk company? Other exchanges are also paying about 3% dividend