barramundi mate, you've made my day with your math.
are you aware that the leftover assets in ECM after disposal and return of capital will mainly comprise of liquid assets. Despite the rest, CASH itself would be 659m - 443m = 216m and this translates to more than 70% of its book value (equity) after distribution.
be prudent and value the cash at 1.0x P/B?
moreover, the P/B on this sale (IB division) is 1.2x?
right on PierreV ! this brings to mind a similar counter CIHldg which sold off its drinks business and the proceeds were distributed among its shareholders, and did the share drop? NO, it is still 1.23++ because the intrinsic value of its remaining assets did not disappear overnight.
I'm not disputing that pierre...i'm just pointing out the ex all price and I also did not say it will drop to 50sen...only stating if it does drop to that level then the all in ex price will be even lower. of course theoritically if u're getting at least 53sen per share in cash, it would not be likely it will drop till 50sen. like nubhan said, 76sen should be the support, breaking that could trend down to possible 63sen...of course that's TA only.
Brother andyteng , you all have read what brothers James Woon , PierreVenochi & jtpc2006 had said and they had explain to you all clearly, fully & logically.. All you have to do is to use your common sense & think logically. I have given you clear views of what's ECM is worth & it's strong points on the takeover of ECM share broking arm & the rest is still intact with a big cash pile to use for future investment & it's up to you to believe what is being said or to believe the devilish thoughts of a few. Please don't be discourage by some with devilish minds & sheepish laughter as they nothing to do but to spoil the fun of others. Please think positively & ask yourself if ECM is heading for the PN17 boat?
Now ask yourself if a successful businessman like Ambank Chairman Azman with a large percentage of ECM shares is that stupid to dispose it with a big loss? Maybe if these few devilish minds members here think they are smarter than Tan Sri Azman by giving all sorts of ridiculous comments, then they will multi-millionaires instead of sitting in front of their computer & use their devilish minds to poison the ECM investors. Sometimes it makes me wonder if there are such evil minded people exist?
So, my friends, be positive & think logically & not fall into the "fear pit" as some devilish people want you to be.
Cheers to all & please please use your sound mind to think logically, will you......reason out yourself logically & make your own decision.....many thanks.
Yes, brother Jolly Mypet , that's what some devilish mind members here wants us to believe by given all sorts of ridiculous negative statements. ECM selling ONLY the share broking arm and ECM shareholders getting a total of 68 cents & still have ECM shares and the devilish minded person say ECM is worth 65 cents....can you imagine that, OMG.....cheers.
bro Chong and all like minded friends, there is this thing called reverse psychology practised by the few fault-finders here, that is to frighten the crowd, depress the share price and then swoop in to make a killing by buying low and then wait for the fruits to fall. If you read between the lines and the snide remarks made, that's being greedy.round. Let's remain objective, cool, logical,reasonable and generous.
My dealing with ECM, bought at 79sen in April betting on takeover, sold at 85 sen after the news feeling that the management may not give us a good deal. Now after the announcement of the repayment, try to buy back at the best price possible. It's like paying about 12 sen for a stock with cash of 26 sen per share and a small on going business, good or bad I'm not sure,but I know that I got a discount of more than 50% .
Don't panic,ECM need some time to digest after many days in favorite.When ECM price going up everybody talk positive when price coming down everybody will condemn .Just wait,now is too early to comment.
0.76 will be lovely, which means paying .08 for a stock with cash of 0.26 per share. For those who bought at 0.86 , don't feel bad, you are actually paying 0.18 for 0.26, it's still a gain of 8 sen. So cheer up!
After giving us back cash and KNN share the management retains about RM 216M cash which translates into 26 sen per share (derived from 216/827 outstd. shares). The cash and KNN shares add up to about 68 sen, so if you buy at 80 sen the investment cost for this 26 sen stock is 80-68= 12 sen only. Right ?
The date of entitlement and the ex-date has not been announced, only buying after ex-date will not be entitled to this repayment. But after ex-date the price can be...... well , try make a good guess.
A very similar trading pattern like OSK, the share price slump after the announcement with selling order far exceed the buying side. The deal may be better than OSK however there is too many punters waiting to cash out, will be interested to see if ECM able to hold on well for the coming days.
OSK is duly to receive stag of RM$ and as for ECM is duly to pay alot of RM$ !! More interesting is where is the money coming from for ECM ? Another "right issue" ????
Casual_investor, there are many undervalued stocks but their prices just don reflect it. The selling could be due to speculative fund want to pull out quickly, investors are not convinced on the deal etc. The well-informed people might have sold out the share during the hype earlier, that's why the shares didnt move up as much as it supposed to be although nearing the announcement.
Casual_investor, this only means that you get a discount of more than 50% of something worth 26 sen .It does not mean that you gain 14 sen unless the ex-all price is 26 sen and this will take a few months more to come. The question here is whether worth waiting that long or not.
different mind works differently some people think it is better to take profit now rather than wait because anything can happen tomorrow. after all it is their money and also their investment strategy. hey sierra sierra whatever will be will be the future is not ours to see hey sierra sierra !
erm eagleis , y are you so angry when get ECM with their own money??..y ur angry like people are using your money to buy..i think people have their own decision on what to do with their own money =)
Bro. usry nothing is impossible from the trend yesterday is panic selling and profit taking. If ECM commented no good then today should be going down again but today has rebound it show something is positive. Am i right?
People who like this
You should check in on some of those fields below.
Title
Category
Comment
Confirmation
Click Confirm to delete this Forum Thread and all the associated comments.
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
PierreVenochi
4 posts
Posted by PierreVenochi > 2012-06-18 11:52 | Report Abuse
barramundi mate, you've made my day with your math.
are you aware that the leftover assets in ECM after disposal and return of capital will mainly comprise of liquid assets. Despite the rest, CASH itself would be 659m - 443m = 216m and this translates to more than 70% of its book value (equity) after distribution.
be prudent and value the cash at 1.0x P/B?
moreover, the P/B on this sale (IB division) is 1.2x?