HAP SENG CONSOLIDATED BHD

KLSE (MYR): HAPSENG (3034)

4.06 - 4.10

18 people like this.

4,183 comment(s). Last comment by SinGor 1 week ago

suz99

104 posts

Posted by suz99 > 2014-02-27 18:17 | Report Abuse

Quarter report is out EPS 7.16 no dividend
http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/1551469

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-02-27 19:19 | Report Abuse

Haha

mikekong55

4,805 posts

Posted by mikekong55 > 2014-02-28 17:55 | Report Abuse

hiddengem. normally don't announce dividend on release of result. wait 10 days maybe there is an announcement.

mikekong55

4,805 posts

Posted by mikekong55 > 2014-02-28 18:42 | Report Abuse

hiddengem. true as what you say. just like yesterday luckily cut knm and sell salcon to offset losses. end result still make rm830+. today my fund manager inform be to bottom fish MKH @ 3.77/3.78 bought 170k with all my invested fund in hand; since there is force selling for this stock this morning.anyway good to work for the fund loh. for your info penny and 2nd liners will be adjusting for the next 3 weeks or so; so better buy less if you still stay invested. good luck and have a nice weekend.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-02-28 22:46 | Report Abuse

today sbb 1,354,300 units, also cpo again stood above 2800 today. be patient

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-03-01 23:59 | Report Abuse

I see. Bye Hiddengem ah hia.

Iafx, 10% limit is very near. Haha

theven

110 posts

Posted by theven > 2014-03-03 16:05 | Report Abuse

Go Hapseng go. Going to break resistance very soon.... Go Go Go

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-03-03 18:09 | Report Abuse

Aggressive buyback last 3 days

suz99

104 posts

Posted by suz99 > 2014-03-03 20:33 | Report Abuse

another immediate buy back announcement today.

Shinferre

82 posts

Posted by Shinferre > 2014-03-04 09:48 | Report Abuse

Can hapseng break historical high again?

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-03-04 20:41 | Report Abuse

Getting close to the limit

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-03-05 10:47 | Report Abuse

m'sia pushing for B5 in july which incl Sabah will set the palm oil price at very attractive price to planters, especially those with process facilities.

indon is way ahead of m'sia in biodiesel development, indon refiner short of palm supply due to hot weather: http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-news/278471-indonesian-refiners-short-on-palm-supply-may-suffer-losses-traders.html

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-03-05 19:35 | Report Abuse

Malaysia also hot & dry. The heat is unbearable. Sigh

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-03-06 11:32 | Report Abuse

this is one ctr that has been overlooked, apart from holding 55% of hsplant, this ctr alone holds 31K ha of mature oil palm estates (several r still recorded as 1978, 1996 cost!), palm oil mills and a host of other businesses.

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-03-06 19:11 | Report Abuse

Iafx, where you get this info?

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-03-06 23:53 | Report Abuse

all in the latest annual report, u'll be amazed ;)

AK $$

380 posts

Posted by AK $$ > 2014-03-07 10:03 | Report Abuse

this time got no dividend ah?

ktsk88

5,284 posts

Posted by ktsk88 > 2014-03-07 11:08 | Report Abuse

The last quarter despite increase profit, yet no dividend is announced is abit disappointed. But nevertheless the total year dividend of 16sen is about 5.0x% based on RM3.02. Not bad too.

Might be some share dividend later on since buyback almost reach 10%.

Another option is the company cancel out all the buyback thus increasing the EPS from smaller capital thus pushing the share price to the north.

Kudos to those still holding on and hoping the best yet to come. I sold mine b4 it collapsed from touching new high 1 month back n made 42% return on capital alone not including all the dividends paid n collected thus far.

For those still holding, keep holding and watch it touch new high around 3.20.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-03-07 12:42 | Report Abuse

the palm estate nbv on its balance sheet is way out dated, it's naps far more than it is recorded now.

lkf0512

147 posts

Posted by lkf0512 > 2014-03-08 21:01 | Report Abuse

Notice of Resale/Cancellation of Treasury Shares - Immediate Announcement
HAP SENG CONSOLIDATED BERHAD

Date of transaction 07/03/2014
Currency Malaysian Ringgit (MYR)
Total number of treasury shares sold (units) 0
Total number of treasury shares cancelled (units) 60,000,000
Minimum price paid for each share sold ($$) 0.000
Maximum price paid for each share sold ($$) 0.000
Total amount received for treasury shares sold ($$) 0.00
Cumulative net outstanding treasury shares as at to-date (units) 157,004,700
Adjusted issued capital after cancellation/resale
(no. of shares) (units) 2,157,141,567

Remarks :
cc: Securities Commission

Announcement Info
Company Name HAP SENG CONSOLIDATED BERHAD
Stock Name HAPSENG
Date Announced 7 Mar 2014
Category Notice of Resale/Cancellation of Treasury Shares - Immediate Announcement
Reference No HS-140306-59225

Greyson

82 posts

Posted by Greyson > 2014-03-08 23:28 | Report Abuse

Dear Malaysia traders and investors, Im an University undergraduate and I would like to ask for your help for spending 5-10 mins to fill up my final year dissertation survey related to social media and financial decision making.

In return, you would get two ebooks on "high probability trading" and " The intelligent investor".

I greatly appreciate it.
*This survey is for educational purpose and academic research only.

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/18v6W1mL2ehQ_XO6DGkBqPZt1_WU9TyvAaYl2Me5X8pE/edit

lkf0512

147 posts

Posted by lkf0512 > 2014-03-10 07:48 | Report Abuse

I am interested to know the effect brought about by Resale/Cancellation of Treasury Shares...

Any sifu who can teach a layman here?

Thanks,

ohy2012

91 posts

Posted by ohy2012 > 2014-03-10 14:33 | Report Abuse

What is the impact on resale/cancellation of 60,000,000 treasury shares?

Alex Chan

3,915 posts

Posted by Alex Chan > 2014-03-10 14:36 | Report Abuse

cancel good resale bad

upsidedown119

4,326 posts

Posted by upsidedown119 > 2014-03-10 16:29 | Report Abuse

Correct me if I am wrong. If Treasury shares cancelled, then

1) NTA/share will go up;
2) Less shares in market, therefore price of share should go up;
3) Hapseng can buy more Treasury shares;
4) Boost earnings per share;
Negative: Stock buy back and cancellation indicate that the company has excess cash with no feasible investment opportunities - which is unusual. May indicate management not working hard enough and choosing to put company on 'cruise' mode!

ktsk88

5,284 posts

Posted by ktsk88 > 2014-03-10 16:32 | Report Abuse

You're right Upsidedown119. So no hopes for bonus shares since they cancelled the treasury shares. Just that PE will lower and price might be attractive to investors.

upsidedown119

4,326 posts

Posted by upsidedown119 > 2014-03-10 17:32 | Report Abuse

@Greyson. I submitted your survey. Please send the e-books to my email address: upsidedown119@gmail.com

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-03-10 18:13 | Report Abuse

I expect cancellation to be more than 60M unit. Upsidedown119, do you know why HapSeng has so much money for buyback.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-03-10 18:21 | Report Abuse

y? hapseng rolling 4q eps 29c, hold 55.x% of hsplant with variety of businesses. march~may cpo price closed above $2900 already.

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-03-10 23:06 | Report Abuse

Gek Poh, Lei Shin Hong & Hap Seng are like siblings of one father...if you catch my meaning.

Iafx, recurring income from businesses also one of it.

Posted by Yeap Chin Poh > 2014-03-10 23:22 | Report Abuse

Me thinks ever conversion of WA to shares

upsidedown119

4,326 posts

Posted by upsidedown119 > 2014-03-11 09:46 | Report Abuse

@HJey. Hapseng's main cash cow is oil palm plantation (HSPLANT). But back to the buy back. It doesn't make normal sense to buyback and then cancel. Normally treasury shares can be used for ESOS and bonus share issue or buy back to offset the diluting effect of the exercise of warrants.

However, share buyback and cancellation have the effect of creeping privatisation ala Perak Corp! In Perak Corp's case, the attempt at privatisation was effected via a share buy-back offer and cancellation to evade the rules on compulsory general offer in which the acquirer will have to pay 10% above the NTA/share! Perak Corp's offer was RM3.90/share, whereas it's NTA is over RM5/share. However, Hapseng's NTA is only RM1.68 per share. So the only reason that makes sense to me is that Hapseng want to save by not having to pay dividends on the shares bought back. If that is the case, why cancellation, since Hapseng do not have to pay dividends on Treasury shares. Can anyone give more clues as to why Hapseng cancel shares it bought back?

dalpinia

2,299 posts

Posted by dalpinia > 2014-03-11 12:04 | Report Abuse

is it confirm cancel the treasury share?

upsidedown119

4,326 posts

Posted by upsidedown119 > 2014-03-11 13:53 | Report Abuse

@ktsk88. They did not cancel ALL their treasury shares. They still hold 157,004,700 treasury shares AFTER cancellation. So still hope for bonus.

dalpinia

2,299 posts

Posted by dalpinia > 2014-03-11 14:45 | Report Abuse

true....

jtoh1985

440 posts

Posted by jtoh1985 > 2014-03-11 15:29 | Report Abuse

upsidedown119... i guess hapseng want to push up again the share price....
Let us see the result after half year...

upsidedown119

4,326 posts

Posted by upsidedown119 > 2014-03-11 15:57 | Report Abuse

Thanks jtoh1985 for your suggestion. Now who will benefit when price is pushed up and dilution of share due to exercise of warrants is prevented by share buyback and cancellation?! The holders of a lot of warrants of course!! Now does anyone knows who owns a lot of warrants and exercising them? Anyway, we share traders will benefit if the price is pushed up. Only be careful when they have finished with their share buyback!

jtoh1985

440 posts

Posted by jtoh1985 > 2014-03-11 16:47 | Report Abuse

Recently there is no warrant excercise d... right?
I also wonder who exercise so many warrant last time....
Hope share buy back wont finish so fast..... Hope to push up till RM3.5

upsidedown119

4,326 posts

Posted by upsidedown119 > 2014-03-11 16:59 | Report Abuse

There is. The last was on 11th Mar for 1.116 million shares. See link:

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/1561669

hermen1123

174 posts

Posted by hermen1123 > 2014-03-11 17:59 | Report Abuse

tak faham....... so holding mother better or WA better???

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-03-11 18:37 | Report Abuse

Hermen1123, it depends on your objective. You can google mother share vs warrant

upsidedown119

4,326 posts

Posted by upsidedown119 > 2014-03-12 09:31 | Report Abuse

The thing that troubled me about the share buyback and cancellation is that the enormous cash resources of Hapseng is being used to benefit the major holders of warrants instead of benefiting directly ALL the shareholders through giving better dividends, bonus share issues and generally growing the business.

samcghee

670 posts

Posted by samcghee > 2014-03-12 11:02 | Report Abuse

hermen, hold both is the best like me.

haikeyila

1,068 posts

Posted by haikeyila > 2014-03-12 11:04 | Report Abuse

yup, im a little concerned about them not distributing cash to us or putting it to good business use.

upsidedown119

4,326 posts

Posted by upsidedown119 > 2014-03-12 11:30 | Report Abuse

haikeyila baby, I'm also a little concerned not hearing your wisdom for so long. Thanks for your feedback. Out of curiosity, I would like to know who are the major warrant holders. Could you help me?

upsidedown119

4,326 posts

Posted by upsidedown119 > 2014-03-12 11:36 | Report Abuse

Another thought on Hapseng. I guess if they do not buy back but keep exercising the warrant, the share price will suffer. And the drop in share price due to share dilution may or may not be compensated by the increase in dividend. So I guess we retail share investors should count whatever little blessings that come our way.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-03-12 11:38 | Report Abuse

hapseng generated profit thru plantation, properties, credit, quarry/building material and automotive, year to date pbt already $574m vs last year $465, there is already +19% yoy increment. note average selling price of CPO and PK realised for the current quarter of RM2,340 and RM1,271 only. both CPO & PK price has gone up significantly since then.

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-03-12 17:34 | Report Abuse

Haha. I don't mind to receive this little blessing every 6 months

Iafx, what is PK? Pokai, haha