HAP SENG CONSOLIDATED BHD

KLSE (MYR): HAPSENG (3034)

4.06 - 4.10

18 people like this.

4,183 comment(s). Last comment by SinGor 1 week ago

4u2c

3,553 posts

Posted by 4u2c > 2014-05-06 23:25 | Report Abuse

Hap Seng is steady as a rock..

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-05-07 22:56 | Report Abuse

Haha, can I throw a rock to Bullbear?

jtoh1985

440 posts

Posted by jtoh1985 > 2014-05-08 08:36 | Report Abuse

hi all.. this quarter report. I think hapseng revenue and profit will drop compare with previous.
Last time profit increase due to sell the asset.
(Maybe CPO price raise and help a bit in the profit)

Anyone is agree with me?

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-05-08 09:18 | Report Abuse

ready for a jump

njue76

471 posts

Posted by njue76 > 2014-05-08 11:46 | Report Abuse

go..go hap seng..move to 3.30...

AK $$

380 posts

Posted by AK $$ > 2014-05-08 11:49 | Report Abuse

I am keen on seeing the dividend even tho profit may drop

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-05-08 14:10 | Report Abuse

3 more weeks. jtoh1985, employee salary is the highest operating expenses in any company. Once the QR out, I can know the impact for the rest of the year. Headcount is pre-determined before the start of a year

samcghee

670 posts

Posted by samcghee > 2014-05-08 15:12 | Report Abuse

Hjey, why u so worried about operating expenses in HapSeng due to employee salary? Every company will experience the same situation. Take it easy. Look for long term.

upsidedown119

4,326 posts

Posted by upsidedown119 > 2014-05-08 23:01 | Report Abuse

Where is haikeyilla? This love-lorn lady was always able to intuit the trend of Hap Seng quite accurately. She may be able to dispel our cluelessness about the price trend of Hap Seng.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-05-09 09:30 | Report Abuse

fareast earning boosted 55%, thanks to palm price... and salaries? :D

jtoh1985

440 posts

Posted by jtoh1985 > 2014-05-09 15:09 | Report Abuse

HJey...why you so concern about employee salary instead of decline in main business? Thx~

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-05-09 16:11 | Report Abuse

It's common SOP in public company to conduct yearly appraisal for executive and non-executive staff. Hap Seng Group has more than thousand employees. I don't know actual number but Hap Seng involved in plantation, property and quarry. These 3 sectors employed a lot non-executive staff. For non-executive staff, they are being paid low salary which is below RM900.

A reduction in net profit will cause a lower dividend payout.

jtoh1985

440 posts

Posted by jtoh1985 > 2014-05-09 20:43 | Report Abuse

Today strong buy back..I think will break 3.2soon...haha..
I plan to buy 3.17 in next week.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-05-09 21:15 | Report Abuse

sop profit jump 60%, thanks to palm

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-05-14 11:11 | Report Abuse

The problem is this isn't HapSeng Plantation alone

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-05-14 11:14 | Report Abuse

the problem is the co. profit crossed 500m, big problem.

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-05-14 11:18 | Report Abuse

The big problem is people don't realise that not many companies earned 500 mil profit in KLSE

11,457 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2014-05-14 11:27 | Report Abuse

415 million is extraordinary gain, it is not true profit from operation.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-05-14 11:45 | Report Abuse

2009 net profit 100m, 2010 323m 2011 375m, 2012 422m, 2013 588m. According to Ooi Teik Bee, these r not true profit from operation. wow bigggg problem!!

Collin Soo

894 posts

Posted by Collin Soo > 2014-05-14 23:19 | Report Abuse

Tomorrow break new high! Cheers !

Posted by racheal123 > 2014-05-15 11:23 | Report Abuse

i m new to this..wondering am i consider too late buy in the hapseng now? or i should wait some more? many thanks

Posted by Pee Boon Koh > 2014-05-15 12:11 | Report Abuse

General meeting coming can buy some whatever high price that will break the resistance 3.19and going to3.50

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-05-15 13:24 | Report Abuse

I am not good in accounting but I know extraordinary gain calculated before PAT. 500 mil is net profit which means operating profit around 700 to 800 mil

Racheal123, why you choose HapSeng?

huat2628

177 posts

Posted by huat2628 > 2014-05-15 14:15 | Report Abuse

7 eleven substription period till tomorow, can invest ?

kwl8888

613 posts

Posted by kwl8888 > 2014-05-15 14:16 | Report Abuse

huat2628, can try to apply but chance to get very low as very little volume offer to public

upsidedown119

4,326 posts

Posted by upsidedown119 > 2014-05-15 14:18 | Report Abuse

After deducting the non-operating profit, the operating profit for financial year ended 31st Dec 2013 was RM372 million. This gave a return on equity of 9.8% - which is reasonable. This translate into an earnings per share of 17.1 sen per share, which to me, is also reasonable.

huat2628

177 posts

Posted by huat2628 > 2014-05-15 14:18 | Report Abuse

kwl888,ok, thank you, you apply ?

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-05-15 14:47 | Report Abuse

119, salah, see pg.11, ops profit (consolidated) is 447m ended fy13, EXCLUDED non-ops (make no mistake, doesn't mean the 415m throw into sea).

upsidedown119

4,326 posts

Posted by upsidedown119 > 2014-05-15 15:14 | Report Abuse

@iafx. Not salah. I deduct the financing cost (an operating cost) of RM75 million from the operating profit (before financing cost) of RM447 million. Otherwise I would have overstate both the ROE and EPS. Please refer to page 98 of the annual report publish via Bursa.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-05-15 15:34 | Report Abuse

haha... in that sense u better off deduct also the tax!? hahaa... believe for this ctr, the coming qtr report is everything.

upsidedown119

4,326 posts

Posted by upsidedown119 > 2014-05-15 15:57 | Report Abuse

@iafx. No, if you want to know the true performance of the business, use the operating profit before tax. Tax does not reflect the performance/potential of the business because it is not the direct result of management decision-making. Financing cost is an operating cost. This counter is medium term counter because of management intervention on the price. To gauge the price trend, look at the change in operating profit.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-05-15 16:01 | Report Abuse

if so, y exclude the non-ops profit 415m? it's mgmt decision to sell and gain. also, financing cost (e.g. interest) is direct result of management decision-making?

upsidedown119

4,326 posts

Posted by upsidedown119 > 2014-05-15 16:14 | Report Abuse

Non-op profit is not the result of management performance. E.g. sale of a building at a profit when the business is not buying and selling buildings. Because it is not a profit from operations, it will not be recurring profit - i.e. a one-off. Some non-op profit do not result in positive cash flow. E.g. reversal of over-provision for asset impairment. Financing cost is a direct result of management decision-making.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-05-15 16:20 | Report Abuse

hahaha... in yr e.g., it booked as cost but ignored as profit, make sense? anyway, after u :D

it's like someone worked as clerk, invested a property. some years later sold but doesn't need to pay tax bcos it's not recurring, also not the clerk's effort (mgmt. performance?) maintaining the loan.

upsidedown119

4,326 posts

Posted by upsidedown119 > 2014-05-15 16:24 | Report Abuse

iafx. After reading your analogy, I rest my case. HaHaHa!

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-05-15 16:25 | Report Abuse

tks, it was based on yr accounting comment :D

upsidedown119

4,326 posts

Posted by upsidedown119 > 2014-05-15 16:29 | Report Abuse

That's why we are called bean-counters by the lay-man.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-05-15 16:35 | Report Abuse

good news is the co. seem to STOP buying already ;D

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-05-15 17:20 | Report Abuse

Haha, less than 5 hours & it's packed with financial lessons. Wait until the QR out & you can start this all over again

Iafx & upsidedown119 provided useful information & I will do the same. Puan Sri Maimon

If you know the importance of good relationship & winning tender from government, then you understand

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-05-15 21:20 | Report Abuse

today last minute massive sbb kicks in, if not... btw, noticed major shareholder disposing

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-05-19 22:07 | Report Abuse

A small amount from Lei Shin Hong. Share buyback more than that

dalpinia

2,299 posts

Posted by dalpinia > 2014-05-21 20:24 | Report Abuse

I guess coming qtr report is no good better sell now

njue76

471 posts

Posted by njue76 > 2014-05-21 20:43 | Report Abuse

you sell first..i buy first

Posted by Pee Boon Koh > 2014-05-22 00:34 | Report Abuse

Buy dun miss!!

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-05-22 08:08 | Report Abuse

Any 4D number for me

jtoh1985

440 posts

Posted by jtoh1985 > 2014-05-22 10:51 | Report Abuse

lolz....break resistance 3.2~
Fly soon~ (steady please)

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-05-22 11:13 | Report Abuse

so long the dumping stop, easily $3.5. let's see, no hurry.

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-05-22 17:26 | Report Abuse

How much dividend this round. Hopefully it will be paid by end June

Posted by Pee Boon Koh > 2014-05-22 20:19 | Report Abuse

The target see will be $3.50