GENTING BHD

KLSE (MYR): GENTING (3182)

-0.02 (0.45%)

4.32 - 4.40

45 people like this.

84,310 comment(s). Last comment by choysun 12 minutes ago

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2021-08-24 10:34 | Report Abuse

Keyman188 always not worry...

Keyman188 only worry innocent newbies stubbornly listen to naysayers keep on asking them don't bet in 1st...

End up innocent newbies just look see...look see...later will say "Aiya..shall buy in early lahhh..."

Sound like familiar....

wkwkwk...kekeke...hehehe...

emsvsi

3,517 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2021-08-24 10:37 | Report Abuse

GENTING NUMBAWAN

Sharefisher

5,470 posts

Posted by Sharefisher > 2021-08-24 10:43 | Report Abuse

Now back to umno hand or old hand.... Don't be surprised if they really want to push up the economy.

emsvsi

3,517 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2021-08-24 10:48 | Report Abuse

Broke above MA50 convincingly and now above all the moving averages

Genting's uptrend is intact and unstoppable

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-24 11:04 | Report Abuse

Which political party is the richest in Malaysia?
which umno fellas will tell you that he buys Genting shares?
which rich umno fellas don’t buy shares in Bursa?

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-24 11:13 | Report Abuse

Bursa very dependent on political stability & country’s economy…Hope new PM doesn’t repeat that selfish fella’s bad behaviours.

emsvsi

3,517 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2021-08-24 11:33 | Report Abuse

BREAKING (MUST READ): Morgan Stanley’s Slimmon Says Buy Reopening Before Too Late [Bloomberg]

August 24, 2021, 4:10 AM GMT+8 | Updated on August 24, 2021, 4:55 AM GMT+8

Money manager scooping up casino, cruise and theater stocks

--

Slimmon, who oversees about $7.5 billion at Morgan Stanley Investment Management, says it’s not unusual to see economic hiccups this time of year. Going forward, “people will turn a little bit more optimistic,” which bodes well for equities that have sold off due to Covid-related worries. Rates could bottom in the coming months and recover in the fourth quarter as well, he added.

“The opportunity set is in those stocks that got hit the most, namely the cyclical stocks, the energy stocks, the reopening stocks -- those are the ones that are down the most,” he said in an interview.

Slimmon is scooping up shares of casino, cruise ship, restaurant and theater companies. He’s also partial to retail real estate investment trusts that have been hit hard amid fears consumers will once again avoid stores and malls like they did during the depths of the coronavirus outbreak.

His advice runs counter to recent market sentiment as investors pile into defensive plays. Growth stocks -- like the tech shares that outperformed their market indexes during the pandemic -- are on pace to beat their cheaper value counterparts for the third month in a row, while small-cap equities have slid roughly 6% since hitting a high in mid-March.

--

Slimmon notes that the market is forward-looking, and investors shouldn’t keep chasing defensive stocks such as utilities, or technology shares that are near record highs.

“That’s not where the opportunity is right now,” he said. Rather, he’s looking at companies that are off 20% to 30% from their peaks earlier this year.

“I would not be selling on Covid worries -- that’s already happened. What you have to think about is will we get through this? Will we have a better fourth quarter, which is historically what happens?” Slimmon said from Chicago. “Someone that says to you in the fourth quarter, ‘Well, I’m optimistic because the Covid variant’s behind us’ -- my response would be, ‘Well then you should have been buying those stocks in August, not in October.’”

The senior portfolio manager has the track record to back up his reopening call: His U.S. Core Portfolio is beating 94% of its peers this year and is topping the S&P 500’s gain, Bloomberg data show.

Slimmon is also noticing big differences in investor behavior compared with last year. In mid-2020, clients who’d booked significant gains were calling him to ask about whether another Covid wave could derail the market’s recovery. That’s one of the reasons behind the volatility seen this time last year.

This go-around, those conversations are very different.

“The call we’re getting is, ‘When is a pullback coming? I have too much cash on the sidelines, I’m looking to invest into a good opportunity,’” he said. “This is one of the reasons why I don’t think we’re getting much of a pullback.”

Link: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2021-08-23/morgan-stanley-s-slimmon-says-buy-reopening-before-it-s-too-late?srnd=premium-asia

Posted by bullmarket1628 > 2021-08-24 11:38 |

troy88

2,940 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2021-08-24 11:46 | Report Abuse

The world is now moving to "learning to with with pandemic". Gaming industry will surely comeback

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2021-08-24 11:58 | Report Abuse

Casino Rally most in 2021; Macau announces easing of travel policy from Mainland China.

Bloomberg : 11.57 pm EST

Stockisnotfun

5,143 posts

Posted by Stockisnotfun > 2021-08-24 12:25 | Report Abuse

To be honest, bursa index performance is not good as s&p 500. So the increase in stocks merely just fund rotation within same pool of funds.

For genting to rebound back the pre covid price is fair enough.

TGMaster

238 posts

Posted by TGMaster > 2021-08-24 12:36 |

emsvsi

3,517 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2021-08-24 12:45 | Report Abuse

Singapore removes quarantine for Hong Kong, Macau travellers as travel bubble bursts for good

The new rule applies to short-term travellers from Hong Kong and Macau starting next Thursday [26 August 2021] with the city state essentially starting a quarantine-free travel corridor with Germany next month

Published: 6:34pm, 19 Aug, 2021

Singapore will begin admitting travellers from Hong Kong and Macau without quarantining them even though the measure will not be reciprocated, officials said on Thursday, as they added that discussions on a travel bubble would no longer take place.

Full article: https://www.scmp.com/week-asia/health-environment/article/3145652/singapore-removes-quarantine-hong-kong-macau

--

Comments: Wait for Malaysia to open borders for China tourists just like Macau for China tourists leading to huge jump today in HK-listed casino stocks -Sands China, MGM China, Wynn Macau, Galaxy Entertainment (note: Lembah Klang Adults 2 Dose: 85.2% as at 23 Aug 21)

Catalyst after catalyst coming. Clear blue skies ahead

6,165 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2021-08-24 12:50 | Report Abuse

Can fully vaccinated people go to Genting n main main there ?

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-24 12:54 | Report Abuse

Phase 2 mah…. Go n see if you can travel to Pahang lor…haha

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-24 12:55 | Report Abuse

Why up today? Hahaha

Posted by MsiaHopeless > 2021-08-24 13:44 | Report Abuse

4.5 coming soon

Posted by MsiaHopeless > 2021-08-24 13:45 | Report Abuse

US crash soon , share market time to crash

Posted by MsiaHopeless > 2021-08-24 13:45 | Report Abuse

cash is king

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-24 14:23 | Report Abuse

No cash, no gambling.
Since cash is king, casinos got business!

newbie2019

1,770 posts

Posted by newbie2019 > 2021-08-24 14:28 | Report Abuse

ur cash diluted by inflation hopelessly

sufficient cash is fine and put the excessive cash to work (invest wisely not only in Stock Market)

not everything in cash hopeless

Sharefisher

5,470 posts

Posted by Sharefisher > 2021-08-24 14:29 | Report Abuse

Think, can you get below 5 if genting Highland is opened? Don't know how these people think, no wonder losing money everywhere.

13,853 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-08-24 14:49 | Report Abuse

sure
covid gonna be 20 years long affair

why worry genting go above 5?
hucksters will always tell you price will go up,
just go to a huckster place like Petaling Street and there you have all those hucksters tricks displayed...

Stockisnotfun

5,143 posts

Posted by Stockisnotfun > 2021-08-24 15:13 | Report Abuse

Wow today bursa very powerful. All my bursa stock turn green already

Stockisnotfun

5,143 posts

Posted by Stockisnotfun > 2021-08-24 15:13 | Report Abuse

Except glove

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2021-08-24 15:19 | Report Abuse

As per Keyman188 highlighted this morning...

Today already visited 1536 & 1548 level liao...

Posted by Keyman188 > Aug 24, 2021 9:54 AM | Report Abuse X

Finally KLCI break 1524 level liao...

Must strong support 1524 level this few days...

Next retest level shall be 1536...1548...

Strong immediate resistance @ 1569 level...

13,853 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-08-24 15:38 | Report Abuse

Covid-19 cases climb back to 20,837

Cheers to 20 years of covid!!

Bottoms Up!!!!

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-24 15:41 | Report Abuse

Gloves cannot climb back…. Why so happy covid cases up?

Faster reach herd immunity… with higher cases among the Unvaccinated…. Almost 60% population still Not yet vaccinated

Stockisnotfun

5,143 posts

Posted by Stockisnotfun > 2021-08-24 16:32 | Report Abuse

Lol today all go goreng bank haha

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-08-24 16:33 |

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-24 16:43 | Report Abuse

Banks & Plantations high up today. Congrats to the shareholders!

emsvsi

3,517 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2021-08-24 16:52 | Report Abuse

First are Banks

Then it will be the other Reopening / Recovery sectors

Wait foreign funds like Morgan Stanley Investment Management to realise that Genting (3182) provides a cheaper entry to RWLV and GenS

Sharefisher

5,470 posts

Posted by Sharefisher > 2021-08-24 16:53 | Report Abuse

Genting will have its glory days. No worries. Hold tight tight.

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2021-08-24 17:01 | Report Abuse

Keyman188 holdings banking & plantation stocks...

HLFG

Ambank

Simeplnt

So are you congratulations to Keyman188 !!!...

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > Aug 24, 2021 4:43 PM | Report Abuse

Banks & Plantations high up today. Congrats to the shareholders!

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-24 17:05 | Report Abuse

Happy for you! Congrats @Keyman188

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-24 17:08 | Report Abuse

Cannot depend on Genting shares alone… Haha

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-24 17:10 | Report Abuse

I love Genting …cos can sleep very well & much better returns compared to Fd rates for me so far..

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2021-08-24 17:12 | Report Abuse

Good...right now you already started reliased liao...

Keyman188 always searching for diversification....

Keyman188 always opting for "Alignment & Balancing" portfolio...

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > Aug 24, 2021 5:08 PM | Report Abuse

Cannot depend on Genting shares alone… Haha

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-24 17:14 | Report Abuse

No thanks to MY’s previous govt….. Hope next month SEPTEMBER & OCTOBER, all fully vaccinated people can be allowed to travel interstate!!!

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-24 17:31 | Report Abuse

@Keyman188 is my Sifu cos you are definitely a more skillful stock player than me, for sure!!

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-24 17:34 | Report Abuse

I prefer bank stocks in Singapore than in Malaysia….last year’s March/April was the best time to buy Dbs

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2021-08-24 18:33 | Report Abuse

Price target: RM6.0

emsvsi

3,517 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2021-08-24 18:59 | Report Abuse

Genting is a company whose time has come

Just as Malaysia Tanah Tumpahnya Darahku has come

Laggard shall now be Leader

GENTING TO THE Stars

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2021-08-24 19:25 | Report Abuse

大萍果大导演回来了...Coward Street Beggar is back...

真可怜的街头乞丐...

自编自导自演

Self-producing...self-directing...self-acting...

棟篤笑

真可怜...真可怜...

Kesian...kesian...kesian...

Yupeetan

585 posts

Posted by Yupeetan > 2021-08-24 19:31 | Report Abuse

Told you guys many times, PAS will come close casinos... Huhu

emsvsi

3,517 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2021-08-24 19:43 | Report Abuse

PAS wanting to close casinos has been here before you were born la

As mentioned before the correct question is, PAS has won all of zero seats in Pahang. Even the Pahang people reject them. Also you must understand, bumi in milik siapa. You remove gaming, who is going to pay for the State and Federal governments lost gaming tax (and it's in the billions), the livelihoods of the employees and supporting businesses, the tourist dollars and taxes, and of course the Mercedes'...you can't have PAS driving Merc and UMNO driving Proton right...imagine that lol

Posted by Stocksafeplayer > 2021-08-24 20:06 | Report Abuse

So many people got caught by Police for gambling illegally in private homes, hotels, business premises during MCO lockdowns, as reported in local news.

Can Pas stop illegal gambling or not? Talk kok kah?

Yupeetan

585 posts

Posted by Yupeetan > 2021-08-24 20:12 | Report Abuse

Satu Keluarga Malaysia, sama2 jangan judi, anak ada duit belajar, PAS tutup casino bijak.
Casino exists also doesn't benefit me, close better huhu

14,677 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2021-08-24 20:12 | Report Abuse

LOL, Now gambling can be done from anywhere, it's in your hand.