MAGNUM BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MAGNUM (3859)

1.24 - 1.26

3,726 comment(s). Last comment by Donator 3 days ago

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2016-05-31 15:21 | Report Abuse

Pay 4 cents dividend
Loss I price 6 cents

member41

3,718 posts

Posted by member41 > 2016-05-31 16:55 | Report Abuse

Dividend cannot cover the share price drop.

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-05-31 19:43 | Report Abuse

What the h. Toto pay 4sen dividend share price still above 3 ringgit . Magnum pay 4 sen dividend share price dropped to 2.23. Who is playing us. Unless big shareholders want us keep throw then they can sapu our share at lower price ?
Or why will happen like this . Dividend is improving fron last few quarter .
I really cannot explain ?

Posted by hanley1333 > 2016-06-01 11:16 | Report Abuse

yesterday closing price was a whacked down. now recovering. high yield but little growth.

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-06-01 15:51 | Report Abuse

I really piss off lol, I top up a lot when 2.5 on April then yesterday I not yet get back my bullet from bank to top up when jump to 2.23, then today rise back, really angry, at least wait I top up at lowest first mah ?
magnum why you always play me geh, you better jump back to 2.80, then I forgive you haha

reena

46 posts

Posted by reena > 2016-06-01 17:05 | Report Abuse

me too, so sad...

chamlo

1,230 posts

Posted by chamlo > 2016-06-01 20:18 | Report Abuse

Gua sudah pokai sebab GST. Where got money buy Magnum?

alex88812

294 posts

Posted by alex88812 > 2016-06-01 21:30 | Report Abuse

Angielim, i wait my investment bank to update my deposit.. but havent updated so cant buy also... but i just small fried, buy 2 lots (2000 units) only.. no capital..

cooling

1,676 posts

Posted by cooling > 2016-06-01 21:49 | Report Abuse

better avoid....sin tax increasing....gonna squeeze further....director disposed a million shares in open market

http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/anpth/1159696.jsp

today low will go lower tomorrow...

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-06-01 22:03 | Report Abuse

alex88812 , my FD need wait few days more, by then magnum sure back above 2.4, so I also no mood to top up , actually yesterday is the best day for us to top up magnum , missed yesrterday we cannot find any chance like that low for magnum,
why ? very easy to compare ,

magnum 4% dividend
Toto give 4% dividend ,
astro give 3 % dividend
Pos haven't give any dividend yet this year

compare with them and share price will know magnum super under value lol ?

weh9168

22 posts

Posted by weh9168 > 2016-06-01 22:05 | Report Abuse

The current hudud bill issue has impacted the share price of magnum but at least magnum is more fortunate with the 6.1% stake in U Mobile and the excitement will be the impending listing of U Mobile. It has made known several times Magnum will dispose the stake in U Mobile if the opportunity arises. U Mobile has been allocated additional spectrum to improve on their system efficiency and they need to fast forward their IPO in order to raise fund to purchase new technology which can support the new spectrum allocated.

The 6.1% stake is easily worth more than RM 100 mil and I believe this will be the key question raise by the share holder during the forthcoming AGM next week on the 8th June

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-06-01 22:12 | Report Abuse

weh9168 hi there weh9168 :
If u dont mind can teach me a little bit ?
As my know , U mobile is belong to Bjcorp , so why got link to magnum,
magnum only sell number what ?
Do you mean magnum also u mobile boss ?
can teach me a liitle bit ?

weh9168

22 posts

Posted by weh9168 > 2016-06-01 22:22 | Report Abuse

Tan Sri Surin sits in the board of U Mobile even though he is Magnum boss. We can't directly access to U mobile shares but we can indirect own them via Magnum. Value of Magnum shares also influenced by U mobile after their listing. You can check it out , even Focus Malaysia had reported before whether Magnum will continue to hold U mobile shares after its listing. I believe the true excitement for Magnum will be the timing on the listing of U Mobile in the stock market

Posted by Activetrader > 2016-06-02 12:10 | Report Abuse

Angielim9955 pls look at the share issued la haiyo compare like this is stupid

N0B0DY

80 posts

Posted by N0B0DY > 2016-06-02 20:29 | Report Abuse

Why he sell so low?

cooling

1,676 posts

Posted by cooling > 2016-06-02 20:36 | Report Abuse

didn't I oredi told u all the director disposing like mad??....there is something wrong internally...director also don't want the dividend...and selling...after dividend ex date 1.80 also coming....

5,862 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2016-06-03 00:52 | Report Abuse

Profits are on down trending since 2011

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-06-03 03:09 | Report Abuse

I agreed they will dispose but I not agreed magnum profit going down, I pretty sure next quarter magnum will declare dividend at least 4 or above 4 , magnum customer is increasing, people like magnum game than others, .
and the illegal market already very old story, at my mother century they already exist, so the effect only very little, once gov do something or maybe magnum can use credit card buy online thru legal website then will be a good future .

sheldon

1,406 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-06-03 06:28 | Report Abuse

Probably Dr Charles needed the money or maybe he over-analysed the hudud thing.

Weh9168 - I've combed through Magnum's annual report but there's no indication that it owns U-Mobile.

tobvious

11 posts

Posted by tobvious > 2016-06-03 09:48 | Report Abuse

take the safe route. when insiders sell, we must be cautious.

huat888

514 posts

Posted by huat888 > 2016-06-03 10:15 | Report Abuse

The major shareholder of U Mobile includes Straits Mobile Investments Pte. Ltd (49%), followed by U Telemedia Sdn Bhd (21.46%), Sultan Ibrahim(15%), Magnum Bhd (6.33%), Tan Sri Vincent Tan Chee Yioun (6.2%) and Berjaya Infrastructure Sdn Bhd (2.01%)

sheldon

1,406 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-06-03 12:20 | Report Abuse

Huat888 - what is your source for this information?

It's not in the U Mobile website - I do see Vincent Tan as Chairman & Upatkoon as director though. These 2 gaming tycoon rivals coming together in telco.

N0B0DY

80 posts

Posted by N0B0DY > 2016-06-03 12:23 | Report Abuse

Anyone going magnum's agm? Can ask them about this issue

somo1

178 posts

Posted by somo1 > 2016-06-03 12:46 | Report Abuse

There's nothing unusual about the director, Charles reducing his stake in Magnum. If you look at both the annual reports for 2014 and 2015, you can conclude he had done the same in 2015 whereby he disposed over a million shares too. I guess around this time next year, he'll cash out on the remaining 1 million shares.

somo1

178 posts

Posted by somo1 > 2016-06-03 12:55 | Report Abuse

Huat888 is correct. Magmum holds 6.3% of u mobile. In the annual report 2015 Page 99, non current available for sale investments- inquired shares in Malaysia for $243 million reflecting this stake in u mobile.

huat888

514 posts

Posted by huat888 > 2016-06-03 15:21 | Report Abuse

Straits Mobile Investments Pte. Ltd (49%) is S'pore CLC

huat888

514 posts

Posted by huat888 > 2016-06-03 15:21 | Report Abuse

GLC

sheldon

1,406 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-06-03 16:15 | Report Abuse

I'll probably be going to Magnum AGM.
Any idea what's the door gift and on the buffet spread? lol.

N0B0DY

80 posts

Posted by N0B0DY > 2016-06-03 21:38 | Report Abuse

Sheldon, share with us anything happen in AGM

sheldon

1,406 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-06-04 14:49 | Report Abuse

Sure

somo1

178 posts

Posted by somo1 > 2016-06-07 10:03 | Report Abuse

Major shareholders filed with the Exchange on June 2 reporting that they had acquired 11 million shares via a married deal. Can anyone shed light on this?

Posted by royalmail88 > 2016-06-07 22:09 | Report Abuse

hai i am newbie. May I know the 4% dividend per share means 4 cents per share? anyone can educate me

sheldon

1,406 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-06-08 06:43 | Report Abuse

Royalmail88 - I get annoyed with companies that tell you % dividend. Then I have to download annual report & check what's the par value & work out the dollar dividend per share. I guess it makes the co look good when it says that it's declaring 100% dividend when its par is only 10 sen. Shock sendiri saja!

sheldon

1,406 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-06-08 06:44 | Report Abuse

Hence 4% of par = dividend in sen

sheldon

1,406 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-06-08 15:39 | Report Abuse

An interesting info presented at the AGM today is how taxes in this heavily taxed business is derived. The following e.g. explains:

Assuming Sales 100
Less Gaming Tax (8)
Pool Betting Duties (7.18)
Less Price payout (62.56)
Balance 22.56

GST = 6%/106% x 22.56 = 1.26

Some nut case asked for more CSR. To which I responded that the huge taxes paid by Magnum was already CSR hence no need for more CSR. If any shareholder wanted the co to do more CSR, then he/she should use their dividend money to perform their respective CSR.

khgoh1169

25 posts

Posted by khgoh1169 > 2016-06-08 16:53 | Report Abuse

CSR mean?

sheldon

1,406 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-06-08 17:00 | Report Abuse

Corporate Social Responsibility bro

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-06-08 17:52 | Report Abuse

Magnum is the most undervalued stock among alll the blue chips in Malayisa ,
dividend yield near 7% now, cash money biz , gambar biz sure got biz and magnum now got many new game , I also magnum customer , haha, magnum customers got increase , young gen like play magnum more

ahjib88

123 posts

Posted by ahjib88 > 2016-06-08 17:54 | Report Abuse

Still gt people buy magnum, most go for "gelap" operator.
Higher payout.

vews08

494 posts

Posted by vews08 > 2016-06-08 18:08 | Report Abuse

current share price should a good buy. Keep it and target for 2.50

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-06-08 21:38 | Report Abuse

vews08 , hi there, currenlty I also sapu a lot of magnum,
do you think if I keep for long term , do you think magnum got possible break 2.60,
because actually I aim TP 2.60, do you think possible.
And vews08 actually I do have magnum and TOto counters as well, do you mind I ask If I want to top up , which one is the first choice ?

sorry kacau, hope can get your advice ?

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2016-06-08 21:39 | Report Abuse

I have seldom buy 4D lately but let see next quarter result before any decision

somo1

178 posts

Posted by somo1 > 2016-06-09 09:11 | Report Abuse

Sheldon- not just the CSR you responded to but also another very persistent case asking Magnum to get into organic farming, which is simply infeasible and ludicrous.

sheldon

1,406 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-06-09 11:27 | Report Abuse

Somo1 - His opinion about mobile trucks peddling 4D is good but may not be feasible since it may infringe the businesses of existing fixed outlets.

As for the organic farming, if it's a good spin-off for the mobile truck (assuming feasible) then I really would not mind but the vegetables should be sold at commercial rates with decent profits - If anyone wants to do social service then they should join some NGOs.

The board responded saying that they operate with a very lean staff strength (about 200) for which I'm grateful.

somo1

178 posts

Posted by somo1 > 2016-06-09 12:23 | Report Abuse

Sheldon- not just that, it's highly unlikely the government would allow that. On the other hand, making it easier to bet thru e platform which they're pursuing now is a worthy exercise.
I still don't like their placement in unit trust money market funds, an after thoughts. They should have used the funds to do share buy-back to derive better benefits for shareholders. Dividend yields from its own stock would definitely better than the return from the said unit trust. Or they can later cancel those shares bought back sitting as Treasury shares, and give its EPS a boost in an expected declining earnings environment.
$4.2 million in share buy-back versus $26 million top up in the said unit trust funds in 2015. What a waste!

sheldon

1,406 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-06-09 21:56 | Report Abuse

I agree with you 100% Somo1.

In fact that's what I had been harping as a shareholder of BToto as well - share-buybacks and then axe them to shore up EPS. But instead we get shares as dividend in specie.

It's also fine to invest in MM unit trust for some yield (as there's greater flexibility with the resultant asset). However at today's prices buybacks look more compelling.

chai3440

10 posts

Posted by chai3440 > 2016-06-10 00:16 | Report Abuse

may i know when we will get the dividend money?thank you

N0B0DY

80 posts

Posted by N0B0DY > 2016-06-10 11:27 | Report Abuse

24th june