DUTALAND BHD

KLSE (MYR): DUTALND (3948)

0.295 - 0.295

7,432 comment(s). Last comment by ocbc 1 hour ago

TheContrarian

9,507 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-10-06 19:09 | Report Abuse

apolloang, I merely keeping the forum updated.

adamsmith

338 posts

Posted by adamsmith > 2017-10-06 19:17 | Report Abuse

Who will buy dutaland on Monday ....seems everyone here waiting to sell

TheContrarian

9,507 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-10-06 19:28 | Report Abuse

Syndicate will push up at opening.

TheContrarian

9,507 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-10-06 19:29 | Report Abuse

apolloang will jump in to buy. :-D

jmstar

40 posts

Posted by jmstar > 2017-10-06 19:43 | Report Abuse

Buy come Monday at least got 0.85 cents

jmstar

40 posts

Posted by jmstar > 2017-10-06 19:45 | Report Abuse

Those have bought hold on to it the deal will definitely goes thru then you see good profit

Sky Liew

940 posts

Posted by Sky Liew > 2017-10-06 19:52 | Report Abuse

I will add some

bennychen

193 posts

Posted by bennychen > 2017-10-06 21:37 | Report Abuse

Thank you Master Calvin Tan for the write-up on Dutaland.
You are so RIGHT in your prediction.......

Firefox

85 posts

Posted by Firefox > 2017-10-06 22:42 | Report Abuse

0.88 cash per share.

Firefox

85 posts

Posted by Firefox > 2017-10-06 22:42 | Report Abuse

Worth at least 0.88

56,703 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-10-06 23:18 |

Posted by apolloang > 2017-10-06 23:47 | Report Abuse

why be careful? u are selling already is it?

Sky Liew

940 posts

Posted by Sky Liew > 2017-10-06 23:49 | Report Abuse

Still need 30 days sign final agreement

Posted by dreamtoberich > 2017-10-07 02:25 | Report Abuse

Told you 100% confirm! Next hibiscus then frontken. Happy weekend !

Yippy68

1,690 posts

Posted by Yippy68 > 2017-10-07 02:36 | Report Abuse

agreed

Myway

84 posts

Posted by Myway > 2017-10-07 04:45 | Report Abuse

The deal is considered sealed ! Hahaha....

Dutaland is already a debt free company before the plantations sales. The proceed of RM750 mil is $0.88 cash/share.
NTA will go up to RM1.80 and is still undervalued because the land assets yet to mark to market .

What do you think the worth of Dutaland ?

TheContrarian

9,507 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-10-07 08:12 | Report Abuse

Proceeds will be injected into Kenny Heights development and to complete the six stars hotel construction. So high NTA will not help if there's no core recurring earnings.

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-10-07 08:29 | Report Abuse

high na or nta of a coy is calvin's only investment criteria.

lol.............

Syndicates

884 posts

Posted by Syndicates > 2017-10-07 11:50 | Report Abuse

612million of profit on disposal. Am I correct? That is about 72sen of EPS

TheContrarian

9,507 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-10-07 12:21 | Report Abuse

No. of shares 846 million? Gross sale proceeds RM750 million before deduction for RPGT and other incidental expenses. Net book value of land and the assets on land in accounts how much?

Myway

84 posts

Posted by Myway > 2017-10-07 13:37 | Report Abuse

The future recurring income of Duta will be from the hotel project (I think cum shopping) along JB sultan ismail. Development at Kenny hill which is prime area will also being earning too.

I must say Dutaland has now become very neat and nett cash company. If Management has really learnt past bitter lesson there is good future for Duta. So, you have to judge along this line....

56,703 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-10-07 16:19 | Report Abuse

Very good.

There was a time when Dutaland accounts were murky. And people doubted Duta Yap' s integrity.

There was a time when Dutaland had high debts with little earnings.

There was a time when people wrung their hands in despair seeing Dutaland share price going all the way down from Rm1.60 to 39.5 sen

And times were fearful indeed. Prices moved to 55 sen only to see it sold down again below 45 sen.

Many thought they were trapped? Some made gains and some made losses.

But through it all VALUE ULTIMATELY UNLOCKED!!

So the lesson is this.

BUY A BASKET OF VALUE STOCKS. SAY 30 to 50 COUNTERS AND HOLD TIGHTLY THROUGH THE UPS AND DOWNS TILL VALUE EMERGE ONE DAY.

THIS WAS HOW SIFU BEN GRAHAM TAUGHT WALTER SCHLOSS.

SIFU WALTER SCHLOSS DIVERSIFIED INTO HUNDREDS OF VALUE STOCKS OVER A 40 YEAR.

AND PROVEN 40 VERY SUCCESSFUL YEARS OF VALUE INVESTING AGAIN AND AGAIN THAT IT WORKS!

AND IT PAYS THE HIGHEST REWARDS!!!

HIP HIP HOORAY

TheContrarian

9,507 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-10-07 17:53 | Report Abuse

Calvin, how much is the book value of the plantation land and alll assets on it? Can you check the accounts and determine?

david_tan

37 posts

Posted by david_tan > 2017-10-07 18:37 | Report Abuse

Based on 2016 Annual Report, the land has a carrying value of RM352m (revalued in 2015).

Note: AR2016 states that the land measures 29,599.25 acres which is a bit larger than 11,600 hectares. For conservative computation, am assuming the entire value of this piece of land as cost. Am not sure why there is a difference in measurement.

Land is being sold for RM750m. Say incidental expenses amount to 2.5% of selling price i.e. RM18.75m, giving a pre-tax profit of approximately RM380m. RPGT of 5% amount to RM19m. Net profit for the sale of land is therefore RM360m.

At 846m number of shares, EPS is approximately 42.5 sen.

david_tan

37 posts

Posted by david_tan > 2017-10-07 18:46 | Report Abuse

Sitting in the books of Dutaland (AR2016) is 'biological assets' amounting to RM262m. Anyone knows what this is?

david_tan

37 posts

Posted by david_tan > 2017-10-07 18:51 | Report Abuse

If this biological assets is related to the plantation land sale, then the total cost of the sale will be RM352m + RM18.75m + RM262m = RM633m

Pre-tax profit is then RM117m. RPGT @ 5% is RM5.85m giving a net profit of RM111m.

At 846m shares, EPS will be 13 sen.

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-10-07 19:55 | Report Abuse

calvin,

the lesson here is as long as one diversify as many stocks rich in nta/na like calvin, one is bound to hit a 100% in 1 of those stocks.

but is the return enough to cover the rest????

lol............

TheContrarian

9,507 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-10-07 20:14 | Report Abuse

Dutaland has room to run because it was a laggard stuck at the 40-50 sen range even when overall market was bullish. The deal wad initiated when price of Dutaland was near all time low.

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-10-07 20:19 | Report Abuse

@TheContrarian,

so thats why to me, stocks of this nature is best to buy in early and wait.

no point jumping in when the corp story starts spinning.

but then again, thats me.

TheContrarian

9,507 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-10-07 21:04 | Report Abuse

Maximizing gains on share investment is mainly timing. Buy near bottom and sell at near peak.

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-10-07 21:19 | Report Abuse

yup, thats the rule of the game.

i had a big laugh when a ceo of a certain fun house that is no longer ard telling me that he wants his fund managers to be stock pickers and not timing the trade many many yrs ago.

56,703 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-10-09 08:32 | Report Abuse

WAHAHA!!

DUTALAND VERSUS MEDIA PRIMA!!

SEE WHICH ONE GO TO ONE RINGGIT FIRST?

AFTER THIS WHAT WILL COME NEXT?

BJ CORP AT 35 SEN AND MUI BHD AT 18 SEN.

SEE WHICH WILL GO UP 100% FIRST?

BJ CORP AT 70 SEN FIRST OR MUI BHD AT 36 SEN FIRST!

THE EXCITING CONTEST IS ON!!

GO GO POWER RANGER!!!

Albukhary

3,045 posts

Posted by Albukhary > 2017-10-09 08:37 | Report Abuse

Both Dutaland and Media have lousy management, but valuable asset.

Support Dutaland, coz personally think that the land disposal deal will be on.

No comment on media, because I'm not really familiar with its financial status, but I knew that after it acquired Rev's business, based on normal practice, sure a lot of goodwill / intangible asset need to write off. So coming quarter result may not be good.

bennychen

193 posts

Posted by bennychen > 2017-10-09 08:56 | Report Abuse

Jolly good morning to Calvin
I like the challenges you put forward and let the best horse win
Happy trading.....

adamsmith

338 posts

Posted by adamsmith > 2017-10-09 09:05 | Report Abuse

...80sens still far far away

Posted by apolloang > 2017-10-09 09:14 | Report Abuse

how come butaland keep dumping? I tot good news

Yippy68

1,690 posts

Posted by Yippy68 > 2017-10-09 09:16 | Report Abuse

haha, i sold in the first minute, bye bye butaland.thank calvin. i made some because of you.

adamsmith

338 posts

Posted by adamsmith > 2017-10-09 09:16 | Report Abuse

news out , retailer stop buying , fund manager need to meeting b 4 start buying

56,703 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-10-09 09:17 | Report Abuse

SHOULD BE 80 SEN!!

DON'T WAIT TO GET IN ON WEAKNESS!!

LAST ROUND DUTALAND REACHED RM1.60!!!

SO JUST ADD MORE WHILE CHEAP!!

GO GO DUTALAND!!!

Posted by apolloang > 2017-10-09 09:18 | Report Abuse

very tempting but I stayed on the sidelines better......hehe

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-10-09 09:24 | Report Abuse

apolloang kor,

ur hands today not itchy to do intra-day????

Posted by apolloang > 2017-10-09 09:27 | Report Abuse

nope....I just don't understand why today so many sellers when the deal is so near?

Alex Foo

12,594 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-10-09 09:28 | Report Abuse

apollo, this one u said last time ma, sell on news =)

Posted by apolloang > 2017-10-09 09:34 | Report Abuse

if it's so good why they r selling? only 1 month to wait. and the selling is a lot not a bit

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-10-09 09:37 | Report Abuse

apolloang kor,

u r rite

like u said, with so many sellers today, then better be cautious and stay on the sidelines.

old-hand is old-hand.

Posted by apolloang > 2017-10-09 09:37 | Report Abuse

I am a bit curious,why so many sellers? wanna chase also worry

56,703 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-10-09 09:39 | Report Abuse

Don't worry lah

Duta Yap the Top Boss cannot sell yet

WHY DUTA YAP CANNOT SELL BELOW RM1.00

THE ANSWER BY CALVIN TAN RESEARCH