BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

-0.01 (0.12%)

8.00 - 8.02

9 people like this.

12,618 comment(s). Last comment by BradonOoi 1 hour ago

ngaploh_

18 posts

Posted by ngaploh_ > 2020-11-02 17:56 | Report Abuse

kyo selling at $11.50-$8.00 {exercise duty]-$.80 [retailer profit] -$.20 [Distributor profit] Balance is $2.50, manufacturing cost of the cigarettes[tobacco leaves ,packing, cigarette filters etc] then transportation , insurance ,storage ,selling expenses ,administration cost ,leaving a very marginal profit ,this is for market share only & i am not sure sales tax got to pay or not? look at Dunhill $17.40-$8.00-$1.1-$.30= $8.00 ,the rest of the costing are the same as KYO except the tobacco leaves are of higher grade ,if higher turn over comes from KYO, only siok sendiri ,volume must come from Dunhill or other premium Brands ,other wise u can't see profit coming in ,but at$17.40,do u think sales can go up ,may be yes, if government can reduce the taxes , so i advise u guys to invest wisely ,gone were the glory days, no.1 stumbling block is pricing ,
if price of premium brand is$10.00 now ,value for money brand is $5.00,i can assure u illicit cigarettes will be almost extinct in the market leaving only the Duty not paid in the market.

ngaploh_

18 posts

Posted by ngaploh_ > 2020-11-02 20:22 | Report Abuse

KYO $11.5 ,ANOTHER BRAND $10.90 launched by phillip morris few weeks ago also cannot sell ,Kyo doing promotions in selected outlets ,buy one free one can get some support ,cigarettes costing double digit sure cannot sell in rural areas where 60-70% of the sales come from ,KYO IN OUTLETS NOT DOING PROMOTIONS ,a great disappointment as well,u all have to bear in mind,even $12 is not within the reach of the people in the street,BAT is a very good manage company,but the future is not there i was with 2 cigarette companies for 50 yrs ,i am not discouraging any one not to buy,they will be very happy if they can maintain their present volume as compare to last year.my advice is short term ,long term u will regret.

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-11-02 20:30 | Report Abuse

Are you sure not come down!!!

If we bet in now, Williamh will compensate us back by RM 1220 if the share price come down to RM 9.00...

Then we will follow you what you say "At present prices its hard to talk down than to talk up".....

Since we are not master mahhh....so we need guarantee from Williamh lorrr....

We saw Williamh so hardworking damn promoting to all members here....

Posted by Above60percent > 2020-11-02 20:40 | Report Abuse

BAT up a bit, and it becomes like Supermax forum with persistent doomtalkers.

Good luck with that guys. If you actually succeed in bringing it close to the huge panic MCO sale price, I will buy more.

At that price of RM 9.26 the dividend yield will become >9%.

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-11-02 20:48 | Report Abuse

Good supporter...

BAT need you....

Shareholders need you....

BATFLY

722 posts

Posted by BATFLY > 2020-11-02 21:21 | Report Abuse

The high dividend yield of about 9% as compared to FD of 1.5% will surely support BAT price.

Posted by focusinvesting > 2020-11-03 06:46 | Report Abuse

Hi everyone, its been a while but here's my 2cents on the company. The tobacco black market's uncontrollable growth is not something BAT can handle alone. It requires strong government intervention. We can't hope for the government's support so its definitely a very risky counter to invest on and there are better stocks to invest in other than BAT.

With that said, the current price and expected dividend payments makes BAT quiet attractive. The counter is likely to be undervalued. Its just that the risks are high and the returns will likely be low.

https://myfocusinvesting.com/index.php/2020/10/29/british-american-tobacco-quarterly-results/

Posted by Above60percent > 2020-11-03 10:59 | Report Abuse

To the doomtalkers: What share should I buy that is better than BAT?

Posted by Above60percent > 2020-11-03 18:56 | Report Abuse

Maybank stopped giving dividends.

SinGor

4,782 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2020-11-04 15:19 | Report Abuse

When All Banks announced Not Giving Dividend this Qr. BAT Value will suddenly jumps.
Next Qr or even next year dividend will hardly comes by from Banks (more than 1 million out
of Job )

IronShirt

3,178 posts

Posted by IronShirt > 2020-11-04 16:18 | Report Abuse

Maybank price 7.05 is 10years Low

IronShirt

3,178 posts

Posted by IronShirt > 2020-11-04 16:20 | Report Abuse

MBB at 3.90 is 11years Low. Next year who knows??

IronShirt

3,178 posts

Posted by IronShirt > 2020-11-04 17:13 | Report Abuse

305billion Budget basically put money in people's pocket as mention by PM. There is no limitation
that smokers cannot use the money to Buy Cigs......

longranger

220 posts

Posted by longranger > 2020-11-06 07:29 | Report Abuse

@ngaploh, just invested few days ago before reading your interesting articles, want to learn more, would you mind to text me at my mobile..0123131242 ?

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-11-06 08:55 | Report Abuse

Wrong words can hurt,Mas’s critiscism punch in the Faces of senior financial regulator officers cost him fell to earth,Ants mega IPO with him.

Simon_khoo

704 posts

Posted by Simon_khoo > 2020-11-06 12:53 | Report Abuse

Some update on BAT COVID vaccine

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2020-11-06 18:13 | Report Abuse

electronic vape 10% tax, ho seh liao

limyuwei

135 posts

Posted by limyuwei > 2020-11-06 18:20 | Report Abuse

BAT RM30 soon? haha

limyuwei

135 posts

Posted by limyuwei > 2020-11-06 18:28 | Report Abuse

Duti eksais ad valorem 10% untuk semua peranti rokok elektronik & bukan elektronik mulai 1 Jan 2021. Termasuk vape, electronic heated tobacco product, hookah bagi shisha & smoking pipe. Cecair rokok elektronik dikenakan duti eksais 40 sen/ml. Mengenakan cukai dengan kemudahan pulang balik atau drawback ke atas semua rokok import bagi tujuan transhipment dan eksport semula dan tidak membenarkan aktiviti transhipment dan eksport semula rokok menggunakan bot kumpit.

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-11-06 18:40 | Report Abuse

◤2021预算案◢ 明年冻结新香烟进口执照 电子烟收10�产税
https://www.chinapress.com.my/?p=2272810

Simon_khoo

704 posts

Posted by Simon_khoo > 2020-11-06 18:40 | Report Abuse

Any expert can elaborate a little bit on the tax and the positive impact on BAT...

Any tax experts?

Posted by Moneyking888 > 2020-11-06 18:59 | Report Abuse

Recently Is good or bad for Batman??

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-11-06 19:06 | Report Abuse

Keyman188 already told you earlier, this company is sunset business company, during tough time, sure government will imposed further tax on the tobacco products....

1) Now freeze all imported tobacco products, which mean BAT unable to further expand to import non-VFM tobacco to sustain further growth

2) Imposed 10% on "semua peranti rokok elektronik & bukan elektroni", which mean BAT profit will be impact by 10% unless this amount transfer to consumer (BAT already tapped in this market since few years back)

3) Imposed tax on all cigarettes & tobacco products at all "Pulau Bebas Cukai", which mean the sale very impact because part of the BAT's sale from free trade zone

## Sometime be value investors, don't be so stubborn because just looking at dividend yield, sometime can be trapped

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-11-06 19:07 | Report Abuse

Its legally for the e cigarette and will restricted the tranimport of cigarette,positive for bat

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-11-06 19:11 | Report Abuse

Transhipment ban and legallly e cigarette both had positive impact

longranger

220 posts

Posted by longranger > 2020-11-06 19:24 | Report Abuse

keyman188, i view those points you listed are meant to curb smuggling. positive to batman.

Posted by Investman1981 > 2020-11-06 19:31 | Report Abuse

Govt take act on illegai at last. Most do fake declaration that re-export. I think only restrict import quoto for other than 3 Big tobacco only

Posted by kokchengkai > 2020-11-06 20:08 | Report Abuse

"Mulai 1 Januari 2021, mengenakan cukai (harga penuh pasaran) ke atas rokok dan produk tembakau di semua Pulau Bebas Cukai Langkawi, Labuan, Tioman dan Pangkor,” kata Menteri Kewangan Tengku Zafrul Abdul Aziz.

Ketika membentangkan Belanjawan 2021 di Dewan Rakyat, dia turut mengumumkan langkah-langkah lain berhubung rokok adalah:

Pertama: Membekukan pengeluaran lesen import rokok baru;

Kedua: Memperketat pembaruan lesen import rokok melalui semakan semula syarat lesen termasuk mengenakan kuota import;

Posted by kokchengkai > 2020-11-06 20:09 | Report Abuse

Ketiga: Mengehadkan aktiviti transhipment rokok kepada pelabuhan tertentu sahaja;

Keempat: Mengenakan cukai dengan kemudahan pulang balik atau drawback ke atas semua rokok import bagi tujuan transhipment dan eksport semula;

Kelima: Tidak membenarkan aktiviti transhipment dan eksport semula rokok menggunakan bot kumpit

Keenam: Mengenakan cukai ke atas rokok dan produk tembakau di semua Pulau Bebas Cukai.

Pada tahun 2019, kajian mengenai rokok haram oleh Japan Tobacco International (JTI Malaysia) dilaporkan menganggarkan bahawa penjualan produk vape dan rokok haram yang tidak dikawal selia boleh menelan belanja kerajaan sekitar RM6 bilion.

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-11-06 20:15 | Report Abuse

Very Strong Buy---Everythings In---- House, Dogs, Cats all in.

1) 15years in Port Clearance, i see 100's of Cigs Containers disappear during Transhipment.
Syndicate know how to get illegal Cigs into Malaysia without paying Taxes. The Bulk of small
time Cigs factory inside Malaysia, never had a manufacturing Line( they just repack Cigs
imported from Indonesia---30--40% lower cost )

2) Freezing new import license And Freezing existing Quota just Kill all local BAT competitors
Draw back is how local( small factory) applies Export Rebate( dont have to pay local tax for
export ) But somehow they manage to distribute "export Cigs" in local market--ada jalan

3) Cannot export using "Bot Kumpit"--hahaha. Basically bot tongkang export to where?

4) Massive redirecting Cigs from Free trade Zone Langkawi ( no Tax)---Now blocked
Have to pay taxes now

I see BAT Revenue jumps immediately in 1Q21

However i like to see Gov impose a quota on Custom Depts on Cig Tax collection. Maybe
5 billion Tax collection if no collect, change Custom Chief. This is a sure Fire method bcos
for 1 illegal Cigs container caught, 10 escape without a trace

Simon_khoo

704 posts

Posted by Simon_khoo > 2020-11-06 20:30 | Report Abuse

rm13.00 on the way....

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-11-06 20:33 | Report Abuse

What Malaysia doing "Now" is Similar to What Singapore had been Doing for the last 10years.
Singapore enjoys just 5% illegal Cigs----Once Gov gets a massive Tax revenue from Cigs,
enforcement will tighten rapidly in 2021---bcos already "Pok-Kai" need revenue badly

Simon_khoo

704 posts

Posted by Simon_khoo > 2020-11-06 20:35 | Report Abuse

Comments from BAT & JTi CEO, welcome the moves by government!

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2020-11-06 20:55 | Report Abuse

Buy bat on monday

Goodprofit

1,022 posts

Posted by Goodprofit > 2020-11-06 21:07 | Report Abuse

sell on monday

Goodprofit

1,022 posts

Posted by Goodprofit > 2020-11-06 21:10 | Report Abuse

not good deal for Bat due to Vape Liquids consider legal.

Goodprofit

1,022 posts

Posted by Goodprofit > 2020-11-06 21:12 | Report Abuse

taxes continues gap up for legal Cigs but illgeal Cigs still alot in the market.

Posted by kokchengkai > 2020-11-06 21:13 | Report Abuse

KUALA LUMPUR (Nov 6): Tobacco companies British American Tobacco (M) Bhd (BAT) and Japan Tobacco International Bhd (JTI Malaysia) have welcomed the government’s move to strengthen enforcement against the illegal cigarette trade under Budget 2021.

In a statement, JTI Malaysia managing director Cormac O’Rourke welcomed the strengthening of the Multi-Agency Task Force (MATF), with the participation of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) and the National Financial Crime Centre (NFCC), saying the task force is the right vehicle to combat the country’s black economy.

“We are particularly pleased with the announcement that cigarette transhipment activities will be limited to certain ports only. We have called on a ban on transhipment of tobacco products time and again, as this loophole has been exploited for years.

“At a time when the country is grappling with high levels of illegal trading, strong and consistent implementation and effective enforcement is key. These are necessary measures to address a key smuggling channel for contraband cigarettes which has resulted in the massive losses to the country over the years,” O’Rourke said.

Meanwhile, BAT managing director Jonathan Reed noted that the measures mentioned in the government’s expenditure plan will help disrupt the supply of illegal cigarettes into the country.

“We are thankful to the finance minister and the Malaysian government for acknowledging the severity of the tobacco black market and taking a bold step towards addressing this issue.

“High taxes on legitimate cigarettes have created a huge demand for cheap, illegal cigarettes. The tobacco black market not only causes the loss of billions of ringgit in uncollected tax, it also funds crime, fuels corruption and drives the youth smoking rate,” Reed said in a separate statement.

JTI Malaysia’s O’Rourke hailed the government’s move to not increase the excise tax for cigarettes, given that the illegal cigarette industry accounts for 64.5% of total market consumption. Any increase in duties would have negatively impacted the industry and its supply chain, particularly hurting retailers, he said.

Reed said that moving forward, measures put in place to enhance the enforcement against the contraband marker must be accompanied by excise reforms in order to really address Malaysia’s tobacco black market. He noted that the price gap between legal and illegal products is currently too wide, creating a situation that enforcement alone cannot address.

“Ultimately, we believe Malaysian consumers want to do the right thing. If given a viable opportunity to choose a legal alternative at a reasonable price, most would prefer not to put money in the hands of criminals,” said Reed.

O’Rourke agreed, saying: “With the Covid-19 pandemic pressuring all sectors of our economy, we hope the government will fast track the proper enforcement of laws and implementation of various key anti-illicit tobacco measures to better address the situation. Any recovery of lost tax revenues by Putrajaya will also help the government financially.”

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2020-11-06 21:52 | Report Abuse

someone please correct me, all the things mentioned in the budget won't take effect until 2021, right? This means we will only see the results of this new policy in 2Q2021, right?

Posted by Moneyking888 > 2020-11-07 01:05 | Report Abuse

Seen good to Bat, Monday gogogo

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-11-07 05:39 | Report Abuse

逃税587万私烟 未到港口 即遭关税局捣破!
https://www.chinapress.com.my/?p=2273086

BATFLY

722 posts

Posted by BATFLY > 2020-11-07 08:01 | Report Abuse

Budget 2021 good for tobacco industry. At least there is light in the tunnel. Earning will sure improve.. Thumb up to the government..

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-11-07 08:39 | Report Abuse

Taxes on e-Cigs has NO impact on BAT revenue bcos BAT has NO market share (just started
Sept 2020 ) KYO now on the same Price level as illegal Cigs on Jan 2021. Brace for KWSP and
EPF buy-back since both has completely unloaded 10years ago.