BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

-0.03 (0.36%)

8.15 - 8.24

9 people like this.

12,508 comment(s). Last comment by EngineeringProfit 18 hours ago

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2023-02-09 09:38 | Report Abuse

good move.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-02-09 09:46 | Report Abuse

Thank goodness I have $31k in FD maturing by Monday so I can go generous shopping on this counter... if I so choose :)

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-02-09 10:21 | Report Abuse

Added more @ 12.28

MOBAjobg

298 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2023-02-09 14:40 | Report Abuse

Thank goodness I'd divested from BAT and invested in Tesla (NASDAQ) at the beginning of this year. So far, an unrealize gain about 91.5% for 6 weeks of hodling and its price is still soaring.

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-02-09 14:49 | Report Abuse

Hoi, WilliamH, you are selling asking us to buy. I sold at 13, thanks goodness...

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-02-09 14:50 | Report Abuse

Arh doompiilre, you really bought at 12.28...kikiki...
Hehe...I am happy am out !! Kikiki

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-02-09 14:55 | Report Abuse

Why toP loser? Becos many ppl CHASE in the new yr expecting bumper results but actual report is only so-so factoring in the stupee d tax & the deteriorating economy. Many loss-cutters who are kancheong spiders & prob never earned a single dividend in their lives because they never hold thinking they are so smart trading in & out LOL

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-02-09 15:21 | Report Abuse

Typical of such long-term loser investors is a remisier in one of the major IBs(hint:logo is red) called Ms Y****g who is like TakeProfits above, thinks she's so smart trading in & out of the mkt yet is not ashamed to follow tips & is a "proud" owner of scam stocks like Technax @ 16c & Euro @ $2.00+(!!!!!) LOL... She said she doesn't want to hold because she has no confidence in the economy & doesn't care for dividends, always claiming that stocks lose more than the dividend after the ex-date(not always true eg Maybank, Pelikan etc) yet is so greedy that she chased Maybulk for the dividend @ 47.5c after I gave her ample notice that I was buying continuously when it was 41-44c before that. 30 + years "experience" yet still dunno the difference between investment & speculation LOL

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-02-09 16:52 | Report Abuse

Bought more matching 12.20 @ close...tks again, Mr Mkt! We'll see who is right in 6 mths...

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-02-09 16:57 | Report Abuse

Kancheong spiders T +2, T +3, T+4 all have to cut loss...kesian...

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-02-09 17:19 | Report Abuse

Still huge margin of safety compared to very brief 1998 panic low of 13.50 & avg '98-'00 price of 26.00, when the qtrly t/o was less than 500 mil & EPS was 26-55c

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-02-09 17:32 | Report Abuse

If tomorrow drop below 12, will top up to 3,000 shrs to receive 600+ in dividend.

47,481 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2023-02-09 18:20 | Report Abuse

My cost is 11.xx...from last year.
I got > 7% dividend yield..
So, you sell you buy doesn't affect my cost..
I continue to take dividend from this generous rokok!

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-02-09 18:55 | Report Abuse

I remember the good 'ol days when just 100 shrs cost almost as much as the 600 I bought 2day.This is from my 2014 records when I totally exited from BAT:
O/S Due To You
Trans Date Due Date Ref No Stock Name Unit Price Qty Amount Acc Interest
13/11/2014 18/11/2014 SN2997374E BAT 68.9800 100 6,859.96

And later still good days when 450 shrs cost almost 3X more than the amt I spend today:

O/S Due From You
Trans Date Due Date Ref No Stock Name Unit Price Qty Amount Acc Interest
03/05/2016 06/05/2016 PZ1123537E BAT 43.7783 450 19,814.22 0.00

Fortunately, I did contra off 300 of these for a tidy gain & SOLD the balance later in that yr BUT the mistake was when I re-entered with 100 shortly after below $41. Averaging down very very slowly in 2018-2019(199) & early '20(747) & more aggressively below $13 after that(1,773 when the last dividend was paid) is how I got to the 2,575 today...

25,067 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-02-09 21:24 | Report Abuse

https://www.nst.com.my/business/2023/02/877876/affin-hwang-downgrades-bat-malaysia-sell-%C2%A0
AHAM want to buy cheap for their portfolio that's why they downgrade to sell
ulterior motiv

47,481 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2023-02-10 09:52 | Report Abuse

Haha..
Everyone smart than IB..
Great job..
All earn steadily in this cash cow

BradonOoi

601 posts

Posted by BradonOoi > 2023-02-10 10:49 | Report Abuse

Net profit declined due to one-off 33% prosperity tax. Overall is impressive and it generated the most revenue in Q4FY2022

rickygiam

59 posts

Posted by rickygiam > 2023-02-10 12:21 | Report Abuse

Just collected some at 1190, take the divendend...

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-02-10 16:53 | Report Abuse

I kept my word & bought another 500 today @ 11.88 to bring my holdings to 3,075 presently...happy weekened 2 all

Posted by searchingmoney > 2023-02-10 17:34 | Report Abuse

Diam diam ubi berisi...

williamh

822 posts

Posted by williamh > 2023-02-10 18:13 | Report Abuse

Bat is highly manupulated ,IB use old tactic right hand change left hand,should punish them like the once sentence 36 years in jail in s’pore

williamh

822 posts

Posted by williamh > 2023-02-11 15:36 | Report Abuse

Bat already well positioned for that sometimes ago partner ship company in Canada ,one Mh green light bat will be added value and MH is in talking with the cigarette company at the moment

25,067 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-02-11 17:32 | Report Abuse

smoke more = BAT up more

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-02-11 19:23 | Report Abuse

Happy to buy more @ prices first seen in 1990 when it was called Rothmans.

25,067 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-02-11 21:58 | Report Abuse

@dompeilee, how many packs BAT u smoke per day?

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-02-12 00:28 | Report Abuse

WilliamH, you are smart playing with us too. You sold out 13 something. I was smart too, got out there... hehe..
Everywhere smart promoters lessen selling pressure l, while you sell...kikiki

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-02-12 00:29 | Report Abuse

Yes, dompilee, how many packs BAT cigs you smoke per day !?

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-02-12 00:30 | Report Abuse

Bat, see you fly down to 9 or 10 soon...Hehe

williamh

822 posts

Posted by williamh > 2023-02-13 09:40 | Report Abuse

Right hand change left hand game ended,,with the dividend on the way IB can’t get extra anymore,who wants to sell for them

BradonOoi

601 posts

Posted by BradonOoi > 2023-02-13 11:48 | Report Abuse

Lol. RM9 or RM10 is during MCO's moment lor. Hard to see BAT fall to that price again

rickygiam

59 posts

Posted by rickygiam > 2023-02-13 12:18 | Report Abuse

Will push back to 12.80 by this week before ex divendend date on 22nd feb..

aiboon

296 posts

Posted by aiboon > 2023-02-13 13:07 | Report Abuse

13180-(340 * 4)

KgD8853

Posted by KgD8853 > 2023-02-13 13:46 | Report Abuse

11.50 or below BUY

BradonOoi

601 posts

Posted by BradonOoi > 2023-02-14 11:54 | Report Abuse

If BAT slid to Rm11.50 and below, surely will accumulate more

somo1

178 posts

Posted by somo1 > 2023-02-15 11:48 | Report Abuse

JPMorgan downgraded it to SELL with a TP of $9.50 citing shrinking market share, disappointing quarterly, and lacks of catalysts.

BradonOoi

601 posts

Posted by BradonOoi > 2023-02-15 13:24 | Report Abuse

Popular Shorties - JP Morgan. They won't dare to short BAT one given the number of share outstanding is low

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-02-15 16:26 | Report Abuse

Jp Morgan TGT 9.50...Then 9 can buy.
Careful of Dompilee and William H recommendations. Hehe..

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-02-15 16:27 | Report Abuse

Searching money...You are better, to buy BAT at 7 or early 8...Have to wait lor !! Hehe

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-02-15 17:27 | Report Abuse

Whatever...I can wait 10 yrs 20 yr....no prob. I'm rich :)

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-02-15 17:29 | Report Abuse

Oriental made me wait 8 yrs before even breaking even...collect collect collect from '14 till '21 & sell 90% in '22! Hah..if patience is an Olympic sport, I'll get a gold medal

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-02-15 20:02 | Report Abuse

Dompilee, patience is a virtue. One thing is the time factor, cos anything negative can happen to a listed co, long term...Look at Fgv and SapuraEnergy. !!

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-02-15 20:02 | Report Abuse

Dompilee, patience is a virtue. One thing is the time factor, cos anything negative can happen to a listed co, long term...Look at Fgv and SapuraEnergy. !!

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-02-15 20:05 | Report Abuse

BAT bought when it was $40...compared to holding too long. BAT (man) now below 15...
If you are really flush with money, that should be very ok. If I have 10m...and I use 3m to invest is no problem cos I have another 7m as a real buffer.
Good luck dompilee..

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-02-15 20:07 | Report Abuse

Dompilee, It's been good BAT gives good dividends to buffer paper losses. The dividends are a good point to hang on to BAT...But again as JP Morgan is saying BAT is loosing market share.....Still JpMorgan is only forecasting

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-02-16 01:59 | Report Abuse

The whole secret lies in confusing the enemy, so that he cannot fathom our real intent."
Sun Tzu, The Art of War

BradonOoi

601 posts

Posted by BradonOoi > 2023-02-16 13:36 | Report Abuse

Lol. Direct translation. By the way, it's your choice to hold/buy/sell BAT.
If either margin of safety or holding power is high, not a bad choice to keep this company

aiboon

296 posts

Posted by aiboon > 2023-02-22 09:35 | Report Abuse

看来要往年线那里找支撑了

sasword

1,139 posts

Posted by sasword > 2023-02-22 16:08 | Report Abuse

The power of EPF money laundering