BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

-0.02 (0.25%)

7.98 - 8.02

9 people like this.

12,619 comment(s). Last comment by Donator 5 hours ago

DividendGuy67

1,063 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-08-27 20:52 | Report Abuse

"
"Tobacco giant BAT has launched its Vuse disposable vape with up to 1,500 puffs in Malaysia, priced at RM22, after the government delisted liquid nicotine. Vuse is sold nationwide on Shopee and Lazada, and in convenience stores in Klang Valley and Penang."

DividendGuy67

1,063 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-08-27 21:11 | Report Abuse

My quick check on Shopee and Lazada indicates that the take-up is still extremely low. Unlikely to move the revenue needle for Q3/2023 QR. More likely to incur fixed costs to be reported in Q3/2023. So, odds are BAT will need to show the money to the market in its QR that it is selling really well. Else, this stock price is less likely to go up so soon. Weekly chart shows long term downtrend still intact.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2023-08-27 21:21 | Report Abuse

Agreed. Just wait to decide on buying later lah

BradonOoi

724 posts

Posted by BradonOoi > 2023-08-28 14:27 | Report Abuse

If really fall to RM9.50 and below, then it's a good accumulation opportunity in my view..

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-08-28 18:59 | Report Abuse

Wah so many of you in bed sleeping, in love with BAT.. Haha..
Averaging down, predicting share prices etc.
Goodee luckee..
What price should I enter 😅😆

DividendGuy67

1,063 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-08-28 22:19 | Report Abuse

BAT C19 and C22 structured warrants are maturing on 30/8/23 i..e this week. Their exercise prices are 10.58 and 12.80. Safe to say, both will expire out of the money. The only winner is the issuers who originally issued 100 million and 150 million shares. All buyers will very likely lose 100%, basically transferring their gambling bets to the structured warrant issuers. Congratulations issuers! You win again!

This is why I don't recommend retailers to buy structured warrants - odds are very high that retailers will lose. Only occasionally they may win big but that's the "hook" - designed to reel in retailers.

I only play mother shares. Collect dividends. Buy and sell and make profits.

Looks like there's strong invisible interest to make sure BAT prices doesn't go up by 30/8.

The next structured warrant to expire will be C23 expiring 28/11/23, with high Exercise Price of 12.50. You can bet, 100% of retailers who bought the C23 will also lose 100% of their monies. Again.

BradonOoi

724 posts

Posted by BradonOoi > 2023-08-30 11:06 | Report Abuse

Better buy mother share. Can enjoy good dividend and potential capital appreciation as well

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2023-09-04 20:21 | Report Abuse

Monitor first lah. Now cheap can only get cheaper

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2023-09-04 20:21 | Report Abuse

(Pas sin tax is coming - rokok ITU haram)

BradonOoi

724 posts

Posted by BradonOoi > 2023-09-11 15:21 | Report Abuse

Average down a bit today.. below RM10 is very cheap~

Simon_khoo

704 posts

Posted by Simon_khoo > 2023-09-12 15:31 | Report Abuse

Time to revisit BAT

Simon_khoo

704 posts

Posted by Simon_khoo > 2023-09-12 15:32 | Report Abuse

C27 a good buy, expiring 08/24 (11 months) huge potential….

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-09-12 17:06 | Report Abuse

Waah, can buy BAT-- man 😅 arh now...
Dunno future good or not...
Can go down to 7 sumting 😊 !?

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-09-12 22:55 | Report Abuse

Thanks Williamh,
You mean if next QTR good, then buy..!?
But if good insiders will start buying and too late for me lor

BradonOoi

724 posts

Posted by BradonOoi > 2023-09-13 10:30 | Report Abuse

Good info in there

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/679585

MOBAjobg

322 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2023-09-13 13:36 | Report Abuse

I’ve decided to invest in MBB today instead of BAT because the latter stock has been tarnished by government’s policy and illicit cig trades.
I will compare the stock performance of MBB and BAT diligently to ensure that my monies will get the best ROI under the category of low or minimal risk.
Tesla (listed in USA Nasdaq) is my #1 and only stock for long term investment under epic high growth risk category.

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-09-13 16:03 | Report Abuse

Thanks Brandon Ooi, I will stay out of BAT.......

DividendGuy67

1,063 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-09-13 20:36 | Report Abuse

MBB is a lot safer than BAT. BAT is still declining. Market doesn’t like BAT strategy to switch its cig clients to Vape due to further expected loss from cash cow segment into a new segment. Expect earnings to continue to decline. Those betting on warrants is hoping for a miracle price spike by expiry date which is not in the best interest of the warrant issuers. Warrant issuers always win in the long term.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2023-09-13 20:46 | Report Abuse

Don't go in first. Cheap only gets cheaper

MOBAjobg

322 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2023-09-14 10:30 | Report Abuse

@DividendGuy67

I definitely agree with the point that you’ve raised and has certainly shatter my confidence in this company’s strategy.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2023-09-14 10:30 | Report Abuse

G.g

BradonOoi

724 posts

Posted by BradonOoi > 2023-09-14 14:55 | Report Abuse

Ya. Chart movement is not look good...

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-09-14 16:23 | Report Abuse

Good luck with bat

Posted by durian_jatuh > 2023-09-14 16:24 | Report Abuse

bought 10 lot@9.80

freeze789

234 posts

Posted by freeze789 > 2023-09-14 17:09 | Report Abuse

just grab 20 lots

MOBAjobg

322 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2023-09-14 17:35 | Report Abuse

My amateurish technical analysis charting skill for BAT is showing stronk support at rm9.26.
I might consider to get a tiny position in BAT when its stock price is a steal just for the sake of not losing out.

hhhiii123

795 posts

Posted by hhhiii123 > 2023-09-14 20:21 | Report Abuse

wa, drop so much, drop more plzzz

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2023-09-14 22:06 | Report Abuse

gg

ivanlau

1,359 posts

Posted by ivanlau > 2023-09-14 23:16 | Report Abuse

If based on forward eps 85 x 10 pe , the fair value will be rm 8.50 , today closing 9.75, good luck guys........

RTSH7182

16 posts

Posted by RTSH7182 > 2023-09-15 08:40 | Report Abuse

ANY POSSIBILITIES THAT BAT (UK) MIGHT TAKE BAT (M) PRIVATE , IF THE PRICE KEEP ON FALLING? ANY OPINION?

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2023-09-15 08:42 | Report Abuse

Pushing up the price is an important job to be done by sharks in this counter for everybody to earn profits; and everybody was sure that some sharks would do it.

Any shark could have done it, but Nobody did it.

Somebody got angry about that, because it was everybody's job. Everybody thought anybody could do it, but nobody realized that everybody wouldn't do it.

Kevin Tam

528 posts

Posted by Kevin Tam > 2023-09-15 09:44 | Report Abuse

If the current government doesn’t implement something like Khalid as minister time n put some effort to reduce illicit cigarette, the performance of next 2 quarters should be better than latest quarter… Below RM10.00 should be good time to average down cost ( cost per share )…. Buying BAT for sure is higher risk than Maybank but for her high dividend yield n possible turnaround n raised to RM11 n above … Local research houses r always behind time to give reasonable target prices or they have purpose to give extra high or extra low target prices to influence retail investors…:)

Posted by invest8912 > 2023-09-15 09:46 | Report Abuse

@MOBAjobg today triple witching day, you wish to collect at RM9.2x may come true. Just be patient and wait until pre-close.

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2023-09-15 10:00 | Report Abuse

Govt doesn't care about tobacco business. Gone case gg

tnang

684 posts

Posted by tnang > 2023-09-15 10:35 | Report Abuse

div 9.1% better than EPF, start monitor you,, may enter below 9.50

MOBAjobg

322 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2023-09-15 11:03 | Report Abuse

I’ve just bought 1,000 shares at rm9.68 of BAT and will dollar cost average (DCA) with every nasty price dip.
Divested from BAT completely on Dec 22, 2022 with mediocre gains and was lucky to grab Tesla or TSLA stock on Jan 3, 2023 at a bargain price.

BradonOoi

724 posts

Posted by BradonOoi > 2023-09-15 14:52 | Report Abuse

Do some averaging down today...

tnang

684 posts

Posted by tnang > 2023-09-15 15:12 | Report Abuse

may go down further, slowly buy.

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-09-15 15:26 | Report Abuse

Tnang, what is bottom for BAT according to your charts. ?

TakeProfits

1,229 posts

Posted by TakeProfits > 2023-09-15 15:28 | Report Abuse

Wah, there are 136,300 heroes buyers at 9.65...
Somebody selling short may campak/throw at them all of it...
I got out at 13, itching to buy near it's lows !?

MOBAjobg

322 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2023-09-15 16:02 | Report Abuse

138,900 heroes buyers currently according to @TakeProfits it’s amazing that they are able to find rm9.65 as an immediate support.
With the aid of my “Japanese Candlestick Charting Techniques” book by Steve Nison 2nd ed, rm9.64 - rm9.65 appear as minor support.

tnang

684 posts

Posted by tnang > 2023-09-15 16:53 | Report Abuse

manage to get at 9.57. slowly collect for dividend

MOBAjobg

322 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2023-09-15 17:45 | Report Abuse

rm9.55, rm9.36 and rm9.17 for reference as nasty stock price drop to get in little by little.

MOBAjobg

322 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2023-09-15 18:00 | Report Abuse

I’ll definitely queue up to buy at rm9.48 (little bit) and rm9.28 (a little more).

DividendGuy67

1,063 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-09-15 20:28 | Report Abuse

As dividend investor, one should study its dividends closer.
1. TTM dividend = 75 sen.
2. 75 sen is record low dividend - prior FYE dividends = 88 / 98 / 83 / 118 / 155 / 169 / 232 / 312 for FYE 22 / 21/ 20 / 19/ 18 / 17 / 16 / 15.
3. Over past 8.5 years, dividend has SHRUNK 15.4% per annum.
4. If dividends continue to shrink 15% per annum, then, FYE 2023 dividend will not be 88 sen, but lower ~ 75 sen. Coincidentally, this equals TTM dividend of 75 sen.
5. Looking closer, BAT has cut Q1/23 and Q2/23 dividends to 13 and 16 sen respectively (Q1/22 = 17 sen; Q2/22 = 25 sen). Q3/22 & Q4/22 dividend = 25 and 21 sen which looks high relative to 13 and 16 sen, suggesting Q3 and Q4 dividends may be cut further i.e. FYE2023 dividend will be lower than 15% shrink rate this year.
6. My guess is that FYE2023 dividend = 68 sen (say 66 to 70 sen). Basically I am giving myself a 7 sen buffer cut. that Q3 and Q4 2023 dividend will be cut by a total of 7 sen.
7. What do I think of 68 sen dividend for 2023? At RM9.57 closing price, 0.68 / 9.57 = 7.1%.
8. What do I think of 7.1% in a declining dividend stock that shrinks its dividend by 15% per annum? Not quite enough reward yet.

So, I think I'll wait at a lower price before getting in. Still downtrending anyway. Let's see.

MOBAjobg

322 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2023-09-16 03:15 | Report Abuse

@DividendGuy67

Invest in stock, expects to earn 11% from capital appreciation and dividend with moderate risk.
Under the low to minimal risk category, it’s advisable to stride for about 8.5% ROI.

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-09-16 10:14 | Report Abuse

Bat man Vape too much competition from private companies Vape. TP5.00 achievable???

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-09-16 10:17 | Report Abuse

Is this Bat man like TopG movies replaying??? Scary

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2023-09-16 10:27 | Report Abuse

Yes, penny stock in the making