BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

+0.01 (0.13%)

7.99 - 8.05

9 people like this.

12,619 comment(s). Last comment by Donator 1 day ago

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2019-12-17 10:27 | Report Abuse

Cigarettes is a must business maintain in Malaysia...and all over the world....if you keep pressing cigarettes.......once their competitor 'dadah' taking place then you only know....

LuckyG

1,698 posts

Posted by LuckyG > 2019-12-17 10:29 | Report Abuse

bought . yummy

mk00001

84 posts

Posted by mk00001 > 2019-12-17 10:49 | Report Abuse

Well, once upon a time BAT used to be one of the investor's favourites on Bursa Malaysia especially with its consistent dividend yield. Back then BAT was representing one of the top 30 market cap stocks in FBMKLCI index. In fact, its stock price was the highest among FBMKLCI index components. Peaked at around RM 72 per share, BAT's share price has since fallen to multi-year low at around RM 15. Unfortunately, the fall in share price was mainly due to the huge decline in sales and profit throughout the years.

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2019-12-17 11:14 | Report Abuse

Exactly. However, it still doesn’t warrant the share price of 1 share to be less than a packet of Cigarettes :-| Fund Managers are just waiting and timing the “perfect” bottom fishing entry price to have a weightage in their funds for good dividend yield (albeit reduced basis) and high potential Capital Gain.

2,550 posts

Posted by abang_misai > 2019-12-17 12:20 | Report Abuse

Wah. Panic buying today

gghaha

1,639 posts

Posted by gghaha > 2019-12-17 12:36 | Report Abuse

old trick for new ppl.....:)

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2019-12-17 12:52 | Report Abuse

No stock operators will play on such high value stock. It seems like the “real bottom fishing price“ of 14.54-14.62 already established & unlikely to be re-visited. Some Funds already initiated their buying in today based on this morning Volume and price increased despite for some profit taking by Ikan Bilis that bought at the Lows. Other funds will be “panic buying” in due course as current price still very attractive:-)

2,550 posts

Posted by abang_misai > 2019-12-17 13:09 | Report Abuse

In the last few weeks when its share price was falling, there were lots of negative comments that surfaced, ie some claimed this is a sunset industry, chartist said its resistance broken and warned more new lows in the pipelines, news paper highlighted foreign fund selling, retailers pat on their back and said they are so clever not owning any BAT shares, etc.

This was the time the smart local funds can snap up as much as they want at a bargain. We ikan bilis can ride on this recovery.

2,550 posts

Posted by abang_misai > 2019-12-17 13:14 | Report Abuse

My cost 25k@Rm14.74. Already made 4.7%. I think can easily make 30-40% in a year.

Orange168

37 posts

Posted by Orange168 > 2019-12-17 13:24 | Report Abuse

That’s a rumors that vaping is going to be banned in 1st March 2020, that explained the market movements

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2019-12-17 13:28 | Report Abuse

@ abang_misai Looks like we are the brave souls & King of Ikan Bilis :-) I have accumulated even more than you as I could not resist the excellent bottom fishing price the last few trading days to accumulate even more. Trust My Intuition - The Best Is Yet To Come :-)

icecool

4,895 posts

Posted by icecool > 2019-12-17 13:29 | Report Abuse

finally no more new low

Orange168

37 posts

Posted by Orange168 > 2019-12-17 13:31 | Report Abuse

Once the vaping ban news is officiated, the price easy soar up to 18-20, and slowly hike up to 25-30 marks by 1H2020 after seeing the influx of revenues from the effect.

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2019-12-17 13:42 | Report Abuse

Christmas comes early ? I am dreaming of a White Christmas up in the alps of Switzerland/Austria. It will be a wonderful panoramic view from above once BAT soars further past 20 :-)

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2019-12-17 14:08 | Report Abuse

All I Want For Christmas Is BAT To Soar past 20 ;-) :-)

2,550 posts

Posted by abang_misai > 2019-12-17 14:22 | Report Abuse

Good for you @panorama1. A target price of Rm20-Rm25 is very reasonable. Let the mr market to do their job.

value88

709 posts

Posted by value88 > 2019-12-17 14:47 | Report Abuse

Oversold and rebounding now..
Oops...didn't buy enough last few days..i was thinking can accumulate slowly.

tokohM

432 posts

Posted by tokohM > 2019-12-17 15:43 | Report Abuse

now only rebounding, don't happy so easily. I also want it to rise but we need to be patient

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2019-12-17 17:01 | Report Abuse

Good closing @ up > 5% (15.36) with good volume (~ 1.5m v average volume of ~ 400k in the last 4 weeks) and 1st. Day of trend reversal. More importantly, it is no longer a falling knives situation as a firm bottom seems to have been established. Augurs well heading into 2020 :-)

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2019-12-17 17:19 | Report Abuse

At ~ 1.5m volume transacted today, it is certainly not Ikan Bilis trading but real IB/Funds moving into position/weightage for First Mover advantage. Last Call @ 14.54 yesterday and let’s watch BAT soar heading into 2020 :-)

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2019-12-17 18:06 | Report Abuse

https://youtu.be/yXQViqx6GMY

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2019-12-17 18:20 | Report Abuse

https://youtu.be/wSxFK9mRBRA

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2019-12-17 18:21 | Report Abuse

https://youtu.be/XSGiIxOXESw

tokohM

432 posts

Posted by tokohM > 2019-12-18 10:05 | Report Abuse

one day show only

Newcummer1

198 posts

Posted by Newcummer1 > 2019-12-18 10:15 | Report Abuse

More to come

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2019-12-18 10:28 | Report Abuse

BAT wings just unclipped yesterday and it will take time for it to gain it’s strength & soar thereafter. Sellers minimal and IB/Funds are patience so as to pick up from weak holders.

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2019-12-18 10:44 | Report Abuse

Market gyrations are good so that the market can be vibrant and noises/negativity give opportunities to make monies. Otherwise, it will just be a lackluster market.

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2019-12-18 11:10 | Report Abuse

That’s the beauty of the Stock Market. Differing views and opinion. Strong holders beat weak holders & Big fish eat Small Fish :-) We might be Ikan Bilis but we can be strong and beat the big players too.

casanwk

1,496 posts

Posted by casanwk > 2019-12-18 11:12 | Report Abuse

Using fib retractment 38(15 min chart)
Next resistance 15.2

Posted by TianTianHuat > 2019-12-18 11:37 |

BAT_

137 posts

Posted by BAT_ > 2019-12-18 11:59 | Report Abuse

Buy more on dips to get more huat.

bootroop

257 posts

Posted by bootroop > 2019-12-18 13:30 | Report Abuse

Oppsss...brake rosak

Posted by TianTianHuat > 2019-12-18 19:53 |

2,550 posts

Posted by abang_misai > 2019-12-18 20:20 | Report Abuse

Alhamdulilah... masih timbul peluang menambah kedudukan. Should it retrace below Rm15.00, I will not hesitate to add another 10k shares.

Posted by Trader_Kental85 > 2019-12-18 20:46 | Report Abuse

subnallah... abang Misai..is this counter Shariah Compliant???

cheewk

8 posts

Posted by cheewk > 2019-12-18 20:51 | Report Abuse

Smoking is haram

BAT1

28 posts

Posted by BAT1 > 2019-12-18 21:08 | Report Abuse

TianTianHuat(attack back at PM Hldg) everyday hate posts can't you'll see or blind? Today also 1 person new id hate post all blind cannot see?

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2019-12-18 21:09 | Report Abuse

@ abang_misai Although BAT is an excellent investment even at current price, it is important to always maintain a diversified portfolio. On bottom fishing approach & opportunities based on portfolio re-balancing position available in early November 2019, a good diversified portfolio will include BAT, Sunway, EcoWorld, Top Glove, SuperMax, SP Setia, IOIPG, IHH, PLabs, SKP, LHI, PCCS, Petron, Maybank, ABMB, Star, MYEG, Scicom, KESM & D&O. Happy Investing ;-) :-)

William Ng

893 posts

Posted by William Ng > 2019-12-18 22:39 | Report Abuse

tomorrow below 15 again

2,550 posts

Posted by abang_misai > 2019-12-18 23:07 | Report Abuse

Thanks @panorama1 for sharing. Obviously you have your own reasoning when you bought the stocks you mentioned.

My portfolio are the rock-bottom stocks, ie BAT, Genting, Ytlpower, Tunepro, Ecoworld, DKSH, Wcehd, AWC & Cjcen. All these stocks were bought at their multiple-year lows.

Recently made my money by disposing prlexus & Ewint which I bought them at their bottom and switch to BAT, Genting, Ytlpower & Tunepro.

I follow Sifu Howard Marks’ philosophy, ie buy low to control risks. If 2 or 3 of the stocks I own rise 100%, I will make a lot of money because I know the others in my portfolio will not suffer from any significant drops simply because I bought them at their bottom.

2,550 posts

Posted by abang_misai > 2019-12-18 23:11 | Report Abuse

I made a lot of money by avoiding mistakes (buy high). If you have 1hr time, please listen to what Howard Marks has said in this video. https://youtu.be/L_HWRwIOcg4

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2019-12-19 08:21 | Report Abuse

Thanks abang_misai We have similar “bottom fishing” investment philosophy albeit different selection of portfolio of stocks. Let’s make good money together :-)

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2019-12-19 08:45 | Report Abuse

I disposed off with hefty gains in Astro, Inari, Armada, Velesto, SP Setia (Round 1),PCCS (R1), SKP (R1), VS, ATA, SuperMax (R1), Hartalega, MBMR, TuneProtect, IHH (R1), CIMB, Inari, Aeon, MTAG, KNM & Air Asia previously using the same strategy. The capital gains enable me to have a widened and bigger investment portfolio.

Posted by Felda_settlers > 2019-12-19 10:16 | Report Abuse

Smoking ban under Buku Harapan what page?

apalumau

2,192 posts

Posted by apalumau > 2019-12-19 15:18 | Report Abuse

rokok basah lagi.......

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2019-12-19 16:25 | Report Abuse

Haa...Haa...

One day show again....

This round sure break RM 14.....

Still leverage lower...lower...& lowest...!!!!!!!

Undi_PKR

945 posts

Posted by Undi_PKR > 2019-12-19 16:35 | Report Abuse

Bad men a lot under PH bec wrong PM? Anwar pls be PM asap.

Haw Liao

1,152 posts

Posted by Haw Liao > 2019-12-20 08:54 | Report Abuse

bat is becoming cancerous hahahaaa

LuckyG

1,698 posts

Posted by LuckyG > 2019-12-20 09:00 | Report Abuse

bought 2nd batch . 14.80 yummy