AFFIN BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): AFFIN (5185)

-0.11 (3.29%)

3.23 - 3.35

4,041 comment(s). Last comment by ScotFree 4 days ago

10bagger10

1,007 posts

Posted by 10bagger10 > 2017-03-10 18:37 | Report Abuse

Very big

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-03-10 19:05 | Report Abuse

How big is very big?

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-03-10 20:14 | Report Abuse

Too big? Ha! Ha!

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-03-10 20:14 | Report Abuse

I wanna guess. 19 cents?

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-03-10 20:35 | Report Abuse

Too big I sell my CV!

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-03-10 20:52 | Report Abuse

各项业务贡献增加 艾芬控股业绩卓越

Posted by i3investorLife > 2017-03-10 20:55 | Report Abuse

Roughly when is the final dividend announcement?

10bagger10

1,007 posts

Posted by 10bagger10 > 2017-03-11 15:10 | Report Abuse

24 cts? Can o not.

Posted by Koh Wee Kiat > 2017-03-11 22:30 | Report Abuse

0.24 i let u chop

10bagger10

1,007 posts

Posted by 10bagger10 > 2017-03-12 07:57 | Report Abuse

Y u wan let me chop?

10bagger10

1,007 posts

Posted by 10bagger10 > 2017-03-12 19:00 | Report Abuse

U offer i also dun want.

Buybuybuy

695 posts

Posted by Buybuybuy > 2017-03-13 09:49 | Report Abuse

Trading buy call 3.80. Most undervalued stock and will announce the dividend soon so just buy now before the price goes up again,

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-03-13 13:28 | Report Abuse

Today I met my remisier. He reminded me, "You know or not your CV already 300% gain?"

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-03-13 16:36 | Report Abuse

Dear TheContrarian, kudos on your success in affin-cv. Only bought mum and not the warrant as there is few. Not sure which 1 to buy. If you were to collect your profit now, which other stock you are eyeing.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-03-13 16:53 | Report Abuse

I don't want to sell yet. I sold only some Ancom today, bought at 32 - 37.5 sen, sold a small portion at 44 sen. Last Friday near 5 pm I bought some Cresbld at 92 sen. I have plenty of cash sitting in my current account and FD. No hurry to sell Affin-CV.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-03-13 18:07 | Report Abuse

Last week EPF continued to sell Affin shares.

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-03-13 19:50 | Report Abuse

EPF is a trader, selling and buying shares.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-03-13 20:47 | Report Abuse

Lately EPF hasn't been buying, only selling.

Galant

171 posts

Posted by Galant > 2017-03-17 10:06 | Report Abuse

bank stocks are hot today...affin can follow?

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-03-17 19:39 | Report Abuse

Always the last to follow.

Posted by Winningpost > 2017-03-17 20:08 | Report Abuse

Again will play catch up with the rest of banking stocks by next week - for sure.

Posted by Winningpost > 2017-03-17 20:09 | Report Abuse

Affin I mean.

kktom

394 posts

Posted by kktom > 2017-03-18 22:11 | Report Abuse

affin will come up to 3.20

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-03-20 15:14 | Report Abuse

if can stay above 2.90, then it will be a good support. Looking forward it to go beyond 3.00

Buybuybuy

695 posts

Posted by Buybuybuy > 2017-03-21 15:43 | Report Abuse

Insider news : foreign funds is aiming affin bank so accumulate the shares now before the price starts moving again. Trading buy call 3.80

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-03-21 18:30 | Report Abuse

Agree. It will go up like May bank and Cimb.

darrenliew

968 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2017-03-21 20:32 | Report Abuse

AGREED WITH ABOVE POSITIVE NEWS.
AFTER A BIT MORE CONSOLIDATION PRICE WILL GO ABOVE 3.00.
ALREADY SEEN INCREASING PURCHASES N ACCUMULATION AT 2.92
NOW DOING SOME OWN RESEARCH ON THE COMPARITIVE FUNDAMENTALS AND PRICING BETWEEN AFFIN BANK AND ITS COMPETITORS, CIMB AND RHB BANK.
WILL SHOW THAT AFFIN SHARE PRICE IS CURRENTLY VERY MUCH UNDER PRICED BASED
ON ACCEPTED N RECOGNISED FIMANCIAL RATIOS N BENCHMARKS.
SO FAR TA ENTERPRISE'S FAIR VALUE PRICE TARGET AT RM3.20 IS MORE REFLECTIVE OF
AFFIN'S FUNDAMENTALS AND EARNINGS POTENTIAL.
NEVERTHELESS BASED ON THE VARIOUS FINANCIAL RATIOS N BENCHMARKS, I BELIEVE
AFFIN'S SHARE PRICE SHOULD BE EVEN HIGHER.
RM3.80 HAD BEEN MENTIONED IN THE FORUM. BUT REMEMBER AFFINS SHARE PRICE
HAD REACHED ABOVE RM4 A FEW YEARS AGO. RELEVANT TO NOTE ITS NTA IS 4.47
HOPE TO BE ABLE TO PRESENT MY VIEWS SOON

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-03-22 16:18 | Report Abuse

Damn EPF keeps selling.

darrenliew

968 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2017-03-24 14:20 | Report Abuse

Saturday, 18 March 2017
Credit Suisse: It’s time to invest in Malaysia
BY AFIQ ISA

PETALING JAYA: Credit Suisse (CS) said it is now time for investors to put their funds into Malaysian stocks as current valuations indicate that local equities are poised for a strong recovery.

Malaysia has underperformed its peers in the emerging markets due to several reasons, among them being the downward pressure on the ringgit as well the selldown in heavyweight sectors such as banks.

But now, according to CS in an extensive report yesterday, while the 34% decline in Malaysian equities on a dollar-adjusted basis over the past 45 months was warranted, the market bottom may be close at hand.

Calling it as “the ultimate contrarian trade”, the research house outlined 10 reasons to be bullish (see table).

Among them is that Malaysia’s GDP growth may see further upside, thanks to a rebound in commodities. Additionally, the government may have more leeway to increase spending, given its conservative average crude oil price forecast of US$48 per barrel, CS said.

“We believe that the recent stability in the commodity complex we have witnessed the last of the downgrades to near term growth expectations.

“We now expect a pick-up in growth to 4.5% this year (above consensus expectations of 4.3%), driven by public infrastructure projects, commodity-related investments and a boost to rural income from the recovery in rubber prices,” it explained.

image: http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2017/03/18/credit-suisse-its-time-to-invest-in-malaysia/~/media/6e9e3c3809c94d24a57732dee2661843.ashx?h=432&w=620

Another reason is on the improvement of earnings dynamics among Malaysian corporates. CS points out that at the sector level, the recovery in earnings revisions is led by the energy and mining space.

Additionally, among the larger sectors, consumer discretionary and staples have recovered sharply well into net positive territory with industrials and financials improving to at least neutral levels.

Another key catalyst for the markets is the attractiveness of the ringgit at present levels after significant devaluation.

Although Malaysia’s 15-year trend of a weaker ringgit in real effective exchange rate (REER) terms is justified by the steady erosion of its share of global exports, the 18% REER devaluation over the past three years appears severely overdone, given the relatively modest decline in export share over this period, CS noted.

One prominent beneficiary from the repair in the macro environment appears to be the banking sector, which is a heavyweight component for the FBM KLCI.

The research house said that private sector credit growth had just bounced off a 13-year low at 5.6% year-on-year in January compared to 4.2% in September last year.

“Encouragingly, deposit growth recovering back into positive territory should serve to moderate the pick-up in the loan-to-deposit ratio, which is currently at elevated levels which typically dampens credit extension,” it said.

In light of its market recommendation, CS has picked its top 10 stocks which offer superior dividends and free cashflow yields.

The companies are Malayan Banking Bhd, CIMB Group Holdings Bhd, Axiata Group Bhd, Kuala Lumpur Kepong Bhd, Astro Malaysia Holdings Bhd, British American Tobacco (M) Bhd, IJM Corp Bhd, Gamuda Bhd, Alliance Financial Group Bhd and Malakoff Corp Bhd.

To date, the FBM KLCI is already up by 6.3%. Yesterday saw the largest one-day turnover in stocks since May 2016 with total trading volume of 4.98 billion shares valued at RM5.04bil.

(CALL TO BE OVERWEIGHT ON BANK SHARES)
======================================

(ALSO NOTE THAT AFFIN SHARES IS FUNDAMENTALLY SOUND AND REGISTERING STRONG
=============
EARNINGS RECOVERIES RECORDING 9MTH PROFIT OF RM20M AGAINST RM6M FOR ITS CORRESPONDING PERIOD LAST YEAR.

AFFIN IS ALSO THE CHEAPEST ENTRY INTO MALAYSIAN BANK SECTOR (WITH PRICE TO BOOK RATIO OF ONLY 0.7x COMPARED TO THE CONSENSUS 1.17x applicable for Bank Sector in Bursa)

darrenliew

968 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2017-03-24 14:53 | Report Abuse

COMPARITIVE PRICE TO BOOK (P/B) FOR SELECTED BANK STOCKS :-

AFFIN CURRENTLY HAS THE LOWEST P/B OF 0.64x (SHARE PRICE/NTA WHICH IS 2.88/4.47)
and therefore provides the cheapest entry into malaysian banking sector. Affin has sound fundamentals and registering strong earnings recoveries

RHB'S P/B IS 1.0x

CIMB'S P/B IS 1.11x

darrenliew

968 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2017-03-24 14:54 | Report Abuse

COMPARITIVE PRICE TO BOOK (P/B) FOR SELECTED BANK STOCKS :-

AFFIN CURRENTLY HAS THE LOWEST P/B OF 0.64x (SHARE PRICE/NTA WHICH IS 2.88/4.47)
and therefore provides the cheapest entry into malaysian banking sector. Affin has sound fundamentals and registering strong earnings recoveries

RHB'S P/B IS 1.0x

CIMB'S P/B IS 1.11x

Buybuybuy

695 posts

Posted by Buybuybuy > 2017-03-27 15:31 | Report Abuse

Final dividend (14sen or more)will be announced within this 2 weeks so just buy now before the price increase. Buy call 3.80

cend0l

188 posts

Posted by cend0l > 2017-03-27 16:26 | Report Abuse

where is your source? @buybuybuy

Posted by i3investorLife > 2017-03-27 19:33 | Report Abuse

Sudden drop of 7sen? What happened?

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-03-27 19:49 | Report Abuse

Forced selling of contra players' open position.

darrenliew

968 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2017-03-29 08:09 | Report Abuse

WELL CONSOLIDATED DURING THE PAST 1 MONTH BETWEEN 2.84 TO 2.92.

NEXT PRICE RANGE WILL BE 2.92 TO 3.20

LONGER TERM TARGET IS 3.80

ABOVE PRICE TARGETS WILL BE SUPPORTED BY VERY GOOD 4Q AND FULL PROFITS.
FURTHER CATALYST WILL BE FROM A FINAL DIVIDEND WHICH IS EXPECTED SOON.
FINAL D EXPECTED TO BE BIG ONE.( SUPPORTED BY GOOD EARNINGS RECOVERIES).

MORE CATALYSTS FROM FOREIGN FUNDS INCREASING INFLOWS INTO BURSA AND THEIR
OVERWEIGHT INTO MALAYSIAN BANK SHARES.

AFFIN SHARE PRICE IS VERY UNDERVALUED, IF NOT THE MOST UNDERVALUED WITH ITS PRICE TO BOOK AT ONLY 0.64x (AGAINST MOST OTHER BANKS AVERAGING 1.17x)

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-03-30 19:12 | Report Abuse

Final dividend only 4.5 sen?

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-03-30 20:43 | Report Abuse

Ya lah. How come only 4.5 cents final dividend? Affin must explain. Some more, it is DRP.

member41

3,718 posts

Posted by member41 > 2017-03-30 21:07 | Report Abuse

Dividend so little. How to meet 50% policy? They hoard the $ for what?

darrenliew

968 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2017-03-30 21:48 | Report Abuse

ACTUALLY THE TOTAL DIVIDEND IS 7.5 SEN (AS IT HAD PAID 3 SEN INTERIM D )

ALSO I BELIEVE FUTURE DIVIDENDS WILL BE INCREASED AS ITS EARNINGS RECOVERY GATHERS UPWARD MOMENTUM. MY CONFIDENCE IN AFFIN'S PROFITS GROWTH IS BASED ON ITS IMPROVEMENTS IN ITS BUSINESS OPERATIONS ESPECIALLY IN ITS ISLAMIC BANKING AND INSURANCE DIVISIONS.

AFFIN'S CURRENT BUSINESS TRANSFORMATION/INTERNAL ORGANISATION AS WELL AS ITS AFFINITY PROGRAMMES WILL ENSURE BETTER BUSINESS GROWTH.

IT IS SIGNIFICANT TO NOTE THAT AFFIN'S SHARE PRICE IS VERY MUCH UNDERVALUED.

ONE OF THE RATIOS USED TO MEASURE THE WORTH OF BANKING SHARES IS THEIR RESPECTIVE PRICE TO BOOK (P/B) CURRENTLY AVERAGING 1.17x . AFFIN'S P/B OF 6.4x MEANS IT IS NOW THE CHEAPEST PRICED BANK STOCK IN BURSA. AFFIN'S SHARE IS THEREFORE THE MOST UNDERVALUED AND WITH ITS STRONG EARNINGS RECOVERY THE PROSPECTS ARE GOOD FOR ITS SHARE PRICE TO INCREASE ESPECIALLY SINCE FOREIGN FUNDS ARE FLOWING BACK INTO BURSA AND THERE ARE CALLS TO OVERWEIGHT OUR BANKING SECTOR.

COMPARITIVE P/Bs ARE GIVEN HERE TO FURTHER ILLUSTRATE MY POINT THAT AFFIN'S SHARE PRICE IS UNDERVALUED AND SHOULD MOVE HIGHER ON THE BACK OF ITS EARNINGS RECOVERY :-

AFFIN : 0.64x

CIMB : 1.11x

RHB : 1.00x

BANK ISLAM: 1.70x

darrenliew

968 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2017-03-30 22:01 | Report Abuse

OTHER NOTEWORTHY INDICATORS ON AFFIN INCLUDE :-

IT'S SHARE PRICE WAS ABOVE RM4.00 DURING 2013

IT HAD PAID 15 SEN DIVIDEND IN 2012 AND 2013

PROSPECTS FOR AFFIN TO REGAIN ITS FORMER GLORY ARE BRIGHT.

THE GROUND WORK HAS BEEN LAID.

IT'S 1Q RESULTS/PROFITS HAD REGISTERED STRONG RECOVERY

darrenliew

968 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2017-03-31 08:32 | Report Abuse

AFFIN'S SHARE PRICE AT 2.86 MEANS ITS PRICE TO BOOK (2.86/4.47) IS ONLY 0.64x
WHICH IS EXCESSIVELY DISCOUNTED AND UNJUSTIFIED (compared to the market average of 1.17x)

AFFIN'S PRICE SHOULD BE MORE FAIRLY PRICED AS :

AT P/B OF 0.72x = 3.22

at P/B OF 0.85x = 3.80

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-03-31 08:37 | Report Abuse

Problem is EPF selling all the time.

scanner

96 posts

Posted by scanner > 2017-03-31 10:02 | Report Abuse

Correct it is under valued. Why Local and Foreign investors not buying the stock. This is the GLC stock. Investors look down on the management resulting the stock is under value and they feel they are proud of what they are doing. This is the same as Boustead and etc. Never mind, this is what they show themselves to current and future investors. How to invest into this type of stock.

Beza

1,847 posts

Posted by Beza > 2017-03-31 10:08 | Report Abuse

So it safer to invest in this kind of stocks as always undervalue. We should not invest in overvalue stocks.

darrenliew

968 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2017-03-31 10:25 | Report Abuse

INSTITUTIONAL INVESTORS, INCLUDING FOREIGN FUNDS, AS WELL AS INDIVIDUAL
VALUE INVESTORS, WILL ALWAYS ON THE LOOK OUT FOR FUNDAMENTALLY SOUND STOCKS WITH GOOD BUSINESS PROSPECTS. ONCE THEY RECOGNISE AFFIN'S VALUE AND START AGGRESSIVE ACCUMULATION THEN U CAN SEE A STRONG PRICE UPTREND.

darrenliew

968 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2017-03-31 10:38 | Report Abuse

ITS ALWAYS SAFER AND BETTER TO INVEST YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY IN FUNDAMENTALLY SOUND AND STILL UNDERVALUES SHARES LIKE AFFIN BANK.
LOW DOWNSIDE RISKS BUT HUGE UPSIDE POTENTIAL. MAY TAKE A GRADUAL UPTREND
PATTERN BUT HAS THE ABILITY TO GO UP STEADILY.

THERE WAS CALL TO BUY AFFIN AT 2.20 SOME MONTHS BACK BASED ON AN ANALYSIS OF ITS GOOD FUNDAMENTALS.

ONE GUY WROTE HE HAD CUT LOSS ON ALL HIS OTHER STOCKS AND RE-INVEST ALL HIS SALES PROCEEDS INTO AFFIN. SAID HE WILL EXIT THE STOCK MART AND JUST WAIT FOR AFFIN'S VALUE TO EMERGE AND RECOUP HIS LOSSES AND BECOME A WINNER. NOW AT 2.87 AND WITH ITS ABILITY TO SCALE HIGHER, I THINK HE HAS BEEN PROVEN WISE AND SKILLFUL

sctan

468 posts

Posted by sctan > 2017-03-31 10:54 | Report Abuse

affinity is under performed stock. not undervalue. due to poor managements and many doubtful loans. only if mgt buckup and clean the bad loans. then it can perform again.

darrenliew

968 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2017-03-31 11:17 | Report Abuse

FY2016'S NET PROFIT AT RM580M REGISTERED AN INCREASE OF RM198M OR 52% HIGHER THAN 2015'S. A STRONG PROFIT GROWTH.

INDICATIONS ARE THAT ITS COMING 1Q PROFITS ENDING 31/3/17 WILL CONTINUE TO BE GOOD