BANK ISLAM MALAYSIA BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): BIMB (5258)

-0.02 (0.79%)

2.49 - 2.55

32 people like this.

9,272 comment(s). Last comment by 5354_ 8 hours ago

rlch

4,126 posts

Posted by rlch > 2024-01-31 09:30 | Report Abuse

Siapa main? Sarawak govn can sell Affin buy BIMB 40 sen cheaper.

25,155 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-01-31 09:41 | Report Abuse

Sarawak can't buy BIMB cos Sarawak is multi racial multi religion. Sasah nak justify to Sarawakians

aklobi

271 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2024-01-31 16:24 | Report Abuse

@speakup, religion has nothing to do with Islamic Banking. Many non Muslims and non Muslim institutions invest in Dubai Islamic Bank, Abu Dhabi Islamic Bank and others. Infact, Islamic banking is being viewed as a legitimate alternative type of safe banking that is gaining momentum in non-Muslim societies. It is merely a financial concept despite it having "Islamic" in it's name.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-02-02 16:46 | Report Abuse

First time in my life bought BIMB today, small portion at 2.25.

smartly

6,386 posts

Posted by smartly > 2024-02-02 16:57 | Report Abuse

welcome on board !

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-02-02 17:01 | Report Abuse

Tq

5354_

4,602 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Abang Jo said want to acquire a commercial bank but without giving name why cannot be BIMB? Cheaper by 30 sen compare to Affin.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Bought at 2.24 today.

Posted by rummygame2100 > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

fgfg

Mabel

23,252 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Happy Chinese New Year to all the i3 Investors! As we welcome the auspicious Year of the Dragon, we seize this opportunity to extend our heartfelt wishes to each and everyone of you. May this Lunar New Year bring you abundant joy, prosperity, and good fortune! Let's all HUAT ah!!!

Captain Mabel Meow

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Go, go, go BIMB.

5354_

4,602 posts

RM 2.5-2.6 like Affin can?

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Posted by rlch > 1 week ago | Report Abuse

If you like bank BIMB is cheaper. Also good dividend counter.

Thank you for the recommendation.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

@5354_ , RM3 also can.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

BIMB closed +2.6% with higher volume. Nice price move, looking to retest previous resistance. The more times it tries to retest, the better in general.

BIMB is my 7th largest holding out of 49 stocks today. Thanks to BIMB and 21 other green stocks to offset the few reds, my portfolio made new All Time High again today. Thank-you Mr Market!

hhhiii123

696 posts

Posted by hhhiii123 > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

plz give good dividend!!

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Dividend already paid out last month.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Go, go, go BIMB.

Johnzhang

2,955 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

@TheContrarian, the market is listening you . 😄

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Forum here is rather quiet. I feel BIMB can go far.

Fuiyoh ... BIMB closed +3.83%. BIMB now climbs to my Top 5 largest stock from Top 7 yesterday. Thanks to BIMB and 23 other stocks that closed in green, my portfolio hit New All Time high again today for 4 consecutive trading days ... Thank-you Mr Market!

Looking closer, I was very lucky to have entered into BIMB near the bottom.
- My first entry was 9/5/23 at 2.03.
- I then keep buying more as price went down until it hit near the bottom of 1.75 - I didn't get the absolute low of 1.7, but it was good enough to be able to buy at 1.75.
- That brought my average cost down to 1.87.
- Then, we receive dividends. I took some small profits and my net cost after dividends and a small amount of realized means my average cost price is now 1.70. This is for my 5th largest holdings out of 48 stocks.

At 2.44 close today, my unrealized gains is now close to 43%.

And here I was, when I entered at an average cost of 1.87, I was only happy to target a long term Dividend Yield of 7.2%. Now it turns out, instead of gaining 7% (since I held less than a year), I have earned something like 43% gains. What a bonus.

Thank-you Mr Market.

It is amazing when you track its NTA growth over the past 10 years - this small growing stock has consistently grown its NTA by 14% per annum CAGR over past 10 years. It's NTA is 3.29. It's trading at 2.44, below Book Value, for a bank that grows its equity at the rate of 14% per annum over past 10 years ... it was so overlooked by the market.

It's Dividend Payout ratio is only 38% ... not stretching at all. This stock grows its Net Worth and grows its earnings and is having a conservative dividend payout ratio. And when I entered at an average cost of 1.87, it was yielding 7.2% dividend yield. What a bargain then.

It pays to own overlooked stocks when everyone was afraid and nobody wants to own it when it was crashing back in May 2022.

I know this bank's value and with a price action like this, there's no rush to take profits on its way up. I may trim it so that it doesn't become too big a proportion but otherwise, the strategy is still to sit tight on your winners and sit tight on your losers, so that your winners become a larger proportion of your portfolio and your losers naturally become a smaller proportion of your portfolio so that your portfolio can keep making new all time highs regularly especially when you own a portfolio of sound, good fundamental stocks and businesses ...

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

I think you got the year wrong, it was crashing in May 2023 rather than 2022.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Finally moving again.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

rlch

4,126 posts

Posted by rlch > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

RM 2.6 if follow Affin can reach?

potenza10

1,217 posts

Posted by potenza10 > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

just sold off yesterday at 2.41...sighhhhhh

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

You mean last Friday?

Yippy68

1,668 posts

Posted by Yippy68 > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Do you guys think MBSB got good future as soon as it turn to another Islamic Bank and listed in BURSA. My cost is less than 60 cents after receiving 8.5 sen dividend I hold big quantity especially last year after my big sweep in Bplant. Likely @Contrarian can contribute your good knowledge in Banking stock.

Yippy68

1,668 posts

I made some profit after i bought Affin at 2,20 and sold at 2,65 around 30K, Thank @Contrarian for all you good sharing.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

@Yippy68, EPS is more relevant than high DPS because high DPS isn't sustainable if EPS drops. MBSB doesn't appear to have the all round strength of other banks. Just rebranding itself as an Islamic bank doesn't transform it overnight to rival Bank Islam which is long established.

Yippy68

1,668 posts

Thank you and noted.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

@Yippy68, I feel you are too heavily concentrated in MBSB. Your recent venturing into Affin has brought you financial rewards. Affin share price ran ahead because it is more superior to MBSB. Similarly, Bank Islam share price has also recently run ahead.

newbie5354_

1,242 posts

Posted by newbie5354_ > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

TheContrarian banking sifu? Which bank(or bank like) counters yet to move? Insas can move like Affin or BIMB?

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

I already sold 97% of my Insas last month when it moved from below 90 sen to above RM1.30. Only bank I like now is BIMB.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

2.50 broken through.

smartly

6,386 posts

Posted by smartly > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

if closing can stay above 2.50 then nice....

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Lately EPF has turned sellers, so who is buying aggressively?

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

QR out, declared second interim dividend of 4.22 sen.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

I am rather surprised the forum here is very quiet.

5354_

4,602 posts

Like Affin should be foreign funds.

Posted by TheContrarian > 6 hours ago | Report Abuse

Lately EPF has turned sellers, so who is buying aggressively?

5354_

4,602 posts

Maybe those posted earlier have sold.

Posted by TheContrarian > 3 hours ago | Report Abuse

I am rather surprised the forum here is very quiet.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

I will be lonely here.

5354_

4,602 posts

After QR EPF U-turn buy back? 16.81 sen total BIMB dividend DY 6.70%(RM 2.51) is better than EPF 2022 & 2023 dividend?

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

We wait and see if there's notification from EPF.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

It is lonely here.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

Go, go, go BIMB.

TheContrarian

8,727 posts

EPF has been selling but someone else is buying aggressively.

Mabel

23,252 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Haha no worries...

This counter no need to monitor so much...so steady mah...

Dividend investing is like planting a tree...

The earlier you start, the bigger your tree is going to grow.

And before you know it, you will be resting in the shade of your own financial forest, enjoying the fruits of your labor, year after year...

Why?

Because dividends... GROW.

And that's how some Dividend Machines reached their milestones in dividends.

For the past 10 years...

DBS (Bank) increased their dividends by 158%
Wilmar (Plantation) increased their dividends by 112%
So if you think $5,000 in annual dividends today is too little...

Your $5,000 'passive' income just became:

$12,900 if you invested in DBS
$10,600 if you invested in Wilmar
All you did is buying the right dividend stocks...

...And wait

Get paid in year 1...

...And wait

Get paid more in year 2...

...And wait

Get paid even more in year 3...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-0kcet4aPpQ