BANK ISLAM MALAYSIA BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): BIMB (5258)

-0.02 (0.78%)

2.53 - 2.56

32 people like this.

9,271 comment(s). Last comment by Mabel 1 week ago

fortunefire

1,363 posts

Posted by fortunefire > 2023-06-08 11:49 | Report Abuse

1.5x should be the fair price?

Mabel

23,248 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2023-06-08 17:27 | Report Abuse

Haha early this week Mabel was successful to collect CIMB..

Today someone was kind to sell BIMB to Mabel at RM 1.74 and RM 1.73..Thank you so much..

Tiger as expected so power

Meow

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-06-08 19:42 | Report Abuse

On Monthly chart, looks to me, next support level could be around 1.64. This is close to 1.63, its opening price in Jan 2000, 23 years ago :-)

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-06-08 19:49 | Report Abuse

fortune, 1.5 could also be hit, as noone really knows, it's an uncertainty. As for fair price, it could be fair for a short while, before market changes its mind on what the fair price might be. Market is fickled. Today it thinks fair is 1.73. A year ago, it thought fair was around 3. Market can never decide what is fair.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-06-08 19:50 | Report Abuse

As Buffett says, if you cannot stomach a 50% fall from your entry price, you should never be a stock investor. Go do something else. For me, if it falls down another 50% from here, I welcome as look at that dividend yield.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-06-08 20:04 | Report Abuse

And I like its payout ratio is below 40% past 8 years. Means:
1. It makes money. E.g. last TTM is 23 sen. (so, 1.73 / 0.23 = 7.5 TTM P/E is not very demanding valuation).
2. It shares around 13.8 sen dividend last year (so, payout ratio = 13.8 / 23 ~ 60% which is not a bad sharing with shareholders).
3. It pays dividends once a year (which is acceptable to me, as I own a diversified dividend stocks and don't like these 4 times per year dividends - I prefer once or twice a year, but has a long history of paying out these dividends). So, I can be relatively assured, based on its long history, that it will pay dividend again end this year when it makes monies and so far, no reason why not. E.g. Q1/23 EPS was 5.33 sen, and even in the worst covid times, lowest earnings is 3.84, 4.08 and 4.95 sen so, if I assume the worst earnings in next 3 quarters, total = 5.33 + 3.84 + 4.08 + 4.95 = 18.2 sen and times 60% payout ratio suggests dividends should not fall below ~ 11 sen. Thats around 6.4% dividend yield if its business, over next 3 quarters, earns the lowest 3 quarter of EPS. That beats EPF. So, I'm comfortable to have my monies to keep buying BIMB, unless for next 3 quarters, its earnings are worst than the lowest 3 quarterly earnings over past 8 years (which seems less likely to me).

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-06-08 20:29 | Report Abuse

As long term investor, one of my favorite indicators is the RSI indicator when applied to monthly candlesticks. I use free Yahoo Finance chart, where BIMB stock price starts from Jan 2000, 23 years ago. During this 23 year period, there are 3 times in history when RSI is below 20.
- First time is around Apr-May 2001. If you start entering then and average down, you are near multi-month lows (you'll never know when is the low). Be patient and in less than a year, you are laughing. The gains are phenomenal.
- Second time is around Apr 2005. Here, if you bought, you would be stuck for 8 months until Dec 2005, when RSI is oversold again. But if you keep averaging down (and only invest less than 5% of your diversified portfolio), your average price should be around 0.94+0.75 say 0.85-0.90 (as you wouldn't keep buying more at lower prices too much in a diversified portfolio), and come July 2006 (around 1.5 years later after your first entry), you would be laughing!
- Third time is around Mar 2020. If you had bought, a few months later, you would be laughing.
- Now we are at 4th time. RSI is 18 at I write this. If history is a guide, within next 1-2 years, we should be laughing. But only if you have staying power, and only if you are not greedy and go "all in".

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-06-08 20:35 | Report Abuse

In short, only use RSI on monthly candles, on stocks that consistently makes monies and not only make monies but shares the profits with their shareholders via nice dividend yields. Not many companies are like this, sometimes can wait for years, but when they come, start investing. The beauty is that when you have a profit later, you can still sell a bit (to release capital for future endeavours) and still own and collect dividends every year to lower your dividend cost with low risks when it is highly diversified portfolio. Safe way to beat EPF long term.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-06-08 20:36 | Report Abuse

EPF is going to give you 5%-6% every year over past 10 years. If you get a paper gain like 5-10 year equivalent to EPF, might as well capitalize it like if you get 30%-50% gain, sell some, keep the rest for longer term, because every year of dividends that you get, will keep lowering your average price.

25,124 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-06-08 21:40 | Report Abuse

@DividendGuy67 so what your buying avg price?

fortunefire

1,363 posts

Posted by fortunefire > 2023-06-09 08:47 | Report Abuse

parking at 1.6x after reading dividendguy67

Jnlee

293 posts

Posted by Jnlee > 2023-06-09 10:59 | Report Abuse

dividendguy67,can u share with us your pofilio

beluga

271 posts

Posted by beluga > 2023-06-09 12:54 | Report Abuse

@DividendGuy67. Bank Islam Holdings undergone a demerger process in 2021 by way of distribution via reduction and repayment to shareholders . Takaful's arm now fully separate. I think BIMB shares is not all time low yet or that very low as you claimed if you factor that in. Correct? I'm not that 100% sure.

Posted by kokchengkai > 2023-06-09 13:56 | Report Abuse

Beluga my opinion is the demerger is complete in 2021 ,2022 until mid 2023 is almost one and half year for investor to digest the demerger fact and almost one and half year for investor to realize takaful is no more belong to BIMB .
at the QR for year 2022 oso oledi reflect how going to be after BIMB separate with takaful....now is 2023 june.so i guess BIMB oledi enter into oversold area..the share price mayb no big bounce back but guess the space going down is narrow ...guess price arround 1.65 to 1.70 is good chance for investor to buy in. GUESS la..dun blame me if im wrong hahaha

Mabel

23,248 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2023-06-09 13:58 | Report Abuse

Thank you DivindedGuy..

Very useful indeed..

Meow Meow Meow

25,124 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-06-09 14:56 | Report Abuse

Bimb dah kantoi

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-06-09 22:44 | Report Abuse

Hi speak. Because of commissions in and out, I need BIMB to get back to <1.8 before I break even. But my goal is to hold out at much higher prices before thinking of selling in next 1-2 years. I'm about 4% invested, getting close to my 5% limit for 1 stock. I didn't buy much at 1.75 as I felt I've done enough for this week. Looks like still downtrending and can go lower, so, maybe I nibble again next week as it crashes down. I probably made a slight mistake in entry, I shouldn't be that "greedy" like when it's downtrending, never accumulate higher than 2.5% capital so that you buy on the way up, but I typically find myself, didn't buy on the way up, so, looks like I have to experience some big pain before I get to a full position.

For this kind of price move, whether your entry is 2 or 1.8 probably makes not much difference in a downtrend if one is only 4% invested. The control is the size you buy. Buy too much in a downtrend, it will really hurt. Buy a little during a downtrend, less hurt when price goes to say 1.5. 1.5/2 ~ 25% loss. 1.5/1.8 ~ 17% loss, both double digit losses.

Best is not to watch the price after entry ... :-)

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-06-09 22:46 | Report Abuse

fortune, haha. If it goes down to 1.5, don't blame me. I really don't know where the bottom is.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-06-09 22:48 | Report Abuse

Jnlee, my portfolio is messy with over 40+ dividend stocks. Impossible to follow.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-06-09 22:50 | Report Abuse

beluga, thanks for sharing. I actually didn't follow BIMB at that time, so, I just aware there is demerger in Sep 2021 completion. In general, that's probably old news already.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-06-09 22:51 | Report Abuse

kok, yeah, agree, market has a lot of time to digest the demerger coming to nearly 2 years now.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-06-09 22:52 | Report Abuse

mabel, I read what you write too.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-06-09 22:53 | Report Abuse

speak, if kantoi means downtrending, fully agree. haven't decided if want to average down, but if it gets to 1.65 +/- 1-2 sen, I might get another small bit, maybe 0.4% capital or so ... it would be a tiny nibble.

rohank71

832 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2023-06-10 00:01 | Report Abuse

rights issue to raise 2 to 3B coming. save money for rights issue.

Loh Kok Wai W

3,588 posts

Posted by Loh Kok Wai W > 2023-06-10 08:27 | Report Abuse

Save money for Right Issue ?? Better save money to enjoy myself... inside more crocodile,phiranna...

kutipkutip

1,100 posts

Posted by kutipkutip > 2023-06-12 08:53 | Report Abuse

1.720 all out hari ni rebound hijau !

kutipkutip

1,100 posts

Posted by kutipkutip > 2023-06-12 08:54 | Report Abuse

untung di depan mata kemon +0.100 ! = 1.820 !

kutipkutip

1,100 posts

Posted by kutipkutip > 2023-06-12 08:56 | Report Abuse

jom ramai ramai untung hari ni !

kutipkutip

1,100 posts

Posted by kutipkutip > 2023-06-12 08:58 | Report Abuse

takut tengok saja , apa pun tak dapat , buang masa penat je dapat

kutipkutip

1,100 posts

Posted by kutipkutip > 2023-06-12 09:05 | Report Abuse

sudah gerak , bilion bilion ku jadi tauke bank hari ni :)

kutipkutip

1,100 posts

Posted by kutipkutip > 2023-06-12 09:12 | Report Abuse

akan buat candle minggu ni hijau , minggu depan hijau , tiap tiap minggu hijau , hujung bulan trillionaire !

Mabel

23,248 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2023-06-12 11:18 | Report Abuse

DividendGuy67 mabel, I read what you write too.
09/06/2023 10:52 PM mabel, I read what you write too.
09/06/2023 10:52 PM

Cheers DividendGuy67

BIMB is looking so good now..

So power..

Meow Meow Meow

fortunefire

1,363 posts

Posted by fortunefire > 2023-06-12 13:29 | Report Abuse

pump jet again

kutipkutip

1,100 posts

Posted by kutipkutip > 2023-06-12 16:35 | Report Abuse

sudah cecah 1.800 !

stkoay

5,890 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-06-12 16:52 | Report Abuse

Wow...up 4.6%
Is it because the "all in" cut loss already ?

kutipkutip

1,100 posts

Posted by kutipkutip > 2023-06-13 08:50 | Report Abuse

opening sudah gap up , hari ni hijau limit up !

kyliew

1,383 posts

Posted by kyliew > 2023-06-13 09:56 | Report Abuse

All in...

Posted by kokchengkai > 2023-06-13 18:28 | Report Abuse

kyliew so u cut loss oledi or u jst want to put real money in this counter?hahaha

rohank71

832 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2023-06-14 00:54 | Report Abuse

right issue on the cards or else they can't grow bz. see LUTH didn't pick up discounted DRP... don't buy yet.

rohank71

832 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2023-06-14 00:54 | Report Abuse

rights at 1.00...

Mabel

23,248 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2023-06-14 07:44 | Report Abuse

Price target decreased by 8.3% to RM2.11

Down from RM2.30, the current price target is an average from 8 analysts.
New target price is 18% above last closing price of RM1.78.

Stock is down 36% over the past year.

The company is forecast to post earnings per share of RM0.23 for next year compared to RM0.23 last year.

Source: Wall Street

kutipkutip

1,100 posts

Posted by kutipkutip > 2023-06-14 10:48 | Report Abuse

duduk dekat bottom rilek rilek saja , hujung bulan trillionaire !

Mabel

23,248 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2023-06-14 11:19 | Report Abuse

Haha now breaches RM 1.80 oledi...

kyliew

1,383 posts

Posted by kyliew > 2023-06-14 21:53 | Report Abuse

RM1.50 - RM2.00 (hujung bottom rileks)
RM2.50 - RM3.00 (hujung atas jaga2)

fortunefire

1,363 posts

Posted by fortunefire > 2023-06-15 09:38 | Report Abuse

TP 1.5x

kutipkutip

1,100 posts

Posted by kutipkutip > 2023-06-16 04:55 | Report Abuse

1.700 bottom support

scott88

410 posts

Posted by scott88 > 2023-06-16 08:35 | Report Abuse

EPF start engine...

Mabel

23,248 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2023-06-20 21:00 | Report Abuse

So Steady....

rohank71

832 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2023-06-21 02:55 | Report Abuse

rights issue coming... at 1.00 be prepared to load up..

kutipkutip

1,100 posts

Posted by kutipkutip > 2023-06-21 09:59 | Report Abuse

bulan ni kurang kurang tutup 1.850