SOUTHERN STEEL BHD

KLSE (MYR): SSTEEL (5665)

4,659 comment(s). Last comment by Atacms 3 weeks ago

Posted by KLCI King > 2017-08-25 15:33 | Report Abuse

All eyes on ssteel now, if ssteel can rebound back to above 1.98.

Posted by KLCI King > 2017-08-25 15:35 | Report Abuse

As usual, all jokers will flood here to talk sily & to act like stock god.

In fact, they own nothing in their lives, they need to come here to fulfil their emptiness. Pity them.

Posted by KLCI King > 2017-08-25 15:35 | Report Abuse

Once price up, these jokers will disappear again, haha, it happens all the time

Warn3r

792 posts

Posted by Warn3r > 2017-08-25 15:59 | Report Abuse

When I first learned Aikido, my sensei taught us to avoid all unnecessary fights. He taught us that it is for self-defence and he would always run from a fight if he can (although he is sibeh geng). When he started to teach us, we are thrown around so that we can learn how to land and roll correctly.

It is also the same in stock market and many things else. I'm very glad when I first started investing I lost a big chunk in mycron last year. It taught me a lot. I'm also very pleased with myself to have stayed put with ssteel during the previous dive below RM 1.20. I gained a nothing financially, but in terms of 心态, I felt that I've grown a lot.

And it is also this forum, that I met these selfless ppl who openly shares their studies and findings. Again, 感染到我的是他们高尚的情节和广阔的心胸. Earning money became secondary.

I hope you guys who always talk nonsense to take some time to reflect. There's so much you can do with your life. Please do something meaningful.

For my brothers who are sitting this one out.
他强由他强,清风拂山冈。他横任他横,明月照大江。

zexon

330 posts

Posted by zexon > 2017-08-25 16:01 | Report Abuse

My friend in one of the Malaysia Biggest Contractor Company just told me his company only sourcing rebar from local steel mills only. China price is too pricey and they request in USD cash settlement. His company is source from Annjoo and Ssteel and some from Lion/Masteel. As their procurement forecast steel price will continue to shot up, they have already place an orders in advance.

Posted by hollandking > 2017-08-25 16:03 | Report Abuse

sensei, i'm trying to figure out a battle technique called blindfolded random strike. This strike is such that it attack without any backing/support, fierce, fast, enemy unable to detect bcoz no traces BUT i dont understand how do I fight by being blindfolded, meaning u can't see what u r attacking or going to attack. It bsed on element of surprise, swift and forceful

leoting

516 posts

Posted by leoting > 2017-08-25 16:21 | Report Abuse

Thanks zexon's information.

Posted by WarrenColdeye > 2017-08-25 16:42 | Report Abuse

No institutions buy so far, all retailers buy

Posted by WarrenColdeye > 2017-08-25 16:47 | Report Abuse

I mean for today. That's why today Sstell doesnt move up like annjoo

Stock Kingdom

1,005 posts

Posted by Stock Kingdom > 2017-08-25 18:53 | Report Abuse

Not true, VenFx, there was adjustments when price hit 1.80 months ago & retreated back to 1.65, it was when I started accumulated this ssteel. My average price was RM1.70.

Stock Kingdom

1,005 posts

Posted by Stock Kingdom > 2017-08-25 18:54 | Report Abuse

Those longer time holders even bought at lower average prices, so for them this round of adjustment is still ok to them

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-25 19:28 | Report Abuse

Dam , mine a lot higher than S king .

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-25 19:36 | Report Abuse

BIG SHOT took position by 70% weighing of today's total traded vol. of 63000 lots .
How true is it ?

kikiki

leoting

516 posts

Posted by leoting > 2017-08-25 22:56 | Report Abuse

Presentation from Annjoo - http://www.annjoo.com.my/investor-relations/latest-news/

OOMMGG

678 posts

Posted by OOMMGG > 2017-08-26 11:04 | Report Abuse

Rebar cost is now breaking the record high, we can expecting 3q result to be as good as 1q or even better.

OOMMGG

678 posts

Posted by OOMMGG > 2017-08-26 11:06 | Report Abuse

With low raw material cost and higher rebar cost, the profit margin will enlarge in coming 3q.

Posted by KLCI King > 2017-08-26 11:11 | Report Abuse

Last few quarters proved ssteel can't manage its costs well if compared to Ann Joo & Masteel

OOMMGG

678 posts

Posted by OOMMGG > 2017-08-26 11:39 | Report Abuse

Annjoo is the best because it is having two swords.

Basically masteel, ssteel and lion steel is using same technology, the difference in their inventory strategy will make a difference in their gross profit margin.

Ssteel Q2 result is not satisfactory due to it secured all the expensive raw material in Q1 and used it in Q2. For coming q3, it is doing the same but this round is using all of cheap raw material secured in Q2 and used in 3Q.

OOMMGG

678 posts

Posted by OOMMGG > 2017-08-26 11:45 | Report Abuse

Q2 rebar price is weak, and q3 rebar price is extremely good. With ssteel inventory strategy then you will know what will happen on next Q3.

zexon

330 posts

Posted by zexon > 2017-08-26 11:46 | Report Abuse

Enjoying double digits profit margin, 60 mil PBT is achievable for Q3.

solaris80

257 posts

Posted by solaris80 > 2017-08-26 12:08 | Report Abuse

昨天收到风,马股的一间铁厂的奖金为员工三到六个月,经理管理层一律十二个月起跳。明年会更好!

Martin99

25 posts

Posted by Martin99 > 2017-08-26 12:18 | Report Abuse

For LionInd is not as u expected, for SS is above ur expectation

Operation loss due to SHRC, this is the main losses incurred last year after doing restructuring exercises.

I am confusing...... :(

leoting

516 posts

Posted by leoting > 2017-08-26 12:28 | Report Abuse

@solaris80 羡慕啊, 管理层12个月花红。。我们只能靠股市赚,呵呵。。

kongming1

74 posts

Posted by kongming1 > 2017-08-26 12:55 | Report Abuse

SSteel raw material costs is one quarter lag?
I think it's should be based on the consumption of the raw material per quarter. First in first out based.

OOMMGG

678 posts

Posted by OOMMGG > 2017-08-26 13:10 | Report Abuse

Exclude Annjoo, who will be commanding the highest EPS among Masteel, Lionind & masteel in coming Q3?

In Q2, we knew among these 3 who will be commanding the best EPS achievement.......

The one that holding the highest inventory in Q1 no doubt that to be loser in Q2 but the one that holding the higher inventory in Q2 will one of the best winner in Q3.

OOMMGG

678 posts

Posted by OOMMGG > 2017-08-26 13:23 | Report Abuse

We make a mistake in Q2 in conclusion that higher inventory holding in q1 is probably the winner in Q2. We are proved wrong as rebar price reversed from high in Q1 to low in Q2 which caused gross profit margin greatly reduced. This change have great impact on ssteel but lesser in others.........

Q3 will be a reverse situation for ssteel. It would greatly benefited from high low cost inventory secured in Q2 while enjoy a best ever high rebar price recorded in Q3.

A very good lesson learnt in Q2

zexon

330 posts

Posted by zexon > 2017-08-26 13:30 | Report Abuse

OOMMGG , do you mind to forecast Q3 eps for ssteel?

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-26 13:36 | Report Abuse

Posted by OOMMGG > Aug 26, 2017 01:23 PM | Report Abuse

We make a mistake in Q2 in conclusion that higher inventory holding in q1 is probably the winner in Q2. We are proved wrong as rebar price reversed from high in Q1 to low in Q2 which caused gross profit margin greatly reduced. This change have great impact on ssteel but lesser in others.........

Q3 will be a reverse situation for ssteel. It would greatly benefited from high low cost inventory secured in Q2 while enjoy a best ever high rebar price recorded in Q3.

A very good lesson learnt in Q2

ME: GOOD CONCLUDING OOMMGG BRO .
BE IT A BEUTIFULLY MISTAKE :)
THOSE HOLD STILL SHALL HIS LOUDEST LAUGH AT THE END .
BIG GUN HAS PUT THEIR MONEY WORK in Q2'17 ...
REVERSE STRATEGY (MISTAKENLY), HIGHLY LIKELY TO BE A GOOD FORTUNE .

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-26 13:49 | Report Abuse

Posted by zexon > Aug 26, 2017 01:30 PM | Report Abuse

ME : EASILY CAN PROPEL FOR $77-96 MIL IN Q3'17 ($0.180-0.220 eps)

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-08-26 13:52 | Report Abuse

I dont think ssteel applied the wrong strategy previously. But rather they have no choice. They have to continuously produce for their customers. If the market force is weak then they will lose badly. But when the market force is strong, then they will benefit the most. And the market force has just started this q3

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-26 13:58 | Report Abuse

Posted by zexon > Aug 26, 2017 01:30 PM | Report Abuse

ME : EASILY CAN PROPEL FOR $77-96 MIL IN Q3'17 ($0.180-0.220 eps)

Forwarded rolling over to Q3'17 with x 10 p.e.
would render a [ TP @$3.55 ].
---------------------------------------------------------------------

SO, APPERANTLY U CAN SEE WHY BIG SHOT
PUMP THEIR MONEY AND START BUYING LIKE NO 2MORROW
SINCE MID JULAI , EVEN ON YESTERDAY FROM $2.04-1.93
traded at vol.65000 lots, i believe they have collected a 25000 big bulks from those panic sellers; they must celebrate it yesterday nite :)

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-08-26 14:00 | Report Abuse

For the next 1 - 2 years, the topline / revenue will take care of their own. Care should be given to their cost of production though. Q3 shall be a good testimony to what ssteel has to strive in such challenging environment

zexon

330 posts

Posted by zexon > 2017-08-26 14:01 | Report Abuse

Venfx and OOMMGG, not a mistake, Annjoo and Ssteel had mentioned Q2 was a weak quarter in their Q1 financial report. But both of them are optimistic on coming quarter outlook.

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-26 14:02 | Report Abuse

Guys, maybe for Q4'17

we should impute the overall cost
eg. production cost ; iron ore & scrap vs
Sales at home front & export sale.

zexon

330 posts

Posted by zexon > 2017-08-26 14:04 | Report Abuse

I did monitored the transaction volumes, some bought in at the size of 50 and 100 lots. Sold in 1, 2.5, 5 or 10 lots size. From here, we can see the big holders started to collect.

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-26 14:05 | Report Abuse

Annjoo & Ssteell to benefit the most from more giant infra works & most high profile building works awarded in 2H 2017 .

zexon

330 posts

Posted by zexon > 2017-08-26 14:07 | Report Abuse

Venfx, it wont work it this way.

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-26 14:08 | Report Abuse

zexon , they managed to cacth at least 60-70% of total yesterday sellers traded ; which is not easily to be done if everyone so enthusiastic over Ssteel .

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-26 14:15 | Report Abuse

Pls show, zexon
as i didnt study details enough yet ...

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-08-26 14:16 | Report Abuse

Apart from the rise in scrap and fuel cost, i am really concerned about the rise in cost of graphite electrodes which is reportedly to shot up for 7 times in the past year

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-08-26 14:18 | Report Abuse

Thus, I think that the rise in price might be due to the rise in production costs and the margin might not improve tremendously. Rather they will profit from thheir higher volume of sales like aax

zexon

330 posts

Posted by zexon > 2017-08-26 14:20 | Report Abuse

I am using MITI's weekily information to compute. This is a simple calculation and September data yet to finalize. But as of now, data showed double digits profit margin.

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-26 14:23 | Report Abuse

MrPauper,
can u find the composition use of the raw materials in order to produce finish products ?
Else, we cant get the weighing correctly .

zexon

330 posts

Posted by zexon > 2017-08-26 14:24 | Report Abuse

Mr Pauper, no worry about the graphite electrodes price surge, consumption is aboout 1.4 to 2 kg for every metric ton steel produced and it had been factorized into cost.

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-26 14:27 | Report Abuse

I'm certaintly , we are safe for Q3'17 .
To furthur Q4'17 and ... we need those composition of raw materials.

zexon

330 posts

Posted by zexon > 2017-08-26 14:30 | Report Abuse

Yea,steel counters are the next theme play in bursa. Like what happening in China Steel Counters.

OOMMGG

678 posts

Posted by OOMMGG > 2017-08-26 14:36 | Report Abuse

Mrpauper, in our eye of small retailer we are instinctly calling it wrong / inappropriate strategy on why management is unwise to secure so much raw material at high price as we do not apprehend what is the reason behind it.

One of the reason could be what you mentioned.

OOMMGG

678 posts

Posted by OOMMGG > 2017-08-26 14:44 | Report Abuse

zexon, if the demand in Q3 is robust and much better than 1q, conservatively it can easily over EPS 9

OOMMGG

678 posts

Posted by OOMMGG > 2017-08-26 14:49 | Report Abuse

VenFx, learnt lesson in Q2, Q3 is safe underway.

Q4 will definitely in safeguard plan ^_^.

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-08-26 14:51 | Report Abuse

I am no expert in steel industry and do not have much information on detailed cost of production. I can only monitor the seeling price through miti weekly bulletin and sharing from edward