STAR MEDIA GROUP BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): STAR (6084)

+0.005 (1.25%)

0.40 - 0.405

2,707 comment(s). Last comment by dompeilee 2 weeks ago

1,799 posts

Posted by 4444 > 2019-04-09 01:52 | Report Abuse

Penang CM refutes report on green light for PIL1 and LRT projects
https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/471388

nkk53

1,426 posts

Posted by nkk53 > 2019-04-10 10:03 | Report Abuse

Still waiting to buy at 0.70

Mabel

23,327 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2019-04-14 19:05 | Report Abuse

Do that. I hold 3 Media Stocks in KLSE. Only Star still gives me dividend.

Beside, this company has lots of assets. No regrets buying this counter if you want to invest in Media.

Undi_PAS

582 posts

Posted by Undi_PAS > 2019-04-21 21:55 | Report Abuse

Hadi asks Anwar to reveal names of PAS leaders who benefited from 'donation'
Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2019/04/21/hadi-asks-anwar-to-reveal-names-of-pas-leaders-who-benefited-from-donation/#IJtRE3wSIlPl2FDw.99

nkk53

1,426 posts

Posted by nkk53 > 2019-04-25 15:10 | Report Abuse

Pick up 0.70 to 0.705

Mabel

23,327 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2019-04-28 16:42 | Report Abuse

Welcome to the team

It's NAV is double than that..

MCA_

152 posts

Posted by MCA_ > 2019-05-05 19:24 | Report Abuse

What happened to 12-year-old promise to abolish Sungai Nyior toll, Penang MCA asks DAP
https://www.thestartv.com/v/what-happened-to-12-year-old-promise-to-abolish-sungai-nyior-toll-penang-mca-asks-dap

geraldt9

904 posts

Posted by geraldt9 > 2019-05-10 12:00 |

Mabel

23,327 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2019-05-15 06:32 | Report Abuse

Despite high NTA and credible journalism, this counter is oversold..

Vulture123

405 posts

Posted by Vulture123 > 2019-05-15 11:27 | Report Abuse

Just Buy...Cheap Sale @ 0.65 yesterday due to knee jerk reactions. Buy when there is blood on the street especially on counters that are way below NTA since well supported by Assets & dividends. Absolute bonus if privatization/sale initiated as happened to Lafarge (RM1.90 to RM3.80).

Mabel

23,327 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2019-05-15 15:47 | Report Abuse

Touche Vulture123..

I'm with you.

Posted by shareinvestor88 > 2019-05-16 22:19 | Report Abuse

Sell TP 30-40c. profit down

Posted by origamiandair > 2019-05-17 12:56 | Report Abuse

Dimsum continues to bleed heavily. Almost RM100mil or more and counting.

shpg22

Posted by shpg22 > 2019-05-17 12:56 | Report Abuse

Dimsum become charsiew d lo

Posted by origamiandair > 2019-05-17 13:06 | Report Abuse

Still don't dare to release actual paid subscriber numbers. And how much investment has been poured into. Roughly about RM30mil at the start, with an estimated allocation of about RM100mil in the long run. But then, it could have easily overshot the budget.

Posted by origamiandair > 2019-05-17 14:52 | Report Abuse

Si botak, the man planted by MCA to spearhead digital and the brain behind Dimsum has since moved on. Talk lots of cock but no essence. Star is in deep shit mainly thanks to him.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-05-17 14:54 | Report Abuse

988 radio DJ also resign or jump to ASTRO competitor radio already

if STAR still do not change the ways it do biz

how it can sustain

now less people, read hard copy paper
and the 988 radio program is boring, song also boring

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-05-17 14:56 | Report Abuse

DIMSUM is a failure

stupid idea to launch this paid entertainment channel

now is different era already , most movie, drama can get free in internet

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-05-17 15:01 | Report Abuse

@mabel

i am quite shock , how still have sane people invest in media counter

media is sunset biz and now any place also can see movie, drama
now advertisment income also reduce as it is no more concentrate in tv channel or radio station

ans STAR is the worse

ASTRO, MEDIA also equally worse

Mabel

23,327 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2019-05-17 19:59 | Report Abuse

Why not bro?

To date I invested in 33 companies in KLSE. Without having media in my portfolios will be incomplete.. All these companies give me a pulse how our economy is doing.

BTW without media how do you explain changing a 62 years old government..

There's still value in these companies.

Mabel

23,327 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2019-05-17 20:05 | Report Abuse

Like I said earlier, as long as I don't sell, I don't lose anything.. I'm still collecting dividend from this company..

Have a great weekend everyone

Vulture123

405 posts

Posted by Vulture123 > 2019-05-17 23:03 | Report Abuse

@ Mabel You will be duly rewarded. I have a portfolio of 30 Blue Chip shares too. Even a continuous loss-making business for years/quarters like Lafarge can be taken over and share price doubled immediately after the Announcement. I was happily accumulating Lafarge at prices < 2 but have since sold at 3.80. The same for Astro at < 1.1 but exited at > 1.5 too. Switching to Star now after it dipped below 0.70 but selling volume still minimal & need to be patient with the accumulation process without spiking up the price. Also, other good fundamental Blue Chips (MAHB/MBMR/Sime/Inari/SuperMax/Gamuda/Sunway/Hengyuan/IHH/CIMB/Maybank/ABMB/Digital etc.) whenever they hit /nearing their Lows. Diversified Blue Chip portfolio coupled with low entry level/exiting at appropriate level is the best way forward in this current volatile and unstable equity markets. Foreign Funds will always exit and re-enter in droves based on sentiments... Market has NO memory.

chamlo

1,163 posts

Posted by chamlo > 2019-05-18 03:32 | Report Abuse

No wonder CEO post is vacant to cut cost.

chamlo

1,163 posts

Posted by chamlo > 2019-05-18 03:33 | Report Abuse

Mabel change to stingy govn is worse. You see Star revenue keep drop after PH won GE14.

Mabel

23,327 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2019-05-18 09:56 | Report Abuse

@ Vulture123 @ Mabel You will be duly rewarded. I have a portfolio of 30 Blue Chip shares too. Even a continuous loss-making business for years/quarters like Lafarge can be taken over and share price doubled immediately after the Announcement. I was happily accumulating Lafarge at prices < 2 but have since sold at 3.80. The same for Astro at < 1.1 but exited at > 1.5 too. Switching to Star now after it dipped below 0.70 but selling volume still minimal & need to be patient with the accumulation process without spiking up the price. Also, other good fundamental Blue Chips (MAHB/MBMR/Sime/Inari/SuperMax/Gamuda/Sunway/Hengyuan/IHH/CIMB/Maybank/ABMB/Digital etc.) whenever they hit /nearing their Lows. Diversified Blue Chip portfolio coupled with low entry level/exiting at appropriate level is the best way forward in this current volatile and unstable equity markets. Foreign Funds will always exit and re-enter in droves based on sentiments... Market has NO memory.

Indeed Vulture123, Spot on!. Well Done!

Time really fly when you are having fun. I re-enter KLSE in early June just after GE14 when KLCI index was at 1721 points. Today on May 18, the FBM KLCI close to 1,605. So, my engagemen with KLSE is coming to 12 months. During this period the KLCI is down about 7 %. However, the total margins for all the 33 Companies under Mabel Inc (covering all sectors that are affecting people’s life’s) is 14% despite under current very bearish market condition. Hence, it’s a good indicator that I’m doing the right thing by outperforming the KLCI benchmark index.

Yes, I have Lafarge too. Very tempted to sell. However, will wait until ECRL completes. I think it can go higher..

@ chamlo,

I copy you. Yes I agree, in addition PH also need to be more strategic about stimulating the economic environment rather than focusing on the past. The BN blaming games has to stop.

Unfortunately, status quo was not an option prior to GE14. I didn’t feel very comfortable on the situation at that time..that time that’s why I sell off all my portfolios before GE14.

Let's give PH the time to recover our economy. If they cannot perform, we just change them and bring back BN. It's as simple as that. We choose what we want to do..

Have a great weekends guys!

smalltimer

1,501 posts

Posted by smalltimer > 2019-06-12 07:12 | Report Abuse

Economy c-kiau-kiau under amatuers

Vulture123

405 posts

Posted by Vulture123 > 2019-06-13 10:49 | Report Abuse

Another Value Buy. Print Media might not be good at present but it is a very strategic Asset. In addition, well backed up by solid Assets.

Mabel

23,327 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2019-06-14 22:56 | Report Abuse

Well said Vulture123!

Mabel

23,327 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2019-06-14 22:58 | Report Abuse

That's one of the reason why I'm still holding 3 Media company :)

Just buy and HOLD..

gsi723

903 posts

Posted by gsi723 > 2019-06-30 11:11 | Report Abuse

Someday, people will get tired with digital media... then it will return to print media... haha

gsi723

903 posts

Posted by gsi723 > 2019-06-30 11:17 | Report Abuse

Actually theStar is still relevant, most people still visit the star online daily...

Posted by shareinvestor88 > 2019-07-04 17:32 | Report Abuse

Sell lah TP 20c

YAPSS

216 posts

Posted by YAPSS > 2019-07-05 10:04 | Report Abuse

Hey! Today, R-Table will be covering $STAR(6084.MY) - Star Media Group Berhad by presenting 10 years financial results in a short, fun & interesting way. Click the link below to watch the video.

Link: https://youtu.be/edMylvE-ZEI
#YAPSS #RTable #StarMediaGroupBerhad #CashRichSeries

Posted by 10155751748352084 > 2019-07-12 09:50 | Report Abuse

run....

MCA_

152 posts

Posted by MCA_ > 2019-07-14 22:53 | Report Abuse

DAP has forgotten party's criticisms against its current allies, says Dr Wee
Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2019/07/14/dap-has-forgotten-partys-criticisms-against-its-current-allies-says-dr-wee/#i8SkuqH6joSQmG5V.99

signalmw

3,314 posts

Posted by signalmw > 2019-07-20 19:38 | Report Abuse

Become media 0.018

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-07-23 08:41 | Report Abuse

print media is a strategic assets backup by solid assets??

the issue now is media now face structural change, not a temporary change due to cycle or what

nowadays, how many people will go buy hardcopy Star paper to read?

just click open the internet, besides the Star digital news, there is lots more other news websites that can be readily read

readers have so many choices to choose to read news
company have so many choice to choose from to make advertisement in digital media

now the media industry is totally change

if STAR MEDIA management still not take fast action to follow the trend, then will be habis...

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-07-23 08:51 | Report Abuse

@mable

u hold 33 companies in your portfolio?

wow, that is a lot

will not it be too headache to control and monitor? to track the news and share price of these 33 companies?

and your investment capital is quite huge i guess...

PH_1_term

190 posts

Posted by PH_1_term > 2019-07-23 08:55 | Report Abuse

How abt furniture? People no money to buy house or so many unsold houses why must buy furniture?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-07-23 08:55 | Report Abuse

undeniable media do have its roles, even in current environment

but STAR MEDIA, need to faster venture more into digital media and capture the medium of media that people go the most now

they should not stay dependent on Star hardcopy news paper and 988 radio station anymore
(mention about that 988 radio station, I not understand why 988 don't retain some of the good DJs and let the talent flow to its competitors. Now will almost all is newbie in 988, the radio station quality is becoming worse)

Posted by shareinvestor88 > 2019-07-29 02:06 | Report Abuse

Sell Sell TP 20c

Posted by shareinvestor88 > 2019-08-01 23:46 | Report Abuse

Better sell ... tp 20c

Posted by HK_protest > 2019-08-07 12:21 | Report Abuse

Bank consolidation is right move to boost stock market but when? Change PM or change govn in GE15?

beyond2288

1,791 posts

Posted by beyond2288 > 2019-08-24 18:29 | Report Abuse

runnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

Mabel

23,327 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2019-08-26 12:31 | Report Abuse

@RainT @mable

u hold 33 companies in your portfolio?

wow, that is a lot

will not it be too headache to control and monitor? to track the news and share price of these 33 companies?

and your investment capital is quite huge i guess...
23/07/2019 8:51 AM

---

RainT,

That was 3 months ago..

Now I have 46 companies in KLSE and Nasdaq

The distributions are as follows:

Mabel Automobiles 2
Mabel Plantations 4
Mabel Media 3
Mabel Telco 4
Mabel Steels 3
Mabel Energy 9
Mabel Real Estates (KLSE Top 7 REITS) 7
Mabel Technology 5
Mabel Airlines 2
Mabel Construction 3
Mabel Properties 4

Not really. You can use some application to tracks. Some of these investments are mid terms while some are long terms. Some I just buy and parked e.g. the REITS and the Plantation counters. I only monitor once every quarters since it's very stable. Likewise with this media counter. I only monitor those volatile counters like Energy and Technology counters.

...and Yes to your last question.

Undi_PAS

582 posts

Posted by Undi_PAS > 2019-08-27 11:10 | Report Abuse

-ve interest rate highlighted caused selldown? Promote PAS as next govn.

Mabel

23,327 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2019-08-28 23:28 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/star-media-2q-net-profit-17-better-cost-controls

KUALA LUMPUR (Aug 28): Better cost management controls have worked out well for Star Media Group Bhd whose net profit managed to grow 17.2% to RM1.66 million in its second quarter ended June 30, 2019 (2QFY19), from RM1.41 million in the year-ago quarter.

Well done Star!

nkk53

1,426 posts

Posted by nkk53 > 2019-09-03 12:56 | Report Abuse

Aporoaching cash value 0.47.Time to pick up

Undi_PAS

582 posts

Posted by Undi_PAS > 2019-09-08 09:23 |