STAR MEDIA GROUP BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): STAR (6084)

0.385 - 0.39

2,707 comment(s). Last comment by dompeilee 2 months ago

Twowah123

654 posts

Posted by Twowah123 > 2020-04-13 11:43 | Report Abuse

good. what is the TP

5,402 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-13 14:03 | Report Abuse

Haha,
So q buy at 15 cents per Philip suggestion.

thesteward

6,778 posts

Posted by thesteward > 2020-04-13 14:45 | Report Abuse

Super undervalue

kelvin17

565 posts

Posted by kelvin17 > 2020-04-13 15:35 | Report Abuse

philip how you derive at 15 cents worth when only the cash balance already 44 cents

kelvin17

565 posts

Posted by kelvin17 > 2020-04-13 15:36 | Report Abuse

from steve 928

Asia88

588 posts

Posted by Asia88 > 2020-04-13 18:04 | Report Abuse

shit lo, EPF keep dispose their shareholding in STAR.

Ex7121

221 posts

Posted by Ex7121 > 2020-04-13 20:15 | Report Abuse

Cash is more than market capital. Instead of continue bleeding, the company should wind down all business, keep operating expenses to minimal and sell off all assets after this pandemic at the right place. Thereafter, return all cash to shareholders.

13,662 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-04-13 20:25 | Report Abuse

Excellent!!

I will recommend to Agung to give you a Tan Sri title!!!
a thinking man after my own heart.

why trouble yourself to kooong kang koooong kang suffer daily?
Just give a cash refund rather than show a credit as number of shares owned.
Like Tony says, the credit is instant and you are allowed to buy and sell shares unlimited number of times in a year.

also btw fyi MCA says it is independently managed and so it is not and cannot be a propaganda machine for MCA.
Thats good to know, I am very sure. Must be true lah.......

Posted by Ex7121 > Apr 13, 2020 8:15 PM | Report Abuse
Cash is more than market capital. Instead of continue bleeding, the company should wind down all business, keep operating expenses to minimal and sell off all assets after this pandemic at the right place. Thereafter, return all cash to shareholders.

Posted by 360Capitalist > 2020-04-14 10:22 | Report Abuse

It is no secret that Star’s worth now lies in its land and buildings. Based on its 2018 annual report, the company’s properties have a net book value of RM1.55 billion, which translates into RM2.10 per share.

Of the media group’s 18 properties, the 17-storey office building, Menara Star, has the highest net book value of RM35.86 million. It was last revalued in 2001. However, according to CGS-CIMB Research’s Oct 26, 2018, report, the building is likely to be worth RM80 million.

Star’s properties in Penang, which comprise an office block and creative and events hub, a newsprint warehouse and regional printing plant, are estimated to have a market value of RM118 million, according to CGS-CIMB Research.

The media group also has four pieces of freehold industrial land that measure a total of 633,161 sq ft and have a net book value of RM43.27 million. Three of them are located in Bukit Jelutong, Shah Alam, while the fourth is in Bayan Lepas, Penang. The total market value of these tracts is estimated at RM121.71 million.

Star has buildings and land in Pahang, Perak and Sabah, and overseas in the UK and China as well.

And as at Sept 30, 2019, it had a handsome cash pile of RM387.7 million, equivalent to 52.5 sen per share.

Posted by 360Capitalist > 2020-04-14 10:26 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/assetrich-star-unlikely-privatisation-candidate

WITH Star Media Group Bhd being valued at only RM328.4 million as at last Thursday — a far cry from its glory days in the mid-2000s when it commanded a market capitalisation of over RM2 billion — the question that comes to mind is, is the company ripe for privatisation by its major shareholder, the Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA)?

The media group’s share price has shed 33.1% over the last one year, from 66.4 sen on Dec 11, 2018, to 44.5 sen last Thursday. The last time the stock hit such a low level was between March and April of 1999.

It is also worth noting that the stock is trading at only 0.4 times the media group’s net asset value per share of RM1.11 as at Sept 30, 2019.

But analysts that The Edge spoke to do not think MCA, which owns 43.1% of Star, will take the privatisation route.

“Ideally, considering its current valuation, Star should be privatised. But does MCA have the money for it? Star is generating good dividends for the political party when its other businesses are either loss-making or making meagre profits,” remarks an analyst.

Star is seen as a cash cow for MCA, which received RM349.71 million in dividends from the media group between 2013 and 2017. Last year, however, the amount dropped to RM9.54 million based on a dividend of three sen per share.

Another analyst says he is sceptical about Star getting any privatisation offer because its operations are shrinking — its annual revenue has been declining since 2016 and there is no sign of a reversal yet. “At 0.4 times its price-to-book value, we think Star is just about fairly valued and may not be compelling enough for a buyout,” he adds.

According to a market observer, if a privatisation were to take place, the million-dollar question would be: at what price? “We know that now, Star’s value is in its assets and not its business operations. So, should the shareholder want to privatise it and pay below book value, it would be pretty unfair to the minority shareholders.”

It is no secret that Star’s worth now lies in its land and buildings. Based on its 2018 annual report, the company’s properties have a net book value of RM1.55 billion, which translates into RM2.10 per share.

Of the media group’s 18 properties, the 17-storey office building, Menara Star, has the highest net book value of RM35.86 million. It was last revalued in 2001. However, according to CGS-CIMB Research’s Oct 26, 2018, report, the building is likely to be worth RM80 million.

Star’s properties in Penang, which comprise an office block and creative and events hub, a newsprint warehouse and regional printing plant, are estimated to have a market value of RM118 million, according to CGS-CIMB Research.

The media group also has four pieces of freehold industrial land that measure a total of 633,161 sq ft and have a net book value of RM43.27 million. Three of them are located in Bukit Jelutong, Shah Alam, while the fourth is in Bayan Lepas, Penang. The total market value of these tracts is estimated at RM121.71 million.

Star has buildings and land in Pahang, Perak and Sabah, and overseas in the UK and China as well.

And as at Sept 30, 2019, it had a handsome cash pile of RM387.7 million, equivalent to 52.5 sen per share.

Granted, the company is rich in assets but its business outlook is deemed bleak by many because, like elsewhere in the world, the country’s media industry has been hard hit by a structural shift and declining adex.

“I think the prospects for Star are dim. It does not matter whether or not it is seen as a credible paper because it has little competitive advantage from an advertiser’s perspective. There is no reason for advertisers to move their advertisements there because its content is similar to what you can find on other websites,” comments an analyst.

An analyst with a local research firm says he does not think there will be an improvement in adex for the media group, considering the proliferation of digital platforms that are more targeted and effective, cheaper even, suiting the needs of advertisers.

Star has undertaken various initiatives to diversify its sources of income, such as organising events and exhibitions and offering subscription video on demand, but these contribute less than half to its total revenue.

According to analysts, while the new initiatives will help boost the media group’s earnings, they are still in the early stage and are unlikely to offset the decline in income from the traditional print segment.

In its third quarter ended Sept 30, 2019, Star’s net profit plunged 84% year on year to RM250,000 while revenue fell from RM91.12 million to RM79.58 million.

thesteward

6,778 posts

Posted by thesteward > 2020-04-14 10:40 | Report Abuse

High potential return low risk

thesteward

6,778 posts

Posted by thesteward > 2020-04-14 11:40 | Report Abuse

Watch this stock could be flying soooo

Twowah123

654 posts

Posted by Twowah123 > 2020-04-14 12:11 | Report Abuse

Good !!!

Bobfoo307

21 posts

Posted by Bobfoo307 > 2020-04-14 13:39 | Report Abuse

As mentioned, Why EPF is still dumping ?

thesteward

6,778 posts

Posted by thesteward > 2020-04-14 13:57 | Report Abuse

Properties are in prime location . Sooner or later

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2020-04-14 13:59 | Report Abuse

Don't know whether EPF is done with its selling. And yeah, these are troubled times for media companies. But at 0.27... I can't stand it anymore. Going to buy a few lots and keep, based on this very simple strategy - "Hope for the best" :)

Ex7121

221 posts

Posted by Ex7121 > 2020-04-14 16:13 | Report Abuse

Oh please do so! I would love to have a Tan Sri title!!! You do Know Agong, but oh wait, unfortunately Agong doesn't know you. Try harder next life, I am sure you could convince him to know you.

Posted by i3lurker > Apr 13, 2020 8:25 PM | Report Abuse
Excellent!!

I will recommend to Agung to give you a Tan Sri title!!!
a thinking man after my own heart.

jwyap

835 posts

Posted by jwyap > 2020-04-14 21:59 | Report Abuse

For the annual report year end 2019, Kwsp is holding 64.8k share in STAR, so far this few weeks ,kwsp already disposed n sold around 40k of their share in public market. once all dispose. i am interesting of given dividen every year, abd having big nett cash and most importance is the history lowerest price. my tp it will come back rm 0.40 above. buy for your own risk, this is what i knew.

linheng

1,360 posts

Posted by linheng > 2020-04-15 08:57 | Report Abuse

Company buyback. Got ample cash. Can wait for TP 10 cents?

Posted by IDSS_must_ban > 2020-04-15 14:50 | Report Abuse

Short selling ban meaning what can Star explain?

leechen88

292 posts

Posted by leechen88 > 2020-04-17 05:01 | Report Abuse

With 385m net cash , 3 sen dividen still can last for 17 years. Hahaha down more buy more. 3 sen dividen means dy will be 11% ..... super super expensive?

Posted by Philip (Honesty is expensive. Dont expect frm cheap ppl ) > 2020-04-17 06:20 | Report Abuse

Hi i3lurker little kid,

This is the difference between GDEX and a STAR, faham? Really hard to go bankrupt when you can buy back shares. This is considered growth also, when you use outstanding cash to reduce outstanding shares in the market.

>>>>>>>>>

15-Apr-2020 15-Apr-2020 Buyback 2,380,500 0.270 0.270 View Detail
14-Apr-2020 14-Apr-2020 Buyback 942,400 0.265 0.265 View Detail
13-Apr-2020 13-Apr-2020 Buyback 765,600 0.260 0.260 View Detail
10-Apr-2020 10-Apr-2020 Buyback 800,000 0.260 0.280

Posted by billionchew > 2020-04-17 12:52 | Report Abuse

leechen88,
除了每年的股息,那这行业会是夕阳工业吗?

smartag

176 posts

Posted by smartag > 2020-04-17 13:13 | Report Abuse

30 cents, too cheap, only epf will sell, not their own money.

smartag

176 posts

Posted by smartag > 2020-04-17 13:14 | Report Abuse

Don't miss out, short term TP 0.40.

smartag

176 posts

Posted by smartag > 2020-04-17 14:42 | Report Abuse

May be they sell epf a/c, buy in his personal a/c.

Posted by billionchew > 2020-04-17 16:59 | Report Abuse

why P/E over 40? any one can explain?

13,662 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-04-17 17:07 | Report Abuse

EPF is the smart one.

sold all,
and washed the dirt off hands, plenty of other good counters in BURSA

Posted by Kingfisher > 2020-04-17 20:02 | Report Abuse

Anynody selling shares at current is not smart..Will regret later..

jwyap

835 posts

Posted by jwyap > 2020-04-17 20:07 | Report Abuse

kwsp sold out all in the lowest market price. so time to move back to its actual value market price. i guess rm 0.5

linheng

1,360 posts

Posted by linheng > 2020-04-18 09:38 | Report Abuse

What is this news about Star Media working with Hwawei.

Posted by stockraider > 2020-04-18 11:50 | Report Abuse

Agree...agree....agree loh....!!

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$4 coming mahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!

Posted by Philip ( Random Walk Theorist) > Apr 17, 2020 6:20 AM | Report Abuse

Hi i3lurker little kid,

This is the difference between GDEX and a STAR, faham? Really hard to go bankrupt when you can buy back shares. This is considered growth also, when you use outstanding cash to reduce outstanding shares in the market.

>>>>>>>>>

15-Apr-2020 15-Apr-2020 Buyback 2,380,500 0.270 0.270 View Detail
14-Apr-2020 14-Apr-2020 Buyback 942,400 0.265 0.265 View Detail
13-Apr-2020 13-Apr-2020 Buyback 765,600 0.260 0.260 View Detail
10-Apr-2020 10-Apr-2020 Buyback 800,000 0.260 0.280

5,402 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-18 12:12 | Report Abuse

Haha stockraider already make profit with STAR

Posted by stockraider > 2020-04-18 12:14 | Report Abuse

Thanks to uncle Philip loh...!!

Posted by Sslee > Apr 18, 2020 12:12 PM | Report Abuse

Haha stockraider already make profit with STAR

5,402 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-18 12:22 | Report Abuse

Haha,
Me too. A big thanks to uncle Philip

13,662 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-04-18 12:34 | Report Abuse

just watch out who becomes the Ultimate Fool.

All those who jump off early will laugh just like Heng Yuan.

easy money only up to a certain point.

13,662 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-04-18 12:37 | Report Abuse

I had already mentioned many days ago that STAR had been profitable for me everyday.

some of you especially those Sith Lords obviously are just blind or did not bother to read my posts.

I have no obligation to tell you when I am jumping off or dumping all my shares.

13,662 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-04-18 12:45 | Report Abuse

I had also highlighted many days ago that the main seller is a client of JP Morgan.

but those who bought from me are mostly those securities firms dealing with bilis.

Just remember to jump off at the right moment.

Make money scold or talk bad about me is a total waste of time.
Maybe I made more than you or maybe less who knows?

5,402 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-18 12:48 | Report Abuse

Haha i3lurker,
OK buy some Gdex to support you next week.

Posted by stockraider > 2020-04-18 12:48 | Report Abuse

This means the bilis are winning mah...!!

Posted by i3lurker > Apr 18, 2020 12:45 PM | Report Abuse

I had also highlighted many days ago that the main seller is a client of JP Morgan.

but those who bought from me are mostly those securities firms dealing with bilis.

Just remember to jump off at the right moment.

Make money scold or talk bad about me is a total waste of time.
Maybe I made more than you or maybe less who knows?

13,662 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-04-18 12:51 | Report Abuse

sslee

I dun own any Gdex

one of my close friends bought Gdex based on my recommendation coz he wanted a growth share.
But also low share price.
Most growth companies already have high share prices like Nestle, he was not willing to spend the money on that.

Different strokes for different people.

Posted by stockraider > 2020-04-18 12:52 | Report Abuse

Gdex is a sohai overvalue stock mah...!!

13,662 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-04-18 12:57 | Report Abuse

Gdex is overvalued just like Nestle and QL because people paying for foward PE.

that means you are paying now for the Vietnam growth and also regional Asean growth

13,662 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-04-18 12:59 | Report Abuse

I did point out to my friend that Gdex is overvalued with high PE of 40 to 50

but he did not mind coz he liked the idea of growth plus dividends

with Star you will be getting dividends only

Posted by Philip ( Random Walk Theorist) > 2020-04-18 13:01 | Report Abuse

This is why I look down on trolls. First they say they recommend buying gdex. Then they say they are shorting star. Now they say Star is profitable for them.

Now they suddenly don't have any faith in their own recommended share gdex, but telling other people to buy gdex, whole they buy star instead.

I3lurker is a follower of trump?

First say covid19 is nothing.
Then say covid will not come to USA.
Then say covid is not dangerous.
Then now say they always knew how bad covid will be.

Wonderful liar and fake news maker.

From the beginning of pump and dump I have already made 20%, while your gdex is just another badly researched recommended stock.

I stop here.

Beating up lying kids is a waste of time.

Sith lords? Tell the truth and show your collection of LITTLE PONIES. But since you have been in i3 investor forum since 15-20 years ago, maybe you should start writing a book instead to supplement your income.

And stop recommending stocks. You do more harm than good.

>>>>>>>>>

Posted by i3lurker > Apr 18, 2020 12:37 PM | Report Abuse

I had already mentioned many days ago that STAR had been profitable for me everyday.

some of you especially those Sith Lords obviously are just blind or did not bother to read my posts.

I have no obligation to tell you when I am jumping off or dumping all my shares.

5,402 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-18 13:15 | Report Abuse

Haha i3lurker,
Remember don’t author any investment book, children book or fiction and nonfiction book. A compilation of jokes from i3 will do and get Philip to write the book foreword for you. I am sure the book will become best seller in Malaysia.