4Q18 result was lower than expectation. PAT was lower mainly due to the high tax rate of 66% of PBT. That being said PBT of RM26.1mil is still lower compared to 4Q17 RM26.6mil.
Lower PBT mainly from disappointing result of plantation division which recorded a loss of -RM5.4mil due to forex loss of -RM9.8mil and lower average selling price of CPO and palm Kernel.
There was one exceptional item that caught my eye. A land donation amounting to RM9.5mil. If you were to exclude this, PBT would have been RM35.6mil.
At current price and based on a trailing 12 month PATAMI of RM69mil, the company is currently being valued at 9.9x PE. However given the below par result of 4Q18, i am not sure if PATAMI will sustain at that level for FY19.
Would suggest to wait for next quarter result before making decision to buy into the company.
For those that are interested in Property stocks, you could look at both Ewein and Eupe. Valuations are low in terms of PE and just like MKH, they are also trading at a discount to their book value. Both are expected to post better profit results for coming quarters.
For plantation stock, i have yet to seen any stocks that are currently trading at low PE (after excluding none recurring items) but i think this is normal given the current market condition where CPO is currently at the bottom. Feel free to suggest if you manage to find any.
Other stock that you might want to consider is MBMR which provide direct exposure to Perodua via its 22.6% interest in the company. Valuation is low at 5.5x PE (target 2018 PATAMI of RM145mil. 9m PATAMI is already at RM106 mil). PB is less than 0.5x.
The quality of its assets improves .. 1. Indonesia's palm oil levy relaxed 2. High over a billion ringgit unbilled properties 3. Higher free cash flow with lower borrowings and capex 4. Some properties matured to be turned into property investment 5. Positive repercussion from the land donation to build a Chinese school 6. Company shares buyback 7. Continuous support from key shareholder Public Bank as vote of confidence 8. Directors have been buying its shares
The property market is expected to improve this year. Maybank IB expects that the ongoing "National Home Ownership Campaign" between 1/1/19 to 30/6/19 is going to increase the housing sales substantially.
MKH was one of the key organiser in the last "National Home Ownership Campaign" in 1999. The 1999 campaign had seen the overall property market sales increased by 36% as compared to 1998. MKH will participate in this campaign in a big way.
Major IBs and fund houses had been negative about property stocks for the last 4 years but the property stocks kept reporting good results with single digit PE for many of them. Were the IBs and fund houses wrong? I think they are and their analysis are too crude and coarse. Just simply say "property market not good, so property counters not good". Aunties in pasar also can give this kind of analysis.
If you check back the IBs' and fund houses' recommendations for the last 4 years, they recommended Oil & Gas and Construction counters. Many people loaded onto their lorries and ended up in Holland.
Look at their recommendations, UMWOnG (Velesto), Armada, Icon, SapuraEnergy, Perisai, GKent, MRCB and Felda before the share prices tumbled. All are either "Strong Buy", "Buy" or "Hold". May be they gave these ratings to benefit themselves.
Spot on enid888. IBs only looking for story to tell. Story not good Sorry. Some property counters are paying better dividend. Properties are necessity!
When people dump you collect. Property industry still not in right time. Property industry not cyclical will stay low for many years to come. Nevermind the company is solid. Nevermind the company has 20 years unbroken profit record. Nevermind the company still pays dividend. Still property is not out of wood yet. Just dump. When people dump you collect. Happy investing!
Despite the increase in revenue for the current quarter of RM333.5 million as compared to the preceding quarter of RM228.4 million, the group recorded lower profit before tax of RM26.1 million as compared to the preceding quarter of RM31.2 million mainly due to lower CPO sales volume of 26,500 MT and lower average selling price of RM1,872 per MT in the current quarter as compared to 33,000 MT and RM2,173 per MT respectively in the preceding quarter.
I have enough high beta to deliver good performance in a hot market, so I am now looking into Low profile stocks that can’t hurt much in the event that market turns sour
More of “think of safety first, only then return” kind of stocks
wao....icon8888 sifu also look good this stock....good sign~~i have survey all mkh project....all have good location and good take up rate except saville d'island(almost TOD) concept.....mkh oil plam is at flat land ,the production is higer than hill land ,the valuation of the land almost now the mkh market value.......can say buy 1 free 1
2018,mkh much project still at early stage development .....2019 the property contribution will more visibility......now kajang area not much land for build landed property,kajang 2 a mkh diamond.....kajang east phase 1 a feng sui land ,located at kajang east highest place....
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
CK
269 posts
Posted by CK > 2018-11-30 18:15 | Report Abuse
Bad Qtr result......