APOLLO FOOD HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): APOLLO (6432)

-0.22 (3.38%)

6.28 - 6.49

557 comment(s). Last comment by KingKKK 1 hour ago

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-12-15 16:14 | Report Abuse

pussycats - my point is proven as since the stock went Ex around 5.60++, it's been trading at much lower prices

vinvestor

113 posts

Posted by vinvestor > 2016-12-20 20:18 | Report Abuse

It will go back to more than 5.80 very soon. So you get free 30 sen dividend !

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2016-12-28 00:12 | Report Abuse

Great - that's blue ocean joekit, a kurang manis cake for the untapped adult & geriatric market!

Posted by shareinvestor88 > 2016-12-30 16:59 | Report Abuse

Profit down.... sell

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-01-17 16:30 | Report Abuse

the drop in price is quite steep. Is there something really wrong?

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-01-17 16:36 | Report Abuse

Those who chased Apollo above Rm6.00 have broken a fundamental rule

HE THAT IS LOW NEEDS FEAR NO FALL

Calvin bought Apollo at Rm2.20. Taken profit long time ago. Apollo based its products on low cost alone. This is not sustainable when commodity prices, worker's wages start to rise.

So all these factors have impacted on Apollo's bottom lines.

Malaysia is no longer a place to manufacture low, cheap products anymore.

Lower end production outfit like Apollo should shift its operation to Myanmar to cut cost.

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-01-18 22:55 | Report Abuse

TQ Calvin - I thought that Apollo could increase each of its low cost product which I thought is price inelastic hence mitigating the thinning of its margins.

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-01-18 23:08 | Report Abuse

sheldon,

Some food manufacturers like Van Houton has shifted production from Malaysia to Indonesia. Then they shifted again from Indonesia to China.

They also shift some production to Thailand.

So there is always competition in the low end manufacturing.

yklip

20 posts

Posted by yklip > 2017-02-03 12:25 | Report Abuse

what happen to apollo.. below RM5.00

Posted by christophertopher > 2017-02-03 17:55 | Report Abuse

今天跌破support price rm4.98.....

Posted by christophertopher > 2017-02-04 12:31 | Report Abuse

它的前景很挑战。

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-02-06 11:38 | Report Abuse

Shares are stepping out!

Posted by Mohd Fahmi Bin Jaes > 2017-02-06 18:52 | Report Abuse

take profit

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-03-21 15:42 | Report Abuse

Any wild guesses on the earnings per share?

sengtan

185 posts

Posted by sengtan > 2017-04-25 15:59 | Report Abuse

any reason for the recent downtrend pls

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-04-28 23:07 | Report Abuse

I've no idea but I'm picking some up.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2017-05-02 01:36 | Report Abuse

Sengtan

Easy result only la
Go study the quarter report , you can see few quarters , the company profit down and down

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-05-03 08:41 | Report Abuse

the downtrend could be mainly due to demand & supply. Amanah Saham dumping thousands in an illiquid counter will drive it down. I hope & think it's not because of the performance.

hope

7 posts

Posted by hope > 2017-05-03 12:24 | Report Abuse

Time to grab, high div yield

Posted by sumtookee > 2017-05-22 14:42 | Report Abuse

wah dividend 12.5% huat ahhh

Taikoh

82 posts

Posted by Taikoh > 2017-05-25 15:55 | Report Abuse

ZZZzzzzz

hewusana

265 posts

Posted by hewusana > 2017-06-27 07:24 | Report Abuse

5 % cents for the dividend slightly better than fd

ys2k

19 posts

Posted by ys2k > 2017-06-27 23:46 | Report Abuse

been monitoring this stock for years still didnt buy due to the revenue going downtrend since 2013 until now, last result get about the same revenue compare to last year, and net profit dropped almost 45% year over year.

quarter profit sometime go higher and sometime go lower on raw material price, currency exchange, cost operation and etc...

from the business model we can conclude the business is steady but didn't growth (constantly revenue maintain around 220m for past 5 years). with current price RM5 and PE22 which i would assume the current price is fully reflected with latest financial result. to me it is still expensive to give high PE on no-growth company.

people who like to collect dividend might like this stock because it giving 5% dividend. despite management given 25cents dividend since year 2013, we also need to consider whether how high chance would this company doing better in future? That is another question to answer what is the main barrier the revenue been constantly maintain about the same since 5 years ago? How would it be different in next coming year?

ys2k

19 posts

Posted by ys2k > 2017-06-28 00:21 | Report Abuse

there is one more note in the quarter report
"On 7 April 2017, Apollo Food Industries (M) Sdn Bhd (“AFI”), a wholly owned subsidiary of Apollo
Food Holdings Berhad, received a Writ of Summon from Mondelez Europe GMBH (“Mondelez”),
which intends to restrain AFI from selling one of their products on the basis that such product
infringes the trademark product of Mondelez.
Currently no court trial date has been fixed. The Directors have consulted with legal opinions, and
the Directors are of the view that other than legal professional consultancy fees incurred, the
financial impact that may affect to the Group is currently unknown and the Directors are not aware
of any contractual obligation, guarantee or otherwise which may the Group by the result of this
litigation"

The thing surprise me is that it didn't publish in Bursa's company announcement, i wonder whether is this 'legal' not to announce it earlier. Can anyone tell me? tks!

pussycats

7,611 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2017-06-28 06:44 | Report Abuse

ys2k →there is one more note in the quarter report
"On 7 April 2017, Apollo Food Industries (M) Sdn Bhd (“AFI”), a wholly owned subsidiary of Apollo
Food Holdings Berhad, received a Writ of Summon from Mondelez Europe GMBH (“Mondelez”),
which intends to restrain AFI from selling one of their products on the basis that such product
infringes the trademark product of Mondelez.
Currently no court trial date has been fixed. The Directors have consulted with legal opinions, and
the Directors are of the view that other than legal professional consultancy fees incurred, the
financial impact that may affect to the Group is currently unknown and the Directors are not aware
of any contractual obligation, guarantee or otherwise which may the Group by the result of this
litigation"

The thing surprise me is that it didn't publish in Bursa's company announcement, i wonder whether is this 'legal' not to announce it earlier. Can anyone tell me? tks!
28/06/2017 00:21

pussycats → wow thanks ys2k for this info. May l know where u get this info?

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-06-28 15:42 | Report Abuse

Bad results - they claim that cost of raw materials has gone up.

As far as I know, commodity prices like sugar and CPO have trended down a lot.

May be it's the dollar climb that has impoverished all of us - TQ politicians!

ys2k

19 posts

Posted by ys2k > 2017-06-28 22:32 | Report Abuse

Pussycats > you can refer to the latest quarter report

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-07-06 11:05 | Report Abuse

Buy at today's price of 5.10 & stand to make an annual dividend yield of 9.8% - Is this not good enough??

ckkhen

193 posts

Posted by ckkhen > 2017-07-06 11:12 | Report Abuse

Posted by sheldon > Jul 6, 2017 11:05 AM | Report Abuse

Buy at today's price of 5.10 & stand to make an annual dividend yield of 9.8% - Is this not good enough??

At 5.10 with dividend of 25sen, dividend yield is 0.25/5.10% = 4.90%

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-07-06 15:54 | Report Abuse

Posted by ckkhen - At 5.10 with dividend of 25sen, dividend yield is 0.25/5.10% = 4.90%

Don't forget that since dividend is paid in 6 months and yield is expressed on a per annum basis, hence 4.9 x 2 = 9.8%

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-07-07 09:51 | Report Abuse

A weak MYR is supposed to be good for Apollo. Extract of 31 Oct 2015 quarterly ....

"The Group’s pre-tax profit for the current quarter ended 31 October 2015 has increased by
RM7.468 million to RM14.491 million from RM7.023 million in the quarter ended 31 October 2014.
The increase in net profit was due to foreign exchange gain on the depreciation of Ringgit
Malaysia against USD dollar."

But now it's singing a different tune. Extract of the latest quarterly ....

The Group’s pre-tax profit had decreased by RM1.499 million from RM5.756 million in the
preceding quarter to RM4.257 million in this quarter. This was mainly due to higher operating costs
and lower foreign exchange gain incurred in this quarter.

ys2k

19 posts

Posted by ys2k > 2017-07-10 10:35 | Report Abuse

sheldon, the dividend is paid in 6 months, doesn't mean you will get it twice in a year.

Example:
Announced date: 23 Jun 2017
Ex Date: 08-Dec-2017

That is assuming you hold it until 08-dec to entitled the dividend. Once you get the dividend, most likely you will get your next dividend on next year 08-Dec-2018.

If you look at the dividend history, the dividend is only distributed once a year
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/stk/annent/6432.jsp

DY 4.90% is the correct figure.

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-07-10 15:24 | Report Abuse

We can agree to disagree but my finance background tells me that money has a time value and yields are by convention expressed on a per year basis.

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-07-14 15:12 | Report Abuse

Amanah Saham Bumi has been disposing off chunks. Do they need the cash or have they lost faith in Apollo?

Dunhill

Posted by Dunhill > 2017-07-19 09:13 | Report Abuse

进场

goldenhope

245 posts

Posted by goldenhope > 2017-07-19 11:06 | Report Abuse

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-09-25 10:50 | Report Abuse

waiting with trepidation the latest quarterly. Any guesses?

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-09-28 16:17 | Report Abuse

I did not realise that the results were announced much earlier on 24 Aug

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-10-03 22:02 | Report Abuse

There should be a run up in the share price just before it turns ex.

Mypickers

24 posts

Posted by Mypickers > 2017-12-11 22:15 | Report Abuse

To look in to it..

Posted by Parkson8888 > 2017-12-11 22:18 | Report Abuse

ASB selling non-stop. RM 4 coming?

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-12-19 16:00 | Report Abuse

Maybe ASB needs the money. If that's the case then it's a good buy as down trend of price is not due to concerns about performance. The next quarterly should shed more light into this matter.

missyii

20 posts

Posted by missyii > 2017-12-20 09:37 | Report Abuse

Appolo can futher up...just remember the first shutle to moon was named after apolo..hahaa

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-12-24 15:03 | Report Abuse

waiting with trepidation the 31st Oct results

tah16600

2,646 posts

Posted by tah16600 > 2017-12-26 16:49 | Report Abuse

Better sell----downtrend

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-12-27 11:35 | Report Abuse

management is waiting until the last minute to announce the results

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-12-27 11:41 | Report Abuse

that's not a good sign

Posted by Mohd Fahmi Bin Jaes > 2017-12-28 23:42 |

sheldon

1,383 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2017-12-31 16:11 | Report Abuse

31-Oct-17 - 4.77 31-Jul-17 - 4.70 30-Apr-17 - 3.38 31-Jan-17 - 6.43 31-Oct-16 - 5.37 31-Jul-16 7.12 30-Apr-16 - 2.14 31-Jan-16 - 9.01

The compilation of quarterly EPS above indicates gradual improvement over the last 3 quarters. At least it's still in positive territory.