QL RESOURCES BHD

KLSE (MYR): QL (7084)

4.80 - 4.85

2,732 comment(s). Last comment by WongGK92 4 weeks ago

Aero1

1,469 posts

Posted by Aero1 > 2014-11-27 08:50 | Report Abuse

Malaysia, Hong Kong and China were the top Asian recipients, each getting more than 230 billion yen through September ... http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-11-26/asia-s-13-carry-return-lures-record-japan-funds-amid-yield-hunt.html

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2014-12-12 09:39 | Report Abuse

I am thinking of adding to my holding at this price (3.35)...what you guys are thinking?

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2014-12-16 09:53 | Report Abuse

Can't wait, so i decided to buy it already

market

36 posts

Posted by market > 2014-12-18 16:30 | Report Abuse

QL is super good company ,buy 3.35 after 10 years sure 33.35 better than EPF

Aero1

1,469 posts

Posted by Aero1 > 2014-12-18 21:35 | Report Abuse

Major shareholder Chia bought shares via open market.

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2015-01-16 09:27 | Report Abuse

I plan to add more to my holdings, but i want to wait for a better opportunity. I am still checking on their overseas businesses, to see the prospects, my feeling is now QL is undervalued again

duitkwspkita

Posted by duitkwspkita > 2015-01-16 09:31 | Report Abuse

Oversea business some are good while some are no good..... but mostly achieved annual target.

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2015-01-16 15:42 | Report Abuse

That's good to hear. That's what i am reading outside. Anyway the stock is up today, i guess must wait some more for entry opportunity

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2015-01-19 17:22 | Report Abuse

Now i think i missed the second boat...oucchhh..lesson is..when see opportunity..don't wait..must grab!

regit

38 posts

Posted by regit > 2015-01-21 16:35 | Report Abuse

hmmmm... PE not a bit high meh? can't recall where I read it already

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2015-01-22 11:27 | Report Abuse

Yalah...PE a bit high, but only worry if the company is in a steady state. As long as growing nicely, the future is good and means more money..

Aero1

1,469 posts

Posted by Aero1 > 2015-01-27 08:47 | Report Abuse

Starting to leap to another level .. stayed tune.

Aero1

1,469 posts

Posted by Aero1 > 2015-02-07 16:34 | Report Abuse

Looking at its fundamental and business model, QL should be a stock to accumulate over times.

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2015-02-16 13:22 | Report Abuse

Lucky i added the other day. Now i am selling it out for a gain of 14.8%. I still hold several more tranches of QL.

Aero1

1,469 posts

Posted by Aero1 > 2015-02-17 12:22 | Report Abuse

I am tempted to .. but QL to me is alternative to Nestle, so will keep it for longer term. I will add when there is a price weakness.

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2015-02-17 14:42 | Report Abuse

Aero1, check out my writings in CIMB share discussion area. I laid out how i did it.

cmchin

146 posts

Posted by cmchin > 2015-02-26 19:07 | Report Abuse

Worry affected by Lay Hong issue. But see the result quite OK.

Aero1

1,469 posts

Posted by Aero1 > 2015-03-09 22:37 | Report Abuse

Market cap is highest now .. best yet to come.

Aero1

1,469 posts

Posted by Aero1 > 2015-03-20 20:26 | Report Abuse

What happen?

Keyi Xie

29 posts

Posted by Keyi Xie > 2015-03-20 21:19 | Report Abuse

the share price increased from 3.81 to 4.11 .... increased for 0.30 ....
who could explain to why such situation happened?

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2015-03-24 09:19 | Report Abuse

I agree lah...this is my thesis too...anyway..now I will wait for another entry point to accumulate

cmchin

146 posts

Posted by cmchin > 2015-03-25 15:04 | Report Abuse

QL, show us your “real power" to convince shareholder by given bonus issue, your's value and the price not only that it.

Posted by Chong Chiew Foong > 2015-04-19 18:28 | Report Abuse

Hi, in the cash flow from financing activities, there is a section called dividend paid to owner of company.does it mean the dividend paid to shareholders?if not, where can I find the total dividend paid to shareholders?thank you.

Posted by goodcompanies > 2015-04-20 11:29 | Report Abuse

Yes, that's the one. Sometimes got minority interest, so just check for it. You will need to sum up both and have a total paid out. Alternatively, you can check dividend declaration made (bursa etc) and multiply that by outstanding shares. You will get the exact dividend paid.

Posted by Chong Chiew Foong > 2015-04-20 20:08 | Report Abuse

Thank you so much good companies.

Posted by bullcontino > 2015-05-09 23:42 | Report Abuse

Food.

Posted by bullcontino > 2015-05-09 23:43 | Report Abuse

Food maker.

bintang21

458 posts

Posted by bintang21 > 2015-05-11 14:24 | Report Abuse

DO NOT BUY !

the business activities involve KILLING

whatever you take away from other you got to pay back, whether life or money.

why choose to be a shareholder of a killer company

you can make a lot of money from evil works , but do you want to pay back by your own life or your family members' life

think carefully

what to do, you decide and you be responsible. if you are not sure KARMA is true or false, please do not be that foolish to talk nonsense and mislead people with your ignorance unless you think you have more wisdom than Buddha.

Posted by Unbeatable Nick > 2015-05-11 14:28 | Report Abuse

errrr,,,,,,

eky7931

39 posts

Posted by eky7931 > 2015-05-11 19:53 | Report Abuse

Unless all of us are full-time vegetarians, otherwise it is actually wasting time to discuss about whether QL is a 'killing company' and whether we should become its shareholder.

Many of us eat meats, and where are the sources come from ? Of course from butchers, fishermen, companies like QL, Lay Hong, Leong Hup etc. If we eat meats and blame the main sources as 'evil works/activities', where is the logic behind ?

If you decide to believe this theory, please convert to full-time vegetarian now, otherwise you should keep investing in companies which you think can provide good return in the future. Remember, stick to your own principle and don't affect by external factors.

eky7931

39 posts

Posted by eky7931 > 2015-05-11 20:38 | Report Abuse

QL is a good company, recently the company acquires Kembang Subur, KS owns largest shrimp hatchery in Malaysia. QL seems to be very serious in this business, ie now covers both upstream and downstream operations. This new venture offering significant growth potential for QL in the future. Below is the link for Kembang Subur's corporate video :-

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AhBKDBXipdY

bintang21

458 posts

Posted by bintang21 > 2015-05-12 13:37 | Report Abuse

eky7931

it is nothing to do whether you are vegetarian or non vegetarian

it is nothing to do who to be blamed or not to be blamed

it is nothing to do whether evil work can win big money or not win big money

it is noting to do if you believe or not believe

but one thing is for sure

you are not spare for your ignorance

whatever you take away from other you got to pay back, whether life or money.

you may win the whole world but if you lose you life, what do you gain?

you need not have to feel dislike, I am just sharing my view as a Buddhist,

moreover there are still many many companies we can choose to
invest to make big profit other than QL

duitkwspkita,

you need not have to delete your post

be truthful will gain you more respect

"Stock: [QL]: QL RESOURCES BHD

May 11, 2015 08:02 PM | Report Abuse

Hahahah...

eky7931...... No worries la. Count it 3 weeks. I will give you bonus.

Ini company too strong jor. Without me still can up more than 16% in 2 months....

I delete all comments doesn't mean I got affected or remove my plan to life it up......

Anyway.. Advance congratulations to you first."

bintang21

458 posts

Posted by bintang21 > 2015-05-12 13:47 | Report Abuse

less killing and exercise more compassionate heart bring more harmony and less natural disasters

duit,

do not get me wrong I want to turn you into a vegetarian, I just hope you can use your talent and wisdom at the right place and in the right way

eky7931

39 posts

Posted by eky7931 > 2015-05-12 15:40 | Report Abuse

bintang72,

Follow your theory, if investing in QL is not proper, then we should also stop eating meats and convert ourselves to become vegetarian. As both also indirectly causing the 'killing' activities.

Again simply curse ppl (i.e you are not spare for your ignorance) is also not Buddha's teaching. It is a bit extreme.

This is free world, everybody can express their view freely. Even likes plantation stocks, some ppl accuse their activities destroy the eco system, therefore should we stop to invest in plantation stocks? It is very normal if we have different views but please don't curse people. This is against the Buddha's teaching.

This is my last comment on this issue.

bintang21

458 posts

Posted by bintang21 > 2015-05-12 16:00 | Report Abuse

"you are not spare for your ignorance"

is not cursing.

please do not distort the fact

please do not use you limited knowledge to judge Buddhist teaching.

are you a Buddhist?

if you are not , then it is no point we argue on different lines of thought

bintang21

458 posts

Posted by bintang21 > 2015-05-12 16:09 | Report Abuse

eky7931,

1. this not my theory, this is Buddhist teaching, it is not a secret to all the viewers here. I think you are a bit confused

2. why talk about ecosystem and plantation stock? anything to do with Buddhist teaching?

3. I said "you are not spare for your ignorance" is it cursing you?
this is general fact or common sense do not mix it up.

bintang21

458 posts

Posted by bintang21 > 2015-05-12 16:17 | Report Abuse

do not ask what I can be, I am exactly what I have chosen to be.

eky7931

39 posts

Posted by eky7931 > 2015-05-12 16:52 | Report Abuse

bintang21,
Thanks for your explanation. I apology for my misunderstanding.

duitKWSPkita,

Thanks for your good comments for both of us.

This is a open forum, we discuss with our open heart and sometimes argument will inevitably happen but this is very normal for the open discussion like this.

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2015-05-14 10:37 | Report Abuse

Business of killing?
Everyday you and I killed the bacteria, small insects etc.
Vegetarian? They also killed. They killed the trees, and the bacteria and the insects relying on the tree for their living also would die.
We human need to take things holistically and not to overdo and keep things in balance. We only take for our sustenance and we want things to flourish.
So mumble mumble..but still there is money to be made...

Mohd Iqbal

266 posts

Posted by Mohd Iqbal > 2015-05-15 11:01 | Report Abuse

Dear All,

Your opinion on directors' salaries? Here the CEO get RM2 Million. 4 other exec directors get RM1 Million. Don't you think it is over the top. Why do QL need so many exec directors in the first place?

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2015-05-18 10:28 | Report Abuse

Mohd Iqbal,
Let's calculate. Revenue is say RM2.5 bil, profit is say going for 500 mil, and staff salaries are about rm150 mil annually. I would say the drectors are slightly overpaid when some ratios are calculated.
But regardless, investors look for ROE, that kind of thing. As long as they are making the cut, it is ok. Once profit is short, this could become an issue.

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2015-05-18 10:31 | Report Abuse

Lots of detail graphical info on CEO pay here..
https://259trillionvs5trillion.wordpress.com/monthly-publication/may-2012/

Mohd Iqbal

266 posts

Posted by Mohd Iqbal > 2015-05-18 11:37 | Report Abuse

I do not mind the CEO getting RM2M or RM3Million. He deserves it.

My problem is why QL need so many executive directors aside from CEO? And these exec earns RM1Million each. Maybe one CEO, one COO and one CFO. 3 should be maximum. QL is not yet a five star company like Petronas who needs many exec directors.

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2015-05-19 10:19 | Report Abuse

Iqbal,
The benefit of executive director is they (the board) have direct access into the company day to day operations. I find it advantageous. The more the merrier in my opinion. As to their salary, i think it is within the range. QL is a bluechip company with good returns so far, so they earned it. Petronas sucks, no need to mention them here. They just used your hydrocarbon resources and make money on it. Not fair at all. In fact, Petronas busying themselves trying to manage other countries hydrocarbon resources...while their mandate is ONLY to manage Malaysia's hydrocarbon resources as enshrined in Petroleum Act 1974.
Anyway for QL, as long as the company is performing, i see no problem for the directors to earn as much they are earning now. I think in the event profit is bad, they will voluntarily cut their pay. So in all, this is the board we want.

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2015-06-03 08:50 | Report Abuse

Thanks guys

kquah3

68 posts

Posted by kquah3 > 2015-06-16 22:30 | Report Abuse

QL debt is high...family controlled business must always consider this point when buying ...

Mohd Iqbal

266 posts

Posted by Mohd Iqbal > 2015-06-26 14:40 | Report Abuse

QL is overvalued. It should be priced at between 3.25 to 3.50. I will buy it once it drops to that level. Now it is expensive.