MAXLAND BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MAXLAND (7123)

-0.005 (5.26%)

0.085 - 0.095

6 people like this.

11,423 comment(s). Last comment by whistlebower99 1 week ago

cend0l

188 posts

Posted by cend0l > 2018-05-23 18:39 | Report Abuse

Sabah bans log exports

Posted by trader2015 > 2018-05-23 19:25 | Report Abuse

Good news quarter results is out, tomorrow will fly. http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/5800065

Lau333

155 posts

Posted by Lau333 > 2018-05-23 19:26 | Report Abuse

Quarter result out. This single quarter profit is higher than yearly profit since 2009.

Posted by trader2015 > 2018-05-23 19:34 | Report Abuse

At least TP 0.300 above.

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-05-23 20:11 | Report Abuse

icon, yes, plywood sales command better margin than logs sales. that's why cm want to benefit more local wood producers. i am saying pworth log sales segment will see reduce profit margin since it now have to sell locally. unless you tell me pworth themselves eat up all the logs they cut to produce more plywood on top of their existing one.

Uftjhfj

22 posts

Posted by Uftjhfj > 2018-05-23 20:34 | Report Abuse

Gone case pworth. Rip

winwin2288

1,325 posts

Posted by winwin2288 > 2018-05-23 20:44 | Report Abuse

With such an excellent result, let's check it out tomorrow haha!!

49,627 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2018-05-23 20:48 | Report Abuse

Posted by lssy > May 23, 2018 07:29 PM | Report Abuse

1) logs ban export imposed
2) wonderful result

Who will monopolize tomorrow?

Let's see

You have good results for last quarter however logs banned for export will affect further earning.
So, the impact is negative!

Posted by cruger12345 > 2018-05-23 21:01 | Report Abuse

Only 12% of the total log production in Sabah log are exported lah

Yu_and_Mee

3,451 posts

Posted by Yu_and_Mee > 2018-05-23 21:10 | Report Abuse

“In the meantime, the export of logs (from Sabah) will be banned until further instruction is given by the State Government,” he said, adding that it was a temporary measure.

Read slowly: "it was a temporary measure". If drop, then opportunity!

Sniper86

516 posts

Posted by Sniper86 > 2018-05-23 21:18 | Report Abuse

Woo Kok Keong, you are such a nuisance. Berlagak macam pro but just another empty vessel. Let me call you Woo COCK Keong can or not???

Sniper86

516 posts

Posted by Sniper86 > 2018-05-23 21:21 | Report Abuse

these people arent that panic after all. I waited at 0.21 but nobody want to sell to me.

Posted by trader2015 > 2018-05-23 22:11 | Report Abuse

Jennychin don't give stupid comments, if you are not a shareholders in this forum, it won't ban read slowly and digest it.

Posted by trader2015 > 2018-05-23 22:16 | Report Abuse

Jennychin, it won't limit down please don't waste your time here telling negative comments.

Lk036

929 posts

Posted by Lk036 > 2018-05-23 22:45 | Report Abuse

Bad sign, down trend . Just my opinion.

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-05-23 23:03 | Report Abuse

apu....banned export, then pworth eat what? grass?

Posted by Sebastian Sted Power > 2018-05-23 23:09 | Report Abuse

@Alex, boleh buat perahu dan sampan

jun6

37 posts

Posted by jun6 > 2018-05-23 23:10 | Report Abuse

Pworth has excellent QR

Sk9864

149 posts

Posted by Sk9864 > 2018-05-23 23:18 | Report Abuse

Buy buy buy

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-05-23 23:29 | Report Abuse

their business model is based on exports of round logs.

buy Focus Lumber...their business model is based on processed lumber.

Posted by Woo Kok Keong > 2018-05-23 23:51 | Report Abuse

Sniper86 be patience maybe tomorrow can get if index continue drop depend financial result new can handle win over world index droping

Posted by Woo Kok Keong > 2018-05-24 00:02 | Report Abuse

Omg us drop another 146 point

Shafi Awong

1,417 posts

Posted by Shafi Awong > 2018-05-24 01:14 | Report Abuse

knee jerked reaction from nervous investors. tomorrow price back up to 0.29 and next week hit new high at 0.35. make sure you catch it right at the opening of market tomorrow or you will lose it totally!

Lk036

929 posts

Posted by Lk036 > 2018-05-24 01:18 | Report Abuse

Tomolo possible back to 0.205.

hklcheng

1,317 posts

Posted by hklcheng > 2018-05-24 01:35 | Report Abuse

QR show EPS 50se++....buy before too late....atleast 100% profit later

Yu_and_Mee

3,451 posts

Posted by Yu_and_Mee > 2018-05-24 05:21 | Report Abuse

klci no longer link to dj

Yu_and_Mee

3,451 posts

Posted by Yu_and_Mee > 2018-05-24 05:21 | Report Abuse

we are new malaysia now

Force

1,418 posts

Posted by Force > 2018-05-24 07:25 | Report Abuse

Sabah stop export wood... Pworth gg le

Shinnzaii

3,114 posts

Posted by Shinnzaii > 2018-05-24 07:52 | Report Abuse

short term only larh...not long term banned...government also need depend on export to survive nia

lssy

23 posts

Posted by lssy > 2018-05-24 08:11 | Report Abuse

recent export ban definitely will hit.
i found theedge quite bias without any publish about this.

winwin2288

1,325 posts

Posted by winwin2288 > 2018-05-24 08:38 | Report Abuse

It is just the temporary policy, don't be too disappoint on this. Most important PW has bright future.

carl93

41 posts

Posted by carl93 > 2018-05-24 09:05 | Report Abuse

All so hungry eat so fast

Posted by Woo Kok Keong > 2018-05-24 09:06 | Report Abuse

Yeah earn money o I run 1st

clp72

813 posts

Posted by clp72 > 2018-05-24 09:09 | Report Abuse

KOTA KINABALU: Sabah will stop the export of its logs overseas so that local industries get priority to timber.

Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal said he would direct for the ban to be implemented immediately after instructing the Forestry Department.

“This ban will be on until further notice,” he said after a briefing at Yayasan Sabah here yesterday.

This move, he said, was to ensure logging activities benefited Saba­hans first.

image: https://content.thestar.com.my/smg/settag/name=lotame/tags=all,Int_Business_Finance,Demo_Age_45to54_enr,Int_Automotive,Demo_Age_25to34_enr,Int_Property_Affluent,Demo_Gender_Male_enr,Demo_Age_18to24_enr,Demo_Gender_Female_enr,Int_Property,Demo_Age_55to64_enr,Demo_AffluentAudience,Int_Automotive_Affluent

Annually, the state exports between 200,000 and 300,000 tonnes of logs to countries such as China, Japan, the Philippines and India.

Shafie said the meeting at Yayasan Sabah was to brief the officials on the new state government’s policies and direction.

Being an entity, which had helped Sabahans in terms of employment, education and business opportunities, Yayasan Sabah, said Shafie, would continue to play a huge role in the state’s socio-economic development.

ADVERTISING

However, he said, he was not satisfied with its current condition.

“Our direction now is to focus on strengthening existing programmes so that these may benefit Sabah to the fullest,” he said.

Shafie said ventures in grey areas or those with uncertain financial viability would cease.

The state government, he added, would also focus on providing sustainable assistance such as scholarships and job opportunities and not handouts to staff and its partners.

On claims by some Barisan Nasional leaders that “someone” had tried to sell Yayasan Sabah in the past, Shafie declined comment.

“However, I will be investigating where the plots of land allegedly meant to be sold are and who manages these,” he said

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2018/05/24/logging-to-benefit-sabah-first-shafie-overseas-export-to-cease-to-maximise-state-profits/#2Xk4u2JkMj7HrPdh.99

clp72

813 posts

Posted by clp72 > 2018-05-24 09:15 | Report Abuse

Q3 results are out... read it. I believe the ban would be good for PW, as it has invested in downstream activities and i think the contract with China is floor boards and not logs

chanky50

161 posts

Posted by chanky50 > 2018-05-24 09:18 | Report Abuse

The temporary ban to export logs is in fact a good news to those with big timber concession. Timber shortage is not a new issue in Sabah. Pworth all these while has been facing with log supply problem. Factor running at 30% capacity. Now Pworth can double and triple its timber extraction to flood the local market until no supply problem. Send somebody to 'kautim' the new CM then start to export again.

chanky50

161 posts

Posted by chanky50 > 2018-05-24 09:19 | Report Abuse

Factory running at 30% in the past, now can run at 100% with the excessive log supply.

azta12

5,594 posts

Posted by azta12 > 2018-05-24 09:20 | Report Abuse

kayuh..

Posted by BULL1000BEAR1000 > 2018-05-24 09:25 | Report Abuse

all panic

Shinnzaii

3,114 posts

Posted by Shinnzaii > 2018-05-24 09:33 | Report Abuse

Panic what...i see there is opportunity....from the statement "Shafie said ventures in grey areas or those with uncertain financial viability would cease.< more good...reduce competition

winwin2288

1,325 posts

Posted by winwin2288 > 2018-05-24 09:39 | Report Abuse

panic will make wrong decision, calm down

Posted by Woo Kok Keong > 2018-05-24 09:46 | Report Abuse

1500 index is coming hahaha... Crazy already=.=

Posted by trader2015 > 2018-05-24 09:48 | Report Abuse

Why panic selling, this ban is for some grey area,temporarily only there is a scenario in few years back like BAT cigarette, the government say ban on no smoking,eveyone panic sell but now the price of BAT is RM 34.00,similar to this issue. Hold it, the company making profit.

Posted by trader2015 > 2018-05-24 09:51 | Report Abuse

Don't listen to all the negative comments.

winwin2288

1,325 posts

Posted by winwin2288 > 2018-05-24 09:52 | Report Abuse

Don't listen to all the negative comments.+1
Their comment is very childish.

Shinnzaii

3,114 posts

Posted by Shinnzaii > 2018-05-24 09:54 | Report Abuse

Panic you to sell and collect at low price...at the end who benefit?

Posted by Smallchips > 2018-05-24 10:11 | Report Abuse

This company has a bright future

Posted by trader2015 > 2018-05-24 10:41 | Report Abuse

Shafi Awong, yes you are right.